Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deadline Day: Bring Out The Transfer Gimp!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

amiable wrote: »
    Cassano on Galliani this morning "Talks and talks. He is only friends with people who lick his ass"

Not so nice when its the other way around! :P
    danlevy1 ‏@danlevy1
    Uli Hoeness: "Mario Gomez is a good striker, but not a very good striker. Otherwise we would have beaten Chelsea in the Champs Lge final."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,422 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Balague's career is a fine example of timing. He was around when an interest formed in the UK for following Spanish football on a weekly basis, got on the Sky gravy train and managed to convince people that he had a close relationship with key Spanish players and fans.

He's now essentially untouchable despite a string of bull**** 'in the know' transfer stories and, frankly, sub par analysis on Sky. More power to him - he took advantage of his breaks. He's not worth listening to though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Alvaro Pereira to Inter is done.

http://www.inter.it/aas/news/reader?N=40628&L=en

Didn't Porto reject 20MP bid last season? They sold him for less than half of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Doodee

Makoun from Villa to Rennes on season long loan with option to buy.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11677/8015985/Makoun-loaned-to-Rennes

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Balague's career is a fine example of timing. He was around when an interest formed in the UK for following Spanish football on a weekly basis, got on the Sky gravy train and managed to convince people that he had a close relationship with key Spanish players and fans.

He's now essentially untouchable despite a string of bull**** 'in the know' transfer stories and, frankly, sub par analysis on Sky. More power to him - he took advantage of his breaks. He's not worth listening to though.

I think he's quite good on Sky. Most La Liga fans like him, i think.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Duncan Castles has just posted this on Hulk
    Zenit St Petersburg have offered €50million for the Brazil forward as the Russian champions seek to reach the knockout stages of the Champions League. While FC Porto say they have not accepted a bid that amounts to half of Hulk's buyout clause, it is understood that the Portuguese club will sell for that figure if it is not exceeded in the final week of the transfer window. Chelsea have pursued Hulk for well over a year, but are not expected to match Zenit's offer for the 26-year-old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,568 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Duncan Castles has just posted this on Hulk

Jaysus that is incredible money for him.Porto are unreal in the transfer market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

May have already been posted but Duncan Castles says Michael Dawson has turned down QPR and asked his agent to try and arrange a move to Sunderland.

http://sulia.com/channel/soccer/f/cd2dda34-f2a0-4b07-be7d-da0638abfad1/?source=twitter
    Michael Dawson turns down a Queens Park Rangers in the hope of arranging a transfer to Sunderland. #QPR #THFC #SAFC

An offer worth up to £9 million was accepted by Tottenham for Dawson, who subsequently decided he did not fancy Loftus Road and asked his agent to try to arrange him a transfer to Sunderland instead.

An interesting one that seems to be popping up tonight is Clint Dempsey to Sunderland.

Of course I don't expect him to end up with us and he'll more than likely sign with Liverpool, but apparently Sunderland are interested in him and are hoping to at least get him in a room for talks now that he's burnt his bridges with Fulham and the Liverpool talk has quietened a bit after Rodgers was reported.

Fulham have been interested in Campbell for a few weeks now and Richardson wants to go back to London. Stick those two in any sort of deal and Fulham may well be interested.

That said, it would be practically impossible for us to field a side with McClean, Johnson, Sessegnon, Fletcher and Dempsey all in and Dempsey would probably rather get something sorted with Fulham if the Liverpool move doesn't happen rather than move to the north-east.

Like I said, doesn't look likely, but may be something worth keeping an eye on if it gets to the middle of the week and he still hasn't got a move sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭BINKY NIPPER

Paully D wrote: »
    An interesting one that seems to be popping up tonight is Clint Dempsey to Sunderland.

Of course I don't expect him to end up with us and he'll more than likely sign with Liverpool, but apparently Sunderland are interested in him and are hoping to at least get him in a room for talks now that he's burnt his bridges with Fulham and the Liverpool talk has quietened a bit after Rodgers was reported.

Fulham have been interested in Campbell for a few weeks now and Richardson wants to go back to London. Stick those two in any sort of deal and Fulham may well be interested.

