Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What made you smile/frown/mad/sad/cry today-thread for all your emotional needs! V5

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭javagal

Well, failed my algebra exam today.

Computer Scientists not do maths well.
    So, I will be repeating maths with a 5week old baby
    FML

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Kiera wrote: »
    Just made my mam curry tea. Poor woman asked if I had the tea bags in the same press as the curry sauce. I said no, then copped I must have mixed it in that cup and didn't wash it properly. She's half it drank and didn't want to say anything. Told her curry tea is all the rage these days :p

Hahaha. I've made myself coffee-tea more than once. But curry tea doesn't sound that bad... I love drinking tea alongside spicy food!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Gauge wrote: »
    Just made my mam curry tea. Poor woman asked if I had the tea bags in the same press as the curry sauce. I said no, then copped I must have mixed it in that cup and didn't wash it properly. She's half it drank and didn't want to say anything. Told her curry tea is all the rage these days :p

Hahaha. I've made myself coffee-tea more than once. But curry tea doesn't sound that bad... I love drinking tea alongside spicy food!
    I better trademark this so :D

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Due date today!

Half afraid to post this :p :
    This maternity leave crack has turned my routine upside down. I stay up half the night because I'm wide awake and dont want to be tossing and turning, disturbing himself when he has to get up for work, then I'm in bed half the day. If I force myself to get up earlier, I get knackered and have to have a nap which means I'm up half the night :rolleyes:...anyway, baby will knock it on the head when he/she deigns to arrive, I'm sure.

The mother is hilarious, "casually" ringing and texting every day, when really I know she's up the walls wondering when my labour will start.
    Her: "oh hi, what ya up to?"
    Me: "nuttin, just waiting to go into labour, just like yesterday when you called, and the day before that, and the day before that...."

The poor womans blood pressure will be sky high if I go over by a week or two! Sufficient revenge for the terrible haircuts she inflicted on me as a child, no?

Lucyfur, Thats food-porn right there!

I'd love a big steak!
    Or a medium rare fillet steak with garlic butter! Its on my list-of-things-i-can-eat-when-baby-arrives. With a glass of red wine, followed by Tiramsu, paté, smelly cheeses, ommmmyommm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Neyite, I actually noticed you were nearly due 2 days ago. Time flies! Best of luck. :)

SO full. :cool: I only recently discovered Pepper Sauce. I live a sheltered life. :o

how could you not know the joys of pepper sauce before now :eek:

Its delish. Mopping up pepper sauce with proper chipper chips is one of lifes little pleasures.
    I had a green pepper sauce once over a medium rare fillet of beef in a restaraunt and had to force myself not to lick the plate. It was heaven. The nicest pepper sauce I ever tasted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Kitten just knocked and shattered a huge frame with a drawing in it. She's driving me mental breaking and knocking things, and she's damn lucky she didn't get hurt.

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Avox

I've never tasted pepper sauce either! To be fair, I've never tasted fish or mayonnaise/vinegar/most vegetables and a lot of other foods either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

Neyite wrote: »
    Due date today!

Half afraid to post this :p :
    This maternity leave crack has turned my routine upside down. I stay up half the night because I'm wide awake and dont want to be tossing and turning, disturbing himself when he has to get up for work, then I'm in bed half the day. If I force myself to get up earlier, I get knackered and have to have a nap which means I'm up half the night :rolleyes:...anyway, baby will knock it on the head when he/she deigns to arrive, I'm sure.

The mother is hilarious, "casually" ringing and texting every day, when really I know she's up the walls wondering when my labour will start.
    Her: "oh hi, what ya up to?"
    Me: "nuttin, just waiting to go into labour, just like yesterday when you called, and the day before that, and the day before that...."

The poor womans blood pressure will be sky high if I go over by a week or two! Sufficient revenge for the terrible haircuts she inflicted on me as a child, no?

Lucyfur, Thats food-porn right there!

I'd love a big steak!
    Or a medium rare fillet steak with garlic butter! Its on my list-of-things-i-can-eat-when-baby-arrives. With a glass of red wine, followed by Tiramsu, paté, smelly cheeses, ommmmyommm!

good luck for when ever baby decides to arrive, hope things go quickly and relatively painfree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Pepper sauce is icky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Oh so I'll get a neigh too? You can move in. People will wonder wtf is going on in my apt and what kind of kinky games I'm up to this week :D

NEIGH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Good luck Neyite - I think when I'm pregnant I'm going to make up a due date that's actually 3 weeks later than the real one so people won't be bugging me saying "still hanging on then?!"

kiera, give neyite some of that curry :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭javagal

Good luck neyite!

bluewolf wrote: »
    Or go for a walk with her!

