Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Due Dec 2012....

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭mel1

Piper101 wrote: »
    Irishrose that's amazing news! :) I'm delighted for you (inwardly seethes with envy ;)) and what a great size! Enjoy him!!!

Mel1, are you seeing a consultant this week as well? I'm a bit nervous about my scan and consultant next week (36 weeks) cause haven't a clue what's gonna happen, the last two were really just meet and greets and I'm starting to feel this **** is about to get serious :-0[/QUOTe

Hi piper,

Was supposed to see my consultant today but was sent instead to see a blood specialist. Been havin blood tests done on a regular basis as i have no immuine system of my own, so some tests came back that i have "BAD antibodies" he said the name but me being a feather head and startin to panic forgot it. Normally a persons own body can fight them but i cant.

So seemingly if they are still present in this test i will have to go for early cection because the antiboidies will reject the baby and try to abort it. Bit like a person rejecting an organ, the body sees it as a foregin object and kills it. He had his serious face on today and left me a bit worried. and worse again itll be 2 weeks before the results are back. So no scan:(. Again!
    Oh yea and no joy on the early induction.

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭FunkSoulSista

Congrats Irishrose!!!! Such a lovely name too!! So you're the first of many babs to arrive out of our gang!! Not much longer now ladies!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭scrgirl

Congratulations IrishRose!!! I was thinking maybe you had gone early as I noticed you very quiet this week!! How early did you go? what was your due date? How was the labour? would love to hear your birth story when you get time to tell us!
    Congrats and enjoy your perfect little family!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

mel1 wrote: »
    Piper101 wrote: »
    Irishrose that's amazing news! :) I'm delighted for you (inwardly seethes with envy ;)) and what a great size! Enjoy him!!!

Mel1, are you seeing a consultant this week as well? I'm a bit nervous about my scan and consultant next week (36 weeks) cause haven't a clue what's gonna happen, the last two were really just meet and greets and I'm starting to feel this **** is about to get serious :-0[/QUOTe

Hi piper,

Was supposed to see my consultant today but was sent instead to see a blood specialist. Been havin blood tests done on a regular basis as i have no immuine system of my own, so some tests came back that i have "BAD antibodies" he said the name but me being a feather head and startin to panic forgot it. Normally a persons own body can fight them but i cant.

So seemingly if they are still present in this test i will have to go for early cection because the antiboidies will reject the baby and try to abort it. Bit like a person rejecting an organ, the body sees it as a foregin object and kills it. He had his serious face on today and left me a bit worried. and worse again itll be 2 weeks before the results are back. So no scan:(. Again!
    Oh yea and no joy on the early induction.

oh mel that is awful:(
    Is it an ongoing medical condition or brought on by pregnancy?
    you poor thing.

God Mel that is worrying. Is this your first baby? I'm sure you will get the best possible care and they won't put yourself or the baby at risk.

On the hospital bags. What size are ye bringing? I started packing a small carry on size wheelie case but it was full with just the baby stuff!! So I moved to the next size up case, the kind I would bring in a two week holiday! Seems excessive. I'm following the eurobaby list, 5/6 of everything for baby plus towels nappies cotton few pjs dressing gowns etc seems way too much stuff. I'm thinking of leaving loads at home packed in smaller bag and get it brought into me off its needed. What ye reckon?

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭TeresaM

Hey Irishhorse, CONGRATS.... wow... soo exciting for you to have your wee baba!!! I'm soooo jealous :D:D

Oh Mel honey, I hope you are ok, I can only imagine that you are soo worried! Would love sometimes if we could sit and have a nice cuppa together and help each other through tougher times! We are here to chat if you are feeling stressed out! Hope they get to the bottom of it! I'm sure you and baba will be very safe and they will look after you both!

*hugs* honey!!!! <3<3

• Registered Users Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Rachineire

I found the list!

Irishrose1981 2nd- Born 19/11/12 Boy
    Scrgirl 14th
    Rachineire 15th- Boy
    Mrs Patser 17th
    Funksoulsista 20th
    TeresaM- Dec 20th
    Xiwang 21st
    Piper101 27th
    Mel1 - 27th
    Jeni 28th
    Moonbeam 29th
    Princessa - 1st Jan (? early induction in Dec) - Surprise.

Have we got everyone on the list??

Scrgirl its you and me next!!

