Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We haven't had a good Public Sector bashing thread in ages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

micropig wrote: »
    mishkalucy wrote: »
    I watched Jimmy Kelly(Unite)on Vincent on Tuesday and nearly fell of the chair when he said "Well look, we know there are 77 people in the public sector who are on more that 500.000 a year, but I don't think anyone is going to lose sleep over that"
    :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
    Has he lost his fu*king marbles?
    That's 38.5 million a year on 77 peoples salaries and no-one is going to lose sleep over it?
    And the government have the cheek to target special need kids?

Yes, they're entitled to it, they're very good librarians and paper clip tray fillers:rolleyes:
    You do seem fond of the old hyperbole to "back" your arguments. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭user098

Are you having a few smokes tonight because you can go in late on the flexitime for casual friday?:D:D:D

Your previous posts regarding ordinary workers are there for all.
    As for the ad homeim attempt, I work in private sector, but I'm not jelous of any other workers. If I wanted their job along with their pay and conditions, I'd just apply for it and get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

user098 wrote: »
    I consider anyone on over 70k part of the golden cirlce problem, but then again I'm able to differentiate between ordinary public and private sector workers, and the parasite scam artists, who want to drive all ordinary workers wages down in order to keep their fat profits, and luxury lifestyles. In the middle of one of Irelands worst ever recessions, the top 10 richest people in Ireland have got richer.

Good for you, they should get you to weed out the incompetent ones who got pay rises due to the buggins turn system, instead of capability and performance;)

An examination of the performance-related pay/promotions system by the Comptroller and Auditor General in 2011 offered little hope for improvement. Concern was expressed that pay and advancement decisions did not reflect actual performance; that increments were paid in advance of performance assessments and that senior managers were not sufficiently engaged.

Fewer than one-in-five civil servants believe laziness or incompetence is being appropriately addressed, according to an internal survey.

Good for you, they should get you to weed out the incompetent ones who got pay rises due to the buggins turn system, instead of capability and performance;)

An examination of the performance-related pay/promotions system by the Comptroller and Auditor General in 2011 offered little hope for improvement. Concern was expressed that pay and advancement decisions did not reflect actual performance; that increments were paid in advance of performance assessments and that senior managers were not sufficiently engaged.

Fewer than one-in-five civil servants believe laziness or incompetence is being appropriately addressed, according to an internal survey.

I've seen just as many problems in the Irish private sector, that have cost the Irish Taxpayer 100's of billions, but they are being hushed up and swept under the carpet. I wonder why that is ;)

I've seen just as many problems in the Irish private sector where I work, but they are being hushed up and swept under the carpet. So why is that ?

Problems in the private sector is not justification for problems in the public sector

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Dudess wrote: »
    You do seem fond of the old hyperbole to "back" your arguments. :p

I don't think it is hyperbole to quote what the representative of Unite stated

"Shhhhhh !" Problems in the private sector is not justification for problems in the public sector

Thats right just talk about the 18 billion problem, not the 200 bilion for anglo, scama, seanie, bertie and pals, lets ignore that, and complain about ordinary public sector workers. ;) After all how will the race to the bottom between ordinary workers go ahead, if the ordinary people work that one out. ;)

I've seen just as many problems in the Irish private sector, that have cost the Irish Taxpayer 100's of billions, but they are being hushed up and swept under the carpet. I wonder why that is ;)

Swept under the carpet? we are breaking our back paying for their mistakes,

We are loosing front line services because the money is not there to fund them, instead overpaid pen pushers in the office with are entitled to large wages. The country is broke. We borrow money to pay wages. .... :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 NiThigim

http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2011/10/25/00155.asp#N2

Oh look its a small number that get the most, so unlike the private sector!

NiThigim wrote: »
    http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2011/10/25/00155.asp#N2

Oh look its a small number that get the most, so unlike the private sector!

