Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

France,Luxembourg,Spain or Holland.Where to try and find work ?

• 27-04-2012 2:03am
    Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭

So I have to pick a country to go on coop for eight months in and ive narrowed it down the the four above.which should I choose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Luxembourg!

Any country with an x in the name has to be kick ass. Plus, very few shark attacks. Also the name of the capital is also Luxembourg, one less thing to have to learn off.

• Registered Users Posts: 406 ✭✭Yurt

I'm in the same boat doing co-op in UL next year and my choice is between Luxembourg or Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,178 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I got a few calls from recruiters in Holland and Luxembourg. They seem to have a lot of English speaking companies, Luxembourg has a lot of EC offices. Holland seems like a great place for technology

• Registered Users Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Depends where abouts in the countries you'd be going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

joshrogan wrote: »
    Yep North Luxembourg is sooooo much better that South Luxembourg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I know some people in very good jobs in the Netherlands but isn't Luxembourg the highest earning per capita(actually it's GDP,but still) in Europe?

In France it would depend entirely where and I, personally, wouldn't go near Spain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Have you considered Nigeria?

I just got an email from a friendly gentleman offering me gainful employment there for huge money doing very little actual work.

All I have to do is send my bank details so he can pay me.

Jolly nice of him. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It's the Netherlands. Holland is a region within it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Lapin wrote: »
    Have you considered Nigeria?

I just got an email from a friendly gentleman offering me gainful employment there for huge money doing very little actual work.

All I have to do is send my bank details so he can pay me.

Jolly nice of him. :)

Are they taking any more people on? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,529 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

joshrogan wrote: »

It's hard to get very far away from anything in Luxembourg.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Are they taking any more people on? :)

PM me your bank details and I'll put your name down. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Skuxx

Personally I'd pick Spain, I'm mad to head over there working, I you hear of any airlines hiring mechanics please let me know!!!

Isn't Luxembourg seriously expensive to live?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭NakedNNettles

Spain :pac:

Good luck with that,

Don't they have an unemployment rate of 24% or something?

To put it in context, Ireland's is 14%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Personally I'd go for France. Nice food, nice (good value) wine, nice countryside, nice weather (though that's region dependent, of course). Probably helps that I speak the language too though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Become a vagabond and live everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭weisses

thats the first time i heard that about the region ... Your right about that its the Netherlands though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Spain :pac:

Good luck with that,

Don't they have an unemployment rate of 24% or something?

To put it in context, Ireland's is 14%

Yeah, highest in Europe at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,677 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Holland, unless you speak French....

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,261 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Spain would be brilliant for living in, I loved it there, but I'd doubt there'd be any long-term employment opportunities right now. The country is probably in a worse state than Ireland.

I'd say Holland or France. I've never been to Luxembourg so don't know what to make of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭tvc15

That's what I thought until I started working with a bunch of Dutch guys, it was news to them apparently, they use the words interchangeably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Spain? :eek:

Maybe go over there to see what it looks like to have an unemployment rate of twice Irelands, and then come home and everything will seem much better !

And youth unemployment there is over 50% so if you have no work experience you REALLY are fecked over there !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭arch_stanton

New figures this morning put Spain's unemployment rate at 5.6 million or 24.4%. There are still some jobs in specialised areas or working for international companies where they need native language speakers but in general it's a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

strobe wrote: »
    Luxembourg!

Any country with an x in the name has to be kick ass. Plus, very few shark attacks. Also the name of the capital is also Luxembourg, one less thing to have to learn off.

I spent a year living monday to friday in Luxembourg and all i can say is Don't DO IT!

No one actually lives in Luxembourg but Commute from Belgum, France and Germany every day, there are lots and lots of Financial companies and not a lot else. There are four reasonable bars the same number of reasonable Restaurants. One area is good craic alright called the "Grund" which is one of the valley areas around below the main town area where there is a Bar called the Pygmalian which is run be Irish lads and good enough fun.

Other than that there's not a whole lot, I was asked to train with the Luxembourg Rugby team so there are sports you can do and football is popular but the whole city is about the size of Cork.

I would recommend somewhere like Madrid or Barcalona in Spain, good weather, nice food pretty girls etc

The one advantage of Lux is that you can go anywhere in europe from there by train. Its how I got back during the volcanic ash two years ago but that said the faster trains are very expensive and you can pretty much fly anywhere these days for the same if not less than the trains.

Best of luck with the decision, if you need any more information on Lux PM me, I've also spent time in Madrid and Edinburgh with work and I love both these locations and would highly recommend them both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Nice is a lovely city albiet with a disproportionate amount of antique shops, also you'll only be a train ride from places like st Raphael and you'd be living on the med.

Sod Spain, happy or sad their women imeidiately resort to shouting, your nerves would be shot and you'd have to go on tablets, which are pricey.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Well there are two provinces of 'Holland' called North Holland (where Amsterdam is) and South Holland (where the Hague is), but the Dutch pretty much use them inter-changeably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

If its just a temp thing and you can get work I'd pick Spain for the lifestyle etc because it's lovely. If there is intent to stay then Spain wouldn't be great for long term employment. Also you'll need Spanish as English isn't widely spoken (same would go for France languagewise).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

The Netherlands, no question. France is for French people and Spain doesn't have any jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

eoins23456 wrote: »
    So I have to pick a country to go on coop for eight months in and ive narrowed it down the the four above.which should I choose?

It depends, are you going to be working as a prostitute?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Luxembourg has the 2nd highest standard of living in the world.

According to its GDP per capita: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(PPP)_per_capita

So go and live in Luxembourg and live like a king :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭TimTim

spoofilyj wrote: »
    No one actually lives in Luxembourg but Commute from Belgum, France and Germany every day, there are lots and lots of Financial companies and not a lot else. There are four reasonable bars the same number of reasonable Restaurants. One area is good craic alright called the "Grund" which is one of the valley areas around below the main town area where there is a Bar called the Pygmalian which is run be Irish lads and good enough fun.

I was in that pub about three weeks ago, but yes I agree with the above it is a quiet city overall. Avoid the motorways at 7am and 5pm as everyone is trying to get either in or out.

It is a nice city but can be expensive to live in. On the flip side within the city you'll survive easily if you don't speak any language other then English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I moved to Holland two months ago to work. This place is a ****ing paradise.

And all they do is bitch about the weather, how everything is too expensive and how bad their public transport is. Bitch please, I just spent the last 25 years in Dublin......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭NakedNNettles

Peetrik wrote: »
    Sod Spain, happy or sad their women imeidiately resort to shouting, your nerves would be shot and you'd have to go on tablets, which are pricey.

Use ear plugs or blu tack. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Go to Holland, man it's savage. Coke & Hookers F***kn everywhere.
    You can also just walk into a coffee shop and get high, then go next door and get the happy ending.

Spain is too hot, France is too gay and what is this Luxemborg place you speak of ??

it would have to be Coke & Hookers for me I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

tvc15 wrote: »
    That's what I thought until I started working with a bunch of Dutch guys, it was news to them apparently, they use the words interchangeably
    elefant wrote: »
    Well there are two provinces of 'Holland' called North Holland (where Amsterdam is) and South Holland (where the Hague is), but the Dutch pretty much use them inter-changeably.

I have had a different experience.

But it would support just referring to Ireland as Dublin. :pac: