Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What threads do you hate to see posted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Threads that quote the Daily Mail. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I don't hate them but I'm a little baffled by them - the ones posted to Feedback or Help Desk or Newbies/FAQs about something really specific/specialised and which Feedback/Help Desk/Newbies/FAQs don't indicate so much as a hint that they'd have anything to do with them, e.g. "Where can I find a good coffee shop in Dundalk?" :confused:
    MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Is this dress too hot for my sister?
    I like those threads. :)
    skregs wrote: »
    OP: here's a typical left-wing post about something I'm immensely butthurt about. everyone must agree with me and not criticise me ever.

Me: STFU, I don't care

MOD: Banned
    Yes, that happens of course - sure. Btw, I got banned recently for a spat with someone whose views are very right-wing, so what's your point?

Like the OP said, threads that go along the lines of "can someone give me a link for google?"/"can someone tell me how to get to the city centre?" that you literally just have to type into your search bar to get an answer for.

Threads in AH that shouldn't be in AH, that the poster openly admits "but I thought I'd get more replies here" and doesn't see how there's a problem with that.

Threads where a load of guys go on about how all women, all Irish women or all young Irish women are the devil and like some sort of paper-mache exist only as a shell of makeup and fake tan, the original body having long withered away inside.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Pretty much anything on a serious issue (particularly to do with gender, single mothers, fordinners, social welfare), because it seems to be becoming increasingly hard to actually find any rational, intelligent debate.

Any sensible posts, particularly if they deal in facts and common sense, will invariably be drowned out by a load of posters trying to outdo each other in terms of their ability to dismiss the reality of situations and to get more outraged and insulting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

A their ability to dismiss the reality of situations and to get more outraged and insulting.

Like claiming that Irelands foreign born population rising from 1-17% in a decade, was relatively small change, even though no other western nation has experienced such an increase in such a short time period, post ww2?

:P

IrishAm wrote: »
    Like claiming that Irelands foreign born population rising from 1-17% in a decade, was relatively small change, even though no other western nation has experienced such an increase in such a short time period, post ww2?

:P

Another thing: people misrepresenting other people's posts.

I'm sure you remember how I agreed with you that it was a large, fast increase (I think now: I haven't really been thinking about that old thread too much), but had no reason to think it would continue to rise. (now let's not discuss this issue further, or else resurrect the thread if you wish to do so)

Yeah, people simplifying your argument to make it easier to argue against, even completely altering what you said: very annoying.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭Nolimits12

Threads that don't involve yer man b!tching about scumbags..

Someone please link me to his posts I miss reading them :(

Nolimits12 wrote: »
    Threads that don't involve yer man b!tching about scumbags..

Someone please link me to his posts I miss reading them :(

This is AH: you'll need to be more specific.

Surely you never saw the posts by the same guy who went on these hilariously long riddiculous rants about scumbags and how he hated them so much. Every thread he started had the word scumbags in the title... It was about 3 or 4 years ago so I can't remember any other specific details..

Nolimits12 wrote: »
    Surely you never saw the posts by the same guy who went on these hilariously long riddiculous rants about scumbags and how he hated them so much. Every thread he started had the word scumbags in the title... It was about 3 or 4 years ago so I can't remember any other specific details..

Was it The Citizen? There's been so many anti-scumbag rants I can't keep track of them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I know who it could be. ;)

Clue: Bono.

Was it The Citizen? There's been so many anti-scumbag rants I can't keep track of them all.

Yes!

I learnt that when I decided to search the word scumbag in AH, big mistake!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

ziggy23 wrote: »
    Single mothers are to blame for the recession and everything else.

If they didn't keep fornicating we wouldn't be in this mess

token101 wrote: »

Why, are an unusually high number of Fianna Fáil members and property developers etc the children of single mothers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Why, are an unusually high number of Fianna Fáil members and property developers etc the children of single mothers?