I agree, I not defending them as you seem to think:rolleyes:

Put as much effort in to reading my posts as you would an application form*

*See you in an hour:p

Swept under the carpet? we are breaking our back paying for their mistakes,

We are loosing front line services because the money is not there to fund them, instead overpaid pen pushers in the office with are entitled to large wages. The country is broke. We borrow money to pay wages. .... :rolleyes:

Unless your a bilionaire newspaper owner etc., cutting and taxing ordinary workers wages won't get you out of a recession.

Reduce public spending;);)

Tax the high earners in private company too much = they move to cheaper country

Ignorant as a ..... :):):):)

Love reasoned debate ;);)

NiThigim wrote: »
    Ignorant as a ..... :):):):)

Love reasoned debate ;);)

:):):):) = Public sector worker with sense of entitlement:confused:

Ouch. :eek:

Great reply :p:p:p

mishkalucy wrote: »
    I don't think it is hyperbole to quote what the representative of Unite stated
    Didn't mean you, I meant the paperclip tray comment. These threads always purport to be aimed at just senior public servants, but it always ends up that anyone in the public sector administrative area gets it in the neck. But 22k entry level for a clerical officer - in fairness that's just robbing the country blind... :eek:

Reduce public spending;);)

On bondholders, scama, bankers, and private millionaire speculator's debts, and instead use it to employ people, and spend money in the local economy, on local projects.
    Tax the high earners in private company too much = they move to cheaper country

Newsflash - their accountants and political cronies in Ireland already make sure they don't pay any taxes in Ireland.

Didn't mean you, I meant the paperclip tray comment. These threads always purport to be aimed at just senior public servants, but it always ends up that anyone in the public sector administrative area gets it in the neck. But 22k entry level for a clerical officer - in fairness that's just robbing the country blind...

Sorry to offend any paperclip tray fillers, It is an important role and valuable to the country:p
    On bondholders, scama, bankers, and private millionaire speculator's debts, and instead use it to employ people, and spend money in the local economy, on local projects.

Newsflash - their accountants and political cronies in Ireland already make sure they don't pay any taxes in Ireland.

Yes do this too, they are not both exclusive

As for the newflash, I look at you with a mixture of disbelief and:rolleyes:

:):):):) = Public sector worker with sense of entitlement:confused:

...... = Pig
    :):):):) = Emphasis

This is boring now.

Dont let the resentment keep you awake.

What about all the bilionaire newspaper owner who pay taxes?:D

I dare you to find one, just one . . .;):D:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Didn't mean you, I meant the paperclip tray comment. These threads always purport to be aimed at just senior public servants, but it always ends up that anyone in the public sector administrative area gets it in the neck. But 22k entry level for a clerical officer - in fairness that's just robbing the country blind...

No probs, tbh I didn't poet those stats to start another random row on here. I posted it because it shocked the **** out of me. I mean 38.5 million a year between 77 people, that's like winning the euromillions draw every goddamn year for those people.
    Nowaday's everybody is ready to rip everyone else to shreds in this country.
    I abhor what the bankers, government, upper echelon have done to this country.
    I get the same reaction when people make assumptions about social welfare recipients. All 430.000 of social welfare recipients aren't scummy scroungers.

Shhhhh now, you'll spoil the duped public vs private workers race to the bottom, then what will the golden circle do when the ordinary public cop on ? race_to_the_bottom_472615.jpg

I dare you to find one, just one . . .;):D:)

Closest I could find:D:D

Ireland's richest man is Pallonji Mistry, a low profile Indian tycoon, who took out Irish citizenship in 2003. His wife Patsi was born on Dublin's Hatch Street. Mistry has a 18.2 per cent of the Indian Tata group, which had interests ranging from chemicals and steel to hotels and offices. It also owns Jaguar cars. Mistry is worth €7.4bn. That's the equivalent of everyone in Ireland's income tax for six months. Forbes magazine suggests that he's the 96th richest man on the planet.

Income tax: allowances, reliefs and tax credits
    Under the Irish income tax system, resident individuals are entitled to what are known as allowances or 'tax credits' that serve to reduce their income tax liabilities (see Leaflet IT1 - Tax Credits, Reliefs & Rates for 2009 and 2010 for details).

