Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Six years for IRA man who extorted €260,000 from chip shop owner

• 25-04-2012 10:29am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/six-years-for-ira-man-who-extorted-260000-from-chip-shop-owner-3090823.html
    David Dodrill (31), a taxi driver and father of two, pleaded guilty last week to the IRA charge.

Chief Supt Diarmuid O'Sullivan told the court that over a period of two years Dodrill forced the Dublin chip shop owner to hand over about €164,000 and, in addition, to pay him €2,000 a week from 2010 to 2011, making an additional €100,000.

Dodrill of Plunkett Avenue, Finglas, Dublin, told the businessman last July that he would have to hand over the lease for his main premises in Mulhuddart, but could buy it back two years later for €300,000.

He also demanded €5,000 "compensation" because the shop owner had recorded their conversations.
    In his statement, the injured party, who was not identified in court, said that he ran fish and chip businesses in Mulhuddart, Baldoyle, Kylemore and the Old Naas Road.

In September 2009 he was told to go to a pub on Dublin's northside where he was approached by Dodrill who told him they were taking over a loan of €30,000 that he owed.

"He said he was the Real IRA and he would come for me and my family in the night," the businessman told gardai.

He said Dodrill lifted his shirt and showed him tattoos of men in camouflage with balaclavas and guns and 'Oglaigh na hEireann' on his body. The tattoos "put him in fear of his life".

At later meetings the businesman was told that the entire debt with interest was now €164,000. He handed over several cheques and drafts to Dodrill. He also met him every Thursday night at a car park in Finglas and handed over €2,000, which he was told was €1,500 for the loan and €500 "for himself".

Last July the businessman was told they wanted the lease for his main premises which was worth €500,000 but that he could buy it back two years later for €300,000.

Dodrill came to his house one night and started hitting him, chipping a tooth, and telling him he was "being smart".

Gardai recorded the final meeting between them in July when the chip shop owner handed over €2,000. Dodrill said he wanted €5,000 for himself in compensation because the businessman had recorded some of their conversations. Dodrill told him: ''You are going to have to compensate me or I am going to break your legs."

Det Sgt Joe Higgins arrested Dodrill as he drove away in his taxi.

I know he was in fear of his life but I find it hard to believe how he was giving this guy €2,000 a week.
    I'd like to believe I'd have been tempted sooner to bring matters to a head, especially if we were meeting only one to one.
    Maybe that's just internet bravado though.
    I suppose this man will never see a penny of that money back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Obviously not as serious a crime as importing garlic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Rabidlamb wrote: »

I know he was in fear of his life but I find it hard to believe how he was giving this guy €2,000 a week.

Who does he think he is coddin'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm expecting a salty reaction to this news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

That Dodrill fella really had a chip on his shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I would have battered him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

There is no plaice for that sort of behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

Anyone following this thread needs to give me 1000 quid or ill come and get you....

"Lifts shirt up and shows four leaf clover novelty tattoe transfer"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Velvet shank

handing over all that money must have caused his business to flounder

I'd say he'll be done for once the court herring comes up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

I think it would have been easier / cheaper to get a guard to assinate him.
    Then the chipper man would have only had to have paid out €450 as that's how much guards get fined for kills

All the hallmarks of the Provisional Fry.R.A

I'd say the judge gave him a right pollacking

mikom wrote: »
    All the hallmarks of the Provisional Fry.R.A

A soleless bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Nice to see he was finally netted.

Anyone following this thread needs to give me 1000 quid or ill come and get you....

"Lifts shirt up and shows four leaf clover novelty tattoe transfer"
    I have a blow up shamrock from Italia 90.

Top trumped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Liamario

Man extorts 260,000€ from chip shop owner; is awarded 6 year vacation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Cheese curry chips!!

Am I doing this pun thing right?

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Cheese curry chips!!

Am I doing this pun thing right?
    Close enough for this kip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Some of the puns are awful...

AH's you can do better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    I'd say the chip shop owner knew that you don't f**k with the Real IRA. I wonder if David Dodrill actually RIRA or not? If he is not, I'd wonder what will happen to him when he enters prison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭beco2010

his tattos were a good investment. so i have tattos off to the bank they have more money and even more gullibile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

AH's you can do batter
    FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

"He said he was the Real IRA and he would come for me and my family in the night," the businessman told gardai.

He said Dodrill lifted his shirt and showed him tattoos of men in camouflage with balaclavas and guns and 'Oglaigh na hEireann' on his body. The tattoos "put him in fear of his life".

Seriously? Is this how provos identify themselves?
    "I'm in the 'RA, me."

"No you're not."

"I am so!"

"Prove it then."

"Okay. Look at these."

"Oh yeah. So you are."

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ki

How profitable is a chip shop if he can afford to hand over 2K every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

ki wrote: »
    I understood from the article that he had 3 or 4 shops.

AH's you can do better

i thought i was a dab-hand at them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

ki wrote: »

i'll have a battered cavier burger and a bottle of dom perigon please :D

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

We can't deal with it so we'll make fun of it .Typical Boards response .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

paddyandy wrote: »
    We can't deal with it

too fcukin right we cant deal with it, its the IRA ffs :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

the_syco wrote: »
    FYP

Cheers:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

"In his statement, the injured party, who was not identified in court, said that he ran fish and chip businesses in Mulhuddart, Baldoyle, Kylemore and the Old Naas Road"

Good job they didnt include any details that would identify him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

I think he should have got life

Did the IRA threaten to blow his Plaice up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

There's something seriously fishy about this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

fancy bowing to IRA mussel-men....

paddyandy wrote: »
    We can't deal with it so we'll make fun of it .Typical Boards response .

Cheer up Paddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

micropig wrote: »
    Obviously not as serious a crime as importing garlic

Importing garlic is not a crime. Falsifying tax documents and cheating the country out of €1.6m . Thats a crime.

Still a more serious crime than extorting money by battering a chip shop owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

And that's why you get your loans from banks, not from guys you meet in the pub. Chippie owner was a fecking numpty to put up with that sort of codology.

:pac:Yeah like the banks and bankers are any less dodgy.

As far as I know they're much less likely to a) charge you many times what you borrowed* and b) break your legs.

*The alleged loan was for €30,000, and he paid this 'RA man €264,000 - eight times the amount borrowed.

The RA took over the loan, he didn't borrow from them.

RVP 11 wrote: »
    They hardly bought the debtfrom AIB though. He obviously borrowed the money from a dodgy group in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Salmon's gotta rise up against these fishious basstards, for fuuck's hake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

What a load of pollocks!

Half the spastics who think theyre in the IRA are unable to spell it so they have to get tatoos on their bodies, the other half are just plain out and out retards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Seriously? Is this how provos identify themselves?

Real IRA are not the provos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Real IRA are actually Provos who are just more retarded that than other provos and had to go out on their own due to their sheer stupidity. They can be recognised by the tatoos of men and guns on their chest/backs/arse.

When they were dreaming up their name in their tree house they decided on the name 'The Real Angry IRA' but none of them knew how to spell Angry and so they shortened it to the Real IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

RVP 11 wrote: »
    so your man was a loan shark.

CJC999 wrote: »
    What a load of pollocks!

Half the spastics who think theyre in the IRA are unable to spell it so they have to get tatoos on their bodies, the other half are just plain out and out retards.

You can identify real members, their tattoos spell AIR instead of IRA:D

so your man was a loan shark.
    1. The guy who owned the chipper borrowed money from a loan shark.
    2. The loan shark sold his debt to the Real IRA.
    3. The Real IRA used the profit to get tattoos done.