Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

.com

• 20-04-2012 1:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭

Perhaps its being too accustomed to using google and the internet in general. But do you ever wonder what websites that actual exist behind the most basic words and .com. You know the sites that after a day of using the internet for the first time you dont type into the address bar, opting to just google what you need instead.

like www.beer.com

or www.weed.com

both surprisingly fitting results

it's not long til i get immature and start dirty words and to be disapointed that f*ck.com does not go anywhere :(

feck on the hand is just...bizarre. damn australians (NSFW!)

In the end its not surprising most of these are dominated by porn.

but even the not so immature ones sometimes go off on weird tangents.

Its like wiki diving just with a dictionary or a dirty mind.

(yes I'm bored)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Yeah, when I heard of boards.ie upon first getting the internet I kept typing b oardsie.com into the address bar.

It's just a blog of some fat guy who hates gardai and travellers. Bad times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Ssshhh, it's ok.
    Off you go to bed now good lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

wut :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Nikky_Bellic

Random internet trivia: :pac:

When the internet became popular certain regular joe blow types of people had the foresight to register certain domain names and later recieved a nice sum to sell them on ;)

Also, WWE (World Wrestling Entertainment) had the foresight to register www.payperview.com back in the day. A HIGHLY shrewd move. Seeing as how Boxing, MMA, even movie companies would jump at the chance to register it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

webuyanycar....... .com

cheers :rolleyes: now Ive got that going around my head before bed :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

You know you're a lazy fecker when you Goggle, Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,258 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Wasn't "sex.com" sold for something stupid like $13m or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Nikky_Bellic

MrStuffins wrote: »

You're right :eek:

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2371239,00.asp
    What is shorter than an inch, costs more than a mansion, and is Not Safe For Work?
    Domain name Sex.com was sold for $13 million. Clover Holdings, the highest of 12 bidders, bought the domain for $1 million less than what its bankrupt owner, Escom LLC, reportedly paid for it in 2006.
    This is one domain with a sordid past (plus two books and multiple lawsuits). In 1995, pre-dotcom boom, conman Stephen Michael Cohen "stole" the domain from its originator, Gary Kremen. It took five years for Kremen to recover his domain, during which time Cohen was making up to $500,000 a month from ads on the site, The Register reports. Cohen fled the country but was imprisoned briefly and issued a $65 million judgment.
    In 2006, Escom bought the domain from Kremen, resulting in another complex battle among its creditors. In March, Escom was issued an involuntary Chapter 11 petition and its most valuable piece of property put up on the auction block by lender DOM Partners LLC.
    If Clover had not purchased the domain, it was scheduled to go up for public auction next week, the Register said.

500k a month in ads!?!? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

6 mil a year Sweet, I gotta get my hands on one of these .com things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

i remember i once tried looking up about goats at sea. messed that one up pretty bad...

tried to brighten up my mood by trying to have a party that involved lemons and it hurt my eyes...

I was horrified by the internet at this stage but thought feck it it might be useful and my bath is broke so i looked for someone who might be able to fix it. Seen some girl came highly rated but her website made me never use a bath again.

Then someone told me about boards.ie and all that i seen before never prepared me for AH.

I'm a lost cause now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I find i've been using the internet more and more for less deviant ends.
    I don't know what the hell you're on about danniemcq.:confused:
    I reckon i should probably wait till i'm not at work to find out though!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

I find i've been using the internet more and more for less deviant ends.
    I don't know what the hell you're on about danniemcq.:confused:
    I reckon i should probably wait till i'm not at work to find out though!:D

yeah its advisable....

Wasn't whitehouse.com a porn site for a long time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

MrStuffins wrote: »

I read a book recently about sex.com and how a guy conned the original owner out of the domain. It went into a very long court case and the 2 lads are real muppets at the time, some of it is very entertaining, good read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

IM0 wrote: »
    webuyanycar....... .com

cheers :rolleyes: now Ive got that going around my head before bed :mad:

any make any model any year any age.....

Say it REALLY quick ! It's great car craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Shinnagins. Whole thread is shilling Blitz's domain sale.

http://www.blitzkrieg.com/

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

www.com.com

But don't click on it, you'll break the interwebs

• Registered Users Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

www.com.com

But don't click on it, you'll break the interwebs

NOOOOOOOOO!!! I thought that stage of my life was finally over...

...well played sir :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭dr strangelove

i know, i'm so sorry, but com.com only redirects to cnet.com, and that's just boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I registered magicsingingdonkeys.com years ago.

Shrewd investment on my part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

purple.com is exactly what it says

leggo wrote: »
    Yeah, when I heard of boards.ie upon first getting the internet I kept typing b oardsie.com into the address bar.

It's just a blog of some fat guy who hates gardai and travellers. Bad times.

So what's the difference then?