Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone else freaking out about entering your late 20s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Superbus wrote: »
    I'm heading for 18, how'd you like that :cool:
    Bloody kids :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭Roadtrippin

whirlpool wrote: »
    I should have left out the specific age and just said "Anyone else freaking out about getting older?"

so as to avoid all the astronomically pointless "What are ye moaning about, you're younger than me!" replies. :rolleyes:

Yes, the older I get the more I tend to freak out about it sometimes. I'd say if you did a poll about it and correlate it to gender, you'd find girls tend to freak about it about double or triple as much as guys IMHO.

I do think I am much happier in my late twenties and more self-assured now than I ever was in my early twenties, to be honest!
    I never get people that say, oh I wish I was 21 again! I don't! I was an insecure, naive mess at that age! Know a lot more about the big bad world these days :D

So the short answer: yes, it freaks me out how short life seems sometimes BUT the thought of it doesn't keep me awake at night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'm 34 in three weeks but I'm not dreading it or freaked, because... what's there to dread or freak about? :confused: it won't affect my life whatsoever.
    Not saying I like getting older or anything (although some stuff that goes with it is pretty cool - mainly being happier in yourself) but panicking... Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I can relate OP, just turned 25, doesn't seem like that long ago I was 18 and celebrating finishing my LC. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Frada's only 24? :eek:
    Jeez...

I've my "one-third statistically speaking"-life crisis planned out. I'm going to buy a boat and live on it for a year. All I need now is to find a suitable lass, or two, who I might persuade to join me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

I'm one of those men who gets more and more attractive every year so bring it on :pac: same can't be said about the wimmin http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056623018 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I'm not worried about my late 20s and getting older at all I'm more worried that I'm not making the most of my youth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

I think one of the reasons behind this fear of getting older is some people have a vague idea in their sub conscious that life will get good some point in the future. Then as each year passes the realisation starts to set in that " this is it" as they never reach that point in the future that is so good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

32 it seems like a nice number, but my life is not where I perceive a 32 year old life to be- house, ltr, career advancement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Turning 27 this week., depressed like fcuk. Want to be 20 again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Yup, one can waste a lot of time waiting for things to get good rather than actively going out to seek those good things.

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭Raspberries

I'm turning 25 in August. I've already started to worry about it, so I've decided to do a '25 things before I turn 25' thing to make the most of my remaining youth ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

I'm 27 now, I am the happiest I have ever been.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

That is it completely. When you are younger and things are s**t you think things will be better when i'm older, in a better job, richer, in a better relationship, looking better etc etc. Then as the years go by you think... f**k this really is all there is. You are the same old plonker you were all them years ago.

teednab-el wrote: »
    Turning 27 this week., depressed like fcuk. Want to be 20 again.

Why? What's so great about 20? I had no money, no education and a sh*t bf at the time - 20 wasn't that great at all!

And while you're being afraid of 27 you're missing out on enjoying your age NOW! 10 years later you'll do the same thing... it's a vicious circle! WAKE UP PEOPLE, WAKE UP!!! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Dudess wrote: »
    What do you want people to say?

I asked a question. That would suggest I more than likely was seeking an answer to that specific question.
    Abi wrote: »
    So you wanted only mid twenties replies to agree with you saying how poxy it is?

Eh, no. When did I suggest that exactly? I asked if anyone else is hitting their mid twenties and dreading it... Have you got a specific problem with what I've asked that you'd like to share?
    Abi wrote: »
    Don't worry, I won't say the above, just that it's a pity your maturity doesn't match your age.

I'm immature because I preempted highly predictable replies and stated from the get-go that there was no need to reply with them?

I don't see why you needed to introduce an attitude problem, to be quite honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I'm 25 now. I'd love to be able to say I never "worry" about getting older but of course I do from time to time, I think most people do. It usually blindsides me some random Tuesday morning on the way into work.
    But what I wanted to say was that people almost seem to confuse getting older with not being allowed to have fun. But, in my opinion there's nothing worse than seeing old lads trying to act young. My friends Dad tries to be one of the boys and it's quite cringe worthy I feel.
    Then again, I've often been told I'm an old soul and that so can't really judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I'm 27 now, I am the happiest I have ever been.:D

Ya 27 also!
    Am mostly happy, in a job I like, married, one kid.

