Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Topics of Study

• 10-04-2012 6:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 406 ✭✭

So guys, just a random thought about showing what topics I'll be narrowing the studying down to for definite. Yous can add yours too (especially for subjects I dont do). Figured that whoever doesn't have a clue what to be at will be able to have an idea from us. So:

English
    Rich- Themes of Power and Powerlessness
    Heaney-Theme of Love and how he expresses it
    Kinsella- The transcience of time
    Larkin- Interesting insights into the ordinary

Of course Comparative Quotes- GVV especially, then Lit Gen if I have to :p
    Hamlet- Quotes and ideas relative to Deception, Hamlet himself, and the women.

Irish
    Paper One: Planning on learning vocab for the problems in Ireland and diospoireacht vocab too. Havent done much more than them in school.

Paper Two: Doing general plans for everything since we cant narrow it down. (eg for geibheann I'll list the theme, the elements of writing and then general words that need to be mentioned as I write, then suíomh an dáin, and a bit on the poet themselves.)

For An Triail I'm doing a general answer, then one on Pádraig and Maire and then one more which I havent decided.

French
    Sport is a definite topic of revision for me!
    Other than that I was going to do positive and negative vocab for the journal intime, then for other questions I'm revising technology, smoking the environment.

Geography

For Physical I will be focusing on:
    *Rivers- how they're formed in each stage.
    - Humans with Rivers (The three gorges dam)
    -Isostatic Processes
    *Rocks- Formation of each type
    - Humans with Rocks (Tara Mines)

As for Regional it will be:
    Primary/Secondary/Tertiary for Paris and Brazil
    and Primary and Secondary for GDA/BMW
    Might do a brief revision of Mezzogiorno.

For Human Environment I'll be studying the OS maps with settlements, as well as migration and Overpopulation.

As for geoecology I'll be focusing on Tropical Biomes, Deforestation and Soil Erosion in a biome and formation of brown soils.

Art
    Irish: Newgrange
    Bronze Age
    Iron Age
    And maybe Stone Crosses.
    EU: Boticelli
    Romanesque/Gothic
    Donatello
    Michelangelo
    And the Art appreciation Q is the gallery :)

Home Ec:
    Anyone that does this knows its hard to narrow down.
    I'll be learning off Vitamins and Minerals completely.
    Then I'll probably focus on Carbohydrates and Fats and Lipids, with appropriate food commodities.
    Then I guess I'll focus on Microbiology, as well as Marriage/Families in Ireland.

For the Option I do social studies so I'll be focusing on Poverty and education.

Maths:
    I do ordinary level but since P2 requires some study I'm learning some definitions off and knowing my circumcircle/incircle constructions off.

Ok this is long and i'm hoping this helps :) Everyone feel free to add!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭David1994

This is a very good idea for a thread .I will add mine later as I am going for dinner now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭JonnyMcNamee

Good idea for a thread! :D I might aswell just do the ones you haven't listed as the rest of mine are pretty much the same as yours!

Physics:
    Nothing you can leave out really. If you leave out a chapter or a section, say mechanics for example, you're leaving yourself open to not being able to answer some questions which is pretty nonsensical.

History:
    Pursuit of Sovereignty and the Impact of Partition:
    • Eucharistic Congress (Gonna learn about three different questions based around this to be safe)
    • Anglo-Irish Treaty agreement.
    • Fall of Home Rule/Rise of Sinn Féin Party
    • Michael Collins (According to my teacher he's been tipped and he's the only personality that a question hasn't come up on)
    Politics and Society in Northern Ireland:
    • Coleraine University Controversy
    • Apprentice Boys.
    • The Welfare State.
    • The Civil Rights Movement.
    United States and the World:
    • Lyndon Johnson.
    • Us Foreign Policy.
    • Montgomery Bus Boycott/Civil Rights Movement.
    • Moon Landing/New Military and Information Technology.
    Colonialisation:
    Doing all three (India, Katanga and Race Relations.

Don't wanna take a chance)

Engineering:
    Just the usual kind of stuff- Welding, Machining Processes, Mechanisms, Plastics, Computers/Electrics, L.A.S.E.Rs (special topic). Has to be one of the easiest topics on the LC theory-wise!

