Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Salespeople

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭shankespony

Customer service can be very poor, particularly for women who call in to look at buying a car, what a mistake it is for the salesman to focus on the male when selling the car a definite no no. My opinion was they had done all their homework on the web and if you treated them properly then they were more likely to buy than male customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I remember doing work experience in a dual-franchise showroom about 10 years ago when I was in school.

In some cases I knew more about the car than the sales director, seemed his boss was the only one who actually noticed that and used to encourage it.

Simple things like "this model is better because..."

I still have a disdain for base spec cars, but most salespeople are only interested in selling these, because in general the people who want to buy a new Mondeo/Passat/Avensis are more interested in the number on the plate than the spec difference between a Zetec and Titanium/ Comfortline and Highline / Strata and Sol. In most cases they just think a Mondeo is a Mondeo.

Not being too defensive of salespeople, but I can imagine its pretty demoralising when you spend 3 days on a course about next year's offering and the most interesting question you get asked 90% of the time is "does it come in diesel?" or "will you throw in a set of mats and a full tank?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

Theres a joke about cars specs,in England they give you a full list of extras on a car and ask do want to take any off,in Ireland they ask if theres anything you want to add to the base model :pac: ,makes me wanna puke seeing new Toyota with wheel covers,or insignia with handles for back windows :D .This shows two things that people are ^diots who like two show off and government who overtax imports,yet they manage to increase the road tax and be in debt while roads are ****ty in most of the country(not speaking about EU funded) carriageways.sorry for off topic :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Declan Lander

ninty9er wrote: »
    I remember doing work experience in a dual-franchise showroom about 10 years ago when I was in school.

In some cases I knew more about the car than the sales director, seemed his boss was the only one who actually noticed that and used to encourage it.

Simple things like "this model is better because..."

I still have a disdain for base spec cars, but most salespeople are only interested in selling these, because in general the people who want to buy a new Mondeo/Passat/Avensis are more interested in the number on the plate than the spec difference between a Zetec and Titanium/ Comfortline and Highline / Strata and Sol. In most cases they just think a Mondeo is a Mondeo.

Not being too defensive of salespeople, but I can imagine its pretty demoralising when you spend 3 days on a course about next year's offering and the most interesting question you get asked 90% of the time is "does it come in diesel?" or "will you throw in a set of mats and a full tank?"

I agree with what you say about a lot of Irish sales reps not caring much or knowing much about what they are selling.

Re options / higher trim : Manufactures make a mint on them, I don't know what the dealers make on them. Most of these extra's / higher trim levels are hideously overpriced for what they are, and they won't make the car worth much more at trade in with an Irish dealer again, so a lot of regular new car buyers avoid extras / don't want to know.

scamalert wrote: »
    ,makes me wanna puke seeing new Toyota with wheel covers,or insignia with handles for back windows :D .

Agreed, but is a set of alloys, 2 foglights, electric window motors and a bit of plastic chrome really worth the sometimes crazy €4,000 - 5,000 extra ? Also Irish dealers give next to nothing extra for a higher trim car on trade in again, so a lot of people perfer to tell them to stuff their shiny 'extras'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Depends on the extra but there are things like A/C which I would find it very hard not to have in a car now. You might not make the money back on them at trade in, but if it enhances the driving experience then its worth the extra money imo.

djimi wrote: »
    Depends on the extra but there are things like A/C which I would find it very hard not to have in a car now. You might not make the money back on them at trade in, but if it enhances the driving experience then its worth the extra money imo.

True and its standard on most cars now. As a car gets older, it's just something else to go wrong/service, a higher strain on the alternator, and rarely working properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,934 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Customer service can be very poor, particularly for women who call in to look at buying a car, what a mistake it is for the salesman to focus on the male when selling the car a definite no no. My opinion was they had done all their homework on the web and if you treated them properly then they were more likely to buy than male customers.

So true. I recall a young looking girl, jeans t shirt & trainers, who got into a red M635. The salesman virtually ordered her out. As a new sales manager I virtually ran across the showroom & apologised. We ended up have a laugh about it & yes she bought the car.

The hardest part was deciding during sales training whether the salesman should remain standing & appear to be looking down her top or crouch down & appear to be looking up her skirt :D

By the way I invited the girl to a track day & according to Derek Bell she was one of the best drivers that he had ever seen.

