Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things about Ireland that

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

A group of girls are lads

The boss asks you where that report is

You point to the girls over in payments section
    "The lads have it"

Perfectly acceptable, I do it all the time

Lads means a group, not neccesarily men

All crisps are Tayto.

I posted that a few pages back and lots of posters corrected me and said I was wrong :(

Must have been the Dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

mikemac1 wrote: »
    I posted that a few pages back and lots of posters corrected me and said I was wrong :(

Must have been the Dubs

Damn the Dubs and their love of foreign crisps! :mad:

*picks up Pike*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

All crisps are Tayto. Eat anything else and you are British and will be ousted accordingly.

So you even call the higher class hand cooked type crisps tayto? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

Are Hunky Dorys and Pringles known as 'tayto' now?? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Susie_Q wrote: »
    Are Hunky Dorys and Pringles known as 'tayto' now?? :eek:

If the shop doesn't have the Taytos, those are what people might get, so they must be taytos of some sort.
    But there's a good chance the person who asked for Taytos might refuse the others, due to their non-Tayto-ness... Even though they see Tayto similarities, they can't bear to drop a depth.

Might be a lost colloquialism to new generations.
    Generations should be measured in lost colloquialisms.

Every crisp in the 80's was called a tayto, but you'd ask for "King's taytos" in the pub, for example. 'Crisps' was like some dirty foreign word we only became aware of when Walker's came to town.

grindle wrote: »
    Every crisp in the 80's was called a tayto, but you'd ask for "King's taytos" in the pub, for example. 'Crisps' was like some dirty foreign word we only became aware of when Walker's came to town.

I don't remember this carry on in Dublin! Is this just a country thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

bwatson wrote: »
    So you even call the higher class hand cooked type crisps tayto? :eek:

IT DOESNT GET ANY "HIGHER" THAN TAYTO!

OFF WITH BWATSON'S HEAD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

IT DOESNT GET ANY "HIGHER" THAN TAYTO!

OFF WITH BWATSON'S HEAD!

I would agree that tayto cheese and onion are the best available but for other flavours, especially salt and vinegar, I'm more a walkers kind of guy :o;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

Were mainly a decent lot , but if you walk into a pub and start with awesome this and awesome that and trying to say place names and making a balls of them eg. melinger ( mullingar ) expect plenty of these ....> :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

As a whole we're less racist and more accepting of different cultures than most Americans I've met during the 4 months I've been living in Boston.
    Sure even a look at their current presidential candidates would show you that.

My warning for tourists though, when you're queueing for a drink at a bar, it's every man for himself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Eileen Down

An Irish person will never accept something on the first offer.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭pearliefan

No, that's lunch time.

That's dinner time.

Unless it's Sunday... then dinner is at lunch time! Good luck OP

Welcome Yanks
    We are glad you are here and spending your tourist dollars.

Please note it's perfectly acceptable to ask to come behind the bar and pull your own pint.
    Staff don't mind at all, in fact we enjoy it :)
    So feel free to ask, :)

Car hire companies in Ireland are crooks and sleveens, every one of them.
    Prepare to be stung...badly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Susie_Q wrote: »
    I don't remember this carry on in Dublin! Is this just a country thing?

Maybe it is. Dublin tended to be five-to-ten years ahead of the rest of us for fashion and crap back then, so ask an uncle or something.

First time I saw a Walker's crisp packet was in Dublin, took another few years before I saw them on the shelves in Limerick.

Walker Bashing Segment: Was in a shopping centre a few years ago where they were testing people's taste-buds, i.e."Can you tell which one is a Walker's crisp?" (against some sub-Tesco Value crisps), and that was spun into "4 out of 5 Irish consumers prefer Walkers crisps".

Kettle Chip Adoration Segment: Sea Salt & Balsamic Vinegar flavour needs a new factory-to-mouth conveyor-belt system.

Non-OT Segment: Nice people when drunk, too many scobes (scumbags), bit too clannish due to tribal-nationalist impulses, awful namby-pamby mainstream music, great non-mainstream music, Guinness is way better in small country pubs filled with auld (old) men all day, far too much make-up on already-pretty girls, general prudishness until six pints in - then you can fellate the leg of a bar-stool and nobody'd bat an eyelid... you might even get a free round of pints out of it.