Congrats Irishrose!! I'm delighted for you- it makes it all the more real- I can't believe girls on our thread are having the babies already!! Josh is a beautiful name and I'm happy your all doing well and back home already! :D:D

Aw mel I hope things turn out ok, if nothing else im sure they will deliver him early just to be on the safe side! Could it possibly have something to do with being rhesus negative?? They told me that if i fall or something I have to go to the hospital and get the anti-d shots since I'm a rhesus negative blood type and the baby could potentially have positive blood and my blood would then attack his blood kind of deal

either way best of luck and i hope all goes ok!

Ive finally finished packing everything i needed to pack minus a few last minute bits to grab on the way out the door. I have a smallish gym bag for the labor ward, the EU mums bag for my OH hospital bag for snacks and magazines and ect, and then a carry on sized suitcase with bits for me and baby in there. Honestly im not sure if i have enough in there, i dont think i packed myself very many clothes. I might be buying myself another pair of dark pj pants or something not sure :confused: I will have some stuff set aside at any rate for my OH to bring to me if i need them!

my bump dropped...again! but no real signs of anything yet...sigh! always hopeful though, especially after irish rose's great news today! :D

Rachineire wrote: »
    I found the list!

Scrgirl 14th
    Rachineire 15th- Boy
    Mrs Patser 17th
    Funksoulsista 20th
    TeresaM- Dec 20th
    Xiwang 21st
    Piper101 27th
    Mel1 - 27th
    Jeni 28th
    Moonbeam 29th

Have we got everyone on the list??

Scrgirl its you and me next!!

Congrats Irishrose!! I'm delighted for you- it makes it all the more real- I can't believe girls on our thread are having the babies already!! Josh is a beautiful name and I'm happy your all doing well and back home already! :D:D

Argh!!! That really gave me a shock when I see my name next on the list!!!!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

my bump is very low too.
    I will go pack my bag and minute now...
    A travel mug fell out of the press today and bounced off my bump,it was a bit sore buy my poor 3 year old was so concerned it made the pain go away:)
    I never brought a dressing gown to hospital,a cardigan and slippers were fine.
    I found the small wheelie bags plenty big you really don't need much it is 3 nights max 5 for a section.

I decided baby can arrive on the 17th Dec a that would suit me!

Moonbeam wrote: »
    my bump is very low too.
    I will go pack my bag and minute now...
    A travel mug fell out of the press today and bounced off my bump,it was a bit sore buy my poor 3 year old was so concerned it made the pain go away:)
    I never brought a dressing gown to hospital,a cardigan and slippers were fine.
    I found the small wheelie bags plenty big you really don't need much it is 3 nights max 5 for a section.

I decided baby can arrive on the 17th Dec a that would suit me!

LOLLL.... Mine can arrive anytime after OH gets here too... be nice wouldn't it :D
    Your poor bump! and your poor 3 yr old that was so worried, the wee pet! how cute tho! My wee fella is the same, if he thinks I hurt myself he really looks after me.

I am only packing a small bag and still taking a gym bag to take to delivery room which will have mags or whatever to pass time, it it comes to that. I was only in delivery room for 35mins before my son was born! :eek: Hopefully it will be the same but I suppose I should be prepared if its different. with it being my second I'll only be in for 1 night :D so wont need much! I love the idea of the cardigan instead of the dressing gown! I find they take up so much room in a bag so will take a cardi instead :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭mapaco

mapaco 10th
    Scrgirl 14th
    Rachineire 15th- Boy
    Mrs Patser 17th
    Funksoulsista 20th
    TeresaM- Dec 20th
    Xiwang 21st
    Piper101 27th
    Mel1 - 27th
    Jeni 28th
    Moonbeam 29th

just stuck myself in there-cheeky!
    a girl due the 13th had her baba yesterday too-:eek:
    getting very real and scary now!!!

TeresaM wrote: »
    LOLLL.... Mine can arrive anytime after OH gets here too... be nice wouldn't it :D
    Your poor bump! and your poor 3 yr old that was so worried, the wee pet! how cute tho! My wee fella is the same, if he thinks I hurt myself he really looks after me.

I am only packing a small bag and still taking a gym bag to take to delivery room which will have mags or whatever to pass time, it it comes to that. I was only in delivery room for 35mins before my son was born! :eek: Hopefully it will be the same but I suppose I should be prepared if its different. with it being my second I'll only be in for 1 night :D so wont need much! I love the idea of the cardigan instead of the dressing gown! I find they take up so much room in a bag so will take a cardi instead :)

mine is back on friday:) but he just does alot of 1 and 2 week trips.

Oh its horrible when they are away isn't it :( My OH goes away for 6 weeks at a time.. Then he comes home for 6 weeks.. All year, its awful but I suppose at least he has a job! Does your OH do a lot of trips away all the time or is it just for a while?

tonight I feel so down in the dumps, I'm sure its just hormones again and I miss OH so much... I can't get comfy in bed much and at the same time i'm tired. Of course sitting here eating digestive biscuits and a banana isn't going to do much for me (I hope it doesn't add on half a stone either!! lol) Ah well.. only 4 more weeks to go.....

awww *hugs*
    MIne does alot of trip but the longest is 3 weeks and that is rare.
    I do not mind it too much as when he is here he woks long hours anyway but I am so tired and some small jobs around the house have become mammoth tasks..

awww *hugs*
    MIne does alot of trip but the longest is 3 weeks and that is rare.
    I do not mind it too much as when he is here he woks long hours anyway but I am so tired and some small jobs around the house have become mammoth tasks..

Ah honey, its tough going, have you any family or good friends that can come and help you out with the smaller things around the house, they can be such a strugle now can't they!

I sooo hear ya on the small jobs...its getting so hard to just do 'stuff' now...
    this morning I slept in :mad: My dad had my son the night before last night as I had gone shopping and so i turned off the alarm... grr... Ah it wasn't so bad he was just 15 mins later for school. But I am soo tired this morning, even eating my breakfast is hard work!
    When my OH gets home its gonna be so much easier, i can at least stay in bed on the mornings that i am very tired!

Ladies I have no clue how you manage without your OH around...I need help even rolling over in bed sometimes! haha

Making some thanksgiving food this morning....baby brain does not go well when trying to bake a complicated recipe! oh well, i'm sure it will all taste fine at the end of the day, if not then thats ok too :P

Baby not making it easy though- I'm totally out of breath just standing in the kitchen and every time i turn on the hand mixer hes kicking like a mad-man! Makes me rethink all of my grand plans to do tons of cooking and freezing of food before baby comes!

oh mel that is awful:(
    Is it an ongoing medical condition or brought on by pregnancy?
    you poor thing.
    scrgirl wrote: »
    God Mel that is worrying. Is this your first baby? I'm sure you will get the best possible care and they won't put yourself or the baby at risk.
    Hey Irishhorse, CONGRATS.... wow... soo exciting for you to have your wee baba!!! I'm soooo jealous :D:D

Oh Mel honey, I hope you are ok, I can only imagine that you are soo worried! Would love sometimes if we could sit and have a nice cuppa together and help each other through tougher times! We are here to chat if you are feeling stressed out! Hope they get to the bottom of it! I'm sure you and baba will be very safe and they will look after you both!

*hugs* honey!!!! <3<3

Seemingly its an ongoing condition which is only tested for (which is a bit shocking to my mind) when your pregnant. If i wasnt pregnant my antibodies would turn against my own organs so maybe this little baby has saved me a lot of problems down the line, maybe even saved my life! So i dont think it is the resus thing. I was hospitalised 3 times last year for internal pain which no reasons have been found and the sums are starting to add up i think!

Fortunatly the staff and docs in mullingar do seem to be really efficient at there job and put me at ease straight away. It wasnt the usual crap they give you of "it just a bad case of piles dear, your fine"
    I have every confidence that i will get the best care from them so im not going to let this stress me out too much as that is sure to always make things worse. Im just very glad it was spotted!! To be fair i have had to deal with lots of these kinds of issues since i broke up all my insides when i was 16 after a bad fall from a horse.

Ladies I have no clue how you manage without your OH around...I need help even rolling over in bed sometimes! haha

Making some thanksgiving food this morning....baby brain does not go well when trying to bake a complicated recipe! oh well, i'm sure it will all taste fine at the end of the day, if not then thats ok too :P

Baby not making it easy though- I'm totally out of breath just standing in the kitchen and every time i turn on the hand mixer hes kicking like a mad-man! Makes me rethink all of my grand plans to do tons of cooking and freezing of food before baby comes!

Is thanks giving today? That means i can start pulling out the christmas tree:D:D

Do you put up your decorations for thanksgiving, Tree ect?

hey Rach, :) sounds like you are having fun... This morning there is just no way I'd be able to stand in the kitchen and cook! I made scrambled eggs and toast with a cuppa tea this morning and was so tired after I could barely eat it!!! I actually drove my son to school in my pj's!! it was just too much work to get changed! (we are only like 2 mins from school tho!)
    how organised are you to cook and freeze before baby comes along!

