Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Transition Tips

• 10-04-2012 1:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭

Hi guys and gals. I'm doing my first triathlon on Saturday. It pool based and local but I'm still starting to get very nervous. I've done a nice bit of training and am happy with that side of it all. I wont be challenging for any medals, will be aiming to complete it in under 1:45.

It's all new to me though and I would love a few tips from ye of great experience :). Small details like how to lay out my gear in transition, what to do when i arrive etc. I know I'm not challenging for the win but I still would like to have a nice clean transition and not waste time on silly things (like a friend of mine who stopped to eat a bananna and check out the ladies for a few minutes in his first triathlon:D).

Any other tips like how to cope in a lane etc would be great too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Great thread, would love some tips also!

Best of luck in the first tri, Bally8 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

I'll assume you are wearing a trisuit for the triathlon as most people do.

Your bike will be racked, normally with the nose of the saddle going under the bar first and then you lifting the bike so the nose is then sitting on top of the bar. If you are tall and have a high saddle the weight of other bikes on the bar can mean that you can't get your bike out in transition. Check this prior to the race and rerack if needed. I didn't do this once and it took a few mins to get my bike free and a lot of energy lifting the bar with one hand!

Usually bags/boxes aren't allowed in transition so you will need to lay everything down ready.
    I normally hang my helmet off one handle bar and my race belt off the other.
    In T1 then it's a case of helmet on before anything else followed by race belt.

In transition you usually have one side of the bike for your kit, the other side will be for your neighbour. So on one side of the bike I have my bike shoes with (if you are wearing them) socks rolled to make them easy to put on. Shoes opened ready for your foot to go straight in. Towel on top to dry feet/keep shoes dry in case of shower.
    Runners are to the inside of the bike shoes again unlaced ready to put on quickly. Use elastic laces if you have them.
    T2 then is a case of rack bike, hang helmet, bike shoes off, runners on, away I go. Don't worry about trying to have shoes still attached to your pedals for the first race.

It's a sprint. You shouldn't need any nutrition. If you think you might need a gel selotape one to your crossbar and have it whilst cycling. unless it's absolutely freezing I wouldn't bother with anything else other than the trisuit. you'll soon warmup on the cycle/run and put clothing on top of wet skin is slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

A simple piece of advice, keep you transition area simple.

Every race I go to I see ppl with a weeks worth of training gear, bottles, towels, more bottles etc.. You need to leave four things in transition:

-Bike (with shoes clipped in)
    -Helmet
    -Runners
    -Number belt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭El Director

mloc123 wrote: »
    A simple piece of advice, keep you transition area simple.

Every race I go to I see ppl with a weeks worth of training gear, bottles, towels, more bottles etc.. You need to leave four things in transition:

-Bike (with shoes clipped in)
    -Helmet
    -Runners
    -Number belt

+1 to the above. Keep it clean and simple.

For me race belt is already on and turned to the back ready for the cycle, so during the swim it's on over the tri suit but under the wet suit. As its a pool based tri though perhaps best have it in transition.

I like a brightly coloured towel myself just for my runners to go on, why? Easy to spot when running in, keeping the head down scanning, thought process something like - "pink towel, pink towel, pink towel, there it is, BOOM!" :)

If it goes well and you enjoy it, and I'm sure you will, then get used to running sock less, one less thing to think of and slow you down, Couerdelion you should already be running sock less :P

Don't forget helmet first, take a deep breath or two, be calm and you will move more quickly and efficiently through transition. In T2, rack bike first, then helmet off.

The vey best of luck Bally8 and I hope you enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

"pink towel, pink towel, pink towel, there it is, BOOM!"

You have a thing for pink it seems. :D

I'll echo all the above. The less you have in transition the better. As a novice its unlikely that you'll have your shoes already clipped to your bike and you'll probably wear socks, but other than that you don't need anything more than mloc says.

Run in, chuck your hat and googles in the general direction of your back wheel (if racked with the front pointing out), put on helmet, racebelt (better to step into and pull up rather than snap shut) socks (already rolled back) and shoes and go. Drink and gel if you're using them should already be on the bike.

After the bike, you'll run in, rack bike, fling the helmet somewhere near the hat and goggles, change shoes and go again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Thanks guys for some great advice. I suppose the biggest thing for me is to be calm and not freak out about it. I worry that I will get flustered and forget to do something but will do my best to stay calm.

