Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

January Transfer Gossip

• Registered Users Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Hatch99 wrote: »
    I'm not convinced by him lads if I'm honest

Most over rated player since Péle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Emoran

My aul lad used to always say I've told you a million times stop exaggerating :p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭yiddo59

Overrated or not he'd definetly improve us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

I'm not convinced by him lads if I'm honest

Why is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

yiddo59 wrote: »

Overrated or not he'd definetly improve us.

Mores the point, what's actually the problem there. Why is a player who's widely regarded as prodigiosly gifted not getting his game at an already top club, not getting much interest fro other top clubs, not showing much interest in rescuing his situation in Italy at the moment and supposedly wants to join us! Forgive me for being a little dubious about everything to do with this story.

Isn't Snejder past it? I remember the CL game at WHL where Thud had him in his pocket the whole match.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

AVB admits interest in Willian and Leandro Damiao
    Internacional striker Damiao, 23, impressed at the Olympics where he was the tournament's top scorer, while 24-year-old winger Willian has been one of the stars of Shakhtar Donetsk's Champions League campaign.

"We got in touch with Willian [in the summer] and he is one of the players that interests us," Villas-Boas said in the Daily Mirror .

"I like his style, but we could not reach the value Shakhtar were asking. It does not mean we won't try again.

"Shakhtar are a difficult club to negotiate with as they do not need the money and can keep their players.

"For Damiao, he had a spectacular Olympics. We follow the best players and youngsters. Leandro fits this profile.

"He has had injuries after London 2012, but he is a player that is always on our list."

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Very interesting - those two players would turn us into a serious outfit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Leinstersqspur

Looks like nothing more than an open statement of admiration being turned into transfer speculation to fill newspapers...

Also, hearing rumours about Lewis Holtby from Shalke?

I would cream myself we we signed both.

We badly need cover for both wings. If lennon had been missing yesterday we would have struggled. I'd like to see us move for Zaha.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,746 ✭✭✭irishmover

Those quotes are over a week old. Sky Sports just slow.

We couldn't afford Willian in the summer so I don't see how we could now and Damaio has been an interest from Spurs for almost 5 years now. Don't really expect either to be joining in January if at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭golfball37

Willian said in the media last week that he hopes Chelsea come back in for him. He obviously loves his money.

Looks like nothing more than an open statement of admiration being turned into transfer speculation to fill newspapers...

Also, hearing rumours about Lewis Holtby from Shalke?

Holtby has been talked about for a while. He's said he's definitely leaving Schalke in the summer on a free so don't think we'll be buying him in January. Only seems to be Liverpool and us interested in the PL at the moment. Remember reading the other day that Spurs appear to be front runners for him. We'll see. Don't know a huge amount about him.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Why is that?

I just thinnk he is passed his best. He seemingly has missed out on big moves over the last 2 years due to his wage demands, not much chance of getting it off Daniel I'm afraid Wes. He was crap last summer, and imo he is just looking for a big pay day.

I'd rather we put the money in to getting Damaio, and maybe Zaha.

There is money in the pot and I can see us spending if the right player became available for the right price. It's probably accepted that our valuation and Shaktar's valuation are a good few mill apart.

It would never happen but I think Walcott would be a fantastic January signing. He can play on the wing or through the middle up top and is a cracking player imo. He gets a lot of jip but the lad is only 23 and has done lots in the game. I wonder what he would be available for if Arsenal decided to sell.

Zaha looks like he has potential but the hype surrounding him will massively increase the fee involved and he is completely unproven. He has only scored 12 goals in 108 appearances for Crystal Palace like!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

God, keep Walcott away from us. Hate him, and he's nowhere near as good as some people seem to think he is.

I'd love Leandro or Willian.

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Devo from Dublin

1. Wesley / Moutinho
    2. Damiao / Lorenthe.
    3. Willian / Zaha.
    4. Holtby / Ericksson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

zaha is very over rated and will cost a fortune as he is playing in england.

Moutinho is the man we meed - if we get him in january then the window will be a huge success

We need a centre forward ASAP, its no coincidence that our form as improved dramatically since we started playing with 2 up front. When Ade heads off to the African cup of Nations we will be snookered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

I don't want anybody in January. Summer is the time to buy players. January signings are either panic or disruptive. Nobody we sign now will really dictate where we finish in the league and might actually be more trouble than its worth.

We already have an excellent squad, let's complete it in the summer rather than thinker with it .

Sturridge has officially signed for liverpool in the last hour or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

We need a striker for when Ade leaves so we can keep playing 4-4-2

We'll end up with Gallas up front.

.. and I'm not kidding.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭DubPerryman

We need a centre forward ASAP, its no coincidence that our form as improved dramatically since we started playing with 2 up front. When Ade heads off to the African cup of Nations we will be snookered.

As Mickman says, if Moutinho comes in that may be all we need. The one man up front didn't work because we had two holding midfielders in the centre of the park. If we bring in Moutinho then it could be Sandro and Moutinho in centre midfield with Dembele pushed a little further forward - a very different proposition to what we had earlier in the season.

I'd like to be a fly on the wall if Levy was to say to AVB, you can have a striker or Moutinho in January.

However, having just Defoe and Dempsey for the six or so games when Ade is away is a major risk. I'd like to see Coulthirst on the bench a couple of times, with a few minutes game time here or there.... just to see if he could handle the pressure of stepping in as cover for Ade.

Saab Ed wrote: »
    I don't want anybody in January. Summer is the time to buy players. January signings are either panic or disruptive. Nobody we sign now will really dictate where we finish in the league and might actually be more trouble than its worth.

We already have an excellent squad, let's complete it in the summer rather than thinker with it .

Look at how Jelavic and Pienaar affected Everton's run in last year! Compared to us bringing in Nelson and Saha...

January signings can be fantastic but you very rarely get any value is the major downfall. If we got Moutinho and Damaio I believe we could push Chelsea and City to the wire.

If we got Moutinho and Damaio I believe we could push Chelsea and City to the wire.

I'd agree with this. Though I just can't see us getting Damaio. If he wanted the move it would have happened by now. We've been after through enough transfer windows.

A guy on another Spurs forum that I'm on vouches for '@theSPURSinsider' on Twitter.

He's saying that "Damaio won't happen". He's also said that there is a verbal agreement between us an Eriksen and finally that our three main targets are "Moutinho, Llorente and Eriksen".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

A guy on another Spurs forum that I'm on vouches for '@theSPURSinsider' on Twitter.

He's saying that "Damaio won't happen". He's also said that there is a verbal agreement between us an Eriksen and finally that our three main targets are "Moutinho, Llorente and Eriksen".

Don't be getting me excited ye cnut :D

I know it's torturous. I remember sitting in on deadline day in August.... waiting and waiting and waiting for the Moutinho deal to be announced. :(

In the know is the biggest load of crap... Rarely do any of them know a thing!...

There's about as much chance of us getting those three as there is us getting Messi.

On a different note seems a few articles popping up saying we've made/making a bid for David Villa. Would suit our style but hope its not for much if we are going to sign him.