That said, it would be practically impossible for us to field a side with McClean, Johnson, Sessegnon, Fletcher and Dempsey all in and Dempsey would probably rather get something sorted with Fulham if the Liverpool move doesn't happen rather than move to the north-east.

Like I said, doesn't look likely, but may be something worth keeping an eye on if it gets to the middle of the week and he still hasn't got a move sorted.

No offence but sunderland would be a sideways move for him from fulham.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

At this stage he doesn't have much choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

As opposed to Liverpool you mean? I wonder if Fulham will sell him to Rodgers if there is viable initerest elsewhere

Completely agree mate, no offence taken as you're dead right.

Fulham is more attractive for many players as we're pretty much even in terms of the league, they've been in a European final over the last few years and they're based on London (which is a huge selling point for the vast majority of players).

That said, if the Liverpool move doesn't happen and he's irreparably burnt his bridges with Fulham then he might not have a choice but to at least sit down and talk to us.

I'd be absolutely shocked if it happened though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Completely agree mate, no offence taken as you're dead right.

Fulham is more attractive for many players as we're pretty much even in terms of the league, they've been in a European final over the last few years and they're based on London (which is a huge selling point for the vast majority of players).

That said, if the Liverpool move doesn't happen and he's irreparably burnt his bridges with Fulham then he might not have a choice but to at least sit down and talk to us.

I'd be absolutely shocked if it happened though.

I can't see MON getting on with a lad like him. Would be a great signing for Sunderland though.

At this stage he doesn't have much choice.

That's the thing that may work in our favour.

I suspect he's using (or going to use) the reported Sunderland leverage to try and force Liverpool's hand, but what if Liverpool's offer doesn't come? Then we have a (albeit still small) chance.

It was the same with Adam Johnson. If any of the other clubs reported to be interested (Liverpool, Tottenham, Everton) had actually made a concrete offer there's no doubt in my mind he'd have gone there, but no other offers came in and we got him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Strange one about Adam Johnson,he was at Newcastles Centre of excellence when he was a kid,joined Middlesborough,now at Sunderland,his family support Sunderland and he is a Newcastle fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Luka gone subject to a medical plus a partnership agreement signed with real Madrid which I'm not sure what that will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,914 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Luka gone subject to a medical plus a partnership agreement signed with real Madrid which I'm not sure what that will do.

Ronaldo for Jenas, easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Xavi6 wrote: »

Ronaldo for Jenas, easy
    Would they take bently as well we'll throw some cash in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Modric now officially gone and a new partnership between Spurs and Real announced .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Leiva wrote: »
    Modric now officially gone and a new partnership between Spurs and Real announced .

A week too late, thankfully for us, for Sahin to be the first step in that partnership. Could be a masterstroke by Levy though.

Arsenal already effectively have one with Barca (one way), maybe we can create one with Dortmund? Sahin can help. Then we can get first dibs on Hummels, Gotze and Lewendowski...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭batistuta9

after all the praise levy gets on here, they were about him yesterday on the sunday supplement. That he always leaves things to late in the transfer window & that this is potentially causing tottenham a few problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,914 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

First pic of Modric as a Madrid player

113863BD-7B10-40E1-B941-2FB60E9482A6-2834-000003CABBD5978B.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Dickerty wrote: »
    A week too late, thankfully for us, for Sahin to be the first step in that partnership. Could be a masterstroke by Levy though.

Sounds like the "Special relationship" between the US and the UK where the bigger party gets to screw the smaller one because they're friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Spurs look to be spending some of the Modric money already .

11.8mil bid for Willian rejected.

Dembele aswell.

Whoever lands Dembele will be adding a cracking player to their squad .

Gillington wrote: »
    Strange one about Adam Johnson,he was at Newcastles Centre of excellence when he was a kid,joined Middlesborough,now at Sunderland,his family support Sunderland and he is a Newcastle fan.

Says himself he supported Manchester United but his family were all Sunderland fans:

http://fourfourtwo.com/interviews/boysabitspecial/112/article.aspx

There's so many conflicting stories on it. Maybe just a north-east football fan without specifically supporting one of the clubs given that he's been involved with all 3 clubs in some way, shape or form? Either way I'm just delighted he's a Sunderland player now :)

Steed Malbranque signs for Lyon after impressing whilst training with them this preseason. Great to see him back in the game after a year out.

steeeed.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Dickerty wrote: »

Arsenal already effectively have one with Barca (one way), maybe we can create one with Dortmund? Sahin can help. Then we can get first dibs on Hummels, Gotze and Lewendowski...

You could give them a ring, the phone number is 004923190200 :D

But why not? Borussia's Youth Academy has a good reputation, so has Liverpool, since the UEFA Cup final :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Steed Malbranque signs for Lyon after impressing whilst training with them this preseason. Great to see him back in the game after a year out.

Steeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeed!

Spurs are back in for Hugo Lloris according to Andy Brassell who is a decent freelance journalist based in Europe

Lars1916 wrote: »
    You could give them a ring, the phone number is 004923190200 :D

But why not? Borussia's Youth Academy has a good reputation, so has Liverpool, since the UEFA Cup final :)

Seems like a great deal all round! ;)

Sky Sports say Everton have made an enquiry for Dundee United's Johnny Russell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

He has looked quality any time I've seen him, albeit in a weak league. Would probably be available for cheap enough too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

He has looked quality any time I've seen him, albeit in a weak league. Would probably be available for cheap enough too.

Agreed, also think he may be in the last year of his contract.

Maybe I mix up some names, but weren't Celtic after him as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Maybe I mix up some names, but weren't Celtic after him as well?

They were but they werent going to pay £2m for a guy with 1 year left on his contract. I think they were going to wait for a precontract if possible but I'd say Everton will pay the asking price.

Dempsey wrote: »
    They were but they werent going to pay £2m for a guy with 1 year left on his contract. I think they were going to wait for a precontract if possible but I'd say Everton will pay the asking price.

I would have taken him at Celtic, or wasn't he the guy, who scored that famous goal against 'Them'?

Why spend £2m when we've got Tony Watt ;)

I take him but use him wide left rather than a striker but I wouldnt pay the money reported in the media for him though
    Charles Paterson ‏@charlesp_sky

#SSN understands Everton, Huddersfield, Bolton, Blackburn & Crystal Palace have enquired about availability of Dundee Utd's Jonny Russell

Interesting that Huddersfield are looking for a striker, a replacement for Jordan Rhodes maybe.....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

He's contracted until May 2014. I'm surprised Celtic aren't in for him since Stokes is out for 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Why spend £2m when we've got Tony Watt ;)

I take him but use him wide left rather than a striker but I wouldnt pay the money reported in the media for him though

Would ye not be better off going for Makay-Steven if you need a left winger.

He's contracted until May 2014. I'm surprised Celtic aren't in for him since Stokes is out for 3 months.

So he is, the brain isnt working right today! :pac:

Would ye not be better off going for Makay-Steven if you need a left winger.

We were keeping tabs on them both AFAIK

Celtic seem to be more interested in Yuki Otsu at the moment as DUTD are looking for offers they cant refuse.

Strong rumours that Spurs have had a bid accepted for M'Vila...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Said I'd stick it in here instead of making a new thread, what a medical is;

Never knew there was so much behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Said I'd stick it in here instead of making a new thread, what a medical is;

Never knew there was so much behind it.
    I often wondered how yhey manage to do a proper medical when a player is signrd minutes before the transfer deadline? Do they do it atferwards?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

M'Baye Niang is officially a Milan player.

Good signing, hope he gets game time. Only 17!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Joey barton on twitter 'Dosent't look like this Marseille thing is gonna happen now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭batistuta9

I often wondered how yhey manage to do a proper medical when a player is signrd minutes before the transfer deadline? Do they do it atferwards?

if they want the player to pass the medical he'll pass the medical

EDIT: i read that wrong but you could say the same thing kinda applies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Seaneh wrote: »
    M'Baye Niang is officially a Milan player.

Good signing, hope he gets game time. Only 17!

Do you watch many Caen or France under 17 games?