I have a tri suit but had thought of putting a tshirt on over it after the pool as its shocking on me- I still have a spare tyre in the belly and hip area as I cant get my diet under control. I will prob leave the tshirt though if its going to be too hard to get on when wet.

I think I will try racking the bike once or twice before the race so I know I can do it. Good tip about the bright towel, will definitely do that.

I'm going to bring the tri suit to the pool tomorrow night so will do a trial run of getting out of the pool and into my socks and shoes while wet.

Thanks again lads, I'll let ye know how it goes :)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

When you rack your bike in transition before the race, check where it is, find reference points nearby and count how many rows in you are. Nothing worse than getting to T1 and thinking 'wheres me bike?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Fazz

Ah the days of the first triathlon :D

Enjoy it is the main thing!

I remember struggling through the swim, I had Bike Bib Shorts on underneath for some reason too ha!

Got out of the water after doing a lot of breaststroke, and proceeded to try and put on my Bike Jersey whilst wet. Not easy, not fun.
    But hey, we're talking like 15-20 odd seconds extra so it's not going to make much of a difference.

I do remember having a smile across my face as it was a great buzz.

Prepare for the addiction that is Triathlon... :D

My only advice is to enjoy it, and perhaps practice a bike to run session if you can before hand - basically do a 10k bike or more reasonably fast, hop off and try run straight away as if in a race. Even if just 5mins running, it gets you used to the jelly legs feeling.
    I swore I was after cramping my hamstrings, calves, quads etc the first time I tried it. Thought I was in serious trouble!
    Slowed to a walk and gradually the muscles kicked back in!
    It was hilarious really!

That sensation reduces the more your muscles adapt and get used to it.

Have a great race!

Fazz wrote: »
    Ah the days of the first triathlon :D

Enjoy it is the main thing!

I remember struggling through the swim, I had Bike Bib Shorts on underneath for some reason too ha!

Got out of the water after doing a lot of breaststroke, and proceeded to try and put on my Bike Jersey whilst wet. Not easy, not fun.
    But hey, we're talking like 15-20 odd seconds extra so it's not going to make much of a difference.

I do remember having a smile across my face as it was a great buzz.

Prepare for the addiction that is Triathlon... :D

Thanks Fazz. I've done 3 club duathlons so I've felt that weird leg sensation plenty now- still wasnt any less weird by the 3rd one:)

Love your first tri story. Might be cool if everyone else could share theirs? Rookie mistakes etc

@Oyrx - I would def be the type to lose my bike so will take your advice on board ta

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭littlemsfickle

Oryx wrote: »
    When you rack your bike in transition before the race, check where it is, find reference points nearby and count how many rows in you are. Nothing worse than getting to T1 and thinking 'wheres me bike?'

+1 Yeah it's a good idea when you're sussing out how transition works at the start to actually practice running in and finding your bike. Sometimes you think you have a good idea of where it is but when you come in from a different angle it can throw you. But sure if you've done duathlons you'll be familiar with that already. If you have an extra pair of runners it can be good to bring them for warming up in as you have to leave your runners in transition and sometimes it closes a good bit before the race start.

But sure if you've done duathlons you'll be familiar with that already. If you have an extra pair of runners it can be good to bring them for warming up in as you have to leave your runners in transition and sometimes it closes a good bit before the race start.

Thanks littlemisfickle, I hadnt thought about warming up in a different pair of runners, will do that.

The duathlons I've done were club ones where we just left our bikes lying in someones driveway:) so I've no experience of racking a bike or mount/dismount lines yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭cuculainn

Sorry for jumping on this thread, but also doing first tri on sat.....anyone think its too cold to do the cycle in the tri suit only? I think I'll need something else to keep warm as if its as cold as last night it would be misery!!!

Opinions?

You'll probably be ok because you work at a level that will get the blood pumping. I wore a jacket in Laois this time last year and it was a huge mistake, I cooked in it. If you have arm warmers that might be an option. I don't know about you but it takes me the same length of time to get those on as it does a jacket so they don't save me time!

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭cuculainn

Thanks for the reply.....Just checking the weather and its a high of 9 deg....so if doing the cycle at about 10.30 am can expect that to be much lower....

