Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are some things an American should know about the Irish Culture?

• 23-04-2012 9:34am
    Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭

I'm an American woman from the heartland of the United States, and I've been thinking about getting involved in the study abroad program at the university and studying in Cork, Ireland. However, I don't want to feel like a fish out of water if/when I go, so if you could give me a few tips or facts about the culture that would be awesome!

i.e.
    What are some examples of slang?
    How do you spend free time?
    Is it hard to learn how to drive on the opposite side of the road?
    What are some things I should/shouldn't do when trying to make friends?
    How do Irish men express attraction?
    What are classes like?
    Add anything else you think will be helpful!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Firstly Ireland is not in the United Kingdom.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭WickedWest

Oh wow, I feel like an Idiot! I didn't mean to post this in the UK. I'm not exactly making a good first impression, am I...?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

WickedWest, what forum were you intending to post this in? I'll move it for you

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭WickedWest

WickedWest, what forum were you intending to post this in? I'll move it for you

After Hours, I suppose - I don't know how it ended up here. Thanks!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

dear god, not after hours

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

WickedWest wrote: »
    After Hours, I suppose - I don't know how it ended up here. Thanks!

Done

/runs away...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭cml387

Penny from Big Bang Theory is from Nebraska.

Do you like Penny, OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Gingers are not real people, hit them whenever possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

We like cake :D but don't bake a jumper in to it:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I'm an American woman from the heartland of the United States, and I've been thinking about getting involved in the study abroad program at the university and studying in Cork, Ireland. However, I don't want to feel like a fish out of water if/when I go, so if you could give me a few tips or facts about the culture that would be awesome!

i.e.
    What are classes like?

slang: "howya boss"= "good day my good sir"

free time is spent hurling, fighting, drinking, bailing hay, 'atin ham, drinkin' tae and batin' the wife.

Horses are adept at driving on both sides of the road.

When making friends:
    do= slag them off and call people gobsh1tes at every turn.
    don't= express feelings, even if your entire family is killed, you're "grand"

Irish men express attraction by gathing in nightclubs wearing terrible clothes, peering at women in the dark until sufficent alchohol is consumed to talk to a woman in the hopes of buying her a taco chip and mauling the box off her outside Supermacs.

Classes from bottom to top go= tracksuit wearing, student, public sector worker, private sector worker, D4 homeowner, Fianna Fail former politician, English landlord.

Tips: cows are benign, majestic beasts.
    cups of tea are to be accepted no matter what the situation.
    as are ham sandwiches.
    Don't go to Mayo.
    If you vomit from drinking, drink more, then you'll be seen as great craic.
    Craic is not the same as American crack, thats different.

Welcome to Ireland!

By drinking 7 and a half pints and asking "how're fixed?"

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

cml387 wrote: »

By drinking 7 and a half pints and asking "how're fixed?"
    Think that's just culchies :D

Actually and seriously,if you offer a cup of tea to an Irish person,do not under any circumstances accept the first refusal.You need to ask about four times and then they'll say "ok I will so"

Redzer7 wrote: »
    Think that's just culchies :D

Works though;):D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

What are some examples of slang? Ya c u n t.
    How do you spend free time? In the Pub.
    Is it hard to learn how to drive on the opposite side of the road? No
    What are some things I should/shouldn't do when trying to make friends? Dont say you a republican.
    How do Irish men express attraction? Get Drunk then go for the shift.
    What are classes like? Same as everywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

Just go to Dublin... basically all you need to know:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Rule number 1

Don't post serious questions on After hours :p

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

If you intend to travel around the country while you're here, you should get in contact with the Travelling Community. They're a great bunch of lads, and they really bring colour and sophistication where ever they go.

Dont say you a republican.

She might be a Democrat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Are you also planning on visiting Ireland OP or are you just going to cork?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

This thread is going to end up on the front page of the Huffington Post isn't it? (or the onion)

mike65 wrote: »
    This thread is going to end up on the front page of the Huffington Post isn't it? (or the onion)
    You wish.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Dont say you're a republican.

Don't say you're a republican either.

FinnLizzy wrote: »
    If you intend to travel around the country while you're here, you should get in contact with the Travelling Community. They're a great bunch of lads, and they really bring colour and sophistication where ever they go.

The real Irish culture, don't pass this opportunity if offered,

Stories, song and dance by the camp fire under the stars, bareback pony riding over the commons, it's a real awesome experience

and just two kisses for greeting hello, one on each cheek..some countries in Europe do three kisses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

-What are some examples of slang?

Yore Ma
    Blast it with piss
    giz a go a ur gee
    hangsangedgh/hangsangers
    Mazeballs
    Culchie
    (these are vital)

-How do you spend free time?

Drinking /

-Is it hard to learn how to drive on the opposite side of the road?

No, you will realise that driving on the left is natural and how wrong you have been all your life

-What are some things I should/shouldn't do when trying to make friends?

Never talk about Leprechauns!, This is the biggest mistake all Americans make, the reason Irish people seem uncomfortable and a little annoyed when the subject is brought up is because the Lebrechauns were actually a race of dwarf like people who were wiped out by our ancestors in a bloody and ruthless war, talking about them makes Irish people feel guilty.

-How do Irish men express attraction?

Leering with ocasional drooling.

-What are classes like?

It depends on how drunk you are.

You might see some strange gibberish beside English on road signs, some people might try to tell you that this is the Irish language don't believe them!!, it is actually a conspiracy drempt up in the 18 centuary by some luanatic nationalists to isolate Ireland from the rest of the world by confusing and enraging tourists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

If you're going to Cork, bai (boy) and langer (langer) are all you need to know.

Drinking.

No it's really easy. The hard part is not driving into oncoming traffic.

Don't take anything anyone says seriously.

By getting absolutely pissed (that means drunk there) and making the clumsiest of clumsy attempts at scoring a girl. Often by making jokes at their expense.
    What are classes like?

Over-crowded in prefabricated classrooms.

Develop a thick skin and prepare to get the piss taken out of you (that's like your American "busting balls") all the time and you'll be fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Ireland is a great place, you'll love it here after a while op. Stick with it for a while and when you get used to the people, and maybe the weather, you won't want to leave.
    Also, are you wealthy, and slim with big tits?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

One thing that's worthwhile knowing is that if we like you, we'll slag you off a lot. And expect the same in return. If we don't like you we're just polite and make small talk. Dread the small talk!

• Registered Users Posts: 82,330 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

krudler wrote: »
    slang: "howya boss"= "good day my good sir"

free time is spent hurling, fighting, drinking, bailing hay, 'atin ham, drinkin' tae and batin' the wife.

Horses are adept at driving on both sides of the road.

When making friends:
    do= slag them off and call people gobsh1tes at every turn.
    don't= express feelings, even if your entire family is killed, you're "grand"

Irish men express attraction by gathing in nightclubs wearing terrible clothes, peering at women in the dark until sufficent alchohol is consumed to talk to a woman in the hopes of buying her a taco chip and mauling the box off her outside Supermacs.

Classes from bottom to top go= tracksuit wearing, student, public sector worker, private sector worker, D4 homeowner, Fianna Fail former politician, English landlord.

Tips: cows are benign, majestic beasts.
    cups of tea are to be accepted no matter what the situation.
    as are ham sandwiches.
    Don't go to Mayo.
    If you vomit from drinking, drink more, then you'll be seen as great craic.
    Craic is not the same as American crack, thats different.

Welcome to Ireland!
    ... Yeah, basically.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha