Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dress code in Galway Night Clubs

• 11-04-2012 7:34pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35

Is there a dress code in the night clubs in Galway. Can you wear white runners and tracksuit and hoody? I was out of society for a long time and I am just back.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

rossy wrote: »
    Is there a dress code in the night clubs in Galway. Can you wear white runners and tracksuit and hoody? I was out of society for a long time and I am just back.

It's all lime mankini's now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 rossy

MarkR wrote: »
    It's all lime mankini's now.

Where will I pick one of those up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Depends how good the nightclub is. I once saw somebody in Carbon wearing fat pants and slippers. Places like CP's are more jeans and t-shirt rather than hoodies and trackies.

In the days of Cuba, you could easily get in with a hoodie and a pair of runners. As far as I'm aware, you'd be hard pushed getting into CPs, Halo and Karma the same, though I might be wrong. Not fully sure about Carbon. So yeah, things have changed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Depends if the bouncer is on the blob or not. Places like Karma and CPs are the worst for "dress codes" though.

Anybody who wants you to wear shoes to a f***ing nightclub needs to catch a grip of themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

That's why I love the Roisin.............none of this shoe BS rules:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

none of the nightclubs have a dress policy. Except exempting Trackies/fat man pants. Generally for guy, as long as your wearing runners/shoes jeans/suit pants/ chinos and any type of top you'll be let in.

Except for Halo which is over 21/23 and is a bit more dressy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

You on parole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

In the days of Cuba, you could easily get in with a hoodie and a pair of runners.

Not so back in 2004-2006'ish time when it was the most popular club, long queues every night. People trying to get in by 12 for free with their Cuba Card!

They were especially strict about runners, no hope getting in! I suppose if they're going to fill they place they can afford to be a lot fussier who they let in.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭yeehaw

Smart runners are ok for a lad in a nightclub. Women should never wear runners out under any circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

empacher wrote: »
    none of the nightclubs have a dress policy. Except exempting Trackies/fat man pants. Generally for guy, as long as your wearing runners/shoes jeans/suit pants/ chinos and any type of top you'll be let in.

Not so, CP are notorious for turning people away with runners/sports tops. You might get away with black ones that are cut like shoes, but I've seen loads of people turned away with white runners & rugby shirts.

People shouldn't be let into town wearing tracksuit never mind a nightclub (hoodies are fine but not for going to a night club).

Anybody who wants you to wear shoes to a f***ing nightclub needs to catch a grip of themselves.

That's horse s**te in fairness. Nothing wrong with wanting to look a bit more dressed up by wearing shoes. I might wear proper dressy looking runners an odd time going to a club but in general it would be shoes.

I dont understand peoples desire not to make a bit of an effort when going out. I really enjoy buying decent clothes and wearing them on nights out.

antoobrien wrote: »
    Not so, CP are notorious for turning people away with runners/sports tops. You might get away with black ones that are cut like shoes, but I've seen loads of people turned away with white runners & rugby shirts.

You will get into cp's and halo wearing runners once you are dressed well otherwise and your not wearing nike air max or something like that. As I said Id almost always wear shoes going out but Ive had no trouble getting into Halo with runners the once or twice I tried.

That's horse s**te in fairness. Nothing wrong with wanting to look a bit more dressed up by wearing shoes. I might wear proper dressy looking runners an odd time going to a club but in general it would be shoes.
    You are impressing nobody. Have you seen the clubs in Galway? There is nothing classy about them. You're not going to a f***ing wedding, you're just going out with your mates to have laugh and a few drinks. Why am I going to wear good shoes, so they can get trampled over in the smoking area, have drinks spilt on them inside and so I can wade through puddles of piss in the jacks?
    I dont understand peoples desire not to make a bit of an effort when going out. I really enjoy buying decent clothes and wearing them on nights out.
    Okay Gok Wan, if wearing a simply fabulous pair of shoes makes your night complete then by all means, work it sister. I prefer the socialising aspect of an night out.