Think I am going to bring a cycle jersey with me a leave it in the transition as an option

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

You'll probably be ok because you work at a level that will get the blood pumping. I wore a jacket in Laois this time last year and it was a huge mistake, I cooked in it. If you have arm warmers that might be an option. I don't know about you but it takes me the same length of time to get those on as it does a jacket so they don't save me time!

Yeah we have special weather arranged every year:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

cuculainn wrote: »
    Sorry for jumping on this thread, but also doing first tri on sat.....anyone think its too cold to do the cycle in the tri suit only? I think I'll need something else to keep warm as if its as cold as last night it would be misery!!!

Opinions?

I'd go with tri suit only. Its a sprint so you will be going hell for leather. Trust me after the swim yuo won't even notice teh cold and teh biek si short enough to keep the blood flowing. Just go hard!

Enjoy too, + for Bally8 have a blast. Nenagh was my first TRi in 2009 and I loved it. Very good race, organised very well IMO

Thanks shotgun I'm just about to finish getting my gear in order for the morning. All excited and terrified at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

Thanks shotgun I'm just about to finish getting my gear in order for the morning. All excited and terrified at the same time.[/Quote]

How did you get on Bally8? Really enjoyed it myself. Lovely day for it and course was well marshalled- well done to the organisers!

If you check bally's log you'll see she did great :) cant linky for ya - on mobile

phkk wrote: »

How did you get on Bally8? Really enjoyed it myself. Lovely day for it and course was well marshalled- well done to the organisers!

Got on great thanks phkk. I finished way faster than I expected. We were blessed with the weather. Top class race organisation :D

As for all the transition tips- thanks a million guys. I passed a lot of them on to some of my other beginner club mates- they were well impressed with my knowledge.

I did make some girly mistakes which wont happen next time- trying to dry my feet even when my hair kept dripping down on them in T1 and trying to fix my hair in T2:) to name a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Boardnashea

Thanks Bally8. I just got my card recently and looking for somewhere to do my first tri during the summer. Very helpful tips.

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭merc230ce

Bally8 wrote: »
    I still would like to have a nice clean transition and not waste time on silly things (like a friend of mine who stopped to eat a bananna and check out the ladies for a few minutes in his first triathlon:D).

Still laughing at this :D
    I'll say this for him - at least he had his priorities straight ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Sooooo, for those of us who will probably take out half the field if we try to mount the bike with shoes already clipped into the bike. Run through transition in bike shoes - yay or nay? Should manage to get out of bike shoes while on the bike like so that won't be a problem.

I also have to pick a pair of runners to put my lock laces into. How's a gal to choose? :(

I can't do that fancy stuff like leaving the shoes on the bike, so I always run to the mount line with shoes on. You look like a ballet dancer but its ok.

All my shoes have lock laces in. :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I can't do that fancy stuff like leaving the shoes on the bike, so I always run to the mount line with shoes on. You look like a ballet dancer but its ok.

I'd imagine I'd look something like this trying a flying mount :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

+1.
    Unless you are well versed in shoes-on-the-bike, there is a high probablility of failure in the eh, "mounting" process.

The only exception might be if transition is in a muddy field, where the shoes can pick up all sorts and mess with the pedals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

Bally8 wrote: »
    I have a tri suit but had thought of putting a tshirt on over it after the pool as its shocking on me- I still have a spare tyre in the belly and hip area as I cant get my diet under control. I will prob leave the tshirt though if its going to be too hard to get on when wet.

Honestly in the middle of the race, you won't give a toss what you look like. You'll just be focused on the next. Anyone around you will be too busy trying to get themselves on/off the bike as well - they really won't care what they or you look like! :)

Most important thing is comfort. Nothing new on race day! No shiny new runners that cut your feet to ribbons, no lovely new top that serrates your arm pits, no race belt that cuts into your tummy! :D

Izoard wrote: »
    +1.
    Unless you are well versed in shoes-on-the-bike, there is a high probablility of failure in the eh, "mounting" process.

The only exception might be if transition is in a muddy field, where the shoes can pick up all sorts and mess with the pedals.
    In which case your feet and bike will pick up the muddy mess. :) One race Ive done a few times is like that, I now tape up my shoes to cover the cleats, and rip it off at the mount line. :p