Music:
    Irish Music:
    • The Harping Tradition
    • Uilleann Pipes
    • Fusion
    • Influence of Irish music on the folk music of North America and Canada.
    • Development in Irish music in the twentieth century.
    • Collectors
    • Composers
    Composition:
    • Doing Q.1 and Q.5! There fairly alright as long as you know a basic bit of musical theory!
    Listening:
    • Really at a kind of loss for the Set Pieces. I know them fairly inside but don't really know what exactly to study so I'm just learning everything! Fairly time consuming especially when you come to the likes of Barry! :mad: Anyone got any tips for this part of the paper?

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Geographyhater

Biology:
    You really cant narrow this down but make sure to know -Genetics, ecology, plants, and bacteria

Construction:
    Sewage
    Water supply
    U values
    Passive house q10
    And the 2 drawing questions

Engineering:
    Very easy to narrow down same thing every year but easiest questions seem to be que 2 4 5 and 6

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭ConTheCat

Music:
    Irish Music:
    • The Harping Tradition
    • Uilleann Pipes
    • Fusion
    • Influence of Irish music on the folk music of North America and Canada.
    • Development in Irish music in the twentieth century.
    • Collectors
    • Composers
    Composition:
    • Doing Q.1 and Q.5! There fairly alright as long as you know a basic bit of musical theory!
    Listening:
    • Really at a kind of loss for the Set Pieces. I know them fairly inside but don't really know what exactly to study so I'm just learning everything! Fairly time consuming especially when you come to the likes of Barry! :mad: Anyone got any tips for this part of the paper?

I'm not sure what way you've been learning the set pieces but our teacher has kind of a grid for all the different sections of each work. Listen to the piece and try to identify things such as key changes, the themes, time signatures etc! Or else use the script and listen ( If only I used my own advise!!:rolleyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭David1994

Biology
    -Genetics
    -Respiration and photosynthesis
    -Human reproduction
    -Plant reproduction
    -Ecology,Study of ecosystem etc...

Cannot really narrow the rest down but they are the main chapters to know for definite.

Chemistry
    -Titration Experiments
    -Organic chemistry
    -Fuels and heats of reaction,calculations
    -Chemical equilibrium and calculations
    -Atomic theory and periodic table,electronegativity etc..

English
    Poets-Larkin,Plath,Heaney,Boland
    Comparative-Gv&v and literary genre
    Hamlet-So much could be asked.. Characters,theme of deception etc.

Geography
    -Waterfall,Meander
    -Primary,secondary,tertiary activities in BMW,Paris Region and maybe Mezzogiorno....I dont like the mezzogiorno so I think I am going to stick to them
    -Interaction with rock cycle and rivers
    -EU Expansion
    -Migration and overpopulation

Irish
    -Aiste on easpa didine,tir trina cheile and deaths on the road
    -Poems(Going to know themes,images and techniques)
    -A Thig Na Tit Orm(Mainly know where youth and innocence of youth is present when Maidhc was young) I dont think they have asked or can ask much more...
    -Pros(Knowing the main storyline and the themes throughout them)

Spanish
    -Essay on drugs,alcohol,economis crisis and technology

Maths
    -Paper 2 study mostly and just going to practice questions
    -Know the formulas

• Registered Users Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

English
    -Rich
    -Plath
    -Boland
    -Heaney (maybe)
    -General Vision & Viewpoint (general essay on it)
    -Theme/Issue (general essay on it)
    -Role of Women in Hamlet/Hamlet's Treatment of Women
    -Character of Hamlet
    -Theme of Deception

Irish
    Paper I
    -Recession/Emigration
    -Poverty
    -Olympic Games
    -Irish language
    -Discrimination
    Paper II
    -All poems
    -General essay on Maidhc, then one on the main characters.

French
    -Discrimination
    -Importance of speaking a second language
    -Global Warming
    -A few other topics that I can't think of yet :p

Maths (OL, just want to pass it)
    -Algebra
    -Complex Numbers
    -Differentiation

Chemistry
    -All titrations
    -Organic experiments
    -Organic Chemistry
    -Thermochemistry
    -Atomic Theory
    -Rates of Reactions
    -Chemical Equilibrium

Biology
    -Ecology
    -Food
    -Photosynthesis & Respiration
    -Cell Structure, Division etc.
    -Diffusion and Osmosis
    -Human Reproduction
    -Plant Reproduction
    -A few human systems that I haven't yet decided.

Business
    -Unit 4
    -Unit 5
    -Unit 6

So I think that's it. I have about 7 weeks to learn all of that. Gonna be fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

French
    -Discrimination
    -Importance of speaking a second language
    -Global Warming
    -A few other topics that I can't think of yet :p

Were you told those were likely to come up? :eek: I'm not doing any of those, I'll probably do alcohol, drugs, crime, food and health, the Olympics and racism or something.

