Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert '11/'12 Off-Topic 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Cruel Sun

Wesc. wrote: »
    This was the order of my paragraphs:
    1) Intro
    2)Claudius
    3)Polonius
    4)Images of disease and sickness
    5)Images of rottenness and decay
    6)Images of weeds
    7)The theme of deception
    8)^again
    9)The use of soliloquys
    10)Conclusion.

Happy with Hamlet although I think my phrasing was a bit awkward at times :o But still I made sure every sentence was relevant to the question so hopefully I got high relevance marks!

Yeah mine was similar to that, it's hard to remember, but yeah the paper wasn't too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Opening the poetry section to see Rich AND Kavanagh just made my life, and I had done an almost identical Literary Genre question last week. Somehow managed to misread the second Hamlet question and thought it was about imagery and symbolism, went back to it after poetry and realised it was corruption. Beaut of a paper, so happy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭shefellover93

Soooo happy! Kavanagh's my boy! Hamlet madness question and comparitive went really well, didn't get to answer the unseen as I'd like, we only got until quarter past :confused: but besides that could not be happer. Came out of the exam hall and o2 gave me 5 euro free credit as well :D

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭imelle

i had deadly notes for hamlet's madness. but everytime i opened my book on them i was like nah it won't come up. guess i was wrong. the only quote i used was "fishmonger" and my essay was barely 2 pages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭Meowth

Heaney and plath will make nice kindle tonight :/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

Just curious was Heaney's poems just on for the fun of it? he was put on for this year off next year and back on the year after?
    If they were putting him on for one year and not putting him on this years exams what was the point on learning him :s.

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭Joey.

I think my parents are splitting up. :/

The next few weeks are gonna be eventful.

That's shít :( I've been through it, PM me if you want to talk :)

Oh lads that paper went horrendously bad, I couldn't help but laugh through it :pac: The girl beside me burst into tears seconds into the exam, felt like killing her, just get on with it like! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭andy g

How hard/easy is it too fail honors english? I know I didn't do well but hopefully I scrap a d3 :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 878 ✭✭✭c28omzk7ihsxv0

Don't worry, you won't fail. You'll get some marks for whatever you wrote.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 moll_bangers

for the gvv question one when it said how it is the readers response to a character did ye just use one character or more? :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

Can you get into university if you fail English? Just wondering because so many people were unhappy with it this year.
    Wesc. wrote: »
    Just wondering did anyone else do the 2nd Hamlet question? If so what techniques did ye use?

I had introduction, imagery (and symbolism), soliloquys (mainly Claudius's ones), the weakness of the women, (what a technique :pac:) false appearances, can't remember what else apart from the conclusion!

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Wesc.

for the gvv question one when it said how it is the readers response to a character did ye just use one character or more? :/

It's the central character to each play. So that's one character per play, 3 in total.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭leaveiton

I only talked about one in each because it said a central character. I briefly mentioned the others but I didn't talk about my attitude towards them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭shefellover93

Asked yer man could I talk about two central characters in the one text (IID), said he couldn't say anything (useless ****) so I had to do the two part question :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1 bossy11

Does anyone know what came up for the ordinary level paper? All sections but particularly poetry

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭cocopopsxx

Guys, if you cross out a ques, will they still mark it?

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭FinnD

Lads is a limestone pillar a karst feature?

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭skyscraperblue

cocopopsxx wrote: »
    Guys, if you cross out a ques, will they still mark it?

What subject are we talking about? If it's maths they mark EVERYTHING you write :)

English. :( I stupidly crossed something it, it was very light though if that's any help :/

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭skyscraperblue

cocopopsxx wrote: »
    English. :( I stupidly crossed something it, it was very light though if that's any help :/

If it's readable they'll probably still mark it.

Ya it's very readable. Thank you, now I can study peacefully for maths. Thanks :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭finality

I saw someone cheating today. They actually had their phone under the table. I was like Omg Omg Omg they're going to get caught

but they didn't

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Siobhnk

finality wrote: »
    I saw someone cheating today. They actually had their phone under the table. I was like Omg Omg Omg they're going to get caught

but they didn't

That's soooo risky!!! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hayezer

I did the 2 part GV question aswell, think I did it right :L :L Lads in poetry does it matter very much if you missed out a word everynow and then for quotes? I vaguely remembered Rich quotes and looking at book now, I missed like 1 word for some of them

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Wanchor

My hand hasn't been this sore since I discovered mobile porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

but they didn't

Our examiner gave out the paper while we still had all our notes in front of us, I was about to write down one of the critical quotes I kept forgetting then I realised that was basically cheating >_>

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Wesc.

Wanchor wrote: »
    My hand hasn't been this sore since I discovered mobile porn.

As suggested by your username

• Registered Users Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

but they didn't

One guys phone fell out of his pocket today, think he absolutely shat himself! I dunno if anything was done about it though, it was off but you're not supposed to bring them in.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭IRA 1916

Hope to God I'll never have to open an English book again :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

How did ye all find English? I actually thought it was a lovely paper, although the GVVP question was a little bit awkward. The unseen poem <3

Btw, in the comparative I started a new paragraph and wrote like 6 lines, then decided I wanted to change it so I scribbled it all out and started writing under it. It looked so awful and ugly in the middle of the page so I drew a little arrow pointing to it and wrote "sorry about how messy this is!" In hindsight, I kind of regret writing that. Do ye think it was a bad idea?