Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance Claim query

• 26-04-2012 12:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭

I have a quick query for anybody that may have been in a similar situation.
    My aunt was stopped at junction in town when a van ran into the back of her. He did a nice bit of damage to her bumper and a he had a bit of a dent himself. To me it seemed clear cut, he was at fault so she claims of his insurance.
    Problem is he acted the complete pr!ck, thinking he could intimidate her into just letting it go. He claimed she rolled back into her which is rediculous when you see the damage to her bumper. He even went as far as threatening her. Fair play to her, she stood her ground and rang the guards. They came and and were not much help either. They just wanted to get them off the road as soon as possible. They said the insurance companies would have to sort it out.

She claimed from his insurance and the assessor came out. The van driver then in turn claimed from her insurance. His insurance company came back yesterday and said they would not accept responsibility as there were no statements from the guards or witnesses.

Sorry for the long post, it just seems completely unfair that this guy is going to get away with it. Is there anything she can do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

So it's a liability dispute. In the event that your Aunt is comprehensively insured then she can claim from her own policy and get them to recover from his policy. I assume as it is a locked dispute and he is stating she reversed into him that both insurers have inspected the vehicles with an independent engineers report to attempt and quash this claim ? It's generally obvious upon inspection when a vehicle has been hit from behind apposed to reversing into another vehicle.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭Miley2

His insurance co. sent out an assessor. He even said on the quite to her that there was no way she could have reversed into him.
    If she claims of her insurance she could get stung, and lose her no claims bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Miley2 wrote: »
    His insurance co. sent out an assessor. He even said on the quite to her that there was no way she could have reversed into him.
    If she claims of her insurance she could get stung, and lose her no claims bonus.

There's no could about it. She will lose her NCB until such time as the other side admit liability and compensate her insurer for their outlay.

She could also face increased premiums until / if they do recover their outlay.

If the assessor can say that she didn't reverse into him then why is he doing it on "the quiet" ?