I could suggest other activities given Kiera's track record, but I'll refrain from doing so on the grounds that Kiera is a kind animal lover who makes her mother tea.

Care for some curry tea, neyite? It comes in extra hot strength.

Or go for a walk with her!

I could suggest other activities given Kiera's track record, but I'll refrain from doing so on the grounds that Kiera is a kind animal lover who makes her mother tea.
    The activities I'd be getting her to do got her into this situation :p

Care for some curry tea, neyite? It comes in extra hot strength.

You could earn a fortune with this product for overdue mammies to be!

indeed. :o *fondly remembers that night* There is no way I'd fit into that outfit now!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Pepper sauce is icky

GTFO! pepper sauce on steak is heaven, wish I had steak now, mmm, steak.

As my mother says if you didn't feel it going in you'll feel it coming out :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Oh good lord. My dad just rang me to ask me to record Britain's Got Talent.

"Really, dad?"

I have no idea how I turned out so cool :p

(shut up, I'm cool!)

Acoshla wrote: »

As my mother says if you didn't feel it going in you'll feel it coming out :p
    Haha your Mam is a legend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

banana cat is my new favourite type of cat

cat-saturday-211.jpg?w=500&h=394

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Albection

indeed. :o *fondly remembers that night* There is no way I'd fit into that outfit now!;)

There's outfits?!
    That sounds so tame...

But then wtf was with that harness?!

I still have flashbacks....

Albection wrote: »
    There's outfits?!
    That sounds so tame...

But then wtf was with that harness?!

shhh, s'ok, they're good flashbacks...;)

krudler wrote: »
    GTFO! pepper sauce on steak is heaven, wish I had steak now, mmm, steak.

Mushroom sauce on steak!

Garlic butter is the only acceptable thing on steak.

True. But the pepper sauce is for the chips y'see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

True. But the pepper sauce is for the chips y'see.

Pepper sauce is for everyyyyyyything mmmmmm!

I despise pepper sauce, I would turn away a steak if it came out with it on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

Happy Birthday Das and Lola. Hope you both have a great day.

Does anyone else get a bigger appetite when on their periods? Or am I alone?! :o

I'm trying to get fit, yet am eating all around me. Thinking I might to that 30 day shred twice a day from Monday onwards :eek:

Finally got gait analysis done yesterday, I'm looking at €110 for the customised insoles and proper runners :( *sigh*

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Serious chicken curry obsession lately. I make awesome curry. :)

Does anyone else get a bigger appetite when on their periods? Or am I alone?! :o

Usually in the couple of days beforehand. That and I get quite, um, short-tempered. Every single time I'm like "wtf is wrong with me?!" and then "oh.. right.. yeah.. ahem" :o

Finally got gait analysis done yesterday, I'm looking at €110 for the customised insoles and proper runners :( *sigh*

I paid €300 for my insoles! You're getting off light.

My shins are destroyed from having flat feet.

I have flat feet too. I had no idea it had the potential to be so costly! :eek:

Serious chicken curry obsession lately. I make awesome curry. :)
    Any chance of any recipes? I'm mad after a good chicken curry. I've got two recipes so far to try, but wouldn't mind having a few more lol.
    Usually in the couple of days beforehand. That and I get quite, um, short-tempered. Every single time I'm like "wtf is wrong with me?!" and then "oh.. right.. yeah.. ahem" :o
    Lol I am similar, I tend to be quite moody on the first and second day, then I'm fine.

This time though, I've been in a good mood on the first and second day, just eating a lot more.

€300?!?!?! THREE HUNDRED EUROS?! :eek: :eek: :eek:

How on earth were they so expensive?

My insoles are €47 and the runners are €73, so €120, not €110 :o:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I pay €400, PER INSOLE for my son. It's insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

it's strange to see everyone talking about study when I have just finished my exams but now have ordered the notes to prepare early for the next set
    ah well another week or so of freedom then action :cool:

-.- Seeing someone volunteering for exams is hurting my soul.