Consequences of the Galway Tent?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

Threads that Wibbs, Dudess and Millicent get their teeth into. They are usually hard work but also entertaining as they dismantle people one by one.

If these 3 arrive the fun is gone. The levels of enlightenment are raised and the thread gets too hard for me to follow. :) :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Dean09 wrote: »
    I hate the way AH is practically a politics forum now. It's almost depressing with the amount of threads giving out about one thing or another.

yeah apparently you can't start threads in here unless they have the seal of approval...

If i want to start a steak thread on good friday I fücking will and theres nothing any body can do or say about it.

Political thread and dole bashing threads should be sent to the recycling bin imo
    and the place just needs to lighten up in terms of doom and gloom and become more fun..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Threads that Wibbs, Dudess and Millicent get their teeth into. They are usually hard work but also entertaining as they dismantle people one by one.

If these 3 arrive the fun is gone. The levels of enlightenment are raised and the thread gets too hard for me to follow. :) :pac:

O' please... They are some of the best posters in this place that frankly are far better than you or I.
    They are more articulate and great at debating - even when I am opposing them on various topics too.
    They help make AH what it is, a good forum. One for people with brain cells - not just a permanent kiddies playground all the time with silly stuff (which I'm too guilty of posting some times also) !

You know, you have the option not to read a thread or even enter After Hours if by the looks of things, you dislike its content that much!

I suggest you take the latter option - if not the former.

Biggins wrote: »
    O' please... They are some of the best posters in this place that frankly are far better than you or I.
    They are more articulate and great at debating - even when I am opposing them on various topics too.
    They help make AH what it is, a good forum. One for people with brain cells - not just a permanent kiddies playground all the time with silly stuff (which I'm too guilty of posting some times also) !

You know, you have the option not to read a thread or even enter After Hours of by the looks of things, you dislike its content that much!

I suggest you take the latter option - if not the former.

I am actually being complimentary to the 3 posters. Must be the lack of brain cells that caused me to type my post in a way that you felt the need to educate me on my options.

I actually thought I was been complimentary to the 3 posters.

You were slightly but in doing so, you also maybe unintentionally was slipping in a few disadvantages/slights to their appearance!
    We can assume it was unintentional then and I apologise for perhaps replying too strong.

After Hours is what its is. Some people can't seem to understand what exactly After Hours is.
    (To me) its the type of place with banter that you might find down in your local pub or social gathering.
    In an often more relaxed open forum, you get everything and anything popping up. Be it occasionally silly and/or serious.
    It is what it is, a section that is open to all with all topics of decency, news and interests which in sharing some consider that others might find such things also that way too.

If people desire pure lunacy or total light-heartedness, there is other sections on boards.ie which tend to that mode.
    After Hours is an open bar with if you behave generally on all topics which might random occur, you can stay and retort and banter.
    Misbehave and the bouncers throw you out!

...And if anyone REALLY dislikes a topic, heck, there is loads of other threads in AH to read anyway. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

All of them that aren't about pizza or Steve Buscemi. Also, the ones that make me depressed about myself as a man.

...And if anyone REALLY dislikes a topic, heck, there is loads of other threads in AH to read anyway. :)

Sure, if you don't like the threads about how the Church is awful, you can always join one of the other threads (Which will probably also be about how the Church is awful).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

token101 wrote: »

oh god please say you're taking the p1ss!

You were slightly but in doing so, you also maybe unintentionally was slipping in a few disadvantages/slights to their appearance!
    We can assume it was unintentional then and I apologise for perhaps replying too strong.

After Hours is what its is. Some people can't seem to understand what exactly After Hours is.
    (To me) its the type of place with banter that you might find down in your local pub or social gathering.
    In an often more relaxed open forum, you get everything and anything popping up. Be it occasionally silly and/or serious.
    It is what it is, a section that is open to all with all topics of decency, news and interests which in sharing some consider that others might find such things also that way too.

