Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

AH's favourite imperial measurements.

• 28-04-2012 11:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭

And have we got any new ones?

Having just harvested two bushels of grain/rood, I think it's been an exceptionally good season, and feel entitled to my "shoulder" of whiskey.

I'll leave it to ye to let your imagination run wild.

I'm off down to the confectioners to get a well deserved, 1/2 ankle of jelly beans, and just a 1/4 chair of Peggy's Leg.

I've always had a soft spot for cubits too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Is a ream imperial?

If so, I choose "ream".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

I just got a 'load' of stuff in the shops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I just had my sleep deprivation measured, apparently it's at 8 internets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

Having just harvested two bushels of grain/rood, I think it's been an exceptionally good season, and feel entitled to my "shoulder" of whiskey.

I'm off down to the confectioners to get a well deserved, 1/2 ankle of jelly beans, and just a 1/4 chair of Peggy's Leg.

I could murder some crows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Is 'shitload' imperial or metric??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

The hogshead

A scatter?

A belt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

KeithM89 wrote: »
    It's actually an SI unit:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

A langer load of drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

A fair bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

A Gill.

Best unit ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Shaggin' egit.

Bleedin' < Shaggin' < Feckin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/******_%28unit%29

Edit: boards won't let me say f.a.g.g.o.t ???? replace the "******" in the above link with the offending letters for more info

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Hogsheads, Filderkins, Bushels,Gallons, Gills, Roods, Miles,etc...

It was so brilliantly organic & well.......human.

I'm 43 & was the last generation that used this system.

We sold our souls to Europe long before now, I think.

A rake.

a skinfull of beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I could murder 479.78 fluid scruples of Guinness!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Irish mile. Or just a mile if you're not a west Brit.

cool Id forgotten half of these :D

few scoups?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

A bushel of kittens.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

shoulder of lamb, not whiskey.

occasionally fhist of whiskey , but mostly feed, fheast or fondle of whiskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

Firkin.

A bushel of kittens.
    it's bushel of pussys, and well you know it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Sheppey

A sheppey is defined as the closest distance at which sheep remain picturesque, which is about 7/8 of a mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

A gee hair. As in "it's just off by a gee hair".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

A "clatter" of rain
    Don't try to tell me that rain can be measured in any other way;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

A country mile

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

A "flange" of Graham Knuttels.

A flagon

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

KeithM89 wrote: »

Would that be booze,pints or cans you're measuring? Cos I think I have a conversion table somewhere.

*Aah ffs, where did I leave me conversion table.*

\ searches the same place again.

A pile of sh!te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭policarp

A yard of ale. . .

she's only knee high to a grasshopper

ArtSmart wrote: »
    shoulder of lamb, not whiskey.

occasionally fhist of whiskey , but mostly feed, fheast or fondle of whiskey

Is "shoulder" not an old Irish euphamism for a half bottle?

Two naggins less a gill.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I can't fathom how the mods have allowed this thread to continue. They need to get down off their perch and go the extra mile to keep boards.ie in the big league.

Otherwise, they should be chained at the foot of their yard and flogged with a rod to within an inch of their lives.

Now, can I have my pound of flesh?

a load a ****

LMFAO.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

This makes me think of "sliding fit". :D

Is "shoulder" not an old Irish euphamism for a half bottle?
    no, that's American for flagon or flask of whisky (no e)

In the fair sod, we removed the difficulty of the shoulder rest by using the aul Buidéal

A barrel of laughs

humberklog wrote: »
    A "flange" of Graham Knuttels.
    Only one in ten thousand will get that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

I remember being in school and a classmate telling me her horse was 12 hands, and there was me imagining a 12 foot high horse :o

'Up the road there a good bit' is a usual one of my measurements

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

By and by - an unit of time measurement used by oldies to fobb the kids off when they asked when were they going somewhere

a tincy bit of pepper

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭captainjack

A shower of baaastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

A gnats cock = a small bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

giz some of yours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

A scrape of butter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

a smidgen