Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feedback Thread **READ POST #1 IN FULL**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I'd imagine the system automatically lifted their ban.

Who are we talking about here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Frisbee wrote: »
    I'd imagine the system automatically lifted their ban.

Who are we talking about here?

I could be way off but I guess Berba :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Too Lenient
    He's actually making a proper contribution in the Spurs forum and has been for quite a while. At least give him a chance, from what I've seen of his posts here he hasn't been trolling at all, he's giving his proper opinion and people can see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,451 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Any chance of a mod banning the serial troll in the United thread? I can deal with opinions that go against the grain but this guy is just full retard.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Too Lenient

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,451 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

darced wrote: »

I honestly don't see how anyone could come to that conclusion from reading last night's contributions to the thread, still I suppose the "baddest son of a bitch" boards has ever seen has different standards to the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

THFC wrote: »
    He's actually making a proper contribution in the Spurs forum and has been for quite a while. At least give him a chance, from what I've seen of his posts here he hasn't been trolling at all, he's giving his proper opinion and people can see that.

Fair play to him!!! Let's see how he gets on in other club threads though!!!

A soccer forum beers night would be like going to a pub full of famous people. I can't quite get my head around sitting down at a table with Des, LuckyLloyd, Mr Alan, Kess, etc!!!! Never mind if Berba and WillMunny turned up!! That would be mental!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Too Lenient
    monkey9 wrote: »
    A soccer forum beers night would be like going to a pub full of famous people. I can't quite get my head around sitting down at a table with Des, LuckyLloyd, Mr Alan, Kess, etc!!!! Never mind if Berba and WillMunny turned up!! That would be mental!

Talking from experience, the controverial posters online ain't half as controversial when you meet them in real life. ;) Generally speaking. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Too Lenient
    Berba perma banned? Bit harsh lads, thought he had genuinely been making an effort to change his posting style for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,913 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

My heart bleeds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

He's told half the story in his DRP thread tbh.

He hasn't been permabanned in a 'that's the end of that' kind of way.

He's been banned until we decide if we want to bother letting him back in. Plus we're putting together a new set of rules for anyone coming back from a ban and we figured because he's caused such a massive amount of trouble in the past he's be a good case to start with and test them out.

Too Lenient
    Ah right, perma banned did sound kind of final tbh. :p

I was following the part in the United thread that he seems to have got banned over and in fairness when he was corrected over something he was clearly wrong about he did thank the post in acknowledgement and left it at that, as far as I remember anyway. His few posts in the thread that night were a bit flimsy alright, but nothing more than that imo.

Just thought it was over zealous moderating and wouldn't like to see other posters getting banned over it. At the same time I can see why a mod would be overly strict with someone that has been previously a big enough troublemaker on the forum.

Anyway what happens with that is up to you guys to decide just thought I'd give my two cents on how I saw it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Adolf Hipster

Xavi6 wrote: »
    My heart bleeds
    Exactly, stricter moderation was asked for regarding trolls, as far as I'm concerned he would be back to his old ways after the euros tbh.

Too Lenient
    Exactly, stricter moderation was asked for regarding trolls

Yeah, stricter moderation when it's merited, not for the sake of it.
    as far as I'm concerned he would be back to his old ways after the euros tbh.

Presumption is the mother of all fcuk ups. If he goes back to his old ways after the Euros then ban him then. Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm reading this latest news through floods of tears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

This was from Ix Deadmau5 on BERBA:
    Why do they keep letting you back here? Its pathetic.

IMO this is more pathetic than BERBA being left back into the forum.

It should be an infractable offence to post drivel like this imo as this is nothing more than fishing for thanks and off topic posting.

I thought BERBA was making a genuine contribution to the forum this time around and clearly accepted he was wrong by thanking The Kew Tours post after he made him aware these were official quotes in regard to the Carrick situation.

Totally outrageous modding to ban him like that.

I had a look back at those posts from Berba. To me, it seemed more of the same. Posting stuff up for a windup!! The only change in his posting style as far as i can see is he didn't end his post with a :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,370 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

"outrageous"? really?

well it's obvious you've read none of the explanations so.

a decision will be made on him, and all cases like him, because there are many posters with multiple offences, many of whom never learn their lessons, that we need a policy for.

we were actually lenient in not permabanning him, and others like him, in the first place.

mods are lenient, and they get bollocked by some.

mods are strict, they got bollocked by some.

i suppose it's just the way it is, but it's quite interesting to see who defends who on some occasions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Adolf Hipster

SlickRic wrote: »

"outrageous"? really?

well it's obvious you've read none of the explanations so.

a decision will be made on him, and all cases like him, because there are many posters with multiple offences, many of whom never learn their lessons, that we need a policy for.

we were actually lenient in not permabanning him, and others like him, in the first place.

mods are lenient, and they get bollocked by some.

mods are strict, they got bollocked by some.

i suppose it's just the way it is, but it's quite interesting to see who defends who on some occasions.
    Birds of a feather, flock together!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I, for one, welcome this new strict regime.

Until I get banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,420 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

SlickRic wrote: »

Turkeys say 'NO!' to Christmas shocker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I'm fine with my decision, surprisingly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,053 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

PHB wrote: »
    I'm fine with my decision, surprisingly enough.
    If its Berba which seems to be the case then I think you are dead wrong. I think the guy is funny actually. I don't think he is one that winds people up too much either. You know what to expect if you start conversing with him.

