Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The term 'blue moulded' is very Irish, isn't it?

• 24-04-2012 2:18pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭

I've never heard anyone else use it, whereas I've never heard an Irish person just say "that bread has mould on it".

I find it mildly amusing, especially when said mould is not blue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

Gone mouldy is what I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I've never heard anyone else use it, whereas I've never heard an Irish person just say "that bread has mould on it".

Did you accidentally eat some of it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Mmmmm gorgonzola.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Green mould is what I say even if it is pink, but its usually is green.

Perhaps you are Blue/green colour blind. Errr, or perhaps I am.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭NSNO

"it's gone green mouldy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

NSNO wrote: »
    "it's gone green mouldy"

You mean gangrene mouldy, surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Never heard anyone use the term 'blue moulded' before tbh :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

kfallon wrote: »
    Never heard anyone use the term 'blue moulded' before tbh :confused:
    Odd. I've lived here 5 years and every single person I've lived with and met has said it.

Obviously not every single person I've met, but every one I've met who happened to be in a situation where one might say it :D

I've even had conversations about it (what can I say, I'm an exciting guy).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Odd. I've lived here 5 years and every single person I've lived with and met has said it.

Obviously not every single person I've met, but every one I've met who happened to be in a situation where one might say it :D

I've even had conversations about it (what can I say, I'm an exciting guy).

Anyone I know will say, "That bread is gone mouldy" but never have I heard anyone say, "That bread is blue moulded!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

There's nothing wrong with the term. Blue mould is just a common name for a fungus that grows on rotten fruit / food.

You can get green or blue colours.

Maybe the blue colour mold is more common in Ireland than the Green colours you get in north America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

and another thing said mold is blue :confused: isn't it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Never heard it before. Stupid thread.

Swampy wrote: »
    Never heard it before. Stupid thread.
    Stupid thread because you've never heard a common expression? Get out more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Is this a culchie thing? I've never heard the term used before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Never heard the phrase.

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Is this a culchie thing? I've never heard the term used before.
    Could well be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Never in my life heard the expression "blue moulded" - not even once.

Alternatives:

Gone Mouldy
    Gone Bad
    Would give you lapsy pa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

chin_grin wrote: »
    You mean gangrene mouldy, surely?

:eek: Might want to mention there is a disgusting picture of a gangrene foot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

mackg wrote: »
    :eek: Might want to mention there is a disgusting picture of a gangrene foot?

I'm still getting over the parasite fish tongue thing from the "what makes you shudder" thread. So I'm not looking at that.

I close my eyes..........its still there.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Never heard it used, ever. Must be very Irish so. Something is mouldy yes, blue mouldy no.... blue moulded definitely not.

Why am I pictuing some slack-jawed yokel from Wexford saying this?

"Tis gone blue moulded so it is, so it is." :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Tbh I've never heard the term "blue molded" but what is very Irish is asking a question and answering it all in the one sentence, reminds me of my first job in a cash&carry.

Boss= Cruiser will you sweep the Cadburys isle, you will.

Boss= Cruiser will you bring in all the trolleys from the car park, you will.

Boss= Cruiser do you know how many poor ppl would kill for your job, you do

Feckin jackeen askin and telling me what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Never heard of 'blue moulded'. Normally all I hear is 'Ah feck, the bread's gone off!'

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Never heard "blue moulded" used. Blue Waffle, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,527 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Blue moulded?
    Referring to French cheeses maybe? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I've never heard the term, either. Maybe it's just perception, or as Leto44 speculates, questionable colour vision.:confused: Either way, it has a very distinctive taste on bread, so you're unlikely to eat too much of it. Maybe it should be called "blue-green mould" in the same way as Cyanobacteria are called "blue-green algae" in English, although the only colour mentioned in their names in several other languages is blue.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

prinz wrote: »
    Why am I pictuing some slack-jawed yokel from Wexford saying this?

"Tis gone blue moulded so it is, so it is." :confused:

Needs more banjos and tractors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I've never heard it. OP stop making things up.

/pitchforks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Never heard it.

The OP is therefore a foreigner and possible Brit, let's get him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Mould ?

I get cheese, but only after a week of not washing the monster.

Stupid thread because you've never heard a common expression? Get out more.
    Why don't you look at how many thanks kfallons post got and how many yours did. There's an indication of how common the phrase is.

Swampy wrote: »
    Why don't you look at how many thanks kfallons post got and how many yours did. There's an indication of how common the phrase is.
    Forgot how srs bsns Thanks were on this site :rolleyes:

The number of people in this thread who have said they've never heard the phrase is still nothing compared to the number of people I've heard say it.

Forgot how srs bsns Thanks were on this site :rolleyes:

The number of people in this thread who have said they've never heard the phrase is still nothing compared to the number of people I've heard say it.
    Thanks mean they agree with the poster. Why not make a poll to see how common people think it is. Problem solved.