But I do wonder am I now too old to go to niteclubs and wear trendy clothes. Would love to go back to early 20's to be skinny again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I'm sure that's the case for a lot of people. I've personally learned to appreciate each day and everything good in my life. But it's just the realisation that I'll never "be a teenager" again (as was my fear when I was turning 20) and now I'll never be in my "early twenties" again.

Age is irrelevant to happiness. But I believe it's natural to not be completely happy with the thoughts of getting older!

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Ya 27 also!
    But I do wonder am I now too old to go to niteclubs and wear trendy clothes. Would love to go back to early 20's to be skinny again!

You're never too old to have fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I don't see why you needed to introduce an attitude problem, to be quite honest.
    I suspect the problem is that, agewise, you're "better off" than many people here. You wouldn't complain of hunger to an African child, or to an obese person of a little bit of weight you'd put on... That type of thing.
    Not that I'm suggesting that Abi et al. are anything other than perfect in every conceivable way, of course...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Ficheall wrote: »
    Frada's only 24? :eek:
    Jeez...

I used to be even younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i was dreading turning 30 then when i did it was just meh. shag all you can do about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

Well I'm 41 and I can still get my willy to stand on demand..... bring on viagra free 50. :)

i was dreading turning 30 then when i did it was just meh. shag all you can do about it

That's the spirit! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

brummytom wrote: »
    Bloody kids :mad:

And you would have gotten away with it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,681 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'm only 2 years off my ideal age 40..............Cannot wait, always wanted to be 40. Mortgage almost paid, kids almost reared and some time to get back to the land of the living!!!:D

You have that mortgage paid off very fast, I'll be 68 before mine is finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,681 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'm 37 and never felt as good as I do now. Look 10 years younger as well so nothing to complain about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

I'm 34 in three weeks but I'm not dreading it or freaked, because... what's there to dread or freak about? :confused: it won't affect my life whatsoever.
    Not saying I like getting older or anything (although some stuff that goes with it is pretty cool - mainly being happier in yourself) but panicking... Why?

So you have never freaked out at any point in your life about aging?

I've definitely freaked out a good few times.

There's a pressure right from secondary school to figure out what to do with your life and to have certain things accomplished by a certain age. Used to freak out that I hadn't a clue what I wanted to do in life while everyone around me was over and done with college and settling into their choosen profession.

Now at 26 I finally know but still have other things I want to do before getting into it. Like get two years done in Canada then two years in Oz, come back and do the 1 or 2 year course. Then go to England and get experience maybe even another country after that. Will be 34 or 35 before I'm properly getting into the career and that is hard to imagine at times.

Then of course some folks say to me... "where are you going to fit in finding a husband and popping out some kids"..... FFS I don't have time people :eek:

In my head I'm still 18 and will hopefully always feel that way even when turning 80 and still listening to The Prodigy :pac: We are going to be one weird generation of oldies that's for sure :D

What do you want people to say?

I asked a question. That would suggest I more than likely was seeking an answer to that specific question.
    And you got an answer so what's your problem? It's not the answer you wanted? Tough tbh - people who go on and on about how they're "getting old" and freaked and dreading it etc are head-wrecks and premature auldies. It shows absolutely no perspective whatsoever. I've been baffled by this outlook since I was 21.

I wonder where this silly "I'm getting old" stuff from early 20s on comes from - days of yore when life expectancy was only one's 30s maybe?

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    So you have never freaked out at any point in your life about aging?
    No, why is that surprising? Sure I've gone through the "I wish I was xyz age" or "I can't believe I'm this age, I feel way younger" moments - but "freaked"? Absolutely not.

