Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

We Are The 99%

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

I'm just looking forward to when the polite smilies disappear from Freddie59 and Scuba_scoper's replies to each other...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

A perfectly cromulent word.
    Ha. Don't know if I spelt it right or not..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Stinicker wrote: »
    I've been to poor countries, however I can say one thing for certain whatever it is about being a poor country their people are far happier that we are at home, Irish people are quite depressed and the financial crippling situation is to blame. You never miss something you never had, but to go boom to bust is disastrous and we have huge inflation and the cost of everything relative to income leaves us massively poor in real wealth terms.

Typical bourgoise 1%! You go to poor countries on your gap year and think the folks smiling at you aren't doing so to get money out of you but instead become infatuated with this notion that their lives are simpler and therefore their happyness is genuine. Yup I'm sure you are right - those people dealing with starvation, malaria, cholera, war etc are much better off than us :rolleyes:

Please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

We are not against Social Welfare Recipients - we are against Social Welfare scroungers.

We are not against Roma - we are against economic migrant beggers dirtying out streets.

We are not against Travellers - we are against people who refuse to live by the rules & responsibilities of society yet expect society to fund their alternative lifestyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

BRING IT ALL THE FUQ DOWN!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Yeah but with your i7 Mac and your holidays in Lake Garda and your fast internet connection and an iPhone (i briefly looked at your post history) do you REALLY consider yourself part of the downtrodden 99%

Oh FFS, you don't get into the top 1% by affording normal consumer items.. That shows he is in the top 40% or something.
    Augmerson wrote: »
    We are actually the 1%. If you take the whole world as an example. Imagine the populations of Africa, South America, Central and South-east Asia doing a Occupy Wall street. They're the ones who make our clothes, feed us, provide us with natural resources and cheap labour so we can carry on the way we do.

Thats not true either, as those populations are rapidly playing catchup. The difference between what an average Irishman earns and an average Mexican , is statistically insignificant relative to the difference between the richest and the medium income within Ireland, or Mexico.

Mexicans are middle income by world standards as it happens. That means they earn about 1/3 to 1/2 what we earn. On the other hand there is no way the average joe earns 1/3 to 1/2 what the richest 1% earn.

Nobody really understands income and wealth distribution. The distribution within countries is far greater than that between countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

But to give some statistics, to emphasise the point. The richest man in the world is a Mexican, with $68B. Thats about €52B. Average wage in Ireland was about 32K in the boom, so if you want to garner his wealth by working full time, spending nothing and paying no taxes, it would take you 52,000,000,000/ 32000 years, or 1.65 million years.

If you were an average wealth earner. Someone in the top 20% in Ireland would take about 1 million years.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

There was a bit of commotion in Temple Bar earlier today with a few of the Occupy crowd. About twenty people, it appeared, had 'occupied' a shop behind the Central Bank and had a very sh!tty-looking attempt at a banner stuck up against the window. Alot of shouting from a couple of hairy lads in particular outside and inside the shop. About six guards were there keeping watch while one of them was kicking a cardboard placard along the footpath and shouting.:confused:

They just look like a nuisance at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Freddie59 wrote: »
    Yeah but with your i7 Mac and your holidays in Lake Garda and your fast internet connection and an iPhone (i briefly looked at your post history) do you REALLY consider yourself part of the downtrodden 99%

Meooowwww.:D Do I detect a hint of jealousy there my friend? They came in our 50s, after we had the long slog of rearing a young family and paying through the nose for everything.

I don't smoke, have the odd social drink, so what you have listed above is what I choose to spend my money on. Probably unlike yourself.

The post is meant to highlight what the 1% are actually getting away with (it's actually more in Ireland I'd say). But hey, be a begrudger if you want.:)

Calling someone a begrudger is not some magical argument winning silver bullet you know. You're well off yet you whine. I'll add too that anyone who is serious about what you have just written would not have posted in after hours. Stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

foxyboxer wrote: »
    If you were in the civil service, rented and drove a low spec car during the boom, you were deemed a loser.

Now during a recession, you are entitled, lucky and smug.

Lose-Lose.

It's actually more of a depression, really. But I wouldn't expect the CS or its workers to appreciate that.
    foxyboxer wrote: »
    OP, if you were given a cheque for €250,000 (no questions asked), would you still feel the same way?

I'd be asking an AWFUL lot of questions TBH. Wouldn't you? :confused:
    And that my learned, downtrodden friend is the definition, nay, the very essence of begrudgery.

Pot, kettle etc.

