Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are some things an American should know about the Irish Culture?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

WickedWest wrote: »
    Corrected.

I'm so disappointed in myself :(
    You gave it your best. Luckily, in Ireland the pass mark for exams is 40%, so you're probably ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭btard

Why? I mean, I give people rides here in Nebraska all the time, but I dont think I'm any more popular for it. :confused:

You must be doing it wrong. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Wait just a second... You can't be saying that a wheelbarrow is considered smaller than a shovel!

Fun fact of the day: Up until about a year ago, I though it was pronounced wheelbarrel :rolleyes:
    Debatable. We have some big.shovels...

Ah sure we know most shovels are smaller than a wheelbarrow, we were going to change it, but we thought it was grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Robdude

I've been here for....9 months now. Grew up in the US and had never left prior. The culture here is all but identical to the US. Nobody wants to admit it (Americans or Irish); but it really is.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭cml387

Robdude wrote: »
    I've been here for....9 months now. Grew up in the US and had never left prior. The culture here is all but identical to the US. Nobody wants to admit it (Americans or Irish); but it really is.

That cuts deep.Because it's so true.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

krudler wrote: »
    slang: "howya boss"= "good day my good sir"

free time is spent hurling, fighting, drinking, bailing hay, 'atin ham, drinkin' tae and batin' the wife.

Horses are adept at driving on both sides of the road.

When making friends:
    do= slag them off and call people gobsh1tes at every turn.
    don't= express feelings, even if your entire family is killed, you're "grand"

Irish men express attraction by gathing in nightclubs wearing terrible clothes, peering at women in the dark until sufficent alchohol is consumed to talk to a woman in the hopes of buying her a taco chip and mauling the box off her outside Supermacs.

Classes from bottom to top go= tracksuit wearing, student, public sector worker, private sector worker, D4 homeowner, Fianna Fail former politician, English landlord.

Tips: cows are benign, majestic beasts.
    cups of tea are to be accepted no matter what the situation.
    as are ham sandwiches.
    Don't go to Mayo.
    If you vomit from drinking, drink more, then you'll be seen as great craic.
    Craic is not the same as American crack, thats different.

Welcome to Ireland!

Galway head?

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭WickedWest

btard wrote: »
    You must be doing it wrong. :D

Don't even try that, I know what a ride means now :P haha.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

Simple rule

The closer you are to a Supermacs the further you are from civilisation

• Registered Users Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

When you first go for a drink in a pub ask for a pint of 'bollix'.We talk a lot of bollix , its also our national drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭cml387

Tzar Chasm wrote: »
    Simple rule

The closer you are to a Supermacs the further you are from civilisation

Supermac=White Castle

One thing to remember - whatever you've seen in the movies about Ireland - just disregard it.
    Look up "Darby O' Gill and the little people" - it's a true life story and everything about it is factual. Copy everything that Darby says and does and you'll be "Grand" or "A OKAY". :)

I watched Darby O' Gill, and I don't believe you one bit! But I loved it, especially since Sean Connery was in it ;)

We don't have first period in school
    We don't end sentences with periods
    We don't use periods after abbreviations

We write in copies (pl) a copy (S)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

micropig wrote: »
    We don't end sentences with periods
    We don't use periods after abbreviations

We write in copies (pl) a copy (S)

What the fcuk are you talking about ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Meow_Meow

Not true!! Some girls are really unlucky
    :(
    Mess of it!

mattjack wrote: »

Periods and their use:confused: Was I not clear?:p

When you first go for a drink in a pub ask for a pint of 'bollix'.We talk a lot of bollix , its also our national drink.

What kind of a drink is it? I thought Guinness was considered the national drink, lol...

Also, I could ask for it, but what would I do with it? I don't drink!

Buckfast is very popular in parts, great stuff, first 2/3 bottles are awful tack but the taste really improves after that. It's made by monks so it cant be bad :D

What kind of a drink is it? I thought Guinness was considered the national drink, lol...

you'll be expected to just swallow it, it's non alcoholic

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Ah he's only yanking your chain.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Guinness is mostly drank by men, especially older men. The ladies love Bollix though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

Haha, I know what a robbery is, I was wondering if crime was pretty bad in Cork (or Ireland as a whole).

Crime in Cork would be no worse than a place like Compton.

Looks like we got ourselves a foreigner:D:p

Also galway is very nice, pretty relaxed, head for a spin out the coast road by connemara and then back in to the quay street for a feed of pints and a nice kebab. hit meself or one of the other galway heads up if ya need a guide.

Classic chat up line

Stay well clear of Mayo, there's a war going on there over the oil

• Registered Users Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

Agricola wrote: »
    Guinness is mostly drank by men, especially older men. The ladies love Bollix though.

Bollix is like candy.

Put them in your mouth and gently suck them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Classic chat up line

Stay well clear of Mayo, there's a war going on there over the oil

Natural gas is not oil.

mickrock wrote: »
    Crime in Cork would be no worse than a place like Compton.

So in other words, Cork is full of gangs and I should steer clear unless I want someone to "bust a cap in my ass"?

mickrock wrote: »
    Bollix is like candy.

Put them in your mouth and gently suck them.

But I thought it was a drink?

Classic chat up line

nabbed, seriously though, lovely spot, roisin dubh and the quays (pub, not street) are big draws for americans

So in other words, Cork is full of gangs and I should steer clear unless I want someone to "bust a cap in my ass"?

watch out for limerick, tallaght and sixmilebridge, horrid places