Allowances / Tax Credits x Income within the charge to Irish tax / Total worldwide income.

Income from a non-Irish sourced employment, attributable to the performance in the State of the duties of that employment, is chargeable to Irish income tax and subject to the Pay As You Earn (PAYE) system of tax deduction at source, whether or not such income is remitted into the State. If you are resident in the State for Irish tax purposes for the tax year that the income is earned, you may be entitled to full personal tax credits and reliefs (see Leaflet IT 1 - Tax Credits, Reliefs & Rates for 2009 and 2010). Income from a foreign employment that is related to duties performed outside the State is also taxable in Ireland but if you are not domiciled in the State, such income is only taxable to the extent it is remitted or brought into the State (see Non-domiciled individuals and the remittance basis of assessment).

not sure how much tax he pays after he claims his tax free credits:pac::pac:

Closest I could find:D:D

not sure how much tax he pays :pac::pac:

I bet your not, unlike ordinary workers.

Well neither do you:p

How much has he cost the state?

Well neither do you:p

And why should we not know ? Why, like the names of the private bondholders we're paying bilions of taxpayers money to, is it being kept secret ? ;) Are seanie, bertie, and fingers bondholders ? Inda's cousin perhaps ? Fiasco Phil's brother in law ? Why are these bondholders names not being released ?

And why should we not know ? Why, like the names of the private bondholders we're paying bilions of taxpayers money to, is it being kept secret ? ;)

I never said we shouldn't know;)

Let me think who would have the power to reveal these things?

Politicians, and yet they don't

more over paid incompetent public services workers

surprise surprise

I never said we shouldn't know;)

I've never heard you complain about it either ;)
    Better to go after ordinary workers instead eh ? ;)

Politicians, and yet they don't

more over paid incompetent public services workers

surprise surprise

Surprise surprise, they are not PS workers, and you get what you voted for ;)

I've never heard you complain about it either ;)
    Better to go after ordinary workers instead eh ? ;)

Have you been staking me and privy to what I do?

Surprise surprise, they are not PS workers, and you get what you voted for ;)

Paid out of the pubic purse;)

You seem to be ok with 77 people earning €35 million between them, haven't heard you condemn it yet :P

Have you been staking me and privy to what I do?

I don't want to burst your bubble but no ;), but I have read your chip on the shoulder posts about other ordinary workers.

Paid out of the pubic purse;)

You seem to be ok with 77 people earning €35 million between them, haven't heard you condemn it yet :P

Then you've ignored the fact that I don't believe anyone should be paid more than 70k and those are the people that should be focused on, but that would not suit the ordinary worker envy frenzy agenda now would it ? ;)

I don't want to burst your bubble but no ;), but I have read your chip on the shoulder posts about other ordinary workers.

:eek::eek:cool I have a stalker, happy reading:D

so the 77 earning €35 million?

Then you've ignored the fact that I don't believe anyone should be paid more than 70k and those are the people that should be focused on, but that would not suit the ordinary worker envy frenzy agenda now would it ? ;)

Any time anyone comments on them, a lot of Public service employees are straight on defending wages and any concerns about the overpaid get shouted down by them

They're their own worse enemy sometimes. It's been shown there is excess in the public sector..time to chop all areas (unfortunately at the moment only front line services are been hit, while the others hide behind them)

Any time anyone comments on them, a lot of Public service employees are straight on defending wages and any concerns about the overpaid get shouted down by them

They're their own worse enemy sometimes. It's been shown there is excess in the public sector..time to chop all areas (unfortunately at the moment only front line services are been hit, while the others hide behind them)

Surprise surprise , ordinary workers will ask people to have the honesty and decency to after the corrupt wealthy people in this country for a change, before cutting and complaining about other ordinary workers wages. Wages that are taxed then and spent on local private sector goods and services.

But the higher paid are hiding behind the outrage of the ordinary worker.

Sorry to offend any paperclip tray fillers, It is an important role and valuable to the country:p
    Never senior though. ;)

Surely some has to manage the team, in case they go rogue and put some thumb tacks in the trays:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

But the higher paid are hiding behind the outrage of the ordinary worker.