Happy birthday everybody whose birthday it is!
    ...except Acoshla's boyfriend. :mad: for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Work wasnt bad today!!

Interview went well yesterday, got through to the 2nd round :):)

€300?!?!?! THREE HUNDRED EUROS?! :eek: :eek: :eek:

How on earth were they so expensive?

My insoles are €47 and the runners are €73, so €120, not €110 :o:(

Where did you get the analysis done? Elverys? It sounds like you're getting prescription insoles.

I had my legs checked by a podiatrist and had to get custom made insoles from Canada. I've been wearing my Aasics runners as much as I can but they're no use on wet days.
    Lucyfur wrote: »

Wow! :eek:

His feet must be very bad!

Happy birthday everybody whose birthday it is!
    ...except Acoshla's boyfriend. :mad: for him.

I showed him this and he said "Aw :(". Serves him right. He made my dinner and half cleaned the kitchen, humph, it's something I guess.

I have flat feet too. I had no idea it had the potential to be so costly! :eek:
    I have low medial arches, but (typically for me) I am between shoes, basically, the flattest shoes, are too flat for me, and the next shoes up, still aren't high enough, and the shoes next to that are too high for me, so I've to get the one's that aren't high enough and get the insoles to make them higher. :rolleyes:

I am always 'between' in everything, clothes size, shoe size, leg length, waist size, yadda, yadda, yadda.

Wow! :eek:

His feet must be very bad!

Flat as pancakes. He's double jointed and has hyper-mobility too so he's NEVER going to grow out of it. And he needs new insoles 3 or 4 times a year.

Jaysus. 6,000 posts :eek:

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    Work wasnt bad today!!

Interview went well yesterday, got through to the 2nd round :):)
    Congrats on the interview, hope you get the job.
    Where did you get the analysis done? Elverys? It sounds like you're getting prescription insoles.
    Yeah I got it done in Elverys, there's no where else near to me that does it unfortunately. Luckily it was free.
    Flat as pancakes. He's double jointed and has hyper-mobility too so he's NEVER going to grow out of it. And he needs new insoles 3 or 4 times a year.
    How do you manage to pay €400? and a few times a year? I would cry if mine cost that much.

€400 is like five weeks of my social welfare money and that's without buying food, paying bills etc. :eek:

I have hyper mobility in my feet and nowhere else.

The conversation kind of went like this:

Podiatrist: "Your ankles are really flexible."
    Me: "Aw cool, I've never been told I'm flexible."
    Pod: "Yeah, you don't want your ankles to be that flexible."
    Me: tumblr_m3wys1qbRv1ro4y77.jpg

It's also one of the reasons my toe is messed up.

Yeah I got it done in Elverys, there's no where else near to me that does it unfortunately. Luckily it was free.

It's €50 for the appointment first. So it cost €350 altogether.

Although these have a lifetime guarantee and it should be years upon years before I have any reason to replace them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Any chance of any recipes? I'm mad after a good chicken curry. I've got two recipes so far to try, but wouldn't mind having a few more lol.

Secret made up in my head recipe. :D

I marinate the chicken in a olive oil and curry powder paste. Then throw it on the pan to very lightly brown the chicken. Throw some peppers in. Move it all to a saucepan and add in some chicken stock. Thicken with some cornflour and a bit of tomato puree, then I leave it to simmer for however long I want to. The slower the simmer the better it tastes.

Very simple recipe, can take literally 15 minutes to make it if you're in a hurry.

Loads of recipes out there for curry, so many of them are complicated but this tastes perfect. Mum got a similar recipe years ago when she worked in a restaurant was trying to remember what it was so kinda threw this all together to try and emulate it. :)

I didn't know what hypermobility was...so I googled it, and it brought up photos of things I can do! :( I thought everybody could touch their thumb off their wrist, fold fingers over each other, it has been pointed out before that my fingers bend back weirdly far but I thought that was the only weird thing!

How do you manage to pay €400? and a few times a year? I would cry if mine cost that much.

€400 is like five weeks of my social welfare money and that's without buying food, paying bills etc. :eek:

I've been working full time since I was 16....not working now cos I'm back in college but I finish on the 22nd and I've work lined up for the following week... And it's €400 per foot;)