Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IADT or DIT for fine art/visual art practice

Options
  • 25-04-2012 11:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Hi all,
    I am a mature student ( a very young 30 ) and I need some advice. I have been offered a place in DIT fine art having got the maximum 600 points for my portfolio. I am currently awaiting a result from IADT and if I am lucky enough to get offered a place in both colleges I would like to know which I should go for?

The college courses seem to be structured so differently. Can anyone give me advice? Is there any past or current students or teachers out there that can help?

DIT OR IADT FOR FINE ART? 2 votes

DIT
    0% 0 votes
    IADT
    100% 2 votes

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

I can only speak from a final year Visual Arts Practice perspective but from seeing work displayed from both courses in external and internal exhibition situations, I would recommend IADT.

While I can't honestly talk about the quality of staff or teaching at DIT, I can say that the consideration for presentation of work does seem to be significantly less than IADT. It seems that most of the emphasis is taking concepts to an appreciable stage and then beginning production without adequate critique. The work i've seen from DIT students is good and in some cases, excellent, but I always get the impression that it could have done with more editing or a thought for how the work will be displayed beyond 'stick it on the wall'. It's an awareness that's lacking.