Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Were you hit by a teacher in school

• 14-04-2012 3:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,682 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I was talking to a few lads I went to school with today and and we all remembered getting hit going to school. In my case it was for copying homework and another guy was given a black eye for letting some piece of equipment fall in the science lab. These teachers all kept their jobs and only retired a few years ago. This was ongoing in the school at the time and I was just wondering did the same happen elsewhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

My teacher was so bad, she used to wait for me after school to hit me. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Old Tom

Yes I was.

And surprisingly, as a grown up man I am not a thief, paedo, murderer, drug addict or any other kind of a scumbag.

Weird, isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Yep. Cane, and the leather strap, dusters and fists.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

No, but she was hot. She could have spanked me any time of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

No, but a number in our class came very close to it. Wasn't long after corporal punishment was banned, and there was few frustrated teachers that could no longer use it.

Nodin wrote: »
    Yep. Cane, and the leather strap, dusters and fists.

I better point out it was "legal" at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Yep many times with the narrow side of the yard stick, fúcking scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Yeah, corporal punishment was only banned when I was around 8 or 9 - I had witnessed and experienced a surprising amount of violence by that age. Mind you I was in a religious orders school so not thats surprising really. Those nuns would beat you with a metre stick as quick as theyd look at you.

My brother was in Christian Brothers, they were really violent. There was one guy who used to make the children stand on a stool to write out maths answers on the board, and if they got the answer wrong, he whacked the stool out from under them with a hurley. Quite a few punches daily also.

Both of us were changed into a rural school due to moving house when I was around 10 - the difference was unbelievable, not being terrorised daily, not being shouted at and humiliated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

NUNS

C*nts, the lot of them :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭bensweeney

My Granduncle threw a slate at a teachers head once after the teacher gave him a savage beating, just missed him. This was back in the early 1930's when teachers were right bastards. Teacher never went near him after that!

My Grandfather told me a story of confronting a teacher at his home after my Aunt, his daughter came home battered and sore from a beating. he got a foot in the door to stop the teacher closing it and threw a few clips at him before the door was closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Yes by those unChristian Brothers with their standard issue leather straps even when corporal punishment was outlawed.
    Still, it was a walk in the park compared to what they did to some kids.

Fcukin sadists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Yup, punched in the chest and hit with a hurley for not wanting to play hurling.
    Apparently it hardens you up, to be bullied and assaulted by a grown man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I was knocked to the floor twice by different female teachers in primary school, jabbed/punched in the jaw in woodwork class by male teacher in secondary school for smartarsery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I went to a CBS, and was hit by teachers in there more so than Christian brothers tbf....

Yeah, corporal punishment was only banned when I was around 8 or 9 - I had witnessed and experienced a surprising amount of violence by that age. Mind you I was in a religious orders school so not thats surprising really. Those nuns would beat you with a metre stick as quick as theyd look at you.

My brother was in Christian Brothers, they were really violent. There was one guy who used to make the children stand on a stool to write out maths answers on the board, and if they got the answer wrong, he whacked the stool out from under them with a hurley. Quite a few punches daily also.

Both of us were changed into a rural school due to moving house when I was around 10 - the difference was unbelievable, not being terrorised daily, not being shouted at and humiliated.

The bin truck used come into the schoolyard to collect the rubbish, and the lads used take a scoot on the back of it as it went out. One day yer man the head priest was hanging around and saw them at it. He went over, and the poor eejit on the far side didn't seem him. He reefed him off and starting lashing the legs off him with the cane. Yer man was wearing shorts and and you could see the big welts coming up as he was being clattered. Eventually he hit the ground going 'please Father don't hit me anymore' to which yerman told him to get up, with a few more clatters. He then drags him off to the office, with the odd clatter across the legs added for good measure.

This was all pre-first year. When we were in 6th class CP was abolished. As it was generally accepted they really started to lay into you in 1st year, you can imagine there was some relief at the news.

Fieldog wrote: »
    I went to a CBS, and was hit by teachers in there more so than Christian brothers tbf....

Are you good looking :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

I was beaten by some of the best teachers our tax money could buy.Most of the time for being a cheeky b*stard but a lot of beatings just for being alive.
    Punched,slapped,caned,strapped,hair pulled and verbally abused.The verbals were always the worst,they would try to humiliate you to make themselves feel good.

Looking back it just shows how pathetic they really were,unable to control or interest a bunch of children and having to resort to violence.

I also had a number of brilliant,interesting teachers who made learning a pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Are you good looking :rolleyes:

Nah, unfortunately they never did "beat me goodlooking"..... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I was only born 1992 so I think by the time I started school most of the punishment was phased out. A few digs of knuckles into the backs, or being pushed against the wall by the scruff a few times a year wasnt uncommon but never got hit or beat by anything. At worst, a slap on the hand back of the hand with a plastic ruler. Wasnt even that sore.

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭Simon Adebisi

Yup, numerous occasions in primary and secondary school. Knuckles across the top of the head mostly but once my metalwork teacher hopped his car keys off me from across the room because i was acting the bollix with the lathe. TBH i deserved that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Nodin wrote: »
    This was all pre-first year. When we were in 6th class CP was abolished.