I agree Discodog if only the car sales guys would cop on to the female market they would have better sales. Many women are the main breadwinners in households but we seem to be stuck in the darkages here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

ninty9er wrote: »

Or worse again, "What's the scrappage price on that?"
    I agree Discodog if only the car sales guys would cop on to the female market they would have better sales. Many women are the main breadwinners in households but we seem to be stuck in the darkages here.

Serious question - aside from the basics of civility and manners, what would you specifically do to cater to the femalemarket in a franchised dealership?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

Agreed, but is a set of alloys, 2 foglights, electric window motors and a bit of plastic chrome really worth the sometimes crazy €4,000 - 5,000 extra ? Also Irish dealers give next to nothing extra for a higher trim car on trade in again, so a lot of people perfer to tell them to stuff their shiny 'extras'
    Does a new wheel base,seats and body worth 20k then ?Fair enough i wouldnt even pay a penny for extras at prices what they are now,but id rather drive something older and fully speced,that would smoke away any 2012 car on the lights :p.And you know the ones skangers who put rocket size exhausts on their civics type r badges on their 1.4l :] seems older people do the same with number plate games are their parents :D(joking).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,532 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

+1 I have two sisters who about two years ago were both looking to buy a small hatch in a town down the country. I told them about considering residual value in the equation and encouraged them to look at a Polo but the local VW guy didn't listen to a word they said so they both bought Corsas from a local Opel guy, purely because he was a better listener.

I should say that the local VW guy has a very professional operation, the trouble is that the sales guy are so well trained, they appear to have had their personalities erased and they all come across as robotic androids who religiously stick to the script from the sales school.

Which does raise the issue of whather salespeople should just concentrate on the interpersonal skills when dealing with women and just not bother with feeds and speeds.

I think civility and manners goes along way. Recommend a test drive so they can get a feel for the car, many woman are on the defensive when they go into a dealership and the salesman is starting from a negative. If you listen to what the customer is looking for, are honest and answer any questions and queries. Women will very quickly work out if you are genuine In terms of the car, offer the right shape, right model, right engine size and right colour and i don't think you will go too far wrong. Customer comes first, i got a great write up when i sold cars by offering a cup of tea and offering the buyer (he was a car journalist) the right car for his daughter ruling out a larger engine due to tax and insurance. I had a good few customers from the article in the paper which was nice.

Not many married men buy a car without some input from the wife. I remember a guy who fell in love with a black Testarossa. He took it for a test drive, we arranged finance, it was the car of his dreams. He called in with the wife & she declared that it was "big & ugly" - I don't know who was most miffed, us or the customer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I was very interested in a Civic a few years back until the salesman started asking me if I was another one those boy racers :rolleyes:

Mind you it was a bloody nice car and I was sorry I let him put me off the sale.

AltAccount wrote: »
    Serious question - aside from the basics of civility and manners, what would you specifically do to cater to the femalemarket in a franchised dealership?

Number one is to employ some female salespeople not so that they sell to the female customers but it shows that you see women as equals.

You treat all customers the same irrespective of their sex. The most important part of any sales process is qualifying the customer's needs. You cannot begin to sell them something until you know what they want & why they want it. Also the qualification process shows that you are interested in fulfilling the needs of the customer.

Many salesmen make the mistake of trying to sell you what they think you should buy instead of listening to your needs. The old line that "telling isn't selling" is so true. Good salespeople ask lots of questions :).

Any woman that has been to a dealership has probably experienced being treated like an idiot so you will really stand out by being different.

By the way I would always know exactly what ever customer thought of my salespeople - we sent them a questionnaire !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I think I fall into the dishonest punter category :o

We buy two or three new vehicles a year (straight sale mostly). When visiting a new dealer for the first time I always make sure to take the roughest car or van we have at the time with me and wear working clothes.

If the salespeople don't acknowledge me (which happens quite a lot:)) it's their loss not mine.

Where To wrote: »
    I always make sure to take the roughest car or van we have at the time with me and wear working clothes.

If the salespeople don't acknowledge me (which happens quite a lot:)) it's their loss not mine.

I know of a salesman who had some serious egg on his face. He ignored a scruffy bloke looking at a Porsche 959 - turned out to be the renown car collector Rowan Atkinson :D

One female I employed specialised in customers like you. She would spot the customers that the other salesmen were ignoring & her sales figures went through the roof. They soon learnt.

We buy two or three new vehicles a year (straight sale mostly). When visiting a new dealer for the first time I always make sure to take the roughest car or van we have at the time with me and wear working clothes.

Walk into a Merc dealership in a pair of old jeans and you can smell the cold shoulder before you spot the sales guys trying to look busy so they can ignore you!

I can see the point you're making and I was once of the same mind but I now make a point of phoning ahead to say that they have a car I'm interested in and when would be a good time to talk, that way they treat you seriously and you get listened to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Discodog wrote: »
    I know of a salesman who had some serious egg on his face. He ignored a scruffy bloke looking at a Porsche 959 - turned out to be the renown car collector Rowan Atkinson :D

I would say he did this every time he drove past the dealership:
    finger.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

I can't see the point to this. You could be walking out on the best possible deal because of some test you set the dealer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Jimdagym wrote: »
    I can't see the point to this. You could be walking out on the best possible deal because of some test you set the dealer.
    Poor salespeople very rarely give the best deals in my experience.

So true, they always let their ego get in the way.

The best deal has to be a compromise & it depends on mutual respect. You are far more likely to accept a deal if the salesperson has been professional.

Discodog, what outfit did you work for in the UK ?

They sound like a decent bunch.

Discodog, what outfit did you work for in the UK ? They sound like a decent bunch.

Oh they were bought out a few years ago.

hi discodog, its been a while since i worked in car sales, it was during celtic tiger and the other lads did no prospecting for business and didn't like it when i did. Do your staff business develop or is it still waiting for the customer to call in and show an interest. Im just curious to see how/if things have changed!

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭Boardmaster

I am still amazed at the amount of places that don't have the details of a car on the window or the price! One place near me, the sales guy has a bit of paper in his pocket and you would need to ask him about every car to find out the price.

I think he's living in the past and expecting me to walk in and tell him exactly how much money I have in my pocket. Makes it difficult to walk around the yard and get interested in a car.

Well I took my business to another dealer. All prices & details listed. Found a few makes i was interested in around the right price and we worked it out from there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Was looking for an e39 5 series for the wife last year and had a sconce around Kearys on the off-chance. Couldn't see anything on the main lot so I asked if they had any tucked away out of sight. He didn't know what an e39 was. We both broke our holes laughing in his face. The F10 wasn't even in the showroom yet, so the e39 was essentially one model back at the time. Asshat.

I realise you don't have to be an expert to be a car salesman, but if you're working in a main dealer, at least take the time to scan the basics of your marque on Wikipedia.

dahamsta wrote: »
    ............We both broke our holes laughing in his face. .................. Asshat.

No doubt he perhaps should have know what an E39 was but still, no need to be rude to the chap really.

I wasn't being rude, I was laughing at something that was funny. When you discover a sense of humour, you will too.

I am still amazed at the amount of places that don't have the details of a car on the window or the price! One place near me, the sales guy has a bit of paper in his pocket and you would need to ask him about every car to find out the price.

I think he's living in the past and expecting me to walk in and tell him exactly how much money I have in my pocket. Makes it difficult to walk around the yard and get interested in a car.

Well I took my business to another dealer. All prices & details listed. Found a few makes i was interested in around the right price and we worked it out from there.

+1 for POA as the 'price' on cars for sale by dealers on the web, I just ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭Ardent

tw0nk wrote: »
    - Not willing to deal, this was weird, instead of entering any kind of negotiation, just saying repeatably "the price is the price"

This is a straight walk-away for me too.

Prior to buying my car private I was looking at a similiar model at a second-hand dealer. Yer man had the cheek to laugh when I tried to negotiate down from his ridiculously hgh price. I left him with it...and I bet you that car's still sitting there now. His loss but cannot undertand that kind of attitude.

I wasn't being rude, I was laughing at something that was funny. When you discover a sense of humour, you will too.

Breaking your hole laughing into a salesman's face is nothing short of rude.

Not knowing the last model of car for the make in your premium dealership is nothing short of ignorant; as is wasting my time with your comments. You haven't realised by now that I place zero value on your opinions? Now will you go away and waste someone else's time and stop thread spoiling please, /again/?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Here's my bad sales experience if anyone can be arsed reading.

Was buying a new motorbike. Settled with a price with the sales man, bike was €20k. Gave a grand deposit, bike wouldn't be in stock for about 3 months, new model and big demand at the time. Never got a receipt for the deposit. Rang twice for a receipt, never got one. Was sort of worried cos I gave him a grand cash, he could easily turn around and say "what deposit"!

