Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2012/2013

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

amiable wrote: »
    I reckon Man United will go for him this summer

I doubt it. If £40m couldn't get him last Summer, I can't for the life of me seeing us paying anything over that. I couldn't even see us paying £40m actually.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Blatter wrote: »
    I doubt it. If £40m couldn't get him last Summer, I can't for the life of me seeing us paying anything over that. I couldn't even see us paying £40m actually.

A year less on his contract and rumours that a gentlemans agreement may be in place between Modric and Levy.
    I think he may be available for a smaller figure than last summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

amiable wrote: »
    A year less on his contract and rumours that a gentlemans agreement may be in place between Modric and Levy.
    I think he may be available for a smaller figure than last summer.

A year less left on his contract but still 4 years left, I don't think that'll make a significant difference to the asking price. There was rumours that the gentleman's agreement was in place last season but Levy reneged, not sure what would change in that regard this Summer. I do think Modric would get away, if he really pushed enough, and I think Redknapp said as much.

I find it very hard to see him at United next season, he did say he'd like to remain in London as well. If Chelsea win the CL on Saturday (and relegate Spurs to the EL) I think there's a great chance we'll see Modric in a Chelsea jersey next season.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Lads , anyone heading out in Dublin for the game on Saturday ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

I hope we take Steve Clarke back now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

The reason im not to sure about RDM is his league form isnt great we didny beat a top team and drew with and lost to teams around us. Drew with spurs and arsenal amd lost to city and newcastle amd liverpool.

If he gets the job i wouldnt mind to much as there isnt really to many candidates. He got the players up for the big games but if we dont win the UCL hes basically cost us 4th as losing to newcastle shoukdbt have happened and we should have went out to beat liverpool arsenal spurs and give ourselves a chance.

Id still give him a year and see how he gets on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Wouldn't mind seeing that at all either!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

According to a retweet I saw on Twitter, Le Arse put in a bid for Kagawa. Surely worth a go signing, no?

V9 wrote: »
    According to a retweet I saw on Twitter, Le Arse put in a bid for Kagawa. Surely worth a go signing, no?

Himself and Hazard are real hot property at the moment. I could see Dortmund losing him but they still have Gotze who is a brillant talent also.

Depending on the price tag he could be worth a punt.

Also I dont think we should go after Modric. Spurs best offer for him was around 40million. If Utd do cone in they wont pay anything near that for Modric. I say we spend on someone like Fellaini who would cost probably 25million and about 100k a week but hes cheaper and younger then Modric, 2 different types of players but Id take Fellaini in an instant.

Panthro wrote: »

Wouldn't mind seeing that at all either!

Depends on who the manager is I guess. Theres definetly a place for him under RDM anyway if hes kept on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Chelsea don't need Kagawa - they are weel stocked in that position with Mata, Lamaprd, Piazon, Marin and De Bruyne all playing or being able to play there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

Two players I'd love to see at Chelsea has to be hoilett and Moses. Both could provide great width and are well skilled. Would be cheap too.

V9 wrote: »

I'm pretty sure he is Utd bound

Looked pretty good in the german cup

Not sure he would be an essential buy for us

• Registered Users Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

http://www.uefa.com/under17/season=2012/matches/round=2000207/match=2010220/postmatch/report/index.html

Nathan Ake captained the Dutch u17s to a European Champioship.

edit: ugh it really looks like I steal everything from WAGNH but I swear I don't!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Meglamonia

Dunno about the rumours linking Hulk to us,anytime I see him play against good teams he really isn't that good and for the prices mentioned they can have him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

Meglamonia wrote: »

I know its goal.com but Agents really rag me! They will do anything and everything to get it into their players head's to go off elsewhere and to tell the press as such, all to unsettle them at their current club in an attempt to maybe get them to re-sign a new deal with their current employers or to head off elsewhere, all so the agent can line his own pockets with gold, without the best intentions of the player at heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭RichT

Paddy Power are offering a very good Money Back Special (IMO) for The Champions League Final.....
    If Chelsea lift the Champions League Trophy, Paddy Power will refund all losing First Goalscorer, Last Goalscorer, Correct Score & Scorecast singles on the match.

So that's €20 on Sideshow Dave to be 1st goalscorer @ 40/1 for me, which I'm hoping is going to be a free bet at the very least.

COME ON YOU BLUES!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭what a day

I have not seen Kawaga playing so i cannot comment but we certainly do need wide players! De Bruyne and Marin are decent signings but that will leave is with just two wide players. From the little i have seen of De Bruyne im not sure weather he would be better in midfield or wide but either way i dont think he is quite good enough for a starting place in a club fighting for CL trophys.

Marin was brilliant a year or two ago but iv heard he has gone off the boil a bit and not progressed. I feel we will need a wide player for or right hand side. Hoilet could be a good cheap siging and could maybe replace Kalou if he goes.

Hoillet's contract is nearly up isnt it? He would be considerably cheaper then must around and the lad has ability too.

Pedro Proença to referee Chelsea v Bayern Champions League final

Pedro Proença will take charge of Chelsea's Champions League final against Bayern Munich. Photograph: Jose Coelho/EPA
    Portugal's Pedro Proença will be the referee for Saturday's Champions League final between Bayern Munich and Chelsea at the Allianz Arena, Uefa has confirmed.
    Proença, 41, was in charge of the second leg of the last-16 clash between Internazionale and Marseille this season, and last term he was in charge of Manchester United's semi-final second leg against Schalke.
    He will be assisted in Munich by his compatriots Bertino Miranda and Ricardo Santos. The fourth official will be Carlos Velasco Carballo from Spain.

Might be a good omen with us having a few good Portuges in our team over the years and now some spanish too.

what a day wrote: »
    Pedro Proença to referee Chelsea v Bayern Champions League final

Pedro Proença will take charge of Chelsea's Champions League final against Bayern Munich. Photograph: Jose Coelho/EPA
    Portugal's Pedro Proença will be the referee for Saturday's Champions League final between Bayern Munich and Chelsea at the Allianz Arena, Uefa has confirmed.
    Proença, 41, was in charge of the second leg of the last-16 clash between Internazionale and Marseille this season, and last term he was in charge of Manchester United's semi-final second leg against Schalke.
    He will be assisted in Munich by his compatriots Bertino Miranda and Ricardo Santos. The fourth official will be Carlos Velasco Carballo from Spain.

Might be a good omen with us having a few good Portuges in our team over the years and now some spanish too.

Our their AVB fans and they'll screw us over :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

AtHd5RQCMAEE6Kn.png

Most likely team I'd say

errrr, dont want to alarm anyone but......
    Capello to Chelsea? :eek:

http://theshedender.com/2012/05/tabloid-talk/former-england-manager-in-talks-with-chelsea

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Will not happen

• Registered Users Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

wouldn't be the worst thing and wouldn't be surprised.

Capello :( just oozes boredom really..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭The_Hustler

AtHd5RQCMAEE6Kn.png

Most likely team I'd say

I agree, though Essien may be thrown in there somewhere.

Id agree on the team. probably the best option as we stand.

Getting nervous about the game but i think we'll do it. If we do win it im going be demented drunk! Expect random bannings :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

****ing can't wait, bring it on:D

Come on Chelsea

I'm with ye on that one, I can't wait either!
    Ara I'm confident the Blues will be lifting the trophy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

I just have a good feeling about this, it's our year, it will happen:D RDM will deliver the goods, this game is made for drogba, his last chelsea game (maybe) and he loves the big occasion. He will score

Im going do a treble for Saturday too, Nolan,Heslip,Luiz first scorer, E/W, see what odds I get.

MUSEIST wrote: »

I just have a good feeling about this, it's our year, it will happen:D RDM will deliver the goods, this game is made for drogba, his last chelsea game (maybe) and he loves the big occasion. He will score

Torres winner, banker :pac:

I think our chances hinge on both Luiz & Cahill starting myself, either way I'm bloody well nervous now so dread to think what I will be like come Saturday evening... actually yeah I do Blind drunk, the nerves will likely get the better of me :pac:

Whatever happens I just don't want another Moscow final. I don't think me , or my coffee table, could take that. I still have mayo stains up two of the wall as I got up and kicked a squeezy bottle of helmans against the wall, it bust and splattered the contents over 2 of my sitting room walls! Good news I'm painting this summer :pac:

Oh yeah sure Homer, that's where the stain on the wall came from, a bottle with a bit of Mayo in it!!:pac::pac::pac:

I'd be needing to go to the doctor (or a porn star agent :pac:) If I'd made this stain!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Coming home today from a weeks holiday, all I could think about was this match, if Chelsea win I'll go absolutely mental, just have to make sure I record the game as I know I won't remember a single thing Sunday morning :pac:

COME ON CHELSEA !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Love to see Frank win the Champions League and the Euro2012.
    Realistically not much chance for England but come on Chelsea !

I just want to win the thing. Regardless of who scores or how we do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭weiland79

I actually still can't believe we are in the Champions league final.

What a season, here's hoping we can settle down a bit for the coming year, get a bit of consistancy in our game and a solid direction for the club in general.

God i'm actually a bit nervous in my stomach already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Getting really nervous now, and what about Capello ?? would we want him ?
    I can't see him being an answer, I think RDM should be given at least a year in the job regardless of tomorrow..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

nerves really starting to set in about tomorrow. having a few beers for the rugby so hopefully that'll help calm me down.....or the opposite. we'll see

come on you blues!

Watching this game on my own anyway,through my fingers.

Can't bloody wait,although it's gonna be 90 minutes of absolute torture but hopefully it's worth it :)

Come on Chelsea,Believe! :D

Im the same Megla il be watching it at home, i dont like to drink watching our matches but this one i think is gonna need a few bottles to control the anxioty.

Have a good feeling although i taugth Moscow was made for us :(
    As gav says i dont care how we win it as long as we win it!

We can park the bus and have one shot and one goal in extra time i dont care once we win it! :p

Come on the CHELSEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Any videos of them arriving into Munich or anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭blue-army

I'm strangely confident.

Lampard and Drogba's last chance at Champions League glory I reckon, especially if we don't qualify for next years competition. They'll be the match winners for me!

Gonna guess 2-1. Lamps pen and a Drogs winner.

Bring it on!