Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pensioners evicted from their home today!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,149 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I look forward to your spirited defence of pensioner Sean Fitz if they ever get around to repossessing his gaff.

Well I'm sure you'll be waiting quite a while for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

But personally I have a huge problem with the fact that these men who where not Garda, where able to removed these people from a property with impunity.
    Have you ever seen a bouncer remove someone from a nightclub?

Well I'm sure you'll be waiting quite a while for that
    Sadly, I think you are correct. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Have you ever seen a bouncer remove someone from a nightclub?

I'v only ever removed hot women from nightclubs,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

That awful green flowery bed plus the other pink bedroom. Eviction is too good for people who could commit the sin of bad taste. :(

Also the piano is only a baby grand....chortle...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

I look forward to your spirited defence of pensioner Sean Fitz if they ever get around to repossessing his gaff.

Was waiting for that, good man Monty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭cassel16

Finally they've been removed... I've had my eye on that house for a long time now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,690 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

That awful green flowery bed plus the other pink bedroom. Eviction is too good for people who could commit the sin of bad taste. :(

The library looked manky too. Actually, the whole house was a bit hideous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Best comment on youtube:
    Happy Gilmore didn't complain, he went out and won his house back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

i live around 15 minutes from that house. there some houses very ****ing pricey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

I am divided in my thinking about this case.. YES they have other properties generating income, and the house in the clip being worth 2.2 million being repossessed, responsibility to pay the mortgage as a person who, as an accountant, with a source of income, should be very wise as to the consequences of non payment.

On the other hand it makes me so angry to see people being dragged and pushed around by the baliffs, do they have authority to exert physical force as shown in the video? all while the gardai and the beangardai (in their oversized jackets, is that supposed to be cute - less threatening?) stand by watching a citizen of the state (who they are sworn to protect) being assaulted...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

how did someone of that age qualify for a mortgage? is this not reckless lending by the banks?

nice_very wrote: »
    On the other hand it makes me so angry to see people being dragged and pushed around by the baliffs, do they have authority to exert physical force as shown in the video? all while the gardai and the beangardai (in their oversized jackets, is that supposed to be cute - less threatening?) stand by watching a citizen of the state (who they are sworn to protect) being assaulted...

This happens in Ireland every single day, amazing suddenly now people are interested in it because its affecting more than just ordinary working class people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

I am divided in my thinking about this case.. YES they have other properties generating income, and the house in the clip being worth 2.2 million being repossessed, responsibility to pay the mortgage as a person who, as an accountant, with a source of income, should be very wise as to the consequences of non payment.

The bank legally own the house, they were there illegally, yes they were rightfully physically removed, I doubt if i moved into your gaff I'd last 2 hours before you turfed me out let alone two years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭paperwork

Too bad, two years wasted that they could have been on the housing list... might even have gotten hold of a little granny flat somewhere in Bluebell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I assume the reason he got the €2 Million house was based on his landlord portfolio.

Under the PRTB rules I'm sure he'd be able to kick a tenant out in a month or two, emergency circumstances of the owner.

Anyway, I'm sure that'll be a No. 1 for the ULA/SF and a guaranteed NO to austerity in the treaty.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

how did someone of that age qualify for a mortgage? is this not reckless lending by the banks?

Maybe, in this particular case, with his property portfolio? Arguable.

A true pensioner couple with little means, I'd say definitely.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

CiaranC wrote: »
    This happens in Ireland every single day, amazing suddenly now people are interested in it because its affecting more than just ordinary working class people.
    Arawn wrote: »
    The bank legally own the house, they were there illegally, yes they were rightfully physically removed, I doubt if i moved into your gaff I'd last 2 hours before you turfed me out let alone two years

I am replying because I dont want to be misunderstood:

@Ciaran - where in my post did I mention the "class" of the people involved? I did not, I gave the 2 ways that I see this story, I agree that if they didnt pay (and are probably more than capable) then yes they should be evicted.. my question about whether these baliffs have authority to assault people or not has not been answered.

Arawen - you wouldnt get past the front door of my house.

