Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Milk first or last in your tea/coffee?

• 20-04-2012 10:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭supernova84

I used to always leave the milk until last then give it a stir but lately I'm putting the milk in first along with a tea bag, leaving the hot water til last and I must say the results are for a better cuppa.
    What do ye reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Milk first in coffee, last in tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Black coffee, milk just ruins it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

After Hours- Tackling the big issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Both horrible drinks.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Coffee: water first then milk.

Milk first means it's way too hot. Dunno why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Only drink tea. Milk goes in last, sugar dissolves better in just the hot water on its own.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Milk always last. The order should be teabad, water, sugar and then milk.

No milk in my tea, and last in coffee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Tea Bag, Water, Milk.

Any other way and you're a filthy heathen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Sugar, teabag, hot water. Stir until all the sugar is dissolved. Take out the teabag (a friend of mine used to leave hers in the mug *vomit*). Then add milk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

I just lump the teabag, sugar and milk in at the start, pour in water, take out teabag. Easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Water first, then milk, then sugar.

Sure anything else would be mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Teabag, sugar, water, milk, rohypnol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Don't drink coffee & just drink herbal tea, No need for milk :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭kkhornet

Milk, teabag then the water. And then leave the teabag in:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

http://sub.spc.org/san/docs/BS6008.pdf

The definitive way to make a cup of tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I just dump everything in the kettle?

• Registered Users Posts: 2 wanabeslim

Milk last always!! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Where To wrote: »
    I just dump everything in the kettle?
    Pfffttt, just put some milk, sugar and a few hundred teabags in your boiler and you'll have tea on tap. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Milk, tea bag then sugar no water, water is for pussies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

Milk first when making coffee. At weekends, I zap half a mug of milk first in the microwave, lovely with toast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I don't drink coffee or tea and everytime I turn down the offer of either I get treated like I'm not a real person. Q.Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

I don't drink coffee or tea and everytime I turn down the offer of either I get treated like I'm not a real person. Q.Q

Who said that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i mix the milk, sugar and coffee together first. milk in afterwards when im having tea though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,271 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

whichever is closest to hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,655 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Boiling water in cup til cup is hot -> empty cup -> insert teabag -> re-boil and pour water -> remove teabag -> sugar/milk.

Anyone who mixes milk and teabag in any form is a cretin.

Myself and my housemate used to take turns making tea, but the tea he made always tasted dodgy. One time I watched him make it by pouring in the water first, throwing in the teabag on top, then milk and sugar and removed the teabag. After asking wtf he was doing, his response was "sure what difference does it make" :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

milk in cup, heat it up in the microwave, drop a teabag in there for a minute or two then pour in boiling water

delish, and stays hot for ages

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

What you're really asking is: 'Are you a Culchie or a Dub?'

• Registered Users Posts: 9 1975

I drink black tea. I like to add the milk as I am adding the hot water to my coffee. It gives it the nice frothy feel. Enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Good quality green tea for me and freshly ground coffee, not expensive when you don't partake that often. I only take milk on the rare occasion with well stewed black Lyons type tea, and its tea + water then milk, how else will you get maximum steepage. Even with that I'd rather lick a cow's hole than put sugar in it. The tea that is not the cow's hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Teabag -> Water -> Stir-> Remove Teabag-> Sugar -> Stir -> Milk -> Digestive Biscuit

Boscoirl wrote: »
    Teabag -> Water -> Stir-> Remove Teabag-> Sugar -> Stir -> Milk -> Digestive Biscuit

Please don't say you "dunk"??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I always scald the cup with boiling water to take the chill out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Two teabags left to stew for a few mins in a big mug then two sugars and a splash of milk for colour. I do have a teapot for one as nobody else likes tea in my house.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

mishkalucy wrote: »
    Please don't say you "dunk"??

you must have a spoon handy to remove debris from cup before drinking

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Here's a sickener for the anti-dunkers in the audience: in France they pour their coffee into a bowl for breakfast and dip their jam slathered toast into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Here's a sickener for the anti-dunkers in the audience: in France they pour their coffee into a bowl for breakfast and dip their jam slathered toast into it.

Thats ****ing disgusting but I do admire their time saving techniques.

Doc Ruby wrote: »

I don't mind the idea of that, it's just the soggy biscuit leavings at the bottom of the cup of tea that gives me the irits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭downwithpeace

Milk in Coffee...never.

milk in cup, heat it up in the microwave, drop a teabag in there for a minute or two then pour in boiling water

delish, and stays hot for ages

hee hee converted

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Jesus, last of course.. how can the bag brew properly in a non boiling substance?

Yuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

Boscoirl wrote: »

^^^
    Perfect . Boscoirl you can make me a cup of tea any time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

With real coffee or tea unconcerned, but for instant coffee making a paste of the coffee and a drop of cold milk before adding the hot water makes a huge difference and gives a lovely creamy cup of beverage. Try it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

I actually add petrol to my tea, because I'm a tank!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Enda should introduce a teabag levy. Shure if it's only 22c a teabag we could raise ~€1.2bn to pay for pension schemes for pen pushers in the civil service.

Economic problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭AboutTwoFiddy

Hang on, I'll ask the butler...

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Thoms Yorkie Bars

Milk second, Sugar last. Give it a good stir to get the sweetness going.

Black coffee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Milk first in coffee makes it taste a bit creamier, if it goes in last it tasted far stronger and bland looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

The poor used to put the milk in first because they used ****ty cups that would crack with boiling water. The rich used fine china that was grand with the water first.

the more you know!

milk in last man, me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

milk goes in last i hate milk in first taste all wrong :mad:
    RichieC wrote: »
    The poor used to put the milk in first because they used ****ty cups that would crack with boiling water. The rich used fine china that was grand with the water first.

the more you know!

milk in last man, me :)

thats why country people drink tea with half a pint in :pac: