Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Swords CC Club League

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭Lusk Doyle

honkjelly wrote: »
    Horrendous move by me on the run into the finish Garristown. Should have backed off when I saw the jeep. Apologies.

That was you in the green? Mad man! Half the peleton was gasping/shouting in shock/horror at that move!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Great improvment in Group 3 this week (certainly for the brief time I was in it;)), with virtually everyone contributing to a very fast pace. We were averaging not much short of 40kph on the first lap, and I was suffering on the approach to Garristown. My HR was approaching levels it had not seen before and I knew if it was that high before the climb through Garristown there was no way I would hang on, so I had to ease off the back in the hope I could latch onto a faster group later on.

As it was Groups 4 and scratch had been combined and they caught me a few km into the second lap. It seemed to me that most of the work was being done by a handful of riders (presumably the scratch guys). I managed to latch on and even did a couple of turns at the front, but it was only a matter of time before I was dropped and I carried on to complete the second lap before calling it a day

Apart from one bit of poor road it was a good (and fast circuit).

It looked like all the groups came together towards the end, and the spoils were shared between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

Why is that the catch is always made on some narrow blind bend?

Love the first part of that circuit, bootin' it downhill on a good surface with a few twists and turns. Made a bid for it on about 5km from the finish and was joined by somebody riding a gate from yesteryear, but he could move the thing faster than I and I had let him go, think he made it to the end.

Regret going for my first run in ages yesterday, legs were sore before I even started, and felt it each time through Garristown.

This week saw group three reunited and produce good work as a unit. Picked off earlier departees and then were joined by the last group. An attack off the front of the combined groups after we passed what was left of group two saw a split develop. Dave in the teamworc gear, number 50 in the swords gear, Joe Coleman and myself did our best to drag them back. Sorry to number 50 for leaving you on the front for so long but I had to recover from catching you before coming through!

The rest of the group caught up then just as we rejoined the Springhill road for the last time. I doubt that they were ever far back but the pace had made moving up difficult. All together along the road to Garristown the pace went up as we approached the village. I had worked my way up to about 10th and at the petrol station I came around 4 or 5 lads including dario28 and onto the final incline.

For the second time in as many weeks Dave in the teamworc gear passed me approaching the line! I managed to pass another on the hill and stave off a surge from the trinity rider, number 312 I think and I got 5th place. Congrats to dario28 on his placing also.

Delighted with that after my efforts last week amounted to nothing. The legs felt good all the way through and I have no aches to report! Shame I have to marshall next week!

Edit: Ave speed 39.8kph.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Lusk Doyle wrote: »
    Shame I have to marshall next week!
    Haha - I'm Chief Marshall

... don't have a clue what it's supposed to entail, but from next week it will include lots of shouting;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

That was fun!
    I finally convinced myself to do a race and probably couldn't have picked a better one for a debut. I was offered a choice of group 1 or 2, not ever having raced previously. I chose 2 based on my observations marshaling the last few weeks. It's a group that tends to work better together from what I could see. The first and second laps were fast and enjoyable. What I found particularly enjoyable was taking turns at the front and then enjoying the reward of coasting along back into the group. I decided that I would consider the evening a success if I was still able to do a few turns at the front on the last lap.
    That's where my lack of nous threw a spanner in the works. I positioned myself to the rear of the group going up the hill through Garristown as the final lap began, but didn't allow for the group putting the hammer down as the final lap began. I was coasting along drinking some orange muck and failed to spot the change of pace. I spent a few kilometers out on my own at 42-43km/h trying to get onto the group, but they remained just out of reach - a dozen bike lengths at times. I rolled around for the last 10k or so at a leisurely pace.
    I must try to get along next week to see what other silly mistakes I can make. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Dave in the teamworc gear, number 50 in the swords gear, Joe Coleman and myself did our best to drag them back. Sorry to number 50 for leaving you on the front for so long but I had to recover from catching you before coming through!
    That was me number 50! I don't like big bunches and I wanted to spit the pack. Didn't work!

Hungrycol wrote: »
    Dave in the teamworc gear, number 50 in the swords gear, Joe Coleman and myself did our best to drag them back. Sorry to number 50 for leaving you on the front for so long but I had to recover from catching you before coming through!
    That was me number 50! I don't like big bunches and I wanted to spit the pack. Didn't work!

I was trying too and thought that we had at one point but the pace of the group with no wind to use at that part of the course just didn't allow it. Last weeks and next weeks course is the one to split the group!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭patrick151

I managed to pass another on the hill and stave off a surge from the trinity rider, number 312 I think and I got 5th place.

mr.312 here

Yeah, i didn't get back into the big ring on the final drag so when i sprinted i got past a few guys, then had to sit back down and surge again for the line but i just spun my legs to bits and couldn't hold it to the line :(
    I thought i got sixth but we were right across the road on the line so i'll settle for 8th

Really enjoyed myself though

RT66 wrote: »
    That was fun!
    I finally convinced myself to do a race and probably couldn't have picked a better one for a debut...The first and second laps were fast and enjoyable.... What I found particularly enjoyable was taking turns at the front

Success so! Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭glennbhoy

First proper race for me tonight after being put with scratch on the bog of teh ring due to my lateness, dropped in seconds:(

really enjoyed the 2.5 laps in group 2. Think my over enthusiasm cost me in the end as whenever scratch caught us had nothing in the legs and drifted back. think i went up to front way too often.

whenever the lads came through it was all sorts of :eek::eek::eek:

jesus they are fast

anyone got their stats from grp 2, at least for first 2 laps, what were we doing as my garmin died

And got home and signed up for Kenmare half ironman... HAVE IT!! A good day...;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

glennbhoy wrote: »
    anyone got their stats from grp 2, at least for first 2 laps, what were we doing as my garmin died

I was in that group. 36.8 kph & 37.8kph is what mine recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

glennbhoy wrote: »

I was group 2. First 2 laps by me where 37.9kmph and 36.8kmph. Overall 38kmpm in 1hr 19mins. Last lap was 38.8kmph, my ears are still bleeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

I got 5th place. Congrats to dario28 on his placing also.

I think Joe has us down at 6th and 7th , I thought we were 5th and 6th alright

Really enjoyed the race - great work by 90% of group 3

Avg pace was 39.5

Thanks to marshals and Organisers and God of Weather

dario28 wrote: »
    I think Joe has us down at 6th and 7th , I thought we were 5th and 6th alright

Really enjoyed the race - great work by 90% of group 3

Avg pace was 39.5

Thanks to marshals and Organisers and God of Weather

Fairly certain that I got fifth. I saw my name down against it!

You definitely got 5th. There was some confusion about 6th and 7th. I had (correctly;)) called no 281 as 6th, but someone else (incorrectly;)) had them down as 7th. Video evidence confirmed the placings

Beasty wrote: »
    You definitely got 5th. There was some confusion about 6th and 7th. I had (correctly;)) called no 281 as 6th, but someone else (incorrectly;)) had them down as 7th. Video evidence confirmed the placings

Cool 6th it is so - Very happy with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭dooverylittle

Hi lads, any idea where I placed, Park wheelers kit - think i am number 355.

Well you definitely weren't 1st, 3rd, 5th or 6th! Don't think you were 2nd either

I think there was a Park Wheelers rider in the points, so you can take your pick from the other top 10 places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Think Adam from Swords CC was 7th and the Trinity rider was 8th. Dave Wherity was 10th.

That leaves 4th and 9th. I have a feeling you got the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

League Race Result - May 23rd - Garristown

1 Craig Sweetman
    2 Dave O Connor
    3 Thomas Duffy
    4 David O Neill
    5 Conor Doyle
    6 Darren Quigley
    7 Alan Cullen
    8 Patrick Smith
    9 Adam Swirydowicz
    10 David Wherity

First Lady: Louise
    Second Lady: Laura

Well done everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭dooverylittle

Think Adam from Swords CC was 7th and the Trinity rider was 8th. Dave Wherity was 10th.

That leaves 4th and 9th. I have a feeling you got the latter.

Thanks MWP.
    I thought I was ahead of both the trinity rider and Adam. Adam said afterwards he was 9th. Anyway, enjoyed the race. Marshalling next week! :rolleyes:

Sorry results posted at the same time.

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Second Laura: Laura
    Surely there can only be one Laura!