If people desire pure lunacy or total light-heartedness, there is other sections on boards.ie which tend to that mode.
    After Hours is an open bar with if you behave generally on all topics which might random occur, you can stay and retort and banter.
    Misbehave and the bouncers throw you out!

Biggins Sir, you will one day understand that AH is in fact a collection of jumbled regurgitations. Some are more practised at this repetitive inducement and can be admired for their devotion to the place while frequenting their more desirable private forums. Some are not so astute at knowing when their leg is being pulled, though the almost orgasmic need to refute a simple throw away is desirable in it's wanton need to become but another exercise in futility.

You are my favourite. :)

Sure, if you don't like the threads about how the Church is awful, you can always join one of the other threads (Which will probably also be about how the Church is awful).

Depending on the events of the day or the week, etc, certain topics to regular occur.
    I agree that sometimes what seems like the appearance of many of the same topic can be annoying at times but the mods do a good job of keeping those subject topics down to a small minimum if they can.

If people get the impression that a certain train of thought (church dislike - for example) is more prevalent than other trains of thought (church like - for example), its a show of cause and effect.
    If certain things behaved differently and/or didn't actually do things at all in some cases, there wouldn't be so many threads based around certain topics, started up by those that are concerned by such matters.

...In other words, the messenger should not be shot because the readers just doesn't like the message.
    After all, its not the messenger that originally caused the source possible problem in the first place!

...You are my favourite. :)
    Don't tell my wife. She don't like to share the lube! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Threads lacking pandas

Mostly I just ignore the threads that bore me, but funny threads that are just having the craic and are mostly nonsense get pushed back several pages because some lady with eight kids had a ninth or whatever. I come to the Interbutts to escape reality, not see more of it with added hard right / left dipshits ignoring logic.

Don't tell my wife. She don't like to share the lube! :D

We have a secret tube.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

I'm sorry. :(

Something, something, fordeigners, something, something, the blacks, something, something, welfare scum. I know all this is true because my granny's neighbour's cousin who goes to the same dog groomer as the guy who works for the pond foundation said that he told him he saw a Polish, single mother, who was black, once eat a swan. So it must be true.

Better? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

I hate threads where someone tries to come across all smarty arsed with big fancy words that no self-respecting person would use in conversation in the real life or else they'd get a punch in the face......,

Also threads where some people take a long block of text another poster has posted and they dissect it line by line... God, I hate that:(

Millicent wrote: »
    I'm sorry. :(

Something, something, fordeigners, something, something, the blacks, something, something, welfare scum. I know all this is true because my granny's neighbour's cousin who goes to the same dog groomer as the guy who works for the pond foundation said that he told him he saw a Polish, single mother, who was black, once eat a swan. So it must be true.

Better? :pac:

It was trying to be nice. :o

I know, I know. I jest!

I didn't realise you knew how. :pac: :D

I don't. I was born without a sense of humour. It's a debilitating condition. The humour-impaired are people too, you know. Stop judging me! :mad:

I will stop immediately. ;)

You're just a bitter begrudger and the banks are to blame,

Anyway, the politicians earn more:D

micropig wrote: »

That is true. See that Enda Kenny? He'd eat you and everyone you care about if you gave him half the chance, don't kid yourself.

Not if Seanie Fitzpatrick got there first:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Threads about the OP where they expect to solve a major issue or tell the what to do, when I see a lot of personal issue threads all I can think is well the answer is not going to be in this thread and I'm not really sure what you're asking, but people need to vent but not ramble imo.

Diet and nutrition threads about their own diet, why don't you google the nutrition of your foods and figure out what you need.

I am foreigner,
    I come to take your job,
    But you have no job:pac:

Monies & communion dresses please:D

micropig wrote: »

I just got almost this exact response to a post I made in another thread about an unrelated topic

It's so predictable it's almost comforting at this stage:pac::pac::pac::pac:

:D:D