Nah, the essence of begrudgery is that diatribe you posted earlier. Was it a mortgage of cash for that Apartment. I think you're duty-bound to answer.;)
    I'm just looking forward to when the polite smilies disappear from Freddie59 and Scuba_scoper's replies to each other...
    coolbeans wrote: »
    Calling someone a begrudger is not some magical argument winning silver bullet you know. You're well off yet you whine. I'll add too that anyone who is serious about what you have just written would not have posted in after hours. Stupid.

Call it what you will. But it smacks home. And some of you don't like it. Am I well off? Relatively, compared to some of the young families on the breadline. But I was there once. It's a dark place.

Relative to the poster who pilloried me for owning some electronic gizmos - the same poster who owns an apartment in Italy, which he recently purchased? Far from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭counterlock

Call it what you will. But it smacks home. And some of you don't like it. Am I well off? Relatively, compared to some of the young families on the breadline. But I was there once. It's a dark place.

Relative to the poster who pilloried me for owning some electronic gizmos - the same poster who owns an apartment in Italy, which he recently purchased? Far from it.

Any chance of a dig out, padre?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Scuba_Scoper

Nah, the essence of begrudgery is that diatribe you posted earlier. Was it a mortgage of cash for that Apartment. I think you're duty-bound to answer.;)

a. No it was not a mortgage of cash for that Apartment.
    b. It was not an apartment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

LMAO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,283 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

The unfair one doesn't seem to be working either.:rolleyes:
    Ah Keith. A big a WUM as ever......:rolleyes:

This is a prime example of why I hate that stupid smiley! Despite the fact that he is spouting populist leftie rubbish don't the smileys just make you want to punch him in the face!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Meooowwww.:D Do I detect a hint of jealousy there my friend? They came in our 50s, after we had the long slog of rearing a young family and paying through the nose for everything.

I don't smoke, have the odd social drink, so what you have listed above is what I choose to spend my money on. Probably unlike yourself.

The post is meant to highlight what the 1% are actually getting away with (it's actually more in Ireland I'd say). But hey, be a begrudger if you want.:)
    How is it begrudgery? It's just pointing out that you're not downtrodden the way you make yourself out to be. How do you know the person who pointed that out doesn't have all those things and more?

But keep telling yourself it's jealousy and begrudgery (accompanied with smilies) if you feel it will give you a bit of one-upmanship. Looks like YOU'RE the begrudger with your never-ending tirades against the public sector/semi-state bodies though.
    FatherLen wrote: »
    i really am confused about this whole 99% malark.
    i know what it is but the people that seem to be spouting it off are the same people that posted all those kony videos. it's a fad. it's cool to say "we are the 99%". it just really annoys me.
    I'd imagine the oft-used stat 99% or 99.9% or 99.9999999% etc... is 100% wrong.

Any chance of a dig out, padre?

See me after the row debate.;):)

Dudess wrote: »
    How is it begrudgery? It's just pointing out that you're not downtrodden the way you make yourself out to be. How do you know the person who pointed that out doesn't have all those things and more?

But keep telling yourself it's jealousy and begrudgery (accompanied with smilies) if you feel it will give you a bit of one-upmanship. Looks like YOU'RE the begrudger with your never-ending tirades against the public sector/semi-state bodies though.

I'd imagine the oft-used stat 99% or 99.9% or 99.9999999% etc... is 100% wrong.

Ah, D. Angry as ever I see.:) What you call a tirade I, and the others in the silent majority, would call an expose. It seems that some posters are quite content (and silly enough really) to want to turn a blind eye. But - hey - whatever floats your boat.;):) Considering that the aforementioned begrudger was lecturing someone for owning a mobile phone and a computer, while owning a continental pad, kind of renders his point very, very moot.

And BTW, I DO consider myself, and many thousands of PAYE workers to be downtrodden when you see the treatment meted out at the hands of a "socialist" party, and their lunatic supporters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Bold text and smilies make your points more valid. FACT. :rolleyes:

Namlub wrote: »

OF COURSE THEY DO.:D

Namlub wrote: »
    Not to mind telling people they're stuff that they're not. And apparently being Christian...

Ah, D. That old chestnut. You're becoming very repetitive. And you tut-tt me for exposing Public Sector waste. Tsk tsk.:)
    MadYaker wrote: »
    This is a prime example of why I hate that stupid smiley! Despite the fact that he is spouting populist leftie rubbish don't the smileys just make you want to punch him in the face!

Another big, tough keyboard warrior. I'm petrified..........

Its not a threat. I don't intend to do you any harm. Those smilies on the other hand.....

It's hard to take seriously anyone that incapable of using multi-quote.

Considering that the aforementioned begrudger was lecturing someone for owning a mobile phone and a computer, while owning a continental pad, kind of renders his point very, very moot.

My point is valid. You have a disposable income in a time of grave financial hardship in this country. According to recent media reports, there are children going to bed hungry,and the majority of families have less than 100 eur in their disposable income. Therefore, your alignment with those that have less is disingenuous to say the least. Your political agenda is apparent but would be better suited to a forum other than After Hours.

I did not want to go here but I will as you have persistently castigated me as a begrudger and I feel it is my right to respond.

You are unable to rationally or cogently form an argument to which I may respond to - what, may I beg to ask, is there to begrudge ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭bullpost

This.

The 99% of us who can use them need to mobilise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

OP you are the 1%(rounded up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭bullpost

I used to hate my job during the Celtic Tiger.

I kinda like it now.

Funny old World.
    skregs wrote: »
    * We get up in the morning to work in a job we hate in order to pay our bills and provide for our families, while lazy bums "take a stand" by contributing nothing to society in their shanty camp on Dame Street.

Considering that the aforementioned begrudger was lecturing someone for owning a mobile phone and a computer, while owning a continental pad, kind of renders his point very, very moot.

My point is valid. You have a disposable income in a time of grave financial hardship in this country. According to recent media reports, there are children going to bed hungry,and the majority of families have less than 100 eur in their disposable income. Therefore, your alignment with those that have less is disingenuous to say the least. Your political agenda is apparent but would be better suited to a forum other than After Hours.

I did not want to go here but I will as you have persistently castigated me as a begrudger and I feel it is my right to respond.

You are unable to rationally or cogently form an argument to which I may respond to - what, may I beg to ask, is there to begrudge ?

Don't bother. He'll only drag you down to his idiotic level and hammer you by virtue of his experience. You begrudger you!!! :-):-):-):-):-):-):-)

You rendered your point invalid upon admitting to purchasing a villa on the continent. While lecturing me about electronic devices. And having the audacity to post about families going hungry. I would imagine you have vastly more disposable income than I, and thus that little piece of arrogance shines through your post. Banker or financial services perhaps?

I ask again. Was the apartment by mortgage or cash? Not a very hard question really.

Sticks & stones, D. You're getting worse........I have visions of foot stamping!:D

Don't bother. He'll only drag you down to his idiotic level and hammer you by virtue of his experience. You begrudger you!!! :-):-):-):-):-):-):-)

Wow! Highly original. Yawn.

Yep, YOU'RE the reasonable one...

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

Well OP....this has has certainly backfired! :pac:

Original? Says he who uses the classic, moronic Irish defence of "you begrudger"when they've been caught talking though their anus. I daresay this happens to you a lot. :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

I would imagine you have vastly more disposable income than I, and thus that little piece of arrogance shines through your post. Banker or financial services perhaps?

I ask again. Was the apartment by mortgage or cash? Not a very hard question really.

And yet you still do not address anything raised in this thread about your lack of suitability to membership of the downtrodden and woe'be'tide.

Personal attacks and straw man arguments are your modus operandi - your imagination which brought you to believe that I have vastly more disposable income may be correct but I don't measure a man by his bank balance but in his civility and manner of discourse. You Sir, have come up a little short in my estimation.

Your wild attempts to pin down my occupation have thus far been incorrect.

To your final question: I answered this belligerent questioning quite succinctly in post 63.

Thank you for your time and I will no further tax your sparkling powers of wit and repartee as you have quite exhausted all rational argument from me - my apologies and felicitations to your admirable cause.........

what was it again? Oh nvm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,524 ✭✭✭tigger123

You rendered your point invalid upon admitting to purchasing a villa on the continent. While lecturing me about electronic devices. And having the audacity to post about families going hungry. I would imagine you have vastly more disposable income than I, and thus that little piece of arrogance shines through your post. Banker or financial services perhaps?

I was going to get involved, but no ... just no .... it's just ... no ... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

OP, One one level I hope you never have to suffer hardship, true hardship. On another I would love you experience it.

If you were downtrodden you simply could not afford foreign holidays, as, Iphones etc, they would be distant dreams, or pawned for food or clothes.

Might I suggest rather than ranting on an internet forum you give up some of the time you can afford to help those who are really suffering due to the economy.

Careful guys, he's got a magazine of smileys and "begrudgery" accusations and he's not afraid to use them against anyone who disagrees with him/argues their case better.
    Most people's sentiment here I would think...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

A wise man said: ''The bankers -''the Golden Circle'' - rode the hole of this country. And fair fúckin' play to them. You and I would've done the exact same thing.''