In my head I'm still 18 and will hopefully always feel that way even when turning 80 and still listening to The Prodigy :pac: We are going to be one weird generation of oldies that's for sure :D

I'll be bopping along to "smack my bitch up" right beside you tuds :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

I think the orderlies might think it's time for your meds if you start that malarkey.

Dudess are you so opinionated in real life too? I'm not try to be a smart arse here or anything it's just you always seem to have a very definite opinion about everything. You seem to see the world in black and white where as I know myself I tend to see an awful lot of grey. Honestly not having a go, just one bears observation

That and some serious head banging and guitar trashing to "WAKE UP" by Rage against the machine!!! Good times, I say, good times! :)

I think the orderlies might think it's time for your meds if you start that malarkey.

And I'll be sayin "young wans today"

Dudess are you so opinionated in real life too? I'm not try to be a smart arse here or anything it's just you always seem to have a very definite opinion about everything. You seem to see the world in black and white where as I know myself I tend to see an awful lot of grey. Honestly not having a go, just one bears observation

Seeing the world in black and white doesn't necessarily make you opinionated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Other than being one step closer to death, getting older is brilliant. Really. No wonder surveys show that older people are the happiest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭iCosmopolis

Sunscreen every day and don't forget to moisturise regularly, you'll be grand :D and remember there's always botox for later on.

Lol. Me see the world in black and white? The opposite actually. I think there are very few issues that are black and white. But the OP did invite responses on this thread - people's views, I gave mine, and explained it. Not sure your comment makes sense tbh... :confused:

Seeing the world in black and white doesn't necessarily make you opinionated.
    Absolutely not. But you know what I'm saying I think.
    I didn't say that as a derogatory remark either by the way, not that you implied I did, I just want to be very clear about that though:p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,149 ✭✭✭ronano

Lol. Me see the world in black and white? The opposite actually. I think there are very few issues that are black and white. But the OP did invite responses on this thread.

classic dudess argues against your point! :P

I'm not too bothered by entering the twilight of my 20's (28) because while there is allot of stress in regard to jobs, degrees, courses etc i know that i'm heading in a direction i want to be rather than killing my soul with bs i've no interest in working (pft even if there were jobs out there!). I'd like to be richer, i'd like my hair to stop thinning out but otherwise i feel happier and more sure of myself.

hmmm wrote: »
    No wonder surveys show that older people are the happiest.

They do show that, don't they?
    There is loads of them surveys to be found these days:

Happiness May Come With Age, Study Says

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/01/health/research/01happy.html

Something to look forward to so:

People Happier, Less Stressed After Middle Age - Feelings of Well-Being Improve After Age 50, Research Shows

http://www.webmd.com/balance/news/20100518/people-happier-less-stressed-after-middle-age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Pensioners just wanna have fun!:D

I always thought that by the time I'm the age I am now, that I'd have all the answers... turns out I've got more questions than ever:rolleyes:
    What I despise about getting older though is the pressure. It seems to grow and grow with age. Sometimes I really do think to myself wouldn't it be easier just to end it all and be done with it, but obviously that train of thought is no way to think. I hear your 30s are great on the bright side in all in anyways.

I always thought that by the time I'm the age I am now, that I'd have all the answers... turns out I've got more questions than ever:rolleyes:
    What I despise about getting older though is the pressure. It seems to grow and grow with age. Sometimes I really do think to myself wouldn't it be easier just to end it all and be done with it, but obviously that train of thought is no way to think. I hear your 30s are great on the bright side in all in anyways.

What questions do you have to be answered?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

It depends on what you want in life.

I remember as a kid in 1980 reading a calender looking at what life would be like in the year 2000.

I calculated that I would be 32 by then & would have a wife & kids by then.

Guess what?

Y2K came & went & it hadn't happened for me.

I was still living an enjoyable, but somewhat aimless life at that stage.

A few years later though, I had kids & developed an appetite for Red Wine.

I think this is why the last 7 of 8 years has been a bit of a blur for me....

What questions do you have to be answered?
    Who took the cookies from the lunchbox:p