Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert '11/'12 Off-Topic 2

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭Joey.

I decided to go for a power nap when I came home...but I've just woken up now, with no study done whatsoever. Biology shall be interesting :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

Joey. wrote: »
    I decided to go for a power nap when I came home...but I've just woken up now, with no study done whatsoever. Biology shall be interesting :pac:

That was some power nap! :eek: :P Jealous, I'll probably do the same after Irish today, except now I'm scared I won't get up to do stuff for French. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭reznov

Sure bio will sort itself out. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

I've slept a grand total of 4.5 hours in the past 48 hours, and it's starting to hit me a little bit now. I'm ****ed for both exams today, I only know the novel for Irish and I haven't even looked at poetry or pros. Biology I'm quite sure I'm going to fail. I've studied genetics, respiration, ecology, the breathing system and heart and blood vessels. Gonna look over food, female reproduction and some experiments when I get home from Irish, although I don't think there's even a point at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭reznov

It'll be grand. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭FinnD

I've slept a grand total of 4.5 hours in the past 48 hours, and it's starting to hit me a little bit now. I'm ****ed for both exams today, I only know the novel for Irish and I haven't even looked at poetry or pros. Biology I'm quite sure I'm going to fail. I've studied genetics, respiration, ecology, the breathing system and heart and blood vessels. Gonna look over food, female reproduction and some experiments when I get home from Irish, although I don't think there's even a point at this stage.

With all that studied surely you'll get a good grade?

FinnD wrote: »
    With all that studied surely you'll get a good grade?

Do you think so? Honestly I'd be happy if I got a D3 in it. I'm afraid nothing I've learnt will come up.

Togepi wrote: »
    That was some power nap! :eek: :P Jealous, I'll probably do the same after Irish today, except now I'm scared I won't get up to do stuff for French. :o

Sure was :o I feel so refreshed though :D

@Coeur - I've slept a total of 11.5 hours of the last 12, but really I'm in the same situation. At this stage, whatever happens, happens and try not to get too bogged down :)

Sure was :o I feel so refreshed though :D

@Coeur - I've slept a total of 11.5 hours of the last 12, but really I'm in the same situation. At this stage, whatever happens, happens and try not to get too bogged down :)

Hahaha xD that's what I'll be doing later, once I get home after biology I'm gonna sleep for a good 12/13 hours!

Well then I hope you sleep as well as I did :D Just remember to get up for your next subject :o

Will do :)

Anyway I'm going to school now to do some more Irish, go n-éirí an t-ádh le gach duine! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Wiirdo

Biology is ridiculous. Thank God I don't need the marks from it so it doesn't matter too much if I fail it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I'm gonna tick the multiple choice questions, fill in much as I can remember on the written :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Wiirdo

With about 2 hours of cramming all year I'm just gonna go for the Honours paper haha.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

How did everybody feel they did in Irish?
    In every one of my exams so far I've felt as if I've alright, but could have done so much better if I had worked for it.

Eathrin wrote: »
    How did everybody feel they did in Irish?
    In every one of my exams so far I've felt as if I've alright, but could have done so much better if I had worked for it.

Crap. :( I haven't a notion of getting any kind of A in Irish now.

I'll be hoping for an A now rather than expecting one, it wasn't my best paper ever, I'll be extremely pissed off at myself if I don't get an A1 just because I love Irish.

What did you find difficult?
    Tbh my pros, poetry and drama answers were all a bit meh. Lack of quotations or technical vocab.

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭The High Crusade

Lads idk about you but my morning was insane.

First off I woke up at 9:50, yeah you read that right, 9:50. I woke up in a panic with a call from the school telling me I had 15 minutes to get there or my exam was cancelled. So my dad was driving me in a rush, stuck in traffic. Then he saw a Garda car and told them I had 15 minutes to get to my Leaving Cert Exam. So I got a Garda escort to the school to do my exam :pac:

I'll be hoping for an A now rather than expecting one, it wasn't my best paper ever, I'll be extremely pissed off at myself if I don't get an A1 just because I love Irish.

What did you find difficult?

I'll be hoping for a B1 now, which I won't even be happy with 'cause I got a B2 last year.

The prós. The most boring and most difficult story by far came up for us. I read a few notes on it this morning but it's just such an awful story, that didn't even do any good. And then we got the nicest poetry question ever, but I hadn't learned about the female poet for my favourite poem (which is almost as easy as the ones on the new course :P) so I had to use my back up poem which was a higher level one on the course last year, just so I wouldn't be throwing away 10 marks. 10/30 for the poet is insanely unfair. People who learn stuff off by heart will get the marks and someone from the Gaeltacht would get 0 if they didn't study it.

I also misinterpreted the word 'femíneacht' for An Triail, so I could potentially lose 20 marks for that. The worst part is, it's basically just the word in English (feminism) with a fada stuck in. If it was like the word baninscineach I would've understood it. :mad:

/rant

• Registered Users Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

First off I woke up at 9:50, yeah you read that right, 9:50. I woke up in a panic with a call from the school telling me I had 15 minutes to get there or my exam was cancelled. So my dad was driving me in a rush, stuck in traffic. Then he saw a Garda car and told them I had 15 minutes to get to my Leaving Cert Exam. So I got a Garda escort to the school to do my exam :pac:
    I would literally die if I was late for an exam.. :O

Really? :cool:

Sorry, had to, that word is a pet peeve of mine. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭imelle

i was fairly happy with Irish paper 2, the questions that came up were straight forward enough. i actually found the first comprehension kinda interesting but then boredom prevailed in the 2nd one. i had been hoping for an A2/B1 but i think my essay yesterday might have brought me down because i did the one on Ireland being open and welcoming and said it's because of the EU we are and went on talking about the effect of Eu policies on Ireland live travel and all. but if they see that as relevant i'm on track for the A2 :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

Really? :cool:

Sorry, had to, that word is a pet peeve of mine. :P
    Metaphorically maybe? :P

Togepi what are you doing for French tomorrow? I don't know what to do, there's just so much! :O

• Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭HowAreWe

Jesus how'd you manage that?

I'll be hoping for a B1 now, which I won't even be happy with 'cause I got a B2 last year.

The prós. The most boring and most difficult story by far came up for us. I read a few notes on it this morning but it's just such an awful story, that didn't even do any good. And then we got the nicest poetry question ever, but I hadn't learned about the female poet for my favourite poem (which is almost as easy as the ones on the new course :P) so I had to use my back up poem which was a higher level one on the course last year, just so I wouldn't be throwing away 10 marks. 10/30 for the poet is insanely unfair. People who learn stuff off by heart will get the marks and someone from the Gaeltacht would get 0 if they didn't study it.

I also misinterpreted the word 'femíneacht' for An Triail, so I could potentially lose 20 marks for that. The worst part is, it's basically just the word in English (feminism) with a fada stuck in. If it was like the word baninscineach I would've understood it. :mad:

/rant

10 marks for talking about the poet was ridiculous, I agree, I could hardly get a few lines down.

And the word was fimíneacht! Hypocrisy don't ya know.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

How'd you wake up late?
    That sounds really nerve racking for the worry of missing the exam but crazy with the garda escort. What was the Garda escort like were there motorbikes in front of the car?

Metaphorically maybe? :P

Togepi what are you doing for French tomorrow? I don't know what to do, there's just so much! :O

I don't know, you're probably asking the wrong person because I'll probably just be doing stuff I should already know, like learning vocabulary for a topic, or formal letters phrases or something. Last year I did nothing for French because I had to cram for History. Just go over stuff you're not sure of maybe, or open an exam question at random and try it.

That's awful luck, good thing you made it at least, but Irish 2 is quite time intensive so you probably ran way short on time?

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Dapics

That's awful luck, good thing you made it at least, but Irish 2 is quite time intensive so you probably ran way short on time?

Wha Wha Wha?

Time intensive? Half my exam hall were gone within 30 minutes of the exam!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

How do you study for the french listening?
    I'm really terrible at the listening luckily it's ordinary I can manage to guess the with the multiple choice. I most often don't understand a word the people are saying with them speaking really fast. I might understand a few things most of it I don't have a clue what they're saying.
    I'm alright at the writing part or comprehensions.