Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How's the eyesight?

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭H2UMrsRobinson

-3.25 in both eyes so not too bad, but couldn't leave the house without glasses/contacts.

Used to wear the contacts and glasses about 50/50 of the time, but recently discovered the monthly lenses that you can just leave in for a month. They're brilliant. The first couple of days there a bit sticky in the morning but then the rest of the month is fine.

Don't need to have laser surgery with these babies. I would never consider it anyway. I'd be one of the unlucky ones, just google laser eye treatment horror stories...not worth the risk IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I promise you that there is nothing to it. All you see is a complete blur from start to finish (from the drops they put in your eyes), and then a cool light show. Within a few mins, you've got perfect eyesight!

Oh yeah, and they clamp your eye open and you can smell your own flesh burning during. Don't forget that bit :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

hard to believe that 60% of the people on the poll needed glasses, contacts etc.

would have thought it would be way lower than that :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Always had 20/20 vision, but about a year ago, I noticed I had difficulty reading text msgs when I was out at night. I just put it down to 'having a good night', but then, when trying to read the paper one Sunday afternoon, I had a Donald Pleasence type Good God !! I can't see a Bloody thing !!! moment.

Went for an eye test, and now wear reading glasses. Funny thing is, the optician said my long distance vision had improved. I have no difficulty reading bus numbers from 200mts, or reg plates from around 50mts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

bad

these cheap glasses from the 2euro shop don't help either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Jaysus, now that's seriously short sighted

Sorry, not trying to call you out or anything, that's just realy extreme
    I used to work in an opticians and have unfortunately seen worse

-18.00:eek:

Also seen some extreme astigmatisms aswell.

Oh, and I hope everyone realises that even with laser most people will probably need reading glasses later in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭omg a kitty

I've been short sighted since I was 5 :(
    I'm 15 now but only -4.5 on both eyes though (I'm wearing them but I definitely know I need stronger ones)

Hoping to get it corrected at 20 or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

My eyesight is fine, I think. Hasn't been tested in a long time but I can still see stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Wearing glasses since I was 16, then contacts for sport and socialising since 22-23. Prescription was quite stable till mid 20's, even going as far ocassionally been able to get away without wearing them. Now for my last pair everything is blurred without them, and I paid extra to get the lenses thinned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

I'm as short sighted as anybody I know, -7.5 in both eyes. Bit of a pain in the hole sometimes but I think the glasses make me look smarter than I am so if I get a job out of them, yeah glasses!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,232 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

My 'bad' eye is -2.75, clearly not that bad!

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

short-sighted and getting blinder by the day. thankfully, the hipsters have made thick glasses cool, so I'm no longer slagged for wearing them!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

I promise you that there is nothing to it. All you see is a complete blur from start to finish (from the drops they put in your eyes), and then a cool light show. Within a few mins, you've got perfect eyesight!
    I can't even stand having drops put in my eyes - I have been known to back away across the room until the drop-administering person has my back against the wall, and then has to give me a Stern Talking-To to get me to let them at me. Do they sedate you at all? If I was sedated it'd be alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I notice only recently its not as good as it once was, it's one of those deteriorations that happens first slowly then suddenly.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I need glasses for looking at tv and stuff. I don't mind wearing them but often sit squinting at the tv forgetting to put them on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

E
    F P
    T O Z
    L P E D
    P C E F D
    E D F C Z N P
    F E L O P Z D
    D E F P O T E C

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

KKkitty wrote: »
    I need glasses for looking at tv and stuff. I don't mind wearing them but often sit squinting at the tv forgetting to put them on.

I'm just the same. When I was a boy I had very good eyesight. But then after 15 or 16 I had to start wearing glasses to read the blackboard in school. I've been slowly getting more short-sighted ever since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

E
    F P
    T O Z
    L P E D
    P C E F D
    E D F C Z N P
    F E L O P Z D
    D E F P O T E C

What are you saying man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

hard to believe that 60% of the people on the poll needed glasses, contacts etc.

would have thought it would be way lower than that :eek:

self selecting poll results, most 20/20 types haven't bothered to tell us. Or they didn't see the poll options....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

not great for the distance but I refuse to answer my ma's repetitive suggestion of 'you need glasses' just cos I'm squinting at the epg on her tiny screen from 10ft. fùckin old school Tootsie head on her if I tried that image on I'd look like buggles.. sex-ay

It's always been wonky. I was born with a lazy eye and had two operations to try to correct it in 1990/91. My left eye still drifts slightly when I'm tired. I've also had glasses for short sightedness since I was 11.

Also, my binocular vision is screwed (can't focus with both eyes at the same time), rendering me unable to see 3D movies or stereogram images.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,576 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

I'm short sighted in my left eye but as long as my right eye continues to be 20/20 then my vision will be perfect!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Wore glasses for more than 20 years but my devotion to the blessed virgin finally paid off and have been 20/20 for 3 years now. 3.5k lasik surgery may have helped her a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Palytoxin

Eyesight is grand, probably still 20/20ish, but I have noticed the left eye is not as good as the right since I started college, probably down to less carrots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Oh yeah, and they clamp your eye open and you can smell your own flesh burning during. Don't forget that bit :D

There is no burning....no heat involved at all. The smell is the tissue being atomised by the 'laser' which is actually vaporising the tissue with high frequency vibrations.

As for the 'clamp', you can't see it due to the blurriness and can barely even notice it being applied. It just holds the eyes open.

rain on wrote: »
    I can't even stand having drops put in my eyes - I have been known to back away across the room until the drop-administering person has my back against the wall, and then has to give me a Stern Talking-To to get me to let them at me. Do they sedate you at all? If I was sedated it'd be alright.

Well because it's an anaesthetic eyedrop, you just feel a cold 'blast' for a split second...then nothing. I swear, they could poke you in the eyes afterwards and you wouldn't even notice it. It's actually the only part of the entire procedure that I could consider 'not enjoyable'...but it is soooo minor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Max_Charger

barbarians wrote: »

Off-topic, anybody else suffer from floaters ?

yup,pretty bad. I get white flashes of light too from condition called PVD ,
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posterior_vitreous_detachment . Also have tears in both retina's with a 5% chance of detaching permanently leaving me blind at any given time. Great craic :rolleyes: perfect vision though, but anytime i hear "wish i had your eyes" i have to laugh.

There is no burning....no heat involved at all. The smell is the tissue being atomised by the 'laser' which is actually vaporising the tissue with high frequency vibrations..
    Or to put it more simply.....burning.

I'll not bore you with the science, but what do you think vibration of the tissue causes? Friction perhaps........leading to what?

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭Nyan Cat

I'm so short sighted I had binoculars to see the blackboard in school. No word of a lie. There were t any lenses to help me as a kid so I had the binocular specs.

Glasses now. They don't help that much but I'm blind as a bat without sonar without.

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Or to put it more simply.....burning.

I'll not bore you with the science, but what do you think vibration of the tissue causes? Friction perhaps........leading to what?

No heat. Therefore no burning. The laser just breaks the molecular bonds. But I won't bore you with the science.

Now please, stop trying to scare people who are perhaps already anxious about undergoing this procedure. It is extremely safe, and doesn't involve any James Bond type lasers.

No heat. Therefore no burning. The laser just breaks the molecular bonds. But I won't bore you with the science.

Now please, stop trying to scare people who are perhaps already anxious about undergoing this procedure. It is extremely safe, and doesn't involve any James Bond type lasers.
    I'm not trying to scare anyone, just being realistic. I know plenty of people who've got it done and they swear by it, I also (having worked in the industry) have heard plenty of horror stories.

But all that is irrelevant, lasers burn tissue, a clean burn which is why they use them in precision cutting, but still a burn.

Simply: What is laser? A concentrated beam of light (of a single wavelength).
    What is light? The visible spectrum of electromagnetic radiation (radiation - oh noes:eek:). Does 'light' burn - you betcha!

Here's a tip, take a magnifying glass on a sunny day and focus the sunlight on a spot on paper - spot should be no bigger than 0.5cm. Tell me then that light doesn't burn.

Bottom line: I never said lasers were bad, they're actually a lot better cut than the surgeon trying to use a scalpel......but that smell is burning tissue, and it's not unique to eye surgery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Eyesight of the gods, me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Short sighted, or near sighted as we say over here. I had laser eye surgery 5 years ago and have had perfect vision since, and will enjoy 10 more years of that until I go far sighted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Short sighted, but only just (-0.75 & -0.5). I was the only person in my family that didn't wear glasses until i turned 24, everyone else had them since they were kids. I do wear them the whole time though. Optician said try not to wear them, but why should i only have good vision some of the time.

I had the piss taken out of me by one of the lads i worked with, until curiosity got the better of him and he tried them on. He was wearing glasses the following week! HA!

Would love to get laser eye, but i would be one of those unfortunate ****ers who goes blind!

Short sighted, but only just (-0.75 & -0.5). I was the only person in my family that didn't wear glasses until i turned 24, everyone else had them since they were kids. I do wear them the whole time though. Optician said try not to wear them, but why should i only have good vision some of the time.
    I'm -2.25 in the left and -4.50 in the right. Blind, so I am! :pac: It's funny though, with lenses my eyesight is better in the right eye than the left, despite the fact the right needs a stronger lens.

I was the only one in the family with glasses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Sound advice from the optician and your eyesight is not bad at all

Now you've gotten yourself dependent on the glasses and there is no going back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

There is no burning....no heat involved at all. The smell is the tissue being atomised by the 'laser' which is actually vaporising the tissue with high frequency vibrations.

As for the 'clamp', you can't see it due to the blurriness and can barely even notice it being applied. It just holds the eyes open.

Yeah, but, I was there too. And there was definitely a big clamp, than I could feel very well. Also, a horrific smell, and the fear that if I moved my eyeball the wrong way during the procedure the wrong part of my eye would be lasered (otherwise, why was I told not to move the focus of my eye at all?).

I know there are anxious people out there, but that's the truth of my procedure. That and the fact it didn't work, of course.

Ha, when I getting zapped I was given out to as they said I wouldn't stay still.
    The nurse thought I was nervous [I certainly was] so she held my hand for the procedure, ah bless :o

One of my fears was they'd mix up the treatments and I'd get the settings for someone else. Hey, mistakes happen
    I was impressed when I entered the room I was asked to confirm my name, DOB and all that
    Very sensible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Well you guys wudda been f*ck all use as hunter gatherers.

We'd be back in the cave with the wimmins while you were out risking your life :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Wesc.

I wouldn't say that I'm "cursed" to wear glasses at all? I actually quite like wearing them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

I have 20/15 or 20/10 vision. Not sure which one but I can see pretty well anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

Confab wrote: »
    20/20 with glasses. Ultracool either way. Slowly going blind due to other causes though.

There you go!
    davet82 wrote: »
    masturbation causes blindness

so who has trouble with their eyesight again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Darkginger

I always thought I had terrible eyesight - shortsighted in both eyes, more in one than the other - but the last time I went to the optician she told me I was legally OK to drive without glasses. This scares me, 'cos I can see fúck all without my specs on! Someone needs to look at that law again (preferably someone who can see).