Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking of moving to oz for cad work

Options
  • 10-04-2012 10:37pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5

Ok so i need some help on this and im not sure what to do. im currently working in retail and living in ireland, my wage is minimum wage and i just feel im stuck in a rut. I studied Interior architecture for a year, but dropped out, as i was quite young at the time, the course was very full on and i suppose i wasnt expecting it, was immature and wanted to go out all the time, I didnt commit fully to the course. i still had an interest in design and cad,so i went off worked for a while in few retail jobs, then i went on and completed a city and guilds level 3 course in 2d and 3d cad in 2008, at the end of this course we were meant to undertake work experience for few weeks but the recession had pretty much just hit and i tried for 6 months to get something, with no luck. To get myself off the dole i took a job in retail and have ended up being there for over 3 years now, and it really isnt for me. I cannot afford to go back to college. I would love to go to australia for a year or more and i would love to gain experience in cad over there while im at it. am i wasting my time looking for something with a city and guilds cert? maybe i should look for a junior autocad position over there, or on a working holiday visa, which would only allow me to work with the one employer for 6months would anyone take me on as a junior cad technicain? sure i could go to oz and work in a restaurant etc but i want to gain skills while im at it. i am aiming at going in either jan 13' , or Apri