@Arawen please re-read my post where I said that if they didnt pay (and he surely knew the consequences) that they would lose the house... its not like they are a young couple with a family struggling to pay mortgage arrears is it? as for being physically removed, again - do the baliffs have authority to physically do this? if so, by what authority?, are they regulated? bar/club security are regulated. If not, why did the gardai stand by and allow that man to be assaulted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

cassel16 wrote: »
    Finally they've been removed... I've had my eye on that house for a long time now!

It'll be a steal now,probably around €1m.

While I don't feel sorry for them,i do think if this was a video of the same people being removed from a more normal perhaps semi detached house there'd be much more sympathy in here for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

While I don't feel sorry for them,i do think if this was a video of the same people being removed from a more normal perhaps semi detached house there'd be much more sympathy in here for them.

Yes there would be more sympathy, it's hard to feel sorry for these two tbh. I think anyone who is in this situation should just hand over the keys. The battle is lost at this stage.

as for being physically removed, again - do the baliffs have authority to physically do this? if so, by what authority?, are they regulated? bar/club security are regulated. If not, why did the gardai stand by and allow that man to be assaulted?
    Are you serious? Of course they have authority. Do you not see the Gardai standing right beside them allowing it? It happens every day in Ireland. Try renting a TV on HP from Currys, not paying, then refusing to give it up when the court sends the Sheriff.

What are you looking for the specific acts of legislation that decribe it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

That certainly was disturbing... why the hell was the camerawoman pleasuring herself to that?!:eek:

If he hasn't made much effort in the last couple of years to pay anything, well any cries about Anglo et al start to lose weight with me. A tenant not paying for 2 years, whether it be private or County Council wouldn't have lasted this long.

Banks are quite lenient and particularly in Ireland, with the 1840's stuff (not 60's btw) are extremely reluctant to repossess, always have been. It was often the wealthy Catholic who did the evicting in the 1840's and bought up the subsequently cheap properties.

With this notice of things, if it was my own parents, I wouldn't have renewed a rental lease last year some time.

I mean what's the point, they're in their 60's, they can't afford, let it go. Bricks and mortar after all, not worth the stress when you've assets to fall back on.

Are you serious? Of course they have authority. Do you not see the Gardai standing right beside them allowing it? It happens every day in Ireland. Try renting a TV on HP from Currys, not paying, then refusing to give it up when the court sends the Sheriff.

What are you looking for the specific acts of legislation that decribe it?

I did ask the question, as I do not know their legal status regarding physical contact.. IMO it is wrong they should treat any citizen in this way, that AGS are the only body empowered to effect such action (defence forces aside maybe)

regarding the comment in your post - "do you not see the gardai...." of course I saw them, did you not read my opening post? or is your opinion one of... gardai standing by doing nothing = legal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I did ask the question, as I do not know their legal status regarding physical contact.. IMO it is wrong they should treat any citizen in this way, that AGS are the only body empowered to effect such action (defence forces aside maybe)

If the owner hits out at them are they to stand there and not protect themselves. Did you not think the man himself was wrong they way he carried on?

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=baliffs%20ireland%20law&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CDQQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishstatutebook.ie%2F1923%2Fen%2Fact%2Fpub%2F0004%2Fsec0002.html&ei=j3KPT_fhCNKJhQeJv4GjBA&usg=AFQjCNGmkf_Dw662jcenYdQmvlXw7KQZMA

Have a read of this if you want, I will see if I can find anything else on it.

regarding the comment in your post - "do you not see the gardai...." of course I saw them, did you not read my opening post? or is your opinion one of... gardai standing by doing nothing = legal?

But your mortgage is a contract between you and the bank, it doesn't involve the state.

If anything, the Guards shouldn't be involved at all, they are only there because they knew it would get awkward.

Same when they come to repossess a car, nothing to do with the Guards.

So many people see property as different, goes back to the ould plot and the Field.

IMO it is wrong they should treat any citizen in this way, that AGS are the only body empowered to effect such action
    No they arent, the sheriff and his bailiffs are too. They do it every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Maybe if the banks were properly regulated back in 2004, things would have been different for this couple.
    And maybe if they hadnt been greedy fookers living beyond their means, things would have been different for this couple.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

Can you explain your alternative solution so. If people won't leave and bailiffs weren't allowed forcibly remove them would you just go away and let them live there forever?

I prefer Gardai keep trying to prevent crime rather than being hired as bailiffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Isn't it a hoor being a multi-millionaire and living in a €2million-euro mansion in Ireland? Good job not too many of us are in that plight!:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

The girl talking on the video has a really annoying voice.

"Garda protect them!! *shriek*"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

K-9 wrote: »
    But your mortgage is a contract between you and the bank, it doesn't involve the state.

If anything, the Guards shouldn't be involved at all, they are only there because they knew it would get awkward.

Same when they come to repossess a car, nothing to do with the Guards.

So many people see property as different, goes back to the ould plot and the Field.

The Court Officers Act 1926 gives the Sheriff his powers. There was a Court Order for possession and a Court Order to the Sheriff to the Sheriff to take possession of the house. It has everything to do with the state. Once the Courts are invoked the state gets involved.

It's not reckless lending if it's secured on worthwhile assets, is it? It could still have been reckless borrowing though...

Would people have the same sympathy for renters being removed from their homes because they haven't paid the rent for years? And if not, why not I wonder? What is the precise difference? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

If only their grandson discovered his prodigous talent for golf or something and earned enough money to help them keep the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭haminka

I do not feel sorry for them. They made some shockingly bad financial decisions, rode high, fell low, refused to pay the mortgage for their house and they have assets in their name worth more than most of us have, they were served a repossession order two years ago and still remained in the house living there for free. I am sick of the people who wouldn't even bother to look in your direction and were looking down their noses on people who wouldn't buy their butter in Avoca in the Celtic Tiger and now whinge about having to pay for their lavish lifestyle. Most of the people in Ireland are still worse off then they are now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

this. " But sorcha those old folk were ordindary people like us, or they expected to live in , like, one of their apartments or something or now?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

There was a court order for possession. The couple are presumably in contempt of a court order. The couple were no longer entitled to possession and were in law trespassers. The bailiffs were directed by court order to recover possession. They can deal with trespassers the same way as anyone else can. There was no assault. There was a justified use of force. If the same couple were in a nightclub and refused to leave the bouncers would soon have them out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

The guy is on Newstalk now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

As someone who was made redundant and has had to rent out a room to a nightmare lodger for the sake of paying an interest-only mortgage and woken up many nights in a blind panic wondering where else I can cut back to pay the mortgage... no, I have no sympathy.

There is no way that could have made no contribution at all to their mortgage. Granted their mortgage is a lot more than mine, but if they had other properties they could have sold, then no, I don't have sympathy.

By the sounds of things, these were financially savvy people so knew what they could have done, but did nothing.

I don't see why their age comes into it, to be honest. They had two years to sort themselves out and they were obviously still enjoying a nice life while not bothering to pay their mortgage.

I am not foolish enough to do that and live it up and think it wont come back and bite me in the *rse.

I don't see why they should get an easy ride of it now when so many others are struggling but have the decency to at least try and pay back their loan.

if they weren't elderly, there would be not one person here feeling bad for them. They knew what would happen, but refused to acknowledge it. You reap what you sow.

If I can't afford something, I do without it. But I'm a bit old-fashioned I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

micropig wrote: »
    How history repeats itself

English landlords kick out the Irish in the 1800s
    He has a TWO MILLION euro mortgage on it, and owns multiple other properties.

Can't see "the evicted couple" being homeless for too long. I dare say one of their tenants will be evicted shortly, if not already, and "the evicted couple" will be in a house by the end of the day.