Eventually the bike is in stock and I get a call. Deposit isn't a problem and I hand over a bank draft for 19k. Wrong colour. I confirmed the colour twice, once originally, and once in a call to get a receipt. No biggie, colour was only really a few stickers and a stripe on the saddle. Then the bike had the wrong tyres. Changing tyres wouldn't happen till Monday, so I kept bike with the wrong tyres and wrong colour.
    Some of the extras were missing, I expected this cos I was keeping an eye on messageboards. Europe wide shortage for the luggage boxes. Grand, they'll supply them in a month. Only one ignition key. Sales guy said he'll sort out a second one.

Went back a month later to get the luggage put on. Guy insists that they weren't included in the original price. Other sales guy backs him up. This is where a detailed receipt would have been nice. I eventually have to stump up 900 euro for the boxes. I know, i shouldn't! But it was either pay, or I'd do something I'd regret!
    A week later I phoned up the head office of that particular bike company to complain. The next day the sales guy (not the main guy, the second one that backed him up) rang to say there was a mistake on the luggage, that was included in the agreed price and they "found" the receipt. They'll credit the money back onto my card. Fair play to the head office people.

As expected, never heard back about the second key

Not knowing the last model of car for the make in your premium dealership is nothing short of ignorant; as is wasting my time with your comments. You haven't realised by now that I place zero value on your opinions? Now will you go away and waste someone else's time and stop thread spoiling please, /again/?

lol, Mr Hamsta doesn't like my comments, if you find they waste your time either don't reply or ignore them ;)

Simples :)

Jesus Christ, what age are you, ten?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

He might only be five and still be right.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I think you're the one that needs to grow up, if you're not bothered in doing so please don't post in Motors again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

€20k motorbike!!!!! Drool. What was/is it out of curiosity??

hi discodog, its been a while since i worked in car sales, it was during celtic tiger and the other lads did no prospecting for business and didn't like it when i did. Do your staff business develop or is it still waiting for the customer to call in and show an interest. Im just curious to see how/if things have changed!

Even in boom times the sales staff spent at least 50% of their time out of the showroom. There is no point waiting for business to come to you. It's one of the reasons why we preferred to recruit good salespeople with experience of prospecting & generating business. Most traditional car salesmen wouldn't have a clue.

We also designed a commission system that encouraged prospecting because any customer gained this way had cost us nothing.

What does prospecting mean in this context Discodog?

Generating your own business by prospecting for potential customers. In reality it means researching, phoning for appointments & going to see potential buyers. For example it could be asking your existing customers for referrals or contacting fleet buyers.

A 'prospect' is a potential sales opportunity, 'prospecting' means finding them before they find you.

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Poulgorm

2 experiences I had: In 07, I was trading in an 04 Accord for a new Volvo S40 (bad decision, by the way, but that is another story).

A female salesperson in a large Midlands garage (had both Honda & Volvo dealerships) offered me a wretched price. She explained that my 3 year old Accord could only be sold to the trade! The car had a full service history (60K miles) and never gave trouble and didn't seem likely to anytime soon. Won't be darkening the door of that dealer again.

Did a good deal with a garage further to the south, who also had both the Volvo & Honda franchises. The Volvo turned out to be a very painful buy, but because of the professionalism of both the service and sales staff, I traded in there again and bought a Honda off them.

I suppose the point I am making is that professionalism throughout all garage staff is vital to staying in business in these hard times.

Very good, discodog, you are right many of them wouldn't have had a clue. Given ur down the country its a wee bit easier to keep tabs on prospects which always helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Re options / higher trim : Manufactures make a mint on them, I don't know what the dealers make on them. Most of these extra's / higher trim levels are hideously overpriced for what they are, and they won't make the car worth much more at trade in with an Irish dealer again, so a lot of regular new car buyers avoid extras / don't want to know.

Higher spec cars sell faster second hand, if I have decent cars on my hypothetical forecourt, from the customers who bought them new who have bought another high if not top spec equivalent from me I'm not carrying huge levels of stock and have enough money to pay my staff, overheads and stocking loans.

It's a little simplistic, but there are minded cars that can stay 2-3 years on a forecourt because they have manual windows or no air con.

Car sales is something I'd love to get into, but I'd probably go batty listening to some of the stories.

Generating your own business by prospecting for potential customers. In reality it means researching, phoning for appointments & going to see potential buyers. For example it could be asking your existing customers for referrals or contacting fleet buyers.

Thanks. I thought there might be more to it in this particular context, you used it like a technical term. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Thanks. I thought there might be more to it in this particular context, you used it like a technical term. :)

It's simple enough really: being pro-active as opposed to re-active, i.e. going looking for business as opposed to waiting for business to come your way.