Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What makes you shudder...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

My boyfriends belly button.it actually makes me shudder so much I had to come on here and tell everyone. It's so weird. It goes nowhere! Its not normal!

Where do normal ones go ? Narnia ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Usually elderly men blowing their nose really really loudly, it sounds like a kazoo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

Even looking at pics of people at the edge of a cliff or on top of a skyscraper makes me shudder like crazy.

Touching of eyes. Ugh. Thank f*ck I've got 20/20 vision.

Phlegm.

The stuff that flutter dude used to talk about. People shouldn't talk about that. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,393 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Here:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

FatherLen wrote: »
    peeing after holding it in for way too long. i get a shudder just at the end.
    i call it a weegasm.

Such heavenly release...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Sykk, that fish mouth parasite had me freaked. I'm still shudddddddering!!
    Anyway, things that make me shudder, sometimes:

Walking past a Garda, or driving past a Garda car.:confused:

Nails on a blackboard. Classic!

Opening up a cardboard box and the tabs scrape off each other. Similarly, cutting cardboard with a stanley knife makes a scraping sound that sometimes makes me wince! Cutting it with a scissors doesn't have the same effect for some reason.

Scraping cutlery off a dinner plate when cutting something tough.

My kids discovered resonance the other day and i winced like a mad thing. Obviously they continued when they saw the effect it had on me! Feckers!:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

THIS

And anything to with removing of fingernails / toenails.

Rubbing a fork on a plate.

Babies / little kids screeching or crying.

Drunk women groups who go shriek "WWWWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!" in the corner of a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Opening a compartment door in a freezer that could do with a bit of defrosting.

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

Cotton wool on teeth. Ugh... awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Biting wool. Or even imagining biting wool... (Once bit the end of the sleeve of my jumper in primary school. NEVER AGAIN)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

My sister has this fear legit...

Being thrown into a bath full of baked beans with a school jumper on. Weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Where do normal ones go ? Narnia ?

normal ones are all twisty. his is just big and open, and you can see the back of it, it's all flat.

And you're sure he's not an alien?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

That feeling when you come out of a hot bath/shower and touch a really dry towel or cotton wool... blergh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

The feel of velvet when you rub it the wrong way.. Like against the grain.. ( I hae no idea how to phrase this)

And you're sure he's not an alien?

ya know, now that you mention it, I'm not sure. hmmm.

Uh huh.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭merengueca

Off topic, but I've been told this is purely a male peculiarity, Is this True?

Nope - happens to girls too;)

Also - the thought of touching fish, any sort : dead/alive/cooked/raw/battered/tinned... just makes me want to cry. No way am I looking at the pic at the beginning..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,531 ✭✭✭irishgeo

balloons rubbing against each other.

certain types of Styrofoam packing comcing out of the box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭AboutTwoFiddy

Sounds like TB...I've said too much...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Banjo string: without doubt the shudderest of all shudders.

Sounds like TB...I've said too much...

Interesting....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

Gross :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Eyeball papercut.
    Tinfoil + sensitive teeth
    Spark you get from the car door on hot days
    Vomit

Feeona wrote: »
    Eyeball papercut.

I feel instantly ill, that makes me want to cry :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

I shudder when people shout, especially when they're giving out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I know I've already posted but I misread the title as "What makes you chubbier?"
    Cake, defiantly cake.

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭libnation

When people's teeth touches off forks, gets me everytime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,439 ✭✭✭weemcd

When using a sharp knife on a metal counter, its a really wrong feeling, hard to explain but its just not right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

nails on a blackboard

ugh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

The Irish attitude towards pay your taxes and shut up and also the Irish attitude towards not throwing the likes of Bertie & Seanie in prison.

This makes me shudder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

There's this one i see walking past my gaff the odd time, and every time i see her i get the image of me riding her. She's an awful looking yoke and she might be a bit of a spa aswell. It makes me very sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Feeona wrote: »
    Eyeball papercut.

WHY?
    Why would you mention that?????

(curls into a ball shuddering at the thought)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭shrubs

Polystyrene. Yuck!

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭DitzyPoo92

The feel of a sponge or cotton wool or imagining myself biting into a sponge or cotton wool. I'm shuddering right now at the thought.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

On seeing queues to do the lotto ... i think ........they vote .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

The feeling of wet wool (like when you handwash a jumper)and it makes a sreacking sound:( Turns my stomach just thinking about it

And dentists
    Has to be dentists, even just the smell of the surgery makes me gag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

Grinding my teeth on the sleeve of my woolen school uniform. I used to dare myself to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Thefirestarter

When you buy something that has Styrofoam to protect it, you carefully negotiate it out, millimeter by millimeter unless you want to hear that awful awful squeal.

Hate it so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Liffey 121

People on RTE who cannot pronounce their th's...Bertie,Diarmid Gavin and many more...makes me cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Grinding my teeth on the sleeve of my woolen school uniform. I used to dare myself to do it.

YES, uuuggh, just a horrible, horrible sound and sensation, and now its in my brain

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Wet, squeaky wool. Sets my teeth on edge. *shudder*

ETA: Posted this before I read to the end of the thread. Nice to know I'm not the only weirdo on AH. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

Slicing across my finger nail with a stanley blade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Millicent wrote: »
    Wet, squeaky wool. Sets my teeth on edge. *shudder*

ETA: Posted this before I read to the end of the thread. Nice to know I'm not the only weirdo on AH. :pac:

What is it with the wet wool??
    Turns my guts for no rational reason:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

mishkalucy wrote: »
    What is it with the wet wool??
    Turns my guts for no rational reason:confused:

It's nasty. I don't mind the normal irritating things like nails on a blackboard but rubbing wet wool revolts me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Any mention of anything being shoved down anyone's japs eye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Even the mere notion of someone puttin the willies up me.. *shudder*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

Must

stop

reading

thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Bristles of a broom scraping the ground, outdoors.

Balloons (for fear of them bursting).

People going step, pause, pivot, pause, pivot, step, step instead of step, pause, pivot, pause, pivot, step, pause. Oh, shudder!