Ha Ha....fixed that! :)

A few rounds of applause for the marshals: a special thanks to Paul (I think) putting the no parking cones on the left hand side up Garristown on the run up to the finish line and to the marshal blowing his whistle to warn his fellow marshal at the other side of the dangerous "S" bend on the first left turn.

I would have thanked Joe at the start too but for the malicious grin on his face when he decided to put Scratch with G4. It seemed to be much to his amusement! I think in the end G4 got something like a 30 second handicap to Scratch!

Hungrycol wrote: »
    A few rounds of applause for the marshals: a special thanks to PaulJim Calally (I think) putting the no parking cones on the left hand side up Garristown on the run up to the finish line and to the marshal blowing his whistle to warn his fellow marshal at the other side of the dangerous "S" bend on the first left turn.

I would have thanked Joe at the start too but for the malicious grin on his face when he decided to put Scratch with G4. It seemed be much to his amusement! I think in the end G4 got something like a 30 second handicap to Scratch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 eoin9288

Pats on the back well justified for marshals allright. Great job. I have no idea who many of you are in non boards life but by your passion and enthusiasm on the league I would suggest most of you have signed up for marshalling already. Fair play. There are plenty who haven't. If you know of anybody who participates regularly, or even not regularly, member or non member don't be afraid to put some pressure on them to sign up. Still plenty of help required and my stick is wearing very thin. It would be great not to have to buy a new fresh one.

Got to agree with all the comments about marshalling. It seems to me that the standard in this league has always been excellent, but what's improved things this season is the numbers signing up and turning up to do their marshalling duties, meaning we get all the important corners properly covered. A big thanks to eoin9288 for this - if anyone pesters you at a race to put your name down it's likely to be him, and he's done a fantastic job

Now could everyone please make sure they turn up to carry out their marshalling duties next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭abc_xyz

Usual mad dash from work to home to race start. Arrived with the sinking feeling that I've forgotten something - my bike shoes. Tony suggested I just join group 1 (I'm normally group 3) and spin the legs or see if there's any spare shoes going rather then waste a beautiful evening - makes sense. Turns out there was a spare pair of shoes but I'd get both of my feet into either one so runners it was. Joined group one and was a bit surprised at the initial speed, within about 2/3 of a lap it's down to four of us (girl, guy and Gerolsteiner guy). I was doing a fair bit of pulling on the first lap, a bit more on the second and nearly all on the third but given how hard the others were working (I could clearly hear the breathing at Garristown on the climb there) I wasn't about to complain about them not doing equal shares. Was left with myself and Gerolsteiner guy after Garristown at the start of the last lap and us (or me at least) wondering when/if we'd be caught. Motorbike marshall came by us around the Church/graveyard and Gerolsteiner gave up at that stage - I kept plugging away in the hope the groups behind had joined up and didn't need multiple lead cars/bikes. So I was a one bike convoy with a lead car and a trailing bike for a bit - wondering when/if I'd get caught. Made it into Garristown and a glance back showed me someone ~15m back just before the top of the hill. He caught me about 10m after the corner. The rest of the group were closing fast and one caught me about a metre before the line. Held on for third (by a couple of centimetres) from the rest of the group by flinging the bike at the line (not a good idea in runners as I lost both feet off the pedals and nearly ended up trying to mount the kerb).

Enjoyed that, hard work (especially the bumpy bits and hill) in runners. Not sure if I should get the points? Thanks to the marshals, especially my lead driver for his encouraging beeps (I'm assuming that's what they were) over the last couple of KM. Fair play to group 1 - they can certainly work hard.

Avg spd 35.5, avg HR 163, max HR 186

PS Very impressed with the marshal and in particular the guy on the dodgy double-bend corner with the whistle. Did great job and was in position before 10 to 7!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 KazNCD

Huge thanks to all the marshals and to the courteous cyclists from me. I was the person on the horse ;) and the majority of the cycling group were extremely polite and considerate which I appreciate as I was trying to get back home before the race having been advised by the marshals that it was coming my way (had planned a much longer hack to enjoy the weather but turned back to try to leave the way clear for you). I have checked out the Swords CC website and will keep an eye on it in future when planning hacks in that area so as to keep the roads as clear as possible for you.

the Trinity rider was 8th.
    the trinity rider

I do have a name guys, jeeze :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

patrick151 wrote: »

Sorry about that. Didn't see your earlier post.

Sorry dooverylittle also - I mistakenly promoted Adam from 9th to 7th.

KazNCD wrote: »
    Huge thanks to all the marshals and to the courteous cyclists from me. I was the person on the horse ;) and the majority of the cycling group were extremely polite and considerate which I appreciate as I was trying to get back home before the race having been advised by the marshals that it was coming my way (had planned a much longer hack to enjoy the weather but turned back to try to leave the way clear for you). I have checked out the Swords CC website and will keep an eye on it in future when planning hacks in that area so as to keep the roads as clear as possible for you.

Thanks for your understanding, a lot of other road users would be less so. All the shouts you hear coming from the cyclists are for the cyclist behind them and not towards the other road user which can sometime sound like it is.

Here's a wee amusing clip when a horse joins in....

patrick151 wrote: »

Strange that your parents included a number in your name :confused:

Are you part of the Borg Collective?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

07Lapierre wrote: »
    League Race Result - May 23rd - Garristown

First Lady: Louise

I went in the same group as Louise (who I hadn't heard of before), she stepped in and upped the pace many times when other lads weren't willing or able, good honest effort.

Last week there was talk of there being a road captain to watch for dangerous riding or unsportsmanly conduct, did this person materialise in any of the other groups (G1-G3)

Apparently we are not supposed to know who they are, which makes it a bit difficult when trying to work out who we are supposed to be taking "advice" from!! I think we should give them big red and yellow flags to wave when appropriate - otherwise how will we know we've been carded?

Having said that, the riding in Group 3 last night was much better than BOTR a few weeks ago. Last week was so fragmented I suspect there was a lot less risk of "dodgy" riding causing potential problem

Strange that your parents included a number in your name :confused:

Are you part of the Borg Collective?

We were a poor family, and we couldn't afford two names so we opted for a single alpha-numeric name to save money :p

Any pics or vids from Wednesday night ?

A few on Swords CC Facebook page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭duffyshuffle

Do you need a club license from CI to enter these or can you get 1 day licenses for them? Ta

Club League Licence or Open licence from CI, or IVCA licence - no 1 day licences are issued for the Club League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭duffyshuffle

Club League Licence or Open licence from CI, or IVCA licence - no 1 day licences are issued for the Club League

Thanks Beasty, if I got a CI and joined up with Swords, can you do Dublin Wheeler TT league as well as swords league?

DW TT League is available to DW members. Any other club's members require invitation. However, as I understand it, there are reciprocal arrangaments with Swords. DW members can ride our league and we can ride their TT league - that was certainly the case in the past, although it may be worth dropping them a line just to confirm there have been no changes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Some footage of the final corner from Weds Race

http://youtu.be/NFAtKPsThWw

Also what was up with this mornings 8:30am spin from Balrothery to the end of the Airport Straight the pace was savage (for me anyways)

Hi folks,

Is anyone interested in swapping? I'm scheduled to marshal the race on this coming Wednesday but I'd like to race this one as I'm heading off on a cycling trip soon and want to continue my building of form before I go!

I am already down to marshal the Kathleen O'Sullivan so I can swop for any other race except that, the TTs and the GP.

Thanks - LD

^Bump

Anybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭RO 06

Hi folks,

Is anyone interested in swapping? I'm scheduled to marshal the race on this coming Wednesday but I'd like to race this one as I'm heading off on a cycling trip soon and want to continue my building of form before I go!

I am already down to marshal the Kathleen O'Sullivan so I can swop for any other race except that, the TTs and the GP.

Thanks - LD
    If you go in group 4 I will do it.

RO 06 wrote: »

Ouch! You drive a hard bargin! I'll give it a lash so but I reserve the right to go back to group 3 if Joe tells us it's 3 times up the hill :D

I can confirm it's not 3 times up the hill

...the finish is just before you get to the top (which to me makes it about 2.98 times up the hill:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭RO 06

RO 06 wrote: »

And you are going on a cycling trip.
    Go on and tell everyone what distance it is.