/edit
    Was it just the husband that was an accountant, or were both of them accountants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

There are so many dillusional people on this thread like ive seen on other threads I don't know where to start...
    The government are the biggest failures to every citizen ..they didn't protect anyone but the banks..do u think this woul have happened if the muppets knew how to manage society...even now they are continually taking a leak on everyone but we all stand there and take it with our mouths shut...what happened here is simple...the govt allowed banks to lend money outside of any reasonable risk..the banks fooked up... then the govenment used our money to keep the banks alive and allow the banks punish people for the govt lack of regulations back in the day...it's like trusting a loan shark..all reason goes out the window when this lad is being punished while whoers like Bertie ahern and Sean Fitzpatrick scratch their hole on the 16th hole of a PGA golf course..I really can't understand what is wrong with people..very forgetful and conform to the nbullshi t being fed by the govt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

I don't give a fcuk what the details behind it are. Kicking OAPs out of their home is wrong regardless of any semantics.

is it? if they cant pay their mortgage, then why should they get special treatment?

they have a 2million house and several others. sounds to me like the partyied during the good times and now are paying the consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

It's amazing this story is even making the media rounds tbh when ordinary working/middle class people are getting turfed out of their homes every single day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭haminka

ste2010 wrote: »
    There are so many dillusional people on this thread like ive seen on other threads I don't know where to start...
    The government are the biggest failures to every citizen ..they didn't protect anyone but the banks..do u think this woul have happened if the muppets knew how to manage society...even now they are continually taking a leak on everyone but we all stand there and take it with our mouths shut...what happened here is simple...the govt allowed banks to lend money outside of any reasonable risk..the banks fooked up... then the govenment used our money to keep the banks alive and allow the banks punish people for the govt lack of regulations back in the day...it's like trusting a loan shark..all reason goes out the window when this lad is being punished while whoers like Bertie ahern and Sean Fitzpatrick scratch their hole on the 16th hole of a PGA golf course..I really can't understand what is wrong with people..very forgetful and conform to the nbullshi t being fed by the govt

come on, where's the government to blame for those two people's financial decisions? they gambled their money and lost, they have lived in a 2 million house for two years without paying a cent of their mortage off, they have other possessions, so why do you drag Ahern or Fitzpatrick into it? Government isn't responsible for those two people's greed, because it was their greed that drove them into their extensive investments which failed!!! When will we ever learn to take personal responsibility?
    The funny thing is, the moment the Government tells people to do something or wants to take more control, everyone screams Nanny State. But when someone lost their money on stupid investments, the Government is to blame for not protecting them from their own decisions? Please!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Dubit10 wrote: »
    It's amazing this story is even making the media rounds tbh
    I'm thinking they know people in FF/RTE...

You understand that the banks' losses are now OUR losses, right? So every million the banks can save is a million more that doesn't have to be cut from education or paying for our hospitals?

Delusional is (nearly) right.

Dubit10 wrote: »
    It's amazing this story is even making the media rounds tbh when ordinary working/middle class people are getting turfed out of their homes every single day.
    Well, they aren't really. There are only about 5 repossessions per month in this country where the house isn't abandoned by the mortgagee. That's in spite of over 10% of all mortgages being more than 90 days in arrears.

You'd swear that 'losing' a home you never really owned was a fate worse than death. Meanwhile, people NOT paying for their homes are occupying them and preventing people who never even had a CHANCE to buy home from getting one that they can afford. They can just f*ck off and keep renting, while the mortgage defaulters can live for free in houses they 'own'. God forbid they should have to rent themselves like mere scum.

We have a very strange, shallow sense of justice in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

But these people still chose to take out a 2million euro mortgage 8 years ago. They took full advantage of the boom. Why should they get to live in a house like that, take on income from rental properties and not pay their mortgage? Should everyone who took out a mortgage in the boom just have those debts written off and get free houses? What about the rest of us who may never be able to afford a mortgage because of reckless lending by the banks and reckless borrowing by greedy people.

They have had 2 years to fight this and figure something out - they could downsize? I am sure they have lots of options but they are digging their heels in as they feel they are entitled to this. If I didn't pay my rent, I would be kicked out long before 2 years.

Of course the government are to blame too, changes aren't happening and the country is falling apart. But does that mean that everyone can just stop paying their mortgage?

It may be like trusting a loan shark - but if you are stupid enough to take a loan out with them then you have to deal with the consequences.