Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

AH's favourite imperial measurements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

grillions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

A shavin' of cake ie when you only want a tiny piece

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

I like one of Tommy Tiernan's: a 'small child' full of beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Just thought of another one

A shake of salt:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

and feel entitled to my "shoulder" of whiskey.
    In Cork, rather bizarrely, they call it a "double naggin" - even though 350ml is clearly not double 200ml :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

a fcukload (lots)
    or
    fcuk all (none)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

A couric

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    The hogshead

My car gets 40 rods to the hogshead and that's the way I likes it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

"Two shakes of a lamb's tail" - The measurement of time it will take your father to turn this car around, and nobody will be going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭northernpower

a shhhlapp

'thats some shhhlapp of stuff ye have'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

A fair bit of something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

ArtSmart wrote: »
    no, that's American for flagon or flask of whisky (no e)

In the fair sod, we removed the difficulty of the shoulder rest by using the aul Buidéal
    A shoulder is a 350ml bottle of spirits. In Ireland, or at least in Waterford, a flagon refers to a 2L ottle (of cider).

Also, generally American whiskey does have an e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Satts

mishkalucy wrote: »
    A "clatter" of rain
    Don't try to tell me that rain can be measured in any other way;)

Raining cats and dogs ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Satts

A pot full of toss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

it has to be football field, the only measurement an american understands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

"Buttload" - a large load, of about 108 imperial gallons (491 liters). From the middle-english 'butt' (n), which is a large cask/container used for storing liquids, esp wine

"I drank a buttload last night and had to get my stomach pumped from the resulting alcohol poisoning"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I will comeup with one in a jiffy.

I like jammered.

Furlongs per fortnight.

The speed limit on this road is 80640 fpf (50kmh)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

A whole hape.

This is a quantity I often hear my rural brethren* use. I think it's a vast amount.

*boggers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

a smattering of tinkers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

An arsload.

Any young people still use gallons and miles?

A shoal of horses

A herd of fish

A flock of frocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

This thread just reminds me of this scene in Family Guy discussing odd units of measurement. A Drum of Grape Jam, a desk of Cheezits...:p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Have we any physicists/historians out there? I've always wanted to know whether a "Feed of dhrink" is more than a "rake of pints", anyone any idea?

Obviously, "a few", is the most amount of alcohol that anyone can imbibe, but, I'd be interested to know what are the second,third, and fourth highest amounts on this table of shame.

Choco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Can't remember exactly what the context was, but my friends dad once referred to a 'kuntfull' of something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

Can't remember exactly what the context was, but my friends dad once referred to a 'kuntfull' of something.
    the utd team ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

While we're on the subject - what the hell is a hundred weight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,488 ✭✭✭✭Alun

ardinn wrote: »
    While we're on the subject - what the hell is a hundred weight?
    112 pounds, or 8 stone, or 4 quarters. 20 hundredweight is 1 ton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

My grandfather had a great one....
    When describing the days getting longer in summer he would say that the sun is out longer today "By a cockerels step on a dung-heap"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

'cubit' sounds like 'arsecock' in French so obviously that one is a fave with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

A small child full of beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

IM0 wrote: »
    I just got a 'load' of stuff in the shops

Just got a few "bits and pieces" myself.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,510 ✭✭✭cml387

Also from the Meaning of Liff:

BLEAN (n.)
    Scientific measure of luminosity : 1 glimmer = 100,000 bleans. Usherettes' torches are designed to produce between 2.5 and 4 bleans, enabling them to assist you in falling downstairs, treading on people or putting your hand into a Neapolitan tub when reaching for change.

A mate of mine got into cycling one year. All my mates were in my gaff and the bell rang, my mother answered the door and all we heard was her saying **** you look absolutely ridicules.

And in he walked, at that time the only people who wore Lycra were the professional cyclists and there he was head to toe in it, now to be charitable he was an obese fat cnut and his top was to small for him, so his fat flesh hung over his Lycra bottoms which showed his bulge to the world.

We never laughed so much, I had pains in the back of my head from the convulsions, then he said is anyone coming to the the shoppo, we are in our bollox and off he went on his own.

He I tell you was a man who never gave a bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

An eighth, or maybe even a quarter, seldom a half.