Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chances of Lost Puppy Returning

• 17-04-2012 5:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭

Hi guys & gals

Our lovely 5 month old Golden Retriever has been missing since last Thursday, we have gone around to neighbours and houses for miles around, put an ad on local radio, put up signs in local shops and been in touch with local dog wardens and gardai but no sign of him.

Realistically how unlikely is it now that we'll ever get him back?

• Registered Users Posts: 18 motherofthree

could someone have taken him ,

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Where about in the country,no need to give exact coordinates but there have been several cases of dog thefts in some localities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭RubyGirl

More than likely he's been stolen at this stage, have you him chipped?

Have you checked with the dog warden?

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭radharc

We're fearing at this stage that he has been stolen, I guess my question is how likely it is that someone has taken him in for a few days and will hand him on to the warden/vets/guards soon?

Yeah he's chipped so we should hear back if he is handed in.

Sappa wrote: »
    Where about in the country,no need to give exact coordinates but there have been several cases of dog thefts in some localities.

Carlow

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

In regards the microchips,not all are registered what I mean is that some vets fail to register the details and when a dog warden scans it your details might not show up.
    Keep on top of the dog warden,your local pound,rescue centres.
    Look in done deal or adverts i case the pup is for sale,take a drive round a few areas that could be the type to steal the puppy.
    I hope you find them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

Sappa wrote: »
    In regards the microchips,not all are registered what I mean is that some vets fail to register the details and when a dog warden scans it your details might not show up.

Registering microchips is beyond the remit of vets, usually the vet microchips the dog and gives the owner the information to register it themselves. If it was micro-chipped by the breeder, the new owner also needs to change it themselves in most cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭pawrick

If there is a school nearby try putting up a lost picture there - children often notice dogs or take them home.

I've had a dog return after a week, I'd say someone nearby had taken him in as I looked everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Latatian

Sometimes, for whatever reason, the chip will fail to read. It's recommended to try more than once to find a chip for that reason, but it doesn't always happen. So it's a good idea to keep on top of dog wardens, gardai, rescues etc.

Don't worry, it's not impossible, I've heard of dogs coming back after longer. Does he have a collar with your number on it?

I'd say keep an eye on the boards here, put up pictures on lost and found dog websites (ask the ISPCA to put it up there).

He could also have run or been taken outside your local area, missing dogs turn up in odd places and often much much further than you'd expect.
    http://www.lostdogs.ie/all-dogs/
    http://www.lostandfoundpets.ie/
    http://www.lostandfound.ie/
    http://www.lostandfound.ie/lostform.html
    http://petsireland.invisionzone.com/index.php?showtopic=573

Unbelievably our puppy has been found safe and well, thanks to everyone for their help and suggestions :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭RubyGirl

Great news, how did ye track her down.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

Great news! Was she far away?