I'll post a full list of everything I'm doing later, to scare the bejayus out of meself if nothing else!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

Togepi wrote: »
    Were you told those were likely to come up? :eek: I'm not doing any of those, I'll probably do alcohol, drugs, crime, food and health, the Olympics and racism or something.

I'll post a full list of everything I'm doing later, to scare the bejayus out of meself if nothing else!

Nope, I wasn't, but the first two were on my mock and I like global warming! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Cruel Sun

David1994 wrote: »
    Biology
    -Genetics
    -Respiration and photosynthesis
    -Human reproduction
    -Plant reproduction
    -Ecology,Study of ecosystem etc...

Will that be enough for at least a B3 do you think ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

Right, this is the lot I think! Not too sure what I'm doing for Hamlet but probably just the stuff I've mentioned.

Irish:
    Essays:
    Fadhbanna!!  <3
    Na Cluichí Olimpeacha

3 poems  (the joys of doing the cúrsa roghnach!)
    4 or 5 stories
    An Triail - character of Máire, an máthair, Pádraig, and another male I suppose, and a couple of general quotes

Sin é is docha!

English:
    Poets:
    Rich  (really well)
    Plath  (really well)
    Boland  (really well)
    Frost  (not so much...)
    Kavanagh  (not so much...)

Comparative:
    1 general general vision and viewpoint essay
    1general theme or issue essay

Hamlet:
    The role of women
    Hamlet
    The theme of revenge
    Appearances vs Reality
    Something else, no idea yet...

Maths:
    EVERYTHING!!  :(
    (Except sequences and series)

French:
    Racism
    Crime
    Alcohol
    Drugs
    Food
    Health
    The Olympics
    Letters, emails, faxes
    Diary entries

DCG:
    Assemblies
    Dynamic Mechanisms
    Linkages
    Solids in Contact
    Interpenetration
    Axonometric Projection
    Planes or something  (no idea what the question's called)
    Absolutely fecked for DCG.  :(  Surprised I could actually name most of those questions.

Phys/Chem:
    (Narrowing it down as much as possible)
    Physics:
    Heat
    Electricity
    Radioactivity

Chemistry:
    Atomic Theory
    Electrochemistry
    Thermochemistry
    May have to do some acids and bases too

Can not wait, it's going to be so fun!! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Viken

Good thread.
    Here's my plan for history:

Pursuit of Sovereignty

-Everything to do with the Cumann na nGaedhael govt.
    - '' '' '' '' '' Fianna Fáil govt.
    -The causes of Partition.
    -The Rise of Sinn Féin.

Northern Ireland
    -Brookeborough in power.
    -O'Neill in power.
    -Reasons for/account of the growth of the Civil Rights Movement.
    -Reasons for/account of the Fall of Stormont.
    -Account of British rule from Direct Rule to the Sunningdale Treaty.
    -Steps taken in the Peace Process.

Death of Colonialism
    [or whatever]
    -Everything.

Dictatorship and Democracy

-Lenin + Stalin in power in Russia.
    -Growth of Fascism in Europe.
    -Britain, France and Germany during the Inter-War years.
    -Church-State relations under Hitler and Mussolini.
    -Rise of the Nazis.
    -Mussolini in power.

...and that's it. Do ye think I can cut down anywhere? I seem to have too little material in the Pursuit of Sovereignty topic [although accounts of FF/CnG govts 1923-32 is fairly broad], but too much in Dict and Democ and on Northern Ireland.
    Still loads to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

English
    • Comparative- LG & GV & T/I
    • Poetry- Rich, Heaney, Larkin, Kinsella, Plath
    • Hamlet- Character of Hamlet, Importance of Soliloquys, Imagery in the Play, Important Scene, Characterisation of the Women, Deception, Love, Loyalty and Betrayl, Polonius, Horatio
    • Paper I- Features of Style
    Business
    • Eveything apart from Unit 1
    Geography
    • Geothermal Energy
    • Landform Development
    • Rock Cycle (formation of Metamorphic and Sedimentary)
    • Limestone Feature
    • Underground Limestone Feature
    • Weathering
    • Isotatic Processes
    • Human Interaction with Fluvial Processes
    • GDA
    • Paris/Italy
    • SW USA
    • Implications EU Expansion
    • Culture
    • Migration
    • Central Place Theory