Never stopped you having a go at the lowest paid in the public sector before. Don't come on here pretending you're only mad at the highest paid. Your bitterness doesn't seem to have limits.

MagicSean wrote: »
    Never stopped you having a go at the lowest paid in the public sector before. Don't come on here pretending you're only mad at the highest paid. Your bitterness doesn't seem to have limits.

Who exactly are the lowest paid in the public sector you speak of? certainly not the Gardai or the teachers

Almost 3,000 civil servants on salaries over €70,000 are to get pay increases.

It says a total of 63pc of the 31,618 workers in the civil service -- or 19,710 staff -- are eligible for an increment.

Of these, almost three-quarters, or 13,839, are on pay up to €50,000.

The payments are either annual increases or long-service payments, which are given at three- and six-year intervals in the civil service and are worth in the region of €3,000 each.

The long-service increments are given when workers have been in their job for a certain number of years after reaching the top of their pay scale.

The incremental pay scale for an assistant secretary who joined the civil service after 1995 rises in four stages from €134,523 to €153,885.

Who exactly are the lowest paid in the public sector you speak of? certainly not the Gardai or the teachers

Ah yes here we go again, more envy frenzy. So you didn't have the qualifications or ability to earn an honest living as a guard or teacher, big boo fecking hoo.

Never mind where the 100 of billlions are going, i.e. to seanie, bertie, fingers, dunner, scama, secret bondholders and associated cronies and lick arses. What a coward.

Ah yes here we go again, more envy frenzy. So you didn't have the qualifications or ability to earn an honest living as a guard or teacher, big boo fecking hoo.

Never mind where the 100 of billlions are going, i.e. to seanie, bertie, fingers, dunner, scama, secret bondholders and associated cronies and lick arses. What a coward.

I think if you read my posts you'll find out whether or not I have the qualifications or ability to earn an honest living as a guard or teacher, Epic Stalker Fail

As for the rest, good argument:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

No matter how much tax you pay, I as a Government employee, will never be your servant.

Tuesday January 24 2012
    STAFF at failed state training agency FAS sought pay hikes of up to €6,000 a year when they moved to a new government department.

The wage increases were sought by their union representatives despite the fact the employees were not asked to move buildings and all that was changing was the name over the door.

Staff transferring to the same department from the Health Service Executive (HSE) also argued for higher pay scales, and unions claimed some members should no longer make pension contributions.

SIPTU argued that the FAS staff were on lower pay but would be "liable" to do the same job as a higher civil service grade worker.

Their pay starts at €57,964, rising to up to €74,311. But the assistant principal pay scale rises in increments to €76,768 for those hired before 1995, and up to €80,678 for those hired after that year.

Numerous disputes arose when 1,700 staff from FAS and the HSE moved to the department over the last few months.

No sense of entitlement here:pac: Attitudes throughout the public service need to change

All while the corrupt attitudes of the Irish private sector, the sector that bankrupted Ireland with its shenanigans are swept under the carpet.

Meanwhile the attitudes of the Irish private sector demand that ordinary taxpayers foot the bill for over €200 billion of golden private sector speculation debts, scama, Anglo etc. etc. etc. etc. :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

All while the corrupt attitudes of the Irish private sector, the sector that bankrupted Ireland with its shenanigans are swept under the carpet.

Meanwhile the attitudes of the Irish private sector demand that ordinary taxpayers foot the bill for over €200 billion of golden private sector speculation debts, scama, Anglo etc. etc. etc. etc. :pac::pac::pac:

And who guaranteed this again? hmmmm some public servants was it? :rolleyes:

billybudd wrote: »
    [/B]

And who guaranteed this again? hmmmm some public servants was it? :rolleyes:

No actually it was some cronie politicians, but sure never let such a thing as facts get in the way of attacking ordinary workers. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 232 ✭✭LilyCricket

I have family in the public sector

Always home by 1630

and if they stay later than 4, once a week, for half an hour, they get a flexi day, every month

this annoys me!