Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The best product from your county?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,140 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

London. Lousy geography teachers.

Liverpool. The Beatles.

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

dirtyden wrote: »
    Where am I wrong?
    Tayto has been made in Meath for years at the Hunky Dory and King factory, they bought Tayto outright in 2006.

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭ladypip

Tayto has been made in Meath for years at the Hunky Dory and King factory, they bought Tayto outright in 2006.

They are not from Meath they are made in Meath. They are from Dublin.

Shoot i meant to quote dirtyden there sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

kraggy wrote: »
    1. Galway Hooker. One of my favorite drinks of all time.

2. The Stira - fold up stairs for your attic.

It's actually a Roscommon product, brewed out the Racecourse Road. The name was picked in an online poll a few years ago :)

Roscommon is also home to some of the best Lamb on the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

JohnP199 wrote: »
    Roscommon - The oldest pub in Ireland

Wait a minute, that's westmeath!

Seans Bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Oldest pub in Ireland is in Dublin:D

• Registered Users Posts: 13 1st On

darokane wrote: »
    Wait a minute, that's westmeath!

Seans Bar

It's in Roscommon side of Athlone iirc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

Truley wrote: »
    Trying to think of some Sligo things. Can think of a lot of famous people or literature/music but not any products unique to the County. Seaweed baths maybe?

The road out of there.

1st On wrote: »
    It's in Roscommon side of Athlone iirc.

nope, the boundary isn't at the river, it's a mile west of it

The Brazen Head is officially Ireland's oldest pub, dating back to 1198.

The Brazen Head in dublin is Irelands oldest pub.
    Seans Bar is the biggest con in Ireland
    http://www.irelandlogue.com/craic/seans-bar-not-actually-the-oldest-pub-in-ireland.html

ladypip wrote: »
    The Brazen Head is officially Ireland's oldest pub, dating back to 1198.

Eh no, Guinness book of records and Irish archaeologists say different

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056197440&page=2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭offaly1

Tullamore DEW..... :) not made here anymore, but plans are afoot for it too be manufactured in tullamore in the future!:D. There won't be a sober person in tullamore when this starts:p

lividduck wrote: »
    The Brazen Head in dublin is Irelands oldest pub.
    Seans Bar is the biggest con in Ireland
    http://www.irelandlogue.com/craic/seans-bar-not-actually-the-oldest-pub-in-ireland.html

look at the date and comment under that article:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭JohnP199

Wasnt it the King of Connacht that built the castle and that's on the edge of the river (the Roscommon side). So if the castle is in Roscommon surely Sean's is as well?

It's in Connaught alright but still in Westmeath, the Westmeath/Roscommon boundary comes westerly at the lake into a place called monksland/baylough

You'll see it on google maps

look at the date and comment under that article:rolleyes:
    Agggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh:o:o:o
    got me there fair and square!
    Sean is indeed the oldest pub in Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Blaa
    Cream Crackers
    Heavy cut glass

It's in Connaught alright but still in Westmeath, the Westmeath/Roscommon boundary comes westerly at the lake into a place called monksland/baylough

You'll see it on google maps

Ok I see that on Google maps. But wouldnt the Roscommon/Westmeath divide be the same as the Connacht/Leinster divide? And since the castle is a Connacht castle surely at one time the Shannon must have been the official divide?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Probably done last year but we'll give it another go

Name me your county
    And name me the best product you have, something the rest of Ireland do not have.

Tipperary
    Bulmers Cider

Anyone else?
    A laxative, the best thing to come out of Tipp is a laxative?:pac:
    We're better than that.

I would say Tipperary's greatest contribution to the world (and Ireland) are its racehorses. Kildare may have the racecourses, but Tipperary has the pedigree.

Ok I see that on Google maps. But wouldnt the Roscommon/Westmeath divide be the same as the Connacht/Leinster divide? And since the castle is a Connacht castle surely at one time the Shannon must have been the official divide?

It was up until a few hundred years ago, I haven't a clue why, Must have a look into it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Well there's something I've learned today

I was certain Roscommon and Westmeath had the border at the Shannon

I wish it did, cheaper car insurance in Roscommon:p

It was up until a few hundred years ago, I haven't a clue why, Must have a look into it

So Sean's Bar was built in Co Roscommon

Stop robbing westmeaths only claim to fame!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Money. Best product ever. Everyone here has a money tree. It blooms various notes. Fifties to fivers.

Shure isn't it great, money grows on trees so we can afford all these stupid taxes while inflation on everything else rises.
    **Thats what the goverment think**

Stop robbing westmeaths only claim to fame!:p

Actually it seems like Westmesth were the one's who robbed it off Roscommon ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

charlemont wrote: »
    Cork
    Viagra

To be fair, you've done your bit for langers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

tvc15 wrote: »
    Wexford - floury British Queens

....mmmmusst......nnnnnot.........mmmmmake...joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭thebuzz

Sligo:
    Sexy Football (Rovers)

I'm noticing a lack of contributions from Mayo

Have ye nothing to contribute?

Let the West awake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Someone said "The Wides" a while back in relation to Mayo.

I've no idea what that means.

A cruel reference to their GAA skills, perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Louth - Yon fella who invented the submarine did so while here in Dundalk. Albeit he was originally from Claire.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭merengueca

Offaly - Turf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,140 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

mike65 wrote: »
    Blaa
    Cream Crackers
    Heavy cut glass

No comment.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Kilkenny - St Nicholas/Santa Claus - buried near Jerpoint.
    The White house, designed and built by James Hoban who is from Callan.
    The direct ancestors of Walt Disney, George Clooney and the founders of Coca Cola come from Kilkenny, you get the very best of genetics in Kilkenny :D

No footballer genetics though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

No footballer genetics though ;)

We just have to breed with some Kerry people :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Not to worry John we still have the 3/4th oldest pub in Ireland and certainly the oldest documented one in continual ownership by the same family, since 1641.

Morahans is a small Pub in Ballinagare (Bellanagare on the map) and it is the Oldest Pub in continious ownership by the same family for generations. They still have the actual licence that was issued to them in the year 1840. They have traded since 1641. It is the same family B J (Bernard James) Morahan, with the pub handed down from generation to generation and is in Ballinagare, Co Roscommon. There are many claims about the oldest Pub but to have the documentary evidence is a different matter. This pub has it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Countrystyle sausages. i'm sure they're tipperarian.

damn it, turns out they're from kilkenny. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

bijapos wrote: »
    It's actually a Roscommon product, brewed out the Racecourse Road. The name was picked in an online poll a few years ago :)

Roscommon is also home to some of the best Lamb on the planet.

The lads are from Galway. They just bought a place to make it in Roscommon is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭mackmuffin

Cork

Ballymaloe relish
    skirts and kidneys.....mmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

merengueca wrote: »
    Offaly - Turf

TULLAMORE SAUSAGES.

yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

Halo Kitty wrote: »
    Kerry gold butter/ The Kerry Group
    Jackie Healy Rae
    GAA football..!!

And the Ring of Kerry cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Mayo

Half of Galway city's population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Cork
    Jack McCarthys black pudding as served to Queen Elizabeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

Dublin

Companies:
    • Xtra-vision
    • Paddy Power
    • Jurys Inn
    • Superquinn
    • Butlers irish Chocolates
    • Tayto
    • C&C (Cantrell & Cochrane)
    • Fyffes
    • Guinness
    • Arnotts
    • Clerys
    • Guineys
    • Heatons
    • Easons
    • Abrakebabra
    • Bewleys
    • Eddie Rockets
    • O'Briens Irish Sandwich Bars
    • Meteor Mobile Communications
    • NTL
    • Aer Lingus
    • City Jet
    • Ryanair
    • Bus Eireann
    • irish Ferries
    • The Irish Times
    • The Independent
    • RTE
    • TV3
    • Setanta Sports
    • Today FM
    • Radio Nova
    • FM104
    • Spin FM
    • Phantom

Foreign but Dublin based:
    • Amazon
    • Ebay
    • Facebook
    • Google
    • Microsoft
    • Lufthansa Technik
    etc....

Music:
    • U2
    • Aslan
    • Thin Lizzy
    • Damien Dempsey
    • The Frames
    • Sinead O'Connor
    • Paddy Casey
    • Samantha Mumba
    • Bell X1
    • The Script
    • The Coronas
    • The Hot House Flowers
    • Boyzone
    • Glen Hansard
    • The Dubliners
    • Bob Geldof
    etc......

Writers:
    • Samuel Beckett
    • Brendan Behan
    • Maeve Binchy
    • Abraham "Bram" Stoker
    • Roddy Doyle
    • James Joyce
    • Sean O'Casey
    • James Plunkett
    • George Bernard Shaw
    • Jonathan Swift
    • Oscar Wilde
    • W.B. Yeats
    etc......

Film:
    • Colin Farrell
    • Brenda Fricker
    • Brendan Gleeson
    • Michael Gambon
    • Aidan Gillen
    • Gabriel Byrne
    • Maureen O'Hara
    • Jonathan Rhys Meyers
    • Neil Jordan
    • Jim Sheridan
    etc.....

Sports:
    • Damien Duff
    • Robbie Keane
    • Stephen Carr
    • Ronnie Whelan
    • Ronnie Delaney
    • Bernard Dunne
    • Eamonn Coghlan
    • Ken Doherty
    • Niall Quinn
    • Kevin Moran
    • Liam Brady
    • Frank Stapleton
    • Johnny Giles
    • Steve Collins
    • Brian O'Driscoll
    • Pádraig Harrington
    • Paul McGinley
    • Stephen Roche
    • Michelle Smith
    • Jim Stynes (RIP)
    etc.....

Buildings:
    • Dail Eireann
    • The Four Courts
    • The Seanad
    • The Custom House
    • City Hall
    • The Point Depot
    • The RDS
    • The Spire
    • Dublin Airport
    • Baldonnel Military Aerodrome
    • Weston Executice Airport
    • Central Bank
    • Guinness Brewery
    • National Museum of Ireland
    • National Library of Ireland
    • Natural History Museum
    • National Gallery of Ireland
    • olympia Theatre
    • National Concert Hall
    • Gaiety Theatre
    • National Conference Centre
    • Grand Canal Theatre
    • Vickers Street
    • Croke Park
    • Lansdowne Road
    • The National Aquatic Centre
    • The IFSC
    • Christ Church Cathedral
    • The GPO
    • Dublin Castle
    • Trinity College
    • The Luas lightrail network
    • The Dart urban rail network
    etc.....

Events:
    • 1916 Rising
    • GAA All Ireland Finals
    • Special olympics
    • Dublin Marathon
    • Skerries 100
    etc....

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Have a look at the way they carved Derry cityside out of Donegal.
    I'm noticing a lack of contributions from Mayo

Have ye nothing to contribute?

Let the West awake

Enda Kenny, for their sins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

kraggy wrote: »
    The lads are from Galway. They just bought a place to make it in Roscommon is all.

Brewed in Roscommon, with the finest Rossie water, always has been. It's a Rossie product whether you like it or not. ;)

I personally couldn't give a fiddlers who or where is responsible for it. I'm just glad it's being made, one of the finest craft beers around.