Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Twister Hits Bray!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Preferred Hop Scotch myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Didn't hit the kip hard enough imo:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Pics or gtfo!

Oops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

It can't have been Bray, there wasn't a single caravan in that clip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

OP post it in weather as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,840 ✭✭✭✭cormie

fryup wrote: »
    OP post it in weather as well

Not sure that's a good idea, judging by how excited they get there when snow hits, several heart attacks may occur with such a clip :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

I had twister as a kid.

Luved beaking wind just at that critical moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Its a nice day out as well, but then again, it was a nice day and dorothys house got whisked up as well :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

I thought you were saying that bray finally got to see the movie 'twister'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

We can be storm chasers like Bill Paxton and Helen Hunt, who has a van? Also we're going to need a big container that looks like R2D2 and a load of ball bearings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Damn, thought this'd be about a homeless guy going crazy.

Great video though, tornados in Bray, what next?

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Junior Jacon Jeese Jurger

That's Brazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

anyone know when this was taken??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

fryup wrote: »
    anyone know when this was taken??

It says it was this morning (14/04/2012) at around 7am. Don't know why the YouTube time stamp says published 13/04/2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

*Awaits memes*

Never forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

Ah jaysus! I've let off farts that have done more damage than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

But Martin King said we'd have lovely sunny weather all day on the East Coast,my garden is full of hail stones now.Damn you & your lies Martin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Water spout. Haven't seen one of those in years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

More twisters hit Britain then the southern states of the USA according to QI and seeing we have roughly the same weather pattern it must be true for us as well.

But how come I never seen one, I would like to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

twister me hole. sea spout was all. slept right through it despite living less than 200m from the seafront.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

Seaspouts... twisters... and the Vevay Inn is no more.

What's the story Bray?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

I had a dream only last night my house was hit by a tornado.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 TriciaL

It was just before 7 this morning. There was also some major thunder and lightening ( thought the roof was being torn off the house ) and hail stones like marbles pelting off the windows and doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,140 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I thought this was another Bertie Ahern thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,840 ✭✭✭✭cormie

mackg wrote: »
    We can be storm chasers like Bill Paxton and Helen Hunt, who has a van? Also we're going to need a big container that looks like R2D2 and a load of ball bearings.

Plazaman wrote: »
    It says it was this morning (14/04/2012) at around 7am. Don't know why the YouTube time stamp says published 13/04/2012.

Maybe wherever YouTube is hosted is enough hours behind that it was still the 13th :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭C-Shore

banquo wrote: »
    *Awaits memes*

Never forget.

This?

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Junior Jacon Jeese Jurger

According to Gardai it caused over €10,000 worth of improvements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

That's no tornado. It's a water spout, not the same thing at all at all at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

also a pub in the vevay burned down last night :eek:

and the twister could have done MUCH more damage if it was about 400m north :eek::eek::eek:

mad **** altogether. friday 13 alive and well I see:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

44leto wrote: »
    More twisters hit Britain then the southern states of the USA according to QI and seeing we have roughly the same weather pattern it must be true for us as well.

But how come I never seen one, I would like to.

Oklahoma and Kansas alone record more tornadoes a year than Britain. I imagine that statistic you read was based on tornadoes per square mile. Also there are huge parts of the US where tornadoes don't occur or rarely occur. Whereas they can occur anywhere in Britain due to it's size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

According to Gardai it caused over €10,000 worth of improvements.

What dawsons is gone? ( fingers crossed)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

twister me hole. sea spout was all. slept right through it despite living less than 200m from the seafront.

Its still a type of tornado. At least it wasnt one of those wind funnels or whatever they're called that are just cylinder shaped gusts of wind not connected to clouds at all that we get here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

ProudDUB wrote: »
    That's no tornado. It's a water spout, not the same thing at all at all at all.

It was reported to have made landfall but waiting to see footage of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Get out the trucks and vans lads! Twister chasers Ireland, new documentary to RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Hal1 wrote: »
    It was reported to have made landfall but waiting to see footage of this.

I saw the whole thing out the window and it did make landfall, for about 0.5 seconds, threw up a swirl of grass or something and then collapsed. The lightning afterwards was pretty intense though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Thats deadly all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I have recurring nightmares about swarms of destructive tornadoes hitting Ireland. I was always under the impression that the only place in the world that had a serious tornado problem was North America. Not true apparently.

I don't remember hearing of tornadoes in little Erin in the days of my youth when we scampered home from school through the fields barefoot and fancy free.

This is an ominous development. Ominious I tell you!! It's a sign that we have abandoned God and the Mother Church :eek::(:pac: