Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish BBQ sauce

• 12-04-2012 4:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭

Hi folks,

Quick question for you wise people in Food & Drink.

A friend of mine makes what can only be described as the best BBQ sauce I have (and many other close friends and family) have ever tasted.

He has been toying with the idea of trying to produce it on a bigger scale and maybe get it into a few supermarkets etc. He did some business kind of degree in college so he is grand on that end of things but he can’t come up with a decent name for the product.

I know it’s not a huge amount of info for you but trust me, if you tasted it you would love it.

He wants to keep the name somewhat Irish.

Any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

Blasta BBQ Sauce (means "tasty")

Rúnda BBQ Sauce (means "secret")

Anlann Ailainn BBQ Sauce (means literally "lovely sauce")

Bar-be-cuinas (play on words, cuinas means quiet)

<name of town your friend comes from e.g.> Castletown BBQ Sauce

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Gin Fizz

Is the hell fire club a brand? If not that could be good

Gin Fizz wrote: »
    Is the hell fire club a brand? If not that could be good

Hell Fire BBQ Sauce - I like it! Twould have to be hot though.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Hell Fire BBQ Sauce - I like it! Twould have to be hot though.
    It's not particularly Irish though...

The Hell Fire Club is a well-known Irish phenomenon and historical landmark in the Dublin mountains.

Why not offer an alternative suggestion?

• Registered Users Posts: 39,415 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The Hell Fire Club is a well-known Irish phenomenon and historical landmark in the Dublin mountains.

The Hell Fire Club was originally set up in London. A private club for immoral individuals. Rumours of pacts with the devil etc. More clubs, chapters emerged. Including one in Dublin. After a few years they rented a hunting lodge in Wicklow from The Connellys, which is now know as the hellfire club. The first president (desended from Oliver Cromwell) was nicknamed "Burn Chapel", due to often setting catholic churches alight.

What phenomenon. were you talking about?

So, I'd agree with the previous poster. Not paticularly Irish due to where it started, and the people who made up the irish chapter.

As for suggestions, I thought Blasta was good.

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭john kinsella

Thanks very much guys, I like both Blasta and Hell Fire.

I will show him this tread over the weekend and let him take a look for himself. Thanks for the imput, much appreciated!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Because I don't have any.

I didn't realise it was forbidden to express an opinion on previous suggestions :rolleyes:

Mellor wrote: »
    What phenomenon. were you talking about?

The Hellfire Club is one of Ireland's most notorious "haunted" spots. That was the phenomenon I was talking about, not its origins as a British gentleman's club.

Best of luck to your buddy, John. I hope his sauce business is a hit.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,045 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Setanta Sauce

• Registered Users Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

The porter house pubs already have a beer called "brain blasta", and setanta=football in my mind, though setanta sauce has a good ring to it, I never knew it was cu chulainn until searching now... Just thought it was a made up name for a TV station.

Banshee sauce is all I can come up with now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Dagda sauce.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Bula Bus BBQ Sauce (as in clap/round of applause)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Tine Sauce (fire sauce)
    Tri Thine Sauce (on-fire sauce)

or Anlann Sauce (sauce sauce)

or how about Birr Hot Sauce -as in the cold place in Offaly, nice play on words

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Me Bollix BBQ Sauce

As in "this is the nicest BBQ sauce you will ever taste"

"Me Bollix it is"!!