Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roy Hodgson Confirmed as England Manager

14567810»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Paparazzo wrote: »
    And gerrard gets on with him, so the other 2 aren't english so it doesn't matter.

And do the other two get their game internationally?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

In fairness, Liverpool would have had a lot more big players than the likes of Fulham or WBA when Hodgson was there

Reina, Torres, Gerard, Agger, Johnson, Caghaher, Merailes and a few others.

I have a feeling Hodgson is a system man, a bit like Trapatoni.

Players of lesser quality and ego usually adapt to a system better, eg the Irish midfield.

Basically they stand in the middle of the park and try to break up the opposing teams play. It makes sense, instead of getting pulled all over the place.

Players like Gerard are more individualistic and can pop up anywhere. They are often given free reign to do what they like.

Players of lesser quality are often better at following orders than big name stars who just want to do things their way.

I think England will be lucky to get a point at the Euros.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

K-9 wrote: »
    Did you really think he'd say anything else? :D

Martin Lipton was on the radio a few nights ago and said Gerrard liked him at Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Martin Lipton was on the radio a few nights ago and said Gerrard liked him at Liverpool.

Well I doubt even many of the Liverpool players hate him. Reina, Agger and Johnson were reported to have big differences.

The problem was he took a set of players suited to playing a certain way and tried to impose his system on them, showing little sign of adapting to those players. Not many world class or whatever but a team littered with internationals, most of them comfortable on the ball. The new tactic seemed to be mainly to tell Reina to kick it long to Torres!

I've nothing personal against Roy, wrong man, wrong club, the owners fault but I've my doubts how he'll manage the "world class" egos he will have.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

The English FA make the FAI look professional and that takes some doing.

If England get a point in the Euros it will be some achievement.

Giving any international manager a 4 year deal is madness imo, should be 2 years max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

plasmaguy wrote: »
    The English FA make the FAI look professional and that takes some doing.

If England get a point in the Euros it will be some achievement.

Giving any international manager a 4 year deal is madness imo, should be 2 years max.

Ha it'd have been awfully cunty of them to give Roy exactly a 2 year deal. It'd be expiring before the next World Cup.

Anyway I don't think contracts mean all that much these days anyway. Teams are willing to pay compensation to get a manager and teams are also willing to just dump managers at a seconds notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Like the English team?
    Statistically England are the 10th best team in the world. That would require a team to be better than ordinary for sure.
    And who would those "big name players" be?
    If you need me, to name the big name English players for you, then you've got it pretty bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Hodgson was out of his depth at Liverpool, and 1. it explains why no one has ever really given him a chance at a top club for his extremely long career. He's a journey-man manager and always will be. Like solid player who'll always have a career at mid-table teams but if he ever makes the jump to a top side he'll be found out very quickly. I always lol at the fan excuse, as if Roy had gotten us to the top of the table the fans would have still hated him and made him quit. 2. All Roy had to do to get the fans behind him was win games and not like a grade A tit in front of the media, he failed spectacularly on both accounts and was rightly told to gtfo. The only person to blame for Roys complete ineptness at Liverpool is Roy himself.
    Mr Alan wrote: »
    But yet almost instantly upon Kenny's arrival they all started playing infinitely better. Co-incidence? :confused:

3. Hodgson was a large part of the reason Torres was playing as badly as he was. In the season prior to his arrival Torres had the best goals per minute ratio in the league, his issues were to do with fitness only at that time. Torres is quite weak mentally & to have a manager who seemed to want him to emulate Bobby Zamora & was not willing to defend him in public absolutely destroyed the lads confidence. His 4.form instantly improved 10 fold when Kenny arrived with Torres banging in 4 goals in the month or so he was with Kenny.
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    lol, we're past vindication for his sacking. Liverpool play their second cup final of the season on Saturday. What Hodgson does the rest of his career is irrelavant to the reasons he was sacked as Liverpool manager 16 months ago. 5. You and your kind can continue to tie every half decent result or achievement by him back to his Liverpool tenure for ever more if you wish, but it won't change the fact that Liverpool were correct to remove him when they did.
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Hodgson may be a nice man and a decent journeyman manager, but yet again he is being installed into a job where 6. A) the pressure cooker nature and consequent high expectations are beyond anything he has dealt with in over a decade and B) he represents a big downgrade in talent and experience from the previous incumbent.

Were the FA not paying attention during the latter half of 2010? At Fulham and West Brom the expectations are much lower, there is nowhere near the same level of scrutiny and analysis and little or nothing will be forgiven by the fans or media. We're back to the same question that was asked numerous times with no satisfactory answer two years ago:

WHAT IS IN HIS CV THAT JUSTIFIES HIS CANDIDACY FOR THIS ROLE?

and 7. please don't say Switzerland or Finland, because they are to England what the Fulham and West Brom jobs are to Liverpool. From what I can make out, over the course of a 36 year managerial career he has spent a total of less than three seasons at giant clubs that carry the type of expectations that managing England entails. They were not vintage periods for those clubs in terms of playing staff, but this is not a vintage England team either - and Hodgson didn't rise above and demonstrate a capacity to meet and exceed what was required.

In my view, he is not up to the substantial task of managing England. That they forced out one of the few men in world football capable of making it happen in such an environment to hire him is, well, self defeating. LOL England as always I guess.

pure LOL from the die-hard Koppites. where to start....

