Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert '11/'12 Off-Topic 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

Eathrin wrote: »
    10 marks for talking about the poet was ridiculous, I agree, I could hardly get a few lines down.

And the word was fimíneacht! Hypocrisy don't ya know.

Whaaat?! Ó in ainm Dé! :P One of the lads said it was feminism, I was probably more to the point than him so, I talked about the máthair's 'perfect' family she had planned, and society's view of unmarried women having children. #bua :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭imelle

I'm right beside the window. there's a nest of pigeons just outside. all you can hear during every exam is coooo cooo cooo. . .

my sister is doing reader and yesterday the girl chose to do foundation irish. one of the questions was to draw a picture....

Dapics wrote: »
    Wha Wha Wha?

Time intensive? Half my exam hall were gone within 30 minutes of the exam!

Did they, eh, happen to do the exam at all? :cool:

I used the full 3 hours and 5 minutes, haven't left an exam early yet. I'm quite proud, hope I stay in for all of French even if I'm just rereading stuff for half an hour. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Dapics

imelle wrote: »
    my sister is doing reader and yesterday the girl chose to do foundation irish. one of the questions was to draw a picture....

I dont think you can drop to foundation in Irish on the day of the exam...

you can, you can drop levels in anything, until the paper is placed in front of you then ya can't..

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Dapics

imelle wrote: »
    you can, you can drop levels in anything, until the paper is placed in front of you ya can't..

Yeah maybe in other subjects but I was fairly sure you couldn't if you did your orals in ordinary.

i dunno really, she was allowed change papers anyway. and another girl in the year dropped from higher to pass.. they'll probably just take it into account when totaling marks that they were at a different level

• Registered Users Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Togepi wrote: »
    Did they, eh, happen to do the exam at all? :cool:

I used the full 3 hours and 5 minutes, haven't left an exam early yet. I'm quite proud, hope I stay in for all of French even if I'm just rereading stuff for half an hour. :P

Left Irish 1 early but that said 90% of people were gone before me.

I would've but then I wrote a five page essay. :o Not too many in our centre stayed for most of the exam, even a few higher level ones went really early. Most were gone before the last half hour. A few higher ones left early today too but I'm guessing they left out at least half a question.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭shefellover93

I would've but then I wrote a five page essay. :o Not too many in our centre stayed for most of the exam, even a few higher level ones went really early. Most were gone before the last half hour. A few higher ones left early today too but I'm guessing they left out at least half a question.

I got a page and a half and everything and two pages on the poetry and had 20 mins left. Thought I'd be more pushed for time tbh. Didn't go over it as well as other eexams though, just wanted it to be done :pac:

I do A LOT of thinking during my exams, I never know what I'm going to write until I actually see the question, and even then my answer usually take turns halfway through.
    I'm not a slow writer but I'd say I could get twice as much written if I was just constantly writing, I take breaks every sentence:L

That said, today I did:
    Pros 600 words
    Poetry 750 words
    Drama 900 words

So I definitely did enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Diamondsandrose

Namlub wrote: »
    Everybody take the advice of this stranger on the internet, Hurlamaboc is coming up.

I was that stranger. So f uck you for doubting me. The entire LC is made easy by thought out, logical predictions. I predicted Hurlamaboc weeks ago, best feeling in the world knowing it came up! :D

How could you possibly have predicted that?
    No more than a lucky guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭skyscraperblue

That Irish was gorgeous! Don't ask me how I got it done so fast, I was scrawling it at the last minute in the mocks and today I was done by ten past. Mairtin O Direan is the ONLY poet whose biography I actually knew properly too, got lucky with that :D

• Registered Users Posts: 24 orangesoranges

AHHHHH freakin out here lads...

this is what ive done.......

pursuit of sover....
    >eucharistic congress
    >anlgo irish treaty
    >anglo irish treaty responsible for civil war

politics and society...
    >anglo irish agreement
    >coleraine
    >civil rights
    >might do sunningdale..

NO IDEA FOR DICTATORSHIP....

HELP ME PLEASSSSSSSSSSSSSSEEEEEEEEE

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

These exams are making me really tired lately and I didn't even have any exams today :S.
    I'm actually really worried for the business exams timing with the short questions , abq plus a further 4 long questions. I might leave the short questions until last :S.
    I spent about an hour on last years abq and wrote so much on it .
    I ended up rushing most of the long questions also I only realised on the day you answer 4 long questions and not 3.
    Does anyone else find the business exam very time consuming to finish it on time?

• Registered Users Posts: 10 AyeeBoyy

Ah dreading business so much on Thursay :( My teacher's an aweful marker so in all my exams i get A1s, only for my friends in the other business class to say i've answered the questions wrong or didn't do enough points ... even though she gave me full marks :O! The first time I'll see my real standard of business will be in August and I'm ****ting it.

So, what I was wondering was how do you know what there looking for in the short questions like one example and a defination or two examples or whatever if it isn't completely clear?

I hope everyone's irish went well today, I was pretty pleased and I find Irish quite hard so hope everyone else felt the same :)

These exams are making me really tired lately and I didn't even have any exams today :S.
    I'm actually really worried for the business exams timing with the short questions , abq plus a further 4 long questions. I might leave the short questions until last :S.
    I spent about an hour on last years abq and wrote so much on it .
    I ended up rushing most of the long questions also I only realised on the day you answer 4 long questions and not 3.
    Does anyone else find the business exam very time consuming to finish it on time?

