Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best pub in Dublin ?

• 26-04-2012 3:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 35

what would you say best pub in dublin is for a rainy saturday afternoon session...looking for best pub experience with great craic...heard Mulligans in stoneybatter is good

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

for me it would be mulligans without question.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 mightymouse11

never been to it has it music

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

never been to it has it music

No tv, i can't remember hearing music, if there is it's so low you can hear the person beside you talking.

This is a real pub. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,880 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

Yep, low-level music. Great pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Cazale

Grogans is another one worth a mention :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Gypsy Rose by a mile...pity about the doorman though :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Gleesons in booterstown won pub of the year, for what it's worth. I know a few lads in work who made the trek out and raved about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 accountant101

Love the Palace Bar !!! Fleet Street

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭jcrowbar

Mother Reillys in Rathmines would be my personal favourite. They have a lot more live music lately too.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 accountant101

Sean O'Casey's is another great Bar....they have elvis impersonator in there as well..his great craic...can't remember name of street...but just off the sony centre on O'connell street

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Degsy wrote: »
    Gypsy Rose by a mile...pity about the doorman though :(

Yeah heard some shocking stories about him, he's meant t o be a big mutton headed cabbage.........

• Registered Users Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Love the gypsy and never had any trouble from bouncers there. What happened?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Flannery's on Camden Street or Messrs Maguire's are my favourites

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

ah here, flannerys ! To be considered a great oub surely you have to be open in the afternoon ??

Flannery's is a kip, we've all been there for ill advised late night mid week pints, but it's far from a great pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

not yet wrote: »
    Yeah heard some shocking stories about him, he's meant t o be a big mutton headed cabbage.........

leave degsy out of it:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

Hairy Lemon,Stephen St.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

Is everyone just saying their local?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Hairy Lemon,Stephen St.

Too expensive.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭stimpson

Gingerman. Pitchers of Rebel Red for 13 bills. Decent food. Great staff.

And Enda doesn't seem to drink there anymore since he got his new job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

pier house in howth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Palace Bar, Fleet St.

The Palace, while wonderful, can be a bit sporty of a Saturday afternoon, which might distract from the drinking and that.

And I don't see how any pub that requires bouncers could be considered the best in Dublin. Clearly something has gone wrong with it or they wouldn't be there :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Messrs Maguires is a favorite of mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 madman9

liz delaneys pub and lounge

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

BeerNut wrote: »
    The Palace, while wonderful, can be a bit sporty of a Saturday afternoon, which might distract from the drinking and that.

And I don't see how any pub that requires bouncers could be considered the best in Dublin. Clearly something has gone wrong with it or they wouldn't be there :p

Do they have bouncers now?

Hadn't noticed, though its a while since I was in it.

Shame. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Never seen bouncers at the Palace , but it's been a while.... what about the gravediggers ( Kavanaghs )? ( bit further out ) .

Maybe the Stags Head ?

Ohhhhhh sneaky Sat afternoon pints ....love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

Hairy Lemon,Stephen St.

It loses any charm it might have otherwise had when charging €5.40 a pint. Complete tourist trap that I won't set foot in again as long as they remain rip off merchants

Lapin wrote: »
    Do they have bouncers now?
    At The Palace? No. I was responding to different posts there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

The Dice bar is a grand place for pints, as is Ryans across the road from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Mr Whirly

The Thomas House, if you're in to that sort of thing.