1. Inter and Liverpool gave him a chance - well Inter did. And when he left they were 3rd in Serie A.

2. so all he had to do was win games and not be a Grade A tit in the media??? Hang on i'll try get you Kennys email address, forward that advice on!!!!!

3. Laughable. Torres was piss poor in the World Cup of 2010 and carried that form into the league season.

4. lol @ "banging in 4 goals" linking that to Kenny. he scored a few against bottom of the table clubs. A player that good will eventually score goals irrespective of form or manager. He's failed under so many managers in recent seasons - Del Bosque, Ancelotti, AVB, Roy, Kenny.......linking anything in his form to Roy is so ridiculous it's untrue.

5. lol @ "you and your kind"......Roy got the job for 279 days at Liverpool. Like Robbie Keanes spell there, you can't judge success or failure based on that period of time. It's "you" and "your kind" who give the man no credit. Taking Switzerland to the Last 16 of a World Cup is the equivalent of taking Swansea into the Champions League. It's a monumentous achievement at international level. Should be worth pointing out here that under Hodgson Switzerland were at one point ranked 3rd in the WORLD. Yes, switzerland......

6. He should be well used to false, high expecatations, being at liverpool....where you yourself in many threads have simply fawned over 2 cup finals. If that's representing success then fair enough but this "we're a big club" nonsense has to stop.

7. more "liverpool big club" nonsense. At the end of the day, whether it's Switzerland or Mali or Jamaica, taking a relatively tiny nation to a world cup last-16 and 3rd in world rankings is massive.

Just a load of Liverpool blinkered nonsense spouted in this thread.

As for england - realistic candidates for the summer appeared to be Harry, Roy and Pearce. Meh, much of a muchness. Harry hasn't exactly got the best CV ever either - Bournemouth, West Ham, Portsmouth, Southampton, Spurs. Arguably 1 experience of a "big club" and has it been successful? I dont know. Spurs have spent an awful lot of money for a very good squad and i don't know what they've achieved yet. Pearce would have done ok in a temporary role.

Fact is, nobody is expecting anything of England or Roy in the media anyway. English fans will always have a semi-delusional expectation of getting to the final or winning it, but that's based on history (like Liverpool) and the reality is Roy will probably do better than the media expects (which won't be hard). If i was an England fan i would have done anything possible to get Hiddink but good luck to Roy.

grenache wrote: »
    Statistically England are the 10th best team in the world. That would require a team to be better than ordinary for sure.
    And what have they achieved? Football is a results game.

grenache wrote: »
    If you need me, to name the big name English players for you, then you've got it pretty bad.
    Go back and read my post again. Good lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Spot on. And the one "big name player" at liverpool is Gerrard who apparently got on with Hodgson very well and has great respect for him.

I still reckon Gerrard missed the penalty against Blackburn on purpose which was Woy's last game.

Ha it'd have been awfully cunty of them to give Roy exactly a 2 year deal. It'd be expiring before the next World Cup.

Anyway I don't think contracts mean all that much these days anyway. Teams are willing to pay compensation to get a manager and teams are also willing to just dump managers at a seconds notice.

Fine, 2 and a bit years contract, you knew what I meant anyways, international managers contracts tend to end soon after major championships, and his 4 years one would end soon after 2016 Euros.

4 years is an eternity in international management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,112 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

djPSB wrote: »
    I still reckon Gerrard missed the penalty against Blackburn on purpose which was Woy's last game.
    Grow up, cop on and when you do then think about what you just posted here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

eagle eye wrote: »
    Grow up, cop on and when you do then think about what you just posted here.

Excuse me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,058 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

djPSB wrote: »
    Excuse me?

He is saying you are talking ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,058 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

And what have they achieved? Football is a results game.

Go back and read my post again. Good lad.

Well i would count Holland as an excellent team, but what have they achievied, one euro championship 24 years ago.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Well i would count Holland as an excellent team, but what have they achievied, one euro championship 24 years ago.

Better than England that's for sure.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netherlands_national_football_team#Competitive_record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,859 ✭✭✭✭kippy

What?
    Contracts mean big pay offs for managers when thing invariably don't work out (for whatever reason).

The FA giving Roy a 4 year deal was absolutely epic work on behalf of his agents.
    Roy and his management team made about 9 million from getting fired from Liverpool after 6 months and if he gets fired here he'll probably make more and be free to got back into management of a club again.

Roy does well motivating average players at clubs/teams with fans with realistic expectations.
    England have a lot of average players so on that side its a good thing for england, however a lot of fans/media have very unrealistic expectations.

Fair play to Roy, more power to him, seems like a nice chap who can have some success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

plasmaguy wrote: »
    Fine, 2 and a bit years contract, you knew what I meant anyways, international managers contracts tend to end soon after major championships, and his 4 years one would end soon after 2016 Euros.

4 years is an eternity in international management.

I was only having a laugh.

It's a very long time alright. I've never really heard of a 2-year contract bar Trapattoni's one. I'm sure there is a clause somewhere in it that states they'll review his performance after the 2014 WC.

Also the 4 year deal could be meant as a statement of intent by the FA. The last thing they want is question marks over their managers future before he's even started.

Anyway it's not the worst contract of all time. That is reserved for Eddie O'Sullivan. Handed a 4-year contract right before the '07 WC by the IRFU.