Not really actually, the ABQ often takes me a while but otherwise not so much.
    I always do the short questions first, the abq after and the long questions to finish. In my mocks I had time to answer a 5th question so I hope to be just as fast on Thursday.

How could you possibly have predicted that?
    No more than a lucky guess.

Came up in the mocks. It was clear that for the first time rolling out the new course they were gonna give us the easiest pros, Hurlamaboc as well. There's quite a few subtle indictions if you're smart enough to put yourself in their shoes rather than spend hours of futile study on the wrong things.

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭The High Crusade

How'd you wake up late?
    That sounds really nerve racking for the worry of missing the exam but crazy with the garda escort. What was the Garda escort like were there motorbikes in front of the car?

My parents thought I was only in at 2 so nobody woke me up, I would've woken up at about 7 but I couldn't sleep all night D: We were driving down a road and saw two garda cars so my dad told them, one was infront of us and one was behind. T'was classss.

That's awful luck, good thing you made it at least, but Irish 2 is quite time intensive so you probably ran way short on time?

I do Ordinary so I got it finished by the end, glad it worked out alright!

AyeeBoyy wrote: »
    Ah dreading business so much on Thursay :( My teacher's an aweful marker so in all my exams i get A1s, only for my friends in the other business class to say i've answered the questions wrong or didn't do enough points ... even though she gave me full marks :O! The first time I'll see my real standard of business will be in August and I'm ****ting it.

So, what I was wondering was how do you know what there looking for in the short questions like one example and a defination or two examples or whatever if it isn't completely clear?

I hope everyone's irish went well today, I was pretty pleased and I find Irish quite hard so hope everyone else felt the same :)

For the short questions you only need one but you could use two to be safe. You need examples in most of the questions as far as I know. Or every teacher that I've known or revision courses keep saying that you need an example or you won't get full marks for it. I'm hoping I remember examples on the day. You need the examples for the long questions too like for each point. I only understood the layout of the answers with my business teacher this year I had a useless one the last year that just read the book to you and wouldn't correct anyones work .
    Not really actually, the ABQ often takes me a while but otherwise not so much.
    I always do the short questions first, the abq after and the long questions to finish. In my mocks I had time to answer a 5th question so I hope to be just as fast on Thursday.

I've usually done the short questions first I was just thinking of maybe leaving it til the end. I probably spend time thinking about what to write in the abq which doesn't help. I'll probably know the material more than I did last year.
    I'm trying to learn off examples for most questions so I don't have to worry about trying to think of one on the day. I finished early in the actual leaving last year but that was because I didn't know what to write for one of the questions and in the mocks of 2011 I finished early and answered everything I might just be overthinking it lol it'll probably be grand :).

The business prediction video is out. I don't know if I'll go by it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 AyeeBoyy

For the short questions you only need one but you could use two to be safe. You need examples in most of the questions as far as I know. Or every teacher that I've known or revision courses keep saying that you need an example or you won't get full marks for it. I'm hoping I remember examples on the day. You need the examples for the long questions too like for each point. I only understood the layout of the answers with my business teacher this year I had a useless one the last year that just read the book to you and wouldn't correct anyones work .

Thanks so much I didn't even realise you needed an example for everything thought it was just sorta throw them in here and there:pac: hopefully i'll get on ok and good luck to you too :D

Came up in the mocks. It was clear that for the first time rolling out the new course they were gonna give us the easiest pros, Hurlamaboc as well. There's quite a few subtle indictions if you're smart enough to put yourself in their shoes rather than spend hours of futile study on the wrong things.

Hours of futile study? Lol, I may have a solution for that. It's called exam improvisation:P
    You can't be disappointed with what comes up when you have nothing prepared:pac:

1. The mocks have absolutely nothing to do with what comes up in June, if it came up on your mock paper then that's obviously a coincidence.

And 2. Ye got the easiest prós?? Ah for fúck's sake, the roghnach one was awful! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 30 insua

What abstract topics are people studying for French?

For the business timing.
    You divide the marking scheme by 2.5.
    Then for the number of points that you need you divide by 5.
    I forgot I had notes on the timing for the revision course I went to . I thought it'd be useful :).
    They said
    Short questions unit 1-7
    8/10
    Worth 80 marks 20%
    30 mins
    ABQ
    80 marks (20%)
    45mins
    Long questions
    60 marks on each (15%)
    First two long questions. 25mins on each
    Last two long questions . 25min on each.
    5mins for the extra short questions.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 orangesoranges

internal policies for hitler anyone???

• Registered Users Posts: 43 cillian95

Does anyone know how i can put some past french listening on mon baladeur for tomorrow?? Even if its not a leaving cert tape, just looking for something to tune my ear for 10 minutes.. any links/suggestions?

1. The mocks have absolutely nothing to do with what comes up in June, if it came up on your mock paper then that's obviously a coincidence.

And 2. Ye got the easiest prós?? Ah for fúck's sake, the roghnach one was awful! :mad:

They are often written by those who offer revision courses, who try to make the mocks as close as possible to what is going to be on the real thing. These people are the most expert predictors in the country for the leaving cert, so it's far from a coincidence.