Nope. I still think they were still into the child porn then. *Referring to Christian Brothers, not all teachers*.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

When I was in third class, I had a fcuker of a teacher. I asked my friend for a loan of a pencil. When I was finished using the pencil, I threw it back to my friend. Teacher started roaring at me for throwing the pencil and told me to stand up, he walked down to me and walloped me across the arse about 6 times. I turned to him and called him a prick.

Sneeky fcuker then called me up at break time and said to me, "don't tell your mother that I hit you because she wouldn't like it if I told her you called me a prick" I was then afraid to tell my mother because I would have probably got a hiding off her for calling the teacher a prick.

cocoshovel wrote: »
    I was only boring 1992 so I think by the time I started school most of the punishment was phased out. A few digs of knuckles into the backs, or being pushed against the wall by the scruff a few times a year wasnt uncommon but never got hit or beat by anything. At worst, a slap on the hand back of the hand with a plastic ruler. Wasnt even that sore.

A lot of people are boring all their life, so one year isn't too bad.
    Just try not to let it happen again :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I was once put into the chokey by a mean,and child-hating bitch... a whole deal worse than being giving the belt I can solemnly say.
    Luckily however, I was saved by a kind and caring teacher, who also happened to be the principle's niece, although they couldn't have been more different and she eventually adopted me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

In 98/99 when I was in Junior or Senior infants I remember the school principal pulling someone in one of the older classes by the ear. That's about the extent of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Yep, punched,thumped,hit with bamboo cane,metre sticks and various rulers.
    Pulled by hair and had ears twisted and pulled too.All from the age of five to about fourteen, by both male and female teachers.

I also saw a teacher beat a 12 year old uncouncious too.

Most of my teachers were fine and I did ok in school ,I never caused any trouble or disruption, however some were nothing but thugs and bullies.

For a bit of balance - no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

It was a long long time ago in darndale primary school and the teachers name was Miss Sweeney in sixth class and she asked me to pronounce certain words to her liking and i got it wrong and she grabbed me by the hippy hair i had at the time and swung me around the classroom for 20 seconds and then asked me can I pronounce the words lol and by jesus I pronounced them in perfect order.

Once she boxed me on the nose and grabbed my hair again and went to town on me I was in bits after the abuse but looking back on it she was a bully and attacked most pupils in the class if they made 1 mistake. this woman was nasty in a big way.

hope your reading this miss Sweeney you succeeded in teaching me to speak and write english but by the hell of all mighty I was lucky to escape with my young life. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭bensweeney

Is anyone going to thank the post I made? It was good plus it was my 100th post.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

cocoshovel wrote: »
    I was only born 1992 so I think by the time I started school most of the punishment was phased out. A few digs of knuckles into the backs, or being pushed against the wall by the scruff a few times a year wasnt uncommon but never got hit or beat by anything. At worst, a slap on the hand back of the hand with a plastic ruler. Wasnt even that sore.

Wtf? I was born in '91 and never experienced anything you mentioned :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

bensweeney wrote: »
    Is anyone going to thank the post I made? It was good plus it was my 100th post.

I will, if you revise your post to say he then killed them with a gun, before fleeing the scene, and has been never been seen in all this time since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Had the pleasure of ringing in my ears for a whole weekend after being punched by the nastiest Christian Brother you could meet.First day in Secondary School and the bollox nearly knocked one guy unconcious.That was the marker he set down & seemed to enjoy dishing out violence.
    He disappeared during the Summer holidays and we never seen said teacher again.Plus most of us had sprouted up and would have been bigger than him by second year,we planned vengeance on him but never got the chance.

bensweeney wrote: »

:DSo that's why you were thanking everyone ;)
    Too subtle my friend!:D

PS I went back and thanked you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Same

The brothers in my CBS were lovely and dammit, I realy looked up and admired one of the brothers
    Some teachers just have an affect on young people

Got a few clatters alright but those were normal teachers.

Saw a few duster thrown across the room but never saw anyone hit
    A duster in the face would be a serious head wound
    Compo culture didn't exist back then, nobody would have even thought of following up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭GaryIrv93

Jesus most of the time you'd get hit for some imaginary offence,

On a serious note, what was 'hitting' in those days would be ABH or GBH today:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

got battered a good few times in primary school steel rulers,bunches of keys,blackboard dusters must be an empowering feeling for a grown up against a 6 year old, no wonder i hated the place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

On a serious note, what was 'hitting' in those days would be ABH or GBH today:eek:

Sure what are you going to do?

Tell the parents you got a belt and they'll tell you that you deserved it

The teacher = god
    Nobody questioned authority figures in the parish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Old Tom wrote: »
    Yes I was.

And surprisingly, as a grown up man I am not a thief, paedo, murderer, drug addict or any other kind of a scumbag.

Weird, isn't it?

So what, everyone that was hit in school is an upstanding citizen and everyone who wasn't hit in school is or is going to be a thief, paedo, murderer or a drug addict?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Yep, I got a few "skelps" every now and again.

I pretty much deserved it though, I was a mouthy little fcuker. Never got hammered though.

And as has been mentioned before, no way would I go home and tell the folks, they'd give me a few more clatters for causing the teacher trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Caneed, strapped, slapped about .it was common (I was in school in the 70's and very early 80's both here and (England).
    also got strapped and caned at home but that was always for something I had do0ne, school here was a nightmare CBS cnuts used to hit me for being English!

umm I'm not sure if i trust you, as a Sweeney bad memories :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Born in 79. Never saw a glimmer of physical aggression from a teacher in my life.
    Actually no I'm wrong. Teachers and pupils from the local Catholic school came up and threw stones at us in primary school one time. They didn't like that there were Catholic kids going to a protestant school. Bizarre. We didn't know wtf was going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭southcentralts

In primary school we had a nasty principle who used a very sharp diamond ring on a hand clenched in a fist and "dig" in straight into the top of our heads, though it was only the boys she ever punished in this way, even if it was the girls who were messing around, the boys were punished. no bruises or blood just holes in our heads.

It was really painful and impossible to prove. This was just after corporal punishment was abolished, and before we entered her classroom we were sent down to her to witness her using a horse whip on the bad students. We dreaded going into 3-6 class, but then she had to retire the horse whip and we thought we would be safe. It seems as though there is a necessity to demean and subjugate students, mentally and physically, in order to respect authoritative figures to produce a strong and obedient workforce.

So none of my teachers really beat me, and I did not witness any other students getting beaten up during the 90's, and I doubt any teachers today are hitting students, in fact even "the law" is having a bit of trouble getting away with punishment beatings today.

Progress can be slow and difficult to see sometimes, but I think this thread has highlighted some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

In primary school we had a nasty principle who used a very sharp diamond ring on a hand clenched in a fist and "dig" in straight into the top of our heads, though it was only the boys she ever punished in this way, even if it was the girls who were messing around, the boys were punished. no bruises or blood just holes in our heads.

It was really painful and impossible to prove. This was just after corporal punishment was abolished, and before we entered her classroom we were sent down to her to witness her using a horse whip on the bad students. We dreaded going into 3-6 class, but then she had to retire the horse whip and we thought we would be safe. It seems as though there is a necessity to demean and subjugate students, mentally and physically, in order to respect authoritative figures to produce a strong and obedient workforce.

So none of my teachers really beat me, and I did not witness any other students getting beaten up during the 90's, and I doubt any teachers today are hitting students, in fact even "the law" is having a bit of trouble getting away with punishment beatings today.

Progress can be slow and difficult to see sometimes, but I think this thread has highlighted some.

he must have moved to my school so! our principal was the same ....a nasty b**lox funny thing is instead of putting discipline into me i went completely the opposite direction completely anti-authority, was suspended more times than i care to remember in secondary school apart from that i was fairly smart in school which they couldnt understand

To make a point about teachers that hit pupils and teachers that went easy...I do remember a geography teacher I had and she was damn tough but she done it a different way and instead of boxing or slapping our head in she always picked me out in a full classroom as i was crap at geography and day by day she would constantly ask me questions as i thought she was picking on me only but i realized after all the time she kept going at me i got paranoid and studied like a mothertrucker and in the final exam i got an a+

If that teacher Sweeney done it this way I would have had less bruises and sore joints. I would wish that geography teacher i had back then was still teaching because she was a real expert in how to mold a pupil in education. fantastic woman and teacher can't remember her name but she had a way of getting you to learn other than attacking you. anyway she was the geography teacher in belcamp college 1980's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

When I started school as a nipper I was the only leftie in the class.
    For two years I was tortured, slapping and hit on knuckles with meter stick for writing with my left hand.
    As a result I could hardly write with either by the time I was in second class.
    Wasn't too bad then till 5/6th class when a maniac of a teacher would cane us for any reason at all.

It took me a very long time to develop ANY respect for people in authority after my experiences. Even now if I meet my 5/6th class teacher I feel like kicking his head in for the way he treated us.

bbam wrote: »
    For two years I was tortured, slapping and hit on knuckles with meter stick for writing with my left hand.

Yeah I seen that carry on myself and even as a kid I thought it was fooked up. who bloody cares what hand you write with. The thing is, in my opinion the teachers were so uneducated themselves and ruled by the church in regards to pupil dexterity all they could see is right 'east' and this load of plonkballs were teaching us lol it's a strange world that's forsure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭RiseToTheTop

You'd expect the brothers and nuns to be Christian-like, ie warm and kind.

They were for many a kid unfortunately. their end times now. finito.

priests and nuns are not teachers, the only thing they can teach is the gospel so they are and never will be fit to teach in a modern world so they should be banished from education as far away to pluto as i can see.

let the real teachers progress without the blanket overall of church interference. wasn't this the major factor of bad education in the first place ?. the invisible man cannot teach us anything but can keep people in a draconian environment.