Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Titanic II, would you sail on it?

• 30-04-2012 12:29pm

Australian billionaire Clive Palmer to build Titanic II
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-17890754

Clive Palmer, one of Australia's richest men, has commissioned a Chinese state-owned company to build a 21st Century version of the Titanic.
    The mining billionaire told Australian media that construction would start at the end of next year.
    It would be ready to set sail in 2016.
    The plan, he added, was for the vessel to be as similar as possible to the original Titanic in design and specifications, but with modern technology.
    Well would you?

Would you sail on the Titanic II 139 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    75% 105 votes
    Are there enough lifeboats?
    24% 34 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Well would you?

(poll coming)

I get the sinking feeling this thread wont end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Yes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

yup i probably would, although i'd be wearing a inflatable ring and armbands through out the cruise

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

sure what's the worst can happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Not if it has 'Made In China' written on the side, and its for sale on Ebay.

Probably yes though, but then I'm the type who likes to tempt fate by walking under ladders and giving magpies the finger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

No, I am wary of getting into the bath after this.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056622851

"Of course it will sink if you put a hole in it,'' Mr Palmer said in response to questions from reporters on whether the Titanic replica would sink.

Still confident??? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Aye, it'll give me a chance to draw naked pictures of a girl I want to bang again.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

only if Francesco Schettino was not let anywhere near it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Will they be serving Iceberg Lettuce during lunches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

Sure by then global warming will have gotten rid of all the icebergs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

God himself could not sink that ship.

Jinx!

Your move, Mr. Palmer...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Yes.

Maritime safety has gone on leaps and bounds since 100 years ago. Also with global GPS and everything I'd always be confident if the ship did sink you would be saved.

I wouldn't be on the first voyage though. But that's just my superstition kicking in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I wouldn't, but i would approve of any such vessel being repeatedly torpedoed mid-atlantic to take all the saps that will be on it out of circulation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Maybe it will do better now its not being built by belfastians:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Yes.

Maritime safety has gone on leaps and bounds since 100 years ago. Also with global GPS and everything I'd always be confident if the ship did sink you would be saved.

Its never certain. The costa condordia basically sank on fuppin land and people still died. But you're right, you do stand a better chance of being saved than say 100 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,140 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Yes.

I wouldn't be on the first voyage though. But that's just my superstition kicking in

But if the captain's as mad as a bag of monkeys, all of that gets cancelled out.:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭BackScrub

Only if I win a ticket in a quick game of poker just before she sets sail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

it's been done already and it didn't end well.:pac:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f720MNvOeVc

could........
    ya............
    IMAGINE....

if they got your man to captain it.

well it looks like history is repeating itself...

ya have to love asylum movies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

I can see the ad now...

"The Titanic 2. Woman and children go free."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Yes, I would. :D

I'm sure they would make sure there are enough lifeboats this time around.

I got the ferry to Wales for the first time in 2010. Man, I was so impressed. The taxi pulled up and the driver said 'that's you there', nodding at the liner in front of me.

I nearly wet myself with excitement. I think I actually said 'it's like the Titanic' :o

The driver was amused and asked what did I expect, and I explained after being at Busarus the day earlier.... not much :D

I nearly wet myself with excitement. I think I actually said 'it's like the Titanic' :o

The driver was amused and asked what did I expect, and I explained after being at Busarus the day earlier.... not much :D

Thats going to make me smile all day Sunflower :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Can't believe this hasnt been done already really. Its a license to print money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I actually watched that film on the SyFy Channel ages ago. In my defence, I was sick at the time.

Dick Van Dyke's grandson saves the day...

Giselle wrote: »
    Thats going to make me smile all day Sunflower :)

Awwww, I was so, so excited... and when he said there were bars, shopping a casino area and a cinema I was like 'no bl**dy waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay.... get me on that thing' :D

I was seriously overwhelmed. I really had very low expectations so I think that is why I was floored by seeing this magnificent liner. I was grinning the whole way over, and I woke all my friends up with early texts saying 'why did none of you ever mention THIS to me before'. :D

I love the whole experience of getting the ferry. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Seachmall wrote: »
    God himself could not sink that ship.

The Belfast politician who said that was actually right (although he hardly realised it), because a non-existent entity can't actually do anything. But icebergs undeniably exist ---:rolleyes:

If they do build a Titanic II, it will sail under completely different circumstances: modern communications, aircraft, helicopters, even nuclear submarines available to help in an emergency and every iceberg tracked precisely with the aid of satellites. It will also have to have enough lifeboat space for everyone. :)

That said, remember the Estonia, which went down with the loss of 852 lives in 1994 only a few kilometres from the coast of a highly developed country. If shit is going to happen, it will happen ...:eek:

BTW, I really recommend the Titanic Centre that opened in Belfast on 1 April. A very interesting experience indeed.:cool:

Awwww, I was so, so excited... and when he said there were bars, shopping a casino area and a cinema I was like 'no bl**dy waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay.... get me on that thing' :D

I was seriously overwhelmed. I really had very low expectations so I think that is why I was floored by seeing this magnificent liner. I was grinning the whole way over, and I woke all my friends up with early texts saying 'why did none of you ever mention THIS to me before'. :D

I love the whole experience of getting the ferry. :)

I was on a cruise for five days in the Norwegian Fjiords a few years ago, and my head nearly exploded!

I get a bit overexcited too.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

No it does not appeal to me one bit, guaranteed you would have all these titanic nerds going around comparing this new one to the old one. For me it would be like going to a star trek convention, torture, and also you would have a few apes doing "I'm the king of the world" hanging off the top of it.

I was on a cruise for five days in the Norwegian Fjiords a few years ago, and my head nearly exploded!

I get a bit overexcited too.:)

WOW!!! that would 100% tip me over the edge :D i wouldn't sleep for weeks if I was going on an actual crusie. You lucky thing!!!!

I couldn't believe I was allowed out on the deck as well. It was freezing but so invigorating. I was just buzzing around after dumping my bag with an old couple that assured me they wouldn't be going anywhere. :D

The worst/funny bit was when it was time to get off, I was still hyper and not listening to the voiceover and just followed the crowd to get off. After I had gone down about three levels I realised I was heading down to the cars and was not with the foot passengers :p

I tried to force my way back but the swarms of man United fans (half tanked) were staggeringf all over the stairs and going 'ha ha you went the wrong way :p' I was like 'no **** sherlock, now please move'. One guy obviously took pity and screamed up the stairwell: 'will everyone move to the side and let the lady back up'. :D

No end of shame but funny :p

I was the last foot passenger off, talk about savouring the experience :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

I bought my ticket :pac:

Honestly the Man has lost his Banana's but he's a fawking dreamer. would be pretty awesome to see this. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

No way would I get on this ship . I think he is looking for trouble. Bad luck will follow that ship around

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭CajunPenguin

Not if it has 'Made In China' written on the side, and its for sale on Ebay.

Probably yes though, but then I'm the type who likes to tempt fate by walking under ladders and giving magpies the finger.

Sure the Chinese are deadly at building ships did you not see 2012?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭filmbuffboy

The link to that BBC article says that the guy in question has said: 'thats its going to be designed so that it won't sink'.

Tempting fate much there??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

No, the sequel is always sh1t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

It should be built in NI, not China.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

HazDanz wrote: »
    Aye, it'll give me a chance to draw naked pictures of a girl I want to bang again.
    Careful though, the thoughtless tramp will let you sink in the icy water even though there's plenty of room on her plank... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

You buy me a ticket and I'll sail on her :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

yes. but only because it would be built to be bomb proof. it will probably be the safest ship there ever was. or at least thats how he hopes you would think. so no because its a double bluff, it will be made from rubbish and sink like a stone. con man :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

No it does not appeal to me one bit, guaranteed you would have all these titanic nerds going around comparing this new one to the old one. For me it would be like going to a star trek convention, torture, and also you would have a few apes doing "I'm the king of the world" hanging off the top of it.

What like " This Titantic is significantly better than the last one, in the fact we're not actually sinking yet."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Seriously, people would be worried there's a high danger risk because of the name?!

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

As long as its not called the Costa-Titanic I'd hop aboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

I'm cool with the name, just don't register it in 2013!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Chinese built Ted

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

Be class craic

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭CajunPenguin

The link to that BBC article says that the guy in question has said: 'thats its going to be designed so that it won't sink'.

Tempting fate much there??

Exactly, have they learned nothing? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

A few Naggins they said.... be grand they said...
    http://27.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m2l2d4hJ271rnza7zo1_1280.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Only if I got to draw Kate Winslets knockers.

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

It looks like we missed the boat on this one,
    Ireland could have cashed in on this if someone had taken the inititiave.
    Would have went well with the exhibit in Belfast.

You can like it or hate it,But it would have brought tourism.......