My monocle fell out in horror at the idea of people not wearing top hats and 3 piece suits into nightclubs

• Registered Users Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

You will get into cp's and halo wearing runners once you are dressed well otherwise and your not wearing nike air max or something like that. As I said Id almost always wear shoes going out but Ive had no trouble getting into Halo with runners the once or twice I tried.

I've often got in wearing black runners, but I've seen lots sent away for having white trainers e.g. nike airs/addidas/reebox.

My brother was refused not so long ago for wearing a munster rugby jersey.

You are impressing nobody. Have you seen the clubs in Galway? There is nothing classy about them. You're not going to a f***ing wedding, you're just going out with your mates to have laugh and a few drinks. Why am I going to wear good shoes, so they can get trampled over in the smoking area, have drinks spilt on them inside and so I can wade through puddles of piss in the jacks?

Okay Gok Wan, if wearing a simply fabulous pair of shoes makes your night complete then by all means, work it sister. I prefer the socialising aspect of an night out.

Ah come on now Im not talking about wearing a suit and a pair of dressy shoes, on a typical night out I would wear a decent pair of jeans, nice shirt or polo shirt and dubarry shoes. I wouldn't even call it dressing up its just getting dressed to go out as opposed to getting dressed to go to the shop or to watch a match.

I dont have a hard and fast rule at all, but some people dont make any effort at all and then wonder why they cant get into a night club in a tattered old pair of runners and a crappy t-shirt.

By the way I didnt say wearing runners is completely out, just they need to be tidy looking ones but in general I just prefer shoes on a night out, I wear runners to work all week so its nice to get the shoes out for the weekend.
    I've often got in wearing black runners, but I've seen lots sent away for having white trainers e.g. nike airs/addidas/reebox.

I can understand not letting in people in jerseys as it has the potential to cause hassle, on the runner front I think its a good excuse for bouncers to turn people away if they did'nt want to let them in anyway so I wouldn't blame the runners in all cases. Like I've got into both places in the past in white runners with no hassle.

I would wear a decent pair of jeans, nice shirt or polo shirt and dubarry shoes
    f***ing lol

f***ing lol

Whats so lol about it?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

The less knackerish you look the more you can get away with items of knacker clothing.

Cant blame them for the munster stuff lad, black and green

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

f***ing lol

While you can get away with not dressing up as much as this lad/ at all depending on your normal wear, it is completely fine to wear what he just said as long as it isnt carbon/coyotes or club k, the holes. dubes, jeans and a decent polo shirt are completely legit.

Dubes are about as fashionable as dungarees in fairness

f***ing lol

In fairness Bhosca Grow up.

There was one upon a time probably around 06 where to get into a nightclub you had to wear shoes. you weren't getting in unless you looked like you'd put in some effort. unlike some people now days who look like they havent changed there clothes in two days.

Besides dressing well good impression with women.

Dubes are about as fashionable as dungarees in fairness

Probably the most fashionable casual shoe imo, much nicer than most shoes you see around the place.
    unlike some people now days who look like they havent changed there clothes in two days.

Besides dressing well good impression with women.

unlike some people now days who look like they havent changed there clothes in two days.
    Because that's clearly the only option if you don't wear shoes :rolleyes: Think you need to grow up and move with the times my man

keyword is some which doesn't suggest all. Chinos and High tops ftw imo. Just haven't lowered myself to wearing a low cut top like some lads I know.

In for a penny in for a pound I say.

Paid tomorrow topman lets be having you. Time to show off my glorious chest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25 claregalway1

wellllll ,i go out 3 nights a week i know the drill haha :P .......you will not get in ANY nightclub or pub in tracksuit pants , you will not get in to any club or pub wearing white runners that are associated with scummy members of society eg " Air Max " or " Reebok classics " ..........you will however be allowed in wearing white high tops or other stilish shoes ,or even the 4euro black cheap shoes in pennys ,,,,,polo shirt ,jeans and dark footwear is the ideal ..and a jacket can be worn over this and put in the cloak room

Cuba was great if you were just finished work and you felt like going out clubbing. Just throw on a hoodie over your work clothes and out you go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

Clothing is strictly forbidden.