Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cheek of some people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

One of my friends got an invite to a wedding recently and on the wedding invite it stated that the gifts jad to be €250 minimum in cash. Anyone else think this is absolutely RIDICULOUS. I don't know where the wedding is but I don't think it's relevant, if a couple want to have a mad, lavish wedding they should surely make sure they can afford it first no? :confused:

Who said romance is dead. Can't believe the cheek of that!

kfallon wrote: »
    Simple solution, don't go to the wedding, I wouldn't anyway!
    Exactly, they'll get their answer when it's just them and the mammies and daddies on the big day, sitting around looking at each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    One of my friends got an invite to a wedding recently and on the wedding invite it stated that the gifts jad to be €250 minimum in cash. Anyone else think this is absolutely RIDICULOUS. I don't know where the wedding is but I don't think it's relevant, if a couple want to have a mad, lavish wedding they should surely make sure they can afford it first no? :confused:

Who said romance is dead. Can't believe the cheek of that!

€50 per family is more than acceptable in the UK, thank fook most of my friends are over there when they marry!

It's a joke over here €50 for this, that and everything, even communions and Shiite. Don't get it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Degag wrote: »
    I would genuinely love to find out what possessed those people to ask people for €250 on the invitation - Just to see how they defend it.

take out loan for lavish wedding, expect guests to pick up the tab to pay it back, simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

iguana wrote: »
    Buy a wedding card, write the usual guff in it and add a sentence about how you hope your gift gets them started well on their marriage. Put the card in the envelope, seal the envelope, let it dry, then open the envelope ensuring it looks carefully pried open. Go to the wedding have a great time, if it's an open bar drink your fill. When they are opening the cards after the wedding they will find your empty card and wonder which of their guests stole the money you gifted them. Whenever you see them after the wedding you can ask them if they bought something nice with your money and imply that you were especially generous just to see their upset faces. :D

I love this .

• Site Banned Posts: 116 ✭✭DERPY HOOFS

I hope no 1 shows up lol

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Dear lord, some of the figures floating around here are astranomical!

When we got married we didn't expect anything from anyone, we got asked a few times and we said that it didnt matter, that we were having a party and looked forward to the craic. That said, it wasn't a mad formal wedding, and nor did I invite cousins I wouldn't recognise in the street!

My uncle gave us 250e and I nearly choked. I have to be honest, I thought it was WAY too much!

On another side, my Aunt, who never has much money gave us 40e and I was equally touched cos I knew it probably cost her more!

A present by it's very definition is a gift, something that is NOT obligatory!

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    That plan is just.... Ingenius, I want to see their faces!

That got me thinking, what would happen if people rsvp'd and just showed up with whatever gift/donation they could afford? Would be interesting to put the onus on them to say, "er...actually would you mind leaving as you haven't donated the correct amount". :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

In the height of the boom I would have given 100 in a card. These pair are greedy cnuts.
    I hope no 1 shows up lol
    This is likely to happen, or at least very few.

If the OP's foolishly remains friends with these money grabbers I suggest a small gift (not money), and only show up for the church.

Disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

No no no. No.

To do it properly, go to the wedding, drinks as much free booze as possible and give them €10 in an unmarked envelope. They'll never know who it came from. Better still mark it with the name of some family member you really don't like.

Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I would tell them to get real. You give what you can afford. Real friends would not want to see you get into debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭quietsailor

PCPhoto wrote: »
    is this a "facebook" friend ?

Do what we did to one of the lads ..... a gang of you get together and get the same present .... a toaster from Argos ..... he ended out with 47 toasters.

was that for a wedding down in mallow a few years ago? We did that to a friend of ours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,271 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I can understand someone hoping that their guests will give cash rather than the usual wine glasses, toasters, photo frames, "tasteful" bronze statuettes etc. that people seem to waste a fortune on but asking for cash only on the invites is tacky in the extreme, specifying an "acceptable" amount is downright disgusting.

We're planning our own wedding at the moment and, if someone asks what we want, I'd tell them cash would be best but I'll be grateful for any presents we do get. They may go straight into the attic never to be seen again but I'll still appreciate the sentiment behind them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Thats a bit celtic tiger. I do remember my sister complaining about being invited to a wedding where the couple asked their friends to spread the word that people only give cash and €100 per person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,717 ✭✭✭Feisar

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Hate wedding invitations asking for monetary gifts.

I've no problem with "cash gifts only please". €20 is better than another toaster.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

PCPhoto wrote: »
    is this a "facebook" friend ?

Do what we did to one of the lads ..... a gang of you get together and get the same present .... a toaster from Argos ..... he ended out with 47 toasters.

To be honest, I think that is bang out of order, call me dry or whatever, but if you're going to be a pack of d!cks about it, just don't bother going.

I don't agree one bit that they're asking for money, but to add salt to the wound, expecting €250 per guest is extortionate. Instead of lowering myself to their level by giving them an empty card, 47 toasters etc, I just wouldn't go and would never associate with these people again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Had I received that invitation, not only would I not attend their wedding, but I'd seriously reconsider having them in my life at all.

I know very few people who could afford that much money - in fact, it's not far off what I earn in a week.

They sound like extremely greedy, self centered people to me OP.

Confab wrote: »
    No no no. No.

To do it properly, go to the wedding, drinks as much free booze as possible and give them €10 in an unmarked envelope. They'll never know who it came from. Better still mark it with the name of some family member you really don't like.

Simple.
    I gave your post the thumbs up for 2 reasons:
    1. It was funny
    2. You said, "simple" instead of "simples" (dont know why but this drives me mad! :mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

curious with some of the replies i.e. €50 will do.
    Obviously asking for an amount is out of order.

In general, we give €200 for friends/people we see on a regular basis and €150 for cousins/obligatory invites...

€250+ for the few very close friends/brothers & sisters close friends.

In general, covering the meal + a little seems to be the rule of thumb in my experience.
    Single people give €100 in general.
    €150 would be very very generous - the equivalent of €300 for a couple

Most people end up giving you the same amount as a present when you get married!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭gerarda

Ive been to a few weddings over the years, the one I will always remember is the one that said on the invite: "Cash only please - 200 punts minimum". The ceremony took place in the hotel which had the bride, groom and two witness's present and nobody else (brides wish). They got the absolute shock of their life when they went to have the dinner in the banqueting hall and it was completely empty! No guests showed up at all! The hotel manager did the usual "Ladies and Gentleman, please be upstanding for the bride and groom!" and sniggered to himself as he walked off. She was a stockbroker and he was an architect! The hotel insisted on payment for 250 meals (of which 4 were eaten), the band played for 4 people and the bar got paid for an extension that nobody used! The marriage lasted a year.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

In general, we give €200 for friends/people we see on a regular basis and €150 for cousins/obligatory invites...

In general, covering the meal + a little seems to be the rule of thumb in my experience.

Most people end up giving you the same amount as a present when you get married!!

You're the OP's friend, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

gerarda wrote: »
    Ive been to a few weddings over the years, the one I will always remember is the one that said on the invite: "Cash only please - 200 punts minimum". The ceremony took place in the hotel which had the bride, groom and two witness's present and nobody else (brides wish). They got the absolute shock of their life when they went to have the dinner in the banqueting hall and it was completely empty! No guests showed up at all! The hotel manager did the usual "Ladies and Gentleman, please be upstanding for the bride and groom!" and sniggered to himself as he walked off. She was a stockbroker and he was an architect! The hotel insisted on payment for 250 meals (of which 4 were eaten), the band played for 4 people and the bar got paid for an extension that nobody used! The marriage lasted a year.....

If there was no guests there how did you remember it :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Fifty Euro in a card at the most.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

So wheres the honeymoon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I don't understand why these people aren't completely and utterly ashamed doing this?

To me, having friends and family travel to see you commit to marriage with the person you love is more than enough of a gift, everything else is a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

100 quid pp if it's a close friend. Other than that it depends on how well I know the person.

Asking for 250 is a bit out of order unless it's a fancy wedding with an open bar or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

gerarda wrote: »

even their families didnt turn up?

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭leggit

€50 on my own
    €100 as a couple

That goes for everyone except immediate family!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

I don't believe anyone would put that on their wedding invite. I need to see evidence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

I don't believe anyone would put that on their wedding invite. I need to see evidence.

You can have the evidence. First you must donate a minimum of €400.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

The Celtic tiger is still alive . €250 cash only is a joke IMHO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

frag420 wrote: »
    I would give them €2.50.........................Say there was a typo on the invite. Would love to their faces when every envelope has that familiar jingle of coins!!

Or put in €2.55 since it says 2.50 minimum. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,483 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

iguana wrote: »
    Buy a wedding card, write the usual guff in it and add a sentence about how you hope your gift gets them started well on their marriage. Put the card in the envelope, seal the envelope, let it dry, then open the envelope ensuring it looks carefully pried open. Go to the wedding have a great time, if it's an open bar drink your fill. When they are opening the cards after the wedding they will find your empty card and wonder which of their guests stole the money you gifted them. Whenever you see them after the wedding you can ask them if they bought something nice with your money and imply that you were especially generous just to see their upset faces. :D

Pure EVIL.

But I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

I would give them one of those charity donation gifts. The look on their faces when you tell them that their present is in fact 2 goats donated on their behalf to a family in a small Ethiopian village.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

sorry cant believe this.
    did it actually say min €250 if cash ????

if it did......... i give up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

Bambi wrote: »
    If there was no guests there how did you remember it :confused:
    ....And which of the 4 guests told him the Hotel Manager sniggered?

I call shenanigans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭@rti-shm@rti

Caliden wrote: »
    Asking for 250 is a bit out of order unless it's a fancy wedding with an open bar or something.

Ya but why should the guests have to pay for it. Not exactly an open bar if you have to pay in advance for the honour!!!!

It was my friend that got the invite so I can't provide a scan of the invite but it's 100% true.

She has officially decided not to go. It's one of her neighbours and she reckons the bride only invited her because her parents would have been put out if she didn't invite all the neighbours. So it's an obligatory wedding. Definitely not worth €250.

I actually think they'll have an empty function room. Nobody yet has actually said that it's a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,271 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Maybe they'd two sets of invites? One for guests they wanted there and another with the crass "minimum 250 cash gift" to make sure people they don't want there don't bother going?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

If I were your friend, I'd pick an amount you want to give them, buy a glass jar and fill it with coppers to that amount. It's not like they will ever count it! Otherwise, I'd chip in with a few friends going to the wedding.

It's sickening to expect someone to pay an extra fee for a wedding, sickening and definitely worth Stingiest things you've seen people do thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

I would imagine they put an obligatory amount after reading all the threads on boards where people seem to think it is ok to give 50 euros per couple.

Between 150-200 euros depending on closeness to the parties is a fair amount covering your meals etc.

Yes it's their day but no need to be mean about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,201 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Mafia/Drug Barons daughter's wedding no doubt.Fcuk em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

I know its not relevant, but your username is really annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I would imagine they put an obligatory amount after reading all the threads on boards where people seem to think it is ok to give 50 euros per couple.

Between 150-200 euros depending on closeness to the parties is a fair amount covering your meals etc.

Myself and my partner wouldn't have a hope of coming up with that amount.

In fact, we're off to my cousin's wedding in England this week and it's costing us an arm and a leg to get over there as it is. On the invitation, they stated that their guests presence was enough of a gift for them, but if anyone wished to give a present, a gift token for a certain chain of department stores would be great.

So, we'll get them a £50 token and I know they'll appreciate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Mickey Dazzler

Ive been to countless wedding over the years an not once did I bring any kind of presents. Never occurred to me to be honest.

If I was asked to give 250e, I would go to the wedding and knock out the groom and kick the bride in the ovaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Buy a cheap gift. Put it for sale on eBay for €250, and then mark it as 'sold'. Give the gift to the couple, and when they act surprised, show them the eBay page where you 'bought' the gift.

Alternatively, give them a cheap 2nd hand gift & tell them that it's a family heirloom and therefore actually 'priceless'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Myself and my partner wouldn't have a hope of coming up with that amount.

In fact, we're off to my cousin's wedding in England this week and it's costing us an arm and a leg to get over there as it is. On the invitation, they stated that their guests presence was enough of a gift for them, but if anyone wished to give a present, a gift token for a certain chain of department stores would be great.

So, we'll get them a £50 token and I know they'll appreciate it.

Ah but here we are into a completely different situation eg you must pay for flights/ferry and probably 2-3 nights accomadation and a lot of other sundries you wouldn't have at home.

My cousin is getting married in England in the summer and I would think 100stg is plenty considering we will be there for 3 nights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Davidson2k9

Just don't give them a gift.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 spencer024

Some cheek they have, dont bother with the cermony, go to a nice hotel - have dinner and a nice spa treatment and whats left out of 250 , put it into a card and head to the evening receptiopn!!
    Tell them you are so so so Sorry for missing the cermony!!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

The sum of 250e for a wedding present was mentioned recently in the 'Celtic tiger must-have items' thread. shocking to see this codology still going on. I'd show up with a big massive box very well wrapped with only a cavity block inside it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

you know what's a great wedding present? toilet paper. It's the one thing every couple needs without fail.