Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are some things an American should know about the Irish Culture?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭Wompa1

WickedWest wrote: »
    If I had KNOWN it was the 4th most visited site in Ireland, I wouldn't have posted it!

They should really include that in the FAQs.

Don't worry about it. What's done is done sure. It wouldn't have been noticed as much in a different forum. In After Hours you are being fed to the Lions.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Wompa1 wrote: »
    If you are showing any sort of skin in a nightclub in Ireland you may want one of these

https://encrypted-tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRM320-chdcyQ1G7xW87vQ2CDMQH3F4sz0IEtrTDkWmWy5eUUCP7Q

Or one of these.

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭WickedWest

If you are showing any sort of skin in a nightclub in Ireland you may want one of these

https://encrypted-tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRM320-chdcyQ1G7xW87vQ2CDMQH3F4sz0IEtrTDkWmWy5eUUCP7Q

That's awkward... I'm wearing one as we speak, actually.

HaHa! Your father have the key around his neck!?

You might find this of interest. I just moved to Arizona from Ireland. I wrote a blog about it. Might give you an idea of some of the differences I've noticed so far and the things that differed to the typical assumption made or portrayed to me by Irish friends.

http://thecityfathers.com/2012/04/04/usa-a-ok/

HaHa! Your father have the key around his neck!?

You might find this of interest. I just moved to Arizona from Ireland. I wrote a blog about it. Might give you an idea of some of the differences I've noticed so far and the things that differed to the typical assumption made or portrayed to me by Irish friends.

http://thecityfathers.com/2012/04/04/usa-a-ok/

Yeah, and it'll be EXTREMELY difficult to retrieve, seeing as my dad's been dead for three years...!

Burrrrrrrrrrrrrnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

Ouch! I'm sorry, I didn't know, if I did I wouldn't have said that. Sorry :(

Liar. Totally knew. Bad person alert!!!

grindle wrote: »

I am a bad person. No denying that! I'm all about me!

No, it's fine, really! I HAVE to joke about it, or I'll go crazy!

Anyway, I read some of your blog, and I have a TON of comments/questions, it's driving me up a wall!

I am a bad person. No denying that! I'm all about me!

Hmmm, well... if what you said before wasn't true... and now you negate it...

Selfless cretin alert! Beware, may give charity!

No, it's fine, really! I HAVE to joke about it, or I'll go crazy!

Anyway, I read some of your blog, and I have a TON of comments/questions, it's driving me up a wall!

I private messaged you. Ya can drop me an e-mail or ask questions on here if you want. Or on my blog itself. Whatever suits ya

grindle wrote: »

Of course he couldn't know!

I mean, it's not like I posted my Facebook on here or anything...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

Quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

Jaysus, what a trainwreck.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

This thread actually makes me sad, especially the tags. Once again AH shows its lack of maturity and takes things too far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I kinda laughed when I saw those tags. Then I realized how thoroughly inappropriate they are. Then I remembered this is after hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Millicent wrote: »
    WickedWest, ignore the posters who agreed that Irish women were generally hostile to American women. Same as anywhere, you'll find women who are cows and others who are lovely.

Cultural differences can make for misunderstandings--the Irish tend to be very self-deprecating whereas many Americans are not--but treat people well and with respect and you'll be grand making friends of both genders. :)

They aren't generally openly hostile, but at the same time, you will find very few Irish girls will make friends with American girls. They will act friendly when they meet, but they generally won't hang out with them. Especially since most of the Americans who come here are 3rd Years so they are roomed with 3rd and 4th years (in cork at least) who will likely have a group of friends formed and not be looking for more.

I think American guys have an easier time of making guy and girl friends than American girls do.

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

They aren't generally openly hostile, but at the same time, you will find very few Irish girls will make friends with American girls. They will act friendly when they meet, but they generally won't hang out with them. Especially since most of the Americans who come here are 3rd Years so they are roomed with 3rd and 4th years (in cork at least) who will likely have a group of friends formed and not be looking for more.

I think American guys have an easier time of making guy and girl friends than American girls do.

What?! Where did you get this information? Yeah it can be difficult trying to get into a group that have been friends for a few years, but where on earth did you get "very few Irish girls will make friends with American girls."

You'll have no bother making friends OP if your up for a laugh and not the boring unsociable type.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,186 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Spread wrote: »
    Unless Irish Republican

FYP kinda!:D
    Don't even go there, very very divisive and especially if the person agitating hasn't lived through it.

3,500 died during the 'troubles' out of a population of 1.6 million.

0.2%

That's 150 times the % of the US population killed in 9/11, Oklahoma City and all the other terrorist attacks on US soil combined.

( or 10 times the % of US population killed in Vietnam or Korean Wars )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

I'm going to die.

Aren't we all!
    That's a lie, I never got a friend request!

Check Pm now:pac:
    Facebook told me that my information was private! Plus I feel super stupid/naïve.

Don't worry, it's grand, we won't tell anyone;)
    Elba101 wrote: »
    What?! Where did you get this information? Yeah it can be difficult trying to get into a group that have been friends for a few years, but where on earth did you get "very few Irish girls will make friends with American girls."

You'll have no bother making friends OP if your up for a laugh and not the boring unsociable type.

CSO latest figures released the statistics on this:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Meow_Meow

This is true. You're rarely find any Irish girl who will be a bitch to you for no good reason. I've had American housemates in the past, and the first group of them were brilliant- down to earth, good fun to be around and simply relateable. This year, I had one American housemate, and she was the most obnoxious person I've ever met. Incredibly loud with an ear piercingly bad accent, completely oblivious to any culture which wasn't her own and a total slob.

Everyone's different, and ultimately if you don't play stupid or behave irritatingly and actually hold a conversation with people, you won't have a problem. You're overwhelmingly likely to not be the first American they'll have met, or indeed the last. Judging from your online persona, you may need to tone it down a few notches (we really don't need to know your sexual status or see you half naked) but otherwise you'll be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Meow_Meow wrote: »
    (we really don't need to know your sexual status or see you half naked) but otherwise you'll be fine.

What's wrong with seeing her half (actually about nine tenths) naked? I enjoyed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Meow_Meow

Confab wrote: »
    What's wrong with seeing her half (actually about nine tenths) naked? I enjoyed it.
    I'm sure you did :P
    Posting near-naked pictures, then telling everyone how she got dumped for some winter formal and wouldn't mind having a guy escort her and look down her top, then revealing that she's a bible thumping virgin -- as an Irish chick I'd view this as typical attention-seeking behaviour, if not cóckteasing. I'm sure it'd interest some kinds of guys for a while, but when they realise sex is off the table, I could see her being very lonely indeed. Don't spoil your trip her by being an idiot- be yourself, the same person you are in the US, and don't try to pander to horny guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Elba101 wrote: »

Two good friends I have made in the last year are American girls. They both moved to the country in the past two years and have loads of friends. It helps that they're both great craic and can handle friends taking the piss (taking the piss= goodnatured mocking). In turn, they know how to take the piss out of others and themselves.

I will say one of their other American friends didn't fare so well making Irish friends. She was loud, monopolised every conversation and talked over other people. That said, that's more a rude thing than an American thing so kind of understandable.

If you do go to UCC, join a few societies (college clubs) you're interested in. You'll be fine making friends but do be aware it might not be instantaneous--Irish people can take a little while to size people up and decide whether they like them. Take the bull by the horns though and invite people to do stuff with you. It may be more that it doesn't occur to people that you want to make friends rather than that they don't like you.

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭NiallFH

I actually had to look up GGW on Google

Damn it so did I and realised at the last minute, I hope nobody was looking into my office :(

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Films and Documentaries say only a little about us .To understand us you need to understand the nuances in the way we use english and nothing in the media can really do that adequately .Same around the world i believe ."dem vis'tors don't know us". Ryans daughter and other movies were rubbish .

• Registered Users Posts: 7,006 ✭✭✭Wossack

'can you give me a ride' = 'will you have sex with me'
    you may have meant:
    'can you give me a lift' = 'can you drive me somewhere'

an escalator is also a lift
    sidewalk is a path
    american chips, are crisps here
    likewise, american 'french frie's' are chips here
    fanny, is slang for lady parts (the front ones, that aint bewbs) - I'd avoid such phrases as 'fanny pack', or 'a pat on the fanny', or 'land on her fanny' etc over here..

with regards driving:
    we park on the driveway
    we drive on the parkway
    automatics are for old people with bad hips - so we all 'drive stick'
    green means go
    yellow means go faster
    red means slam on the brakes, (or go, if they've just changed)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

NiallFH wrote: »
    Damn it so did I and realised at the last minute, I hope nobody was looking into my office :(
    Yeah sorry bout that, should've put NSFW tag on that!

Think this thread has run its course anyway. The self-deprecation and general banter regarding Irish culture has long passed and been replaced by outright flirting. Plus something doesn't seem.....right....OP is far too open, especially with photos and personal details. Perhaps I'm wrong and just overused to guarded Irish women.

Meow_Meow wrote: »
    ...and don't try to pander to horny guys.

C'mon now, that's a bit much.
    Or did you mean "Don't try, succeed!"?
    Jimoslimos wrote:
    Plus something doesn't seem.....right....OP is far too open, especially with photos and personal details. Perhaps I'm wrong and just overused to guarded Irish women.
    It's Irish guardedness, not exclusive to women.
    I have an American 7th Day Adventist friend and she would, honestly, hand her purse to the purse inspector, whilst also being ferociously clever (academically). The thought that someone was trying to screw her over wouldn't enter her mind.
    People who grow up believing in and being cushioned by the warm pillows of unlimited love and benevolence can be a little naive.