Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What do you call 0 ?

• 29-04-2012 10:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭

Is it zero, naught or o ?

both!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

I call it 0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Depends on the situation. When calling out phones numbers its always "o". Every other time its zero.

"Nought" annoys me. Dunno why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Depends on the situation. When calling out phones numbers its always "o". Every other time its zero.
    ^ this

But more importantly, why?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

zero

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Abi wrote: »
    ^ this

But more importantly, why?

Its probably nothing ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭Archeron

Humpty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Being broke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

So when calling out numbers with a 0 in the middle, u say
    o87-1234o67 ? Does that sound weird to you? Or anyone?

Convention with phone numbers is to use 'oh'. Even though I'd use 'zero' for everything else 0 related, I'd think it was pretty odd if someone said zero in a phone number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Did ye see that West Brom and Aston Villa drew zero-nought yesterday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

'oh' to start off a number (087, 01 etc) and then 'zero' for anything after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

Another thread of substance from HLW. Keep up the good work. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭TheBody

Zero all the way for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,140 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Feck all or diddly squat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

I use all three. I think it the context I which I use it depends on who I'm talking to, like for international calls or whatever.

Probably use "oh" the most though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

You just made me realise I'm a freak...

I'll always say o 8 7...but for a 0 in the middle of a phone number its definitely zero...

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

"Oh" is a letter. That's wrong if you're referring to a number. It drives me f8cking mad. How would you like it if I called myself Patrick zero Sullivan??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

MadPatrick wrote: »
    "Oh" is a letter. That's wrong if you're referring to a number. It drives me f8cking mad. How would you like it if I called myself Patrick zero Sullivan??

Calm down you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Depends on who I'm talking to...

If it's someone who is not a native English speaker it's always zero.
    Native English speaker is Oh!

Alright, calm down, calm down (said in worst Liverpool accent EVER)

Just call yourself Mc Sullivan, you'll be sorted :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Here's my number its zeroeightseventwofourzeroeighttwozero
    not at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Davidson2k9

I read the title as "What do you call zero?"

For me, phone number prefixes would always be "o", just because it's how they would be referred to by everybody, but any other time there'd be a 0, it's always zero.

It's wrong, wrong I tells ya. Oh is a letter, zero or naught is a number. I'm willing to hold a revolution, I don't care how many die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

And 8 is a number...

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Ah nuts

Call it what you like, it never answers back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I call it the amount of money I usually have.

It's wrong, wrong I tells ya. Oh is a letter, zero or naught is a number. I'm willing to hold a revolution, I don't care how many die

Sssshhh, it's OKAY, relax there now, it'll be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,629 ✭✭✭TheBody

I'm with you MadPatrick. You are the angel of death and the time for purification has arrived!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Oh is a letter

I think you'll find oh is two letters

44leto wrote: »
    I call it the amount of money I usually have.

That would be fcuk all then?

And 8 is a number...

Ah touche.....

But still, grrrrr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Elongated circle.

The modern numerical digit 0 is usually written as a circle or ellipse. Traditionally, many print typefaces made the capital letter O more rounded than the narrower, elliptical digit 0.[28] Typewriters originally made no distinction in shape between O and 0; some models did not even have a separate key for the digit 0. The distinction came into prominence on modern character displays.[28]

Elongated circle.

Oval?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

RachaelVO wrote: »
    That would be fcuk all then?

Another term for it, fuvk all is a rational number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

"Nought" annoys me. Dunno why.

Is it just the English who say nought? Never heard it said here.

Typical AH thread - all about nothing.

smcgiff wrote: »
    Oval?

Look pal, I don't know what you're suggesting but for the record, my elongated circle is no oval, lets just get that straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Always zero, except the odd time when talking about Bond......James Bond.

Double zero 7 doesn't sound as catchy.

lets just get that straight.

Then it'd be a line, or a one even. That's just madness I tell you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

You just made me realise I'm a freak...

I'll always say o 8 7...but for a 0 in the middle of a phone number its definitely zero...

I do this as well, I haven't a clue why though!!

For me, its 'oh' or zero, and for football its nil (and for some reason with rugby, I say nothing, like 36-nothing). Its too early to think about these things!!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Ah heck, I thought this was a thread about getting/giving head!:D

Love

As in Love 87 etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Satts

Is it zero, naught or o ?

My father calls it aught.

Thrill wrote: »
    Always zero, except the odd time when talking about Bond......James Bond.

Double zero 7 doesn't sound as catchy.

No not as catchy; but technically correct.

Maybe if he called himself double zero 7, he wouldn't rub people/international villains up the wrong way.
    And hence the world would be a much safer place.

International diplomatic relationships often rupture on these overlooked vocabulary nuances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

double-oh-seven, room one-oh-one, oh-eight-six.. It's not really going anywhere as an effective measure of verbal shorthand.

I do get peeved at inconsistency though: I used to work in a call centre taking credit card bookings, and I swear pepole would read out their card numbers with every possible '0' option thrown in.
    Four-two-six-three.. Zero-nought-oh-one.. etc.