Theres a bigger problem on here in recent times and its guys calling others trolls because they don't like some of their posts. And then theres the ones that just can't let any post go. They have to nitpick on every little post. Some of these guys are good posters but for some reason when it comes to their own club they just lose their sanity.

Anyways for me Berba was fine, he just posts a lot and is a bit of a smartarse but I've never seen him being a lowlife at any stage, I've never seen him get personal with anybody either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

way too many euro threads...its getting messy

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,880 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

fryup wrote: »
    way too many euro threads...its getting messy

it will only be a few weeks though and tbh this is the soccer board not the club football board. I did make one for each group but that should if anything cut down on the amount of overall threads as individual games wont have their own threads with some excepts (Ireland & England games for example are always going to deserve their own threads tbh).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,420 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

This is what the people want right now.

If it means that someone is discouraged from posting 'rumours flying around on twitter that PSG are in for Rooney for £60m' because their club superthread is on the second page then there are bigger tragedies I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,049 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Spot On
    I think the forum has been pretty good lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭yomtea98

I was warned for abusing another.Totally right,I was out of order.Modding good at the moment

Too Lenient
    How is plasmaguy still able to post? It's quite clear by now he only trying to provoke a reaction, he doesn't even read other people's posts. The Trap Watch thread was going great at the start, some really good points being brought up by posters on both sides of the argument, but then plasmaguy entered and rendered the thread unreadable. He should at the very least be banned from that thread.

I know the answer to this question, but I'll ask it anyway.

Have you reported posts of his, specifically from that thread?

This is not the place for that.

Too Lenient
    I wouldn't normally do this but plasmaguy has showed time and time again that he's only looking for a reaction. At the last count he has posted 41 times in that thread, not one of them worthy of an infraction, but as a sum they surely warrant a ban from the thread at least. he ruined what was an excellent thread. Also his posting style is similar to that of a so-called 'troll', I, along with a few others, am actually on his ignore list for disagreeing with an opinion of his.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

He's on a final warning regarding that thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

I, along with a few others, am actually on his ignore list for disagreeing with an opinion of his.
    I'd like to see infractions or warnings given for that kind of behaviour.
    Replying with "ignored" or "you're going on ignore" to anybody who happens to challenge your opinion is obnoxious,childish and breaks the don't be a dick rule imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

That is in the charter.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

G.K. wrote: »
    That is in the charter.

But it's not always enforced even when reported

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭d22ontour

amiable wrote: »
    But it's not always enforced even when reported
    Seeing some child post, oh i have him on ignore now is fookin retarded at best, nobody cares and it should be an offence like any other, though enforced consistently not on case by case rubbish, case by case equates to user by user, same rules for all regardless of good/bad posting history.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Holy crap. Awesome handling of the Bateman situation. No nonsense, he was obviously determined to be an annoying eejit and Frisbee turfed him out. /applause

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

What's the deal with bypassing the swear filter, I don't see why people should have to resort to swearing to others. Fair enough if someone is commenting on a match and they say "that's a cúntish miss" but what ever happened to attack the post and not the poster.

Sick of these "GTFO" responses and "ffs"

Is this not breaking the charter?

Pro F
    "If you have a problem with my cursing then try reporting the posts. Or you could just try getting the fúck over yourself."

lol, are you fúcking serious?

Des wrote: »
    lol, are you fúcking serious?

yes I'm FÚCKING serious...... or yes I'm serious for the decent way to reply.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Samich wrote: »
    yes I'm FÚCKING serious...... or yes I'm serious for the decent way to reply.

There's nothing indecent about swearing. You might want to sue for a change to the charter to outlaw swearing if you want to go down that path. Good luck getting support for that. Then you could try removing all porn from the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Too Lenient
    What's the deal with bypassing the swear filter, I don't see why people should have to resort to swearing to others. Fair enough if someone is commenting on a match and they say "that's a cúntish miss" but what ever happened to attack the post and not the poster.

Pro F
    Alright Splinter? Say hello to Raphael for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,020 ✭✭✭✭adox

Samich I presume you are talking about me with GTFO after I posted it in your ridiculous thread on Given.

In the context I used it, it was perfectly valid So GTFO with your moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Spot On

Pro F

It's understandable getting annoyed about these but I've come up with a new way to approach it.
    I gave the abbreviations thier own meanings.

GTFO - Get tips from others

"hey man you don't know anything, GTFO"

FFS - Friends for sure

"you're wrong, ffs"

Alright Splinter? Say hello to Raphael for me.

wrong. Fúck

Pro. F wrote: »
    There's nothing indecent about swearing. You might want to sue for a change to the charter to outlaw swearing if you want to go down that path. Good luck getting support for that. Then you could try removing all porn from the internet.

Next time you're auld lady asks ya something like "How are you?" Answer her with "I'm fúcking ok, why the fúck do you ask?" Is that alright?
    adox wrote: »
    Samich I presume you are talking about me with GTFO after I posted it in your ridiculous thread on Given.

In the context I used it, it was perfectly valid So GTFO with your moaning.

Nah don't fúcking flatter your fúcking self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,654 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Spot On
    Next time you're auld lady asks ya something like "How are you?" Answer her with "I'm fúcking ok, why the fúck do you ask?" Is that alright?.
    Well....context..................

CSF wrote: »
    Well....context..................

attack the post, not the poster?