Thank God baba is sleeping now! cause its starting to hurt when its kicking and squirming.. I actually think I am bruised on the inside of my belly at times!

Think im going to go for it!!!

Am i mad to be putting up me tree on 22nd Nov?

Seemingly its an ongoing condition which is only tested for (which is a bit shocking to my mind) when your pregnant. If i wasnt pregnant my antibodies would turn against my own organs so maybe this little baby has saved me a lot of problems down the line, maybe even saved my life! So i dont think it is the resus thing. I was hospitalised 3 times last year for internal pain which no reasons have been found and the sums are starting to add up i think!

Fortunatly the staff and docs in mullingar do seem to be really efficient at there job and put me at ease straight away. It wasnt the usual crap they give you of "it just a bad case of piles dear, your fine"
    I have every confidence that i will get the best care from them so im not going to let this stress me out too much as that is sure to always make things worse. Im just very glad it was spotted!! To be fair i have had to deal with lots of these kinds of issues since i broke up all my insides when i was 16 after a bad fall from a horse.

Oh wow, well im glad that they caught it and that they are giving you a good level of care! It makes something scarey a little more reassuring! keep us updated for sure!

Well some people put up decorations before thanksgiving, in my family we always put them up right after thanksgiving...the next day or on saturday depending on how lazy we were feeling haha! I will be putting up my tree hopefully tomorrow if i can convince the OH to pull it down from the attic after he gets home from work tonight! If not I'll have to wait until the weekend :rolleyes:
    In my mind christmas doesn't start until the end of the Macy's Day Parade when Santa comes down his sleigh on 5th Avenue....wonder how im going to make that work when baby is old enough to understand christmas!

Some will say so :P But others will say you are very smart cause its easier to do it now than when you are farther along :D;)

I would love mine up, I just love all the christmas decos up :D

Yikes sound like you've had a time of it honey!! I'm really glad to hear that they are good at the hospital and you are happy with it! You're right that its good to find it out now and deal with it.. Hopefully it will save you lots of problems in the future! Be well honey xxx

hey Rach, :) sounds like you are having fun... This morning there is just no way I'd be able to stand in the kitchen and cook! I made scrambled eggs and toast with a cuppa tea this morning and was so tired after I could barely eat it!!! I actually drove my son to school in my pj's!! it was just too much work to get changed! (we are only like 2 mins from school tho!)
    how organised are you to cook and freeze before baby comes along!

Thank God baba is sleeping now! cause its starting to hurt when its kicking and squirming.. I actually think I am bruised on the inside of my belly at times!

haha im barely able for it myself- i was at work yesterday and I nearly killed myself cause someone called out sick and we were up the walls and im paying for it today! I just can't stand on my feet 7 hours anymore! I'm making pumpkin pies which should take an hour tops and im well into my second hour of making them and havnt started the pumpkin bit yet...gah!

oh i dont know if i will be that organized...im really hoping i get a spurt of mad energy before baby comes so i do cook all of this food i was planning on making!
    I know how you feel about the baby hurting when moving...hes completely run out of room in there and has no qualms about pushing me around haha! I'm glad hes moving but OW!

Go for it! Christmas is only once a year and besides you might not have a chance later in the month!

Rachineire - Happy Thanks Giving:)

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭jeni

We compramised with sarah, i made her an advent calender as a countdown to putting up the tree on the 1st ;)

Last time my hospital bag was a neat little over night bag n then a changing bag for babs, this time so far it looks like im gona need my own wing in the hospital ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭CeNedra

added myself to the list, due no. 3 on 18th!

mapaco 10th
    Scrgirl 14th
    Rachineire 15th- Boy
    Mrs Patser 17th
    CeNedra 18th
    Funksoulsista 20th
    TeresaM- Dec 20th
    Xiwang 21st
    Piper101 27th
    Mel1 - 27th
    Jeni 28th
    Moonbeam 29th

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭CeNedra

Rachineire,

Fair play to you for doing the Thanksgiving cooking. My husband is from the US and hasn't been back for thanksgiving in years. I have to say I have made no effort to mark the occasion (i am a very bad wife obviously), we may go out to dinner tonight or something. Were trying to figure out pumpkin pie, but we are turfed out of our house until end of next week due to getting the whole thing painted so I can't even cook properly at the moment!! I can't believe I left the house painting to thanksgiving week and to when I turned 36 weeks, I am crazy and not very organised, or nesting too much maybe!!.

Anyway, happy thanksgiving. I hope my husband won't be too disappointed with me when I treat him to an Italian dinner without pumpkin pie tonight:)