Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The world "grushie"

• 25-04-2012 5:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭

In school, if someone was counting a load of change, some **** would slap underneath his hand sending the money flying. Someone would then immediately shout "grushie", meaning that the money on the ground is fair game.

Does anyone else remember this word? Or am I going mental.

Edit - just found this: http://www.irishgaelictranslator.com/translation/topic104774.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

first time I've heard it tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭mongdesade

Common practice at weddings, family gatherings etc., in inner city Dublin back in the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You're going mental. Although remembering this word has nothing to do with that. Most likely it's the tumor pressing on your brain that's causing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Never heard of the world grushie. Is it somewhere near Tatooine ??? Or out near Omicron Perseii 8 ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Gushie is what we called it. It worked with sweets too.

Mayhem!!

I always thought it was Gushie. In school when somebody was giving something away they would feck it in the air and let everyone fight for it like a pack of dogs. good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Remember them well, Usually outside the church at a weddings,Money being thrown in the air and there would be murder in trying to pick it up when it landed,crazy carry on I tell ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

Bill Cullen made his first million at a grushie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

All a bah!!!

That's the cork slang.
    "All a bah for a bag o Meanies"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

benwavner wrote: »
    Gushie is what we called it. It worked with sweets too.

Mayhem!!

Yeah, alwasys gushie in my schools. "grushie"? Doesn't roll off the tongue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Yes I know the word "grushie" and I was in many, we use to live near a church and the best man would throw out a load of change and we would all scramble for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Wow I had completely forgotten that word, though we called it Gushie back in primary school. Usually for sweets or something at the end of a pack it would be thrown in the air and 'gushie' was yelled. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

micropig wrote: »
    first time I've heard it tbh

Never head of it either.

Have I missed out?

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Yeah, alwasys gushie in my schools. "grushie"? Doesn't roll off the tongue

Yeah, this topic popped up a few years ago with friends. We were comparing the most we got at a gushie. One of the guys says "It's called a grushie ya thicks".........Fry cant squint hard enough in a meme for that guy!

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭ladypip

44leto wrote: »
    Yes I know the word "grushie" and I was in many, we use to live near a church and the best man would throw out a load of change and we would all scramble for it.

I lived near a church as well it was brillient during the summer !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

It's Gushie, not Grushie

al28283 wrote: »
    It's Gushie, not Grushie

It was grushie were i was from. (north Dub)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

In school, if someone was counting a load of change, some **** would slap underneath his hand sending the money flying. Someone would then immediately shout "grushie", meaning that the money on the ground is fair game.

Edit - just found this: http://www.irishgaelictranslator.com/translation/topic104774.html
    I had a slightly different understanding of it though.
    If someone had a daddyyo steely or a spare 50 p they would announce that there was going to be a grushie and then the riot would commence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Ive never heard of that word but I do know the practice fairly well.

Also we used to have money mosh pits. Get about 5-10 lads, throw a 20 cent on the ground in between ye and then proceed to bait the shíte out of each other while trying to pick up and claim the 20cent. :pac:

Is the term Gushie only a Dublin thing? Ive never heard of it until now.

Nah, in North Dublin it was Gushie and we would pick on people who said Grushie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭jos28

It was a grushie when I was a kid. Like other posters I lived near a church and we would run up when there was a wedding on. The groom would throw loads of coins to all the kids. It was supposed to bring the bride and groom good luck apparently,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

foxyboxer wrote: »
    All a bah!!!

That's the cork slang.
    "All a bah for a bag o Meanies"
    What does the all a bah bit mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Nah, in North Dublin it was Gushie and we would pick on people who said Grushie.

Also a north Dub here and it was always a Grushie when I was growing up.

4. gushy

Shout signifying then beginning of a free-for-all scramble for some object.
    Sean tossed the half eaten apple into the air yelling 'Gushy'. Maire and Pol scrambled desperatly over each other to grab the remains of the apple.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=gushy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

We used to say it in school.

It was grushie.

Also when the poor mug got his hand on the coin, everybody started jumping on him chanting Pile On, Pile On.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Was grushie where I grew up in dublin.
    Got caught a few times with that!

stovelid wrote: »
    We used to say it in school.

It was grushie.

Also when the poor mug got his hand on the coin, everybody started jumping on him chanting Pile On, Pile On.

It was Pile up, pile up but you got grushie right.

The grammar on boards is appalling.

gambiaman wrote: »
    Was grushie where I grew up in dublin.
    Got caught a few times with that!

Did you say "package of crips" aswell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

North Dublin school too and it was Gushie.
    "Grushie" schools were weird.

What about pulling someones trousers down? In my school it was called "jocking" someone. "Damo got jocked in front of the whole class"
    Was talking to someone who went to blackrock and he said he was called "panting". Weirdos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Remember when I was a kid, any girl getting married on the road's Dad would do it just before she came out to get in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

We called it grushie but I knew a few people who lived elsewhere that called it a gushie.

Where I lived, as the wedding car left the bride's house to go off to the Church, the father of the bride would throw loads of money out the window.

Good times!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I sense a poll coming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I sense a poll coming

It should definitely include Southside and Northside Dubs, as well as country folk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Did you say "package of crips" aswell?

Crisp Sangwidge FTW

A poll would settle the grushie///spits "gushie" question.

OP put up a poll to make a fools of the "gushie" brigade.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,273 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

From 'Slanguage - a dictionary of Irish slang'.

Grush/Grushie
    n. and vb.
    Scramble for small change thrown to children, esp. after a wedding;
    throw or scramble for such change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

What is a world grushie?

spurious wrote: »
    From 'Slanguage - a dictionary of Irish slang'.

Grush/Grushie
    n. and vb.
    Scramble for small change thrown to children, esp. after a wedding;
    throw or scramble for such change.

That dictionary is wrong......yer man was just pissed when he ws typing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It was Pile up, pile up but you got grushie right.

The grammar on boards is appalling.

My grammar is fine and it was pile on as far as I remember. Maybe you went to a mongo school.

benwavner wrote: »
    That dictionary is wrong......yer man was just pissed when he ws typing.

Yeah how would he know, bet he was the type that was afraid of the pile up and spent all his youth on a ping pong computer game.

stovelid wrote: »
    My grammar is fine and it was pile on as far as I remember. Maybe you went to a mongo school.

Or maybe I was in to many pile ups:(

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,127 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Gushie (north dub) when I was younger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

"Giz yer odds"
    "I beg your pardon"
    "The child wants you to give him your loose change"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Never heard of the world grushie. Is it somewhere near Tatooine ??? Or out near Omicron Perseii 8 ???

Not a single thanks ?? My comic talents are wasted on ye :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Gushie where I'm from. (Tallaght)
    We used to get sweet gushies too when the money ran out.

• Registered Users Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Muff_Daddy

No r in gushie.

Or maybe I was in to many pile ups:(

In my school we said "too" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,721 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

In my school we said "too" ;)

I'd bet ye also played rugby

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

This has to be a Dublin thing, I've never heard it before in my life.

I love all these kinds of mad words Irish people have though :)

Balmed Out wrote: »
    I'd bet ye also played rugby

Nope, that was Belvedere.

buncha saps