Conversation in Tipperary
    Well
    Well
    Are ya well?
    Yeah well

It's a question, an answer and a greeting

Like Kerry folk, the Tipperarians watch everything and give nothing away

Gardaí learn this in Templemore :cool:
    Well not anymore since the cutbacks and no classes going through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Conversation in Tipperary
    Well
    Well
    Are ya well?
    Yeah well

It's a question, an answer and a greeting

Like Kerry folk, the Tipperarians watch everything and give nothing away

Gardaí learn this in Templemore :cool:
    Well not anymore since the cutbacks and no classes going through

That's fair good:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

We can't take a compliment. Tell somebody their top is nice and expect a reply along the lines of "Penneys", "Got it on sale", "Found it on the side of the street".
    Sintel wrote: »
    If your visiting us here in culchie land a popular greeting in passing is "Hows the going?". Now were not looking for your life story here but just a quick "Hows the going now?" (with a nod helps) back while passing on your way and you will be grand. Its fairly normal here to answer a question by asking one in return, takes a bit of getting use to but after while you will pick it up.

I'm Irish born, bread and buttered (sometimes we say that), but I still have a problem with "How's it going". It's not a question here, but I feel compelled to say "Good thanks, how are you?". Standard response is "Good thanks", even if you're on crutches and half your face is falling off. Then move on, unless you have any goss / sca about yer wan Tracey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Abusing the living shíte out of each other is what really good friends do.

"Well how ye?"
    "grand but I forgot to do x/did something silly"
    "haha you're some fúcking spastic, you know that?"
    "**** off!!"
    "nah, you're an absolute cúnt!"
    "ill ****ing break your nose!"
    "come on so".

Friendly conversation right there. Or maybe I just have weird friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Abusing the living shíte out of each other is what really good friends do.

True. If somebody hasn't called you a big fecking thick of a gobshite, you're not their friend.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Someone lying unconscious on the street is not necessarily in need of assistance.

If there's vomit beside them then they've just passed out from drinking, so there's no need to come to their aid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

A group of girls are lads

The boss asks you where that report is

You point to the girls over in payments section
    "The lads have it"

Perfectly acceptable, I do it all the time

Lads means a group, not neccesarily men

This is disgusting and inaccurate. Nothing turns me off off more than girls calling each other lads. To the Gallows, I say.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭LifesgoodwithLG

:D:D:D
    Diet 7up, or boiled milk with pepper in it!!

One of the most popular games that the younger generation (ie under 35's) of rural Ireland like to play with their parent's is the 'guess who died?' game......

It goes something like this:
    One or both parent's listen's to the death notices on local radio (yes, in Ireland, they read out the names of people who have died recently)
    The son/daughter of said (usually middle-aged) parents are then expected to play 'guess who died' with their parent's, even if they have no interest in who actually died.

Parent - "Guess who died?"
    Child - "who?"
    Parent - "John/Jim/Mary/Bridie *insert surname here*"
    Child - "I don't know them"
    Parent - "Ahh, you do..... He was married to yer one from the next town"
    Child - "Nope, still don't know them"
    Parent - "Ahh, you do.... he's a brother to Paddy such n such"
    Child - " No, still don't know him"
    Parent - "Ahh, you must know him, he has a son about your age"
    Child - "I DON'T FCUKING KNOW HIM MAM!!!!!!"
    Parent - (through pursed lips) "Well, will you be going to the funeral?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

We say "sorry" instead of "Excuse me"..
    I didn't even realise until an Aussie friend said it to me..

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Placebo Effect

It's illegal to go home on a empty stomach if you have consumed anything over five pints.

Just follow the crowd at closing time to the nearest fast food outlet where it's a badge of honour to have a fight/get sick or shag a member of the opposite sex while waiting to be served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,540 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Shame is an optional trait for many young people in Ireland, particularly at the weekend.

A good percentage of Irish people are usually 'dying' for 2-3 days of the week, but fear not! it is not death that they suffer from.

A lot of Irish youths also like to sit outside banks and chip shops in heavily modified 15 year old nissan micras with 12 year old girls for hours on end, pumping out 'dance music' sung by the chipmunks. These people should not be feared, as they are environmental campaigners highlighting the high cost of petrol by sitting with the engine running for hours before going to do 'laps' once the pubs close. That'll learn them.

If you find yourself in derry, do not worry that the locals sound like a broken ambulance when they try to fit as many "wee's" into a sentence as humanly possible - its just a quaint predilection that they all seem to share, possibly due to Martin McGuinness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭gordon_gekko

insisting on going to a funeral despite never having met the person and only having spoken to a brother , sister , aunt of thiers once or twice , this is especially true in rural ireland , in the uk its not unusual to see less than a dozen people at a funeral , in rural ireland , a hermit would have three times that number sending them off

Do you know the difference between a full Irish, a full English or even regional variations like an Ulster fry?
    It's never ever called a full Ulster, just an Ulster fry

Well if you don't know the difference then how are you going to serve a visiting relation a full Irish?
    This thread is about uniquely Irish after all

Oh and for your products, Shaws of Limerick are the finest in Ireland :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

"Yea, no, it was grand, like" is a perfectly logical answer when asked for an opinion.

Most restaurants/ Irish mammies will char the **** outta meat. This country doesnt appreciate a rare steak. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

leprechauns are indeed a real thing, but they are not what you have been led to expect by the media and television. the image of happy go lucky dwarves with happy dispositions and pots of gold in the crook of their arm.

what you need to picture is alcoholic dwarves with rabies, terrible complexions, and something of a chip on their shoulders.

they are located primarily in the phoenix park area of dublin, and while these leprechauns are more docile than those in their natural habitat, they are something of a pest. every second summer there is an organised cull of the ever growing leprechaun population. it is run by volunteer groups of ham fed country lads with steely dispositions. those with fear need not apply. the cull happened last year, so you will have to wait till 2013 to see it happen again.

wild leprechauns are rare, but not unheard of, so be on your guard if you visit the countryside, particularly in forest areas or anywhere near a mizzonis pizza place.

hope this helps. enjoy your stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭kieranfitz

If your from the socialist republic of commiefornia then most of our gun laws will be quite familiar to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,179 ✭✭✭Wompa1

If you are in a restaurant in Ireland, go easy on your soda. The only place you get free refills is in Subway

Don't tip in a pub. Especially if you are American because rather than be greatful they barman will most likely take the piss out of you.

Don't rely on public transport outside of Dublin and even then you are taking your chances.

If you rent a car, make sure you rent a SAT NAV and make sure they have updated the maps as there's been a few bypasses built around the country in the last few years. A lot of the road signs in the country are just wrong!

Stay in B&B's rather than hotels outside of Dublin, they are safe and there's a lot of nice one's that are a fraction of the price of the hotels. Westport has lots of B&B's for example but the hotels are the most expensive in the entire country.

If you came to Ireland you already knew about the drink culture. Try not to let it ruin your trip or taint you impression of Ireland if some a-holes give you a hard time about being foreign! Drink brings out the worst in people here. Sober, we have some of the nicest people on earth.

You may have a hard time recognizing the rough areas because they tend to be in pretty high quality housing estates.

It's the most beautiful country in the world. Please Please spend money, we need it. Thanks for coming.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

If you are talking on the phone to someone and they say "oh, come here till I tell ya", you are not actually required to go to them. commonly, this will be followed by a round of the "Guess who's dead" game you heard about earlier.

If you go to Kilkenny, they will refer to the City Centre. It's far from a city. It's a relatively big town. You will be informed of some ancient charter from some King (no one is quite sure of which one) which gave it city status. Do not question it.

Also, in Kilkenny, maybe parts of Tipperary as well, were you to ask someone's opinion of someone else, there reply would probably be "Ah he/she is fair sound boy". This makes absolutely perfect sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Actually the most notable one for a lot would be just that we're in fact not british (you'd be suprised how many first timers dont know the difference)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Thefirestarter

retalivity wrote: »
    If you find yourself in derry, do not worry that the locals sound like a broken ambulance when they try to fit as many "wee's" into a sentence as humanly possible- its just a quaint predilection that they all seem to share, possibly due to Martin McGuinness.

This had me laughing for a minute or two:D

If you ask an Irish man what a girl is like and he replies "Ah, she's sound", it more than likely means she is not very physically attractive.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭crfcaio

What is the best way to compliment an Irishwoman, then?

If you want to refer to someone as being sexually attractive then they are "a ride" - for someone extra sexy this is upped to "a fvcken ride". I don't think men refer to women as comely maidens anymore, though this is a shame :D

Also - if you want to compliment an Irish women it's really the same as anywhere else in the world. Just don't mention her weight or her freckles - lots of Irish women grew up being teased about having freckles so don't mention them!

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭crfcaio

aw but freckles are so cute lol
    that what makes a complete red-haired woman: red hair, blue/green eyes, bright skin, freckles, Irish

heaven right there (:

crfcaio wrote: »
    aw but freckles are so cute lol
    that what makes a complete red-haired woman: red hair, blue/green eyes, bright skin, freckles, Irish

heaven right there (:

You've just described me pretty much exactly. Haha!

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭fonda

The weather.

All conversations in Ireland will have some reference to the weather. Also the weather can never be right, it always has to be too hot, too cold, too wet etc etc

example:

Jaysis its a fine day today
    Response should be, Nah its too feckin hot I'm sweating me bollox off!

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭narfsnonsense

The last American I met in Ireland took EVERYTHING anyone said literally. A good 50% of what we talk about is bullsh!t. Friends take the piss out of each other all night. Don't take everything literally, as it gets tiring having to expain that 'I was only joking'.

Although I'm sure it was just a particularly slow person I met!!

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭fonda

Saying "id ate the face off her" means you would like to kiss her

whereas

saying "id ate her ****e" means you find her attractive