What a fail of a thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭aquaman

So his point is not valid because you think he has more money than you. However your points are valid even though you have enough money??

In Ireland the 1% is about 40,000 people. No matter how rich or poor people are there will always be a richest 1%.

That been said, the disparity between the richest and poorest in our country and across the world should be a concern to us all. Or at least it is wrong to me that some folks have more money than they could spend in 1000 lifetimes while others are starving.. It is an issue which warrants discussion and in my opinion change.

I feel that your arguments and sound-bites OP only serve to distract from the real issues and problems with the system in which we live.

See me after the row debate.;):)

Great, as this is likely to end up in a debate about either the government, god or legalising drugs, i'll just pm you my bank details

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

haters are always gonna hate.....
    never truer words spoken,

see what all the lazy leftie forget or prob don't realise is that most of the mystical 1% choose careers in sectors where you can make lots of cash (1st smart move) then they then worked all the hours they could to put themselves in a postion where they can comfortabally provide for their faimlies future. (2nd smart move), They take advantage of any oppertunities that come their way and capitalise on them (3rd smart move)
    If you want rich its not hard. dont choose a career as a dog walk and then complain that the rich a keeping you down, you just end up being bitter.
    now choose a career as a dog walker, work you ass off, set up dog walking.com, hire a team of dag walkers expand into dog grooming, dog products sales on-line, expand into other pet services. take the risk and work hard, nothing too it dont sit and complain that the rich owe u a living and keep you down

seanmc1980 wrote: »
    now choose a career as a dog walker, work you ass off, set up dog walking.com, hire a team of dag walkers expand into dog grooming, dog products sales on-line, expand into other pet services. take the risk and work hard, nothing too it dont sit and complain that the rich owe u a living and keep you down

I'm on it. Straight after Jeremy Kyle

Away for a couple of days so apologies for the delay. The OP has obviously hit home with some posters for whatever reason. And, as I have said already, it was posed because it signifies some of the things that are wrong in this country at the present time.

I have no problem with someone having more money than me (once they haven't done so on the back of the state or its taxpayers). Good luck to them. Scuba smacks of a banker or financial type, (or maybe a:eek: Public Sector worker) arrogant to the point that someone even dares to question what's going on. It would be nice to know his actual occupation, which he seems so shy about.

Dudess? Well, what can I say? Seriously.:)

Fail of a thread? Not really. Those lines posted are so near to the bone in this country that it isn't funny. Only today we find that our saviours (the IMF) are off borrowing another €10Bn from the Brits.

A house of cards waiting to collapse if ever there was one.

@aquaman: so highlighting the farce that operates around us n a daily basis is a "soundbite"? Nice attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

The 99%:

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/ojeyidmhsnkf/

If these are the 99% then I guess the rest of us must be the 1% :rolleyes:

Seriously :rolleyes:.

Fail thread. Fail OP. Fail the 99%. Fail...ahem...'movement'. Fail property speculators.

Just really fail all around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

who give a sh1t,

is that the sun i see

later

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Trash Ninja

Funny thing is: if you earn over €1000 PA, worldwide you're in that 1%.

The 99% we hear off is actually .99%. But that would make for a confusing headline.

Oh the self delusion - the OP hasn't "hit home", the smileys and rage at anyone who challenges you and the unfounded whinges of begrudgery just make people not take you serious is all.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

More relevant to Ireland now than it ever was before. Please feel free to add your own:

* We are not against the rich - we are against using wealth to gain an unfair advantage.

* We are not against Corporations - we are against Corporations governing us.

* We are not against Capitalism - we are against corruption in Capitalism.

* We are not against banks - we are against fraudulent banking practices.

* We are not against investment markets - we are against legalised fraud in the markets.

* We are not against democracy - we are against the sale of influence by our elected representatives.

I suppose a few that could be added for Ireland are:

* We are not against the Public Sector - we are against them not obeying the same economic rules as the Private Sector.

* We are not against the "Labour" Party - we are against them masquerading as "Socialists".

* We are not against bankers - we are against their privileged treatment and the obscene amounts of money they are paid.

Over to you folks.....

*We're not against all people on the dole. We're just against the few who sit at home all day and feel that certain jobs are beneath them and 'not worth it' because welfare gives them more money and that they are entitled to more and more. All of course whilst blaming government and banks.

*We're not against all travellers. Just the ones who claim their human rights are violated every five minutes, but feel they can deal drugs, steal, assault, and wreck every green area despite being offered alernatives. We're essentially against the ones whose sense of entitlement vastly outweighs their sense of social responsibility.

But they're not PC enough to make the list are they?