Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I don't get this 'scene' thing....

Saw a mk3 golf today. The usual. Wide wheels, exhaust from a tractor etc.

It had a bonnet bra and a rusty bonnet ffs.

Personal preference of those unable to afford something a bit "meatier" I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I don't get this 'scene' thing....

Saw a mk3 golf today. The usual. Wide wheels, exhaust from a tractor etc.

It had a bonnet bra and a rusty bonnet ffs.

Rat look...

find it a bit pointless myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Rat look...

find it a bit pointless myself

My alfa has the rat look.......and it didnt cost me a penny extra:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

pred racer wrote: »
    My alfa has the rat look.......and it didnt cost me a penny extra:D

No, your alfa has the cat look because it's covered in scratches :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

what is a bonnet bra?

No, your alfa has the cat look because it's covered in scratches :D

Meanwhile back at the ranch,

MM, CM and conzy had parked their cocks german cars in a row trying to decide which one was the most beautiful..........................;)

Btw MM do the indicators work? :pac:

Stheno wrote: »
    what is a bonnet bra?

A fake leatheR/vinyl monstrosity used to protect the nose of a car from stone chips.
    You see alot of them in the US.

what is a bonnet bra?

It's a film not too unlike a wrap that goes over the front bumper and nose of the bonnet which protects the paintwork from stone chips. It's kind of misleadingly named as it doesn't actually cover the whole bonnet.
    Meanwhile back at the ranch,

MM, CM and conzy had parked their cocks german cars in a row trying to decide which one was the most beautiful..........................;)

Btw MM do the indicators work? :pac:

What in the Jayzeus are you on about ya donkey?!

The indicators are fine, as are the reversing sensors :P

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

A fake leatheR/vinyl monstrosity used to protect the nose of a car from stone chips.
    You see alot of them in the US.

I googled.
    I feel a bit ill now.

It's a film not too unlike a wrap that goes over the front bumper and nose of the bonnet which protects the paintwork from stone chips. It's kind of misleadingly named as it doesn't actually cover the whole bonnet.

What in the Jayzeus are you on about ya donkey?!

The indicators are fine, as are the reversing sensors :P

I had a brief (and frankly disturbing) mental image of the three bmw amigos
    With the cars parked in a line and their little love struck faces staring at them.....bless:p

Its what happens when you go to germany for a week, and somebody else is picking up the bar tabs, i'm not the better of it yet:eek:

Are you sure those indicators work......when ur driving and everything?:pac:

We haven't quite gotten around to that just yet.... I swear there'll be a BMW section at the next meet.

Sure you won't see the indicators when the car is sideways anyway :pac:

We haven't quite gotten around to that just yet.... I swear there'll be a BMW section at the next meet.

I can see it now

CM "why the fook did i bother bringing the camera to this?"
    MM " Jaysus twould be grand if it had a rotary in it"
    Alanstrainor "wish I'd brought the feicin polo, at least every other feicer didnt have one"
    Conzy "ah fook lads where's me car"

:pac::D
    Sure you won't see the indicators when the car is sideways anyway :pac:

Thats what the handbrake is for laaaaaaaaaaaaddd :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

what is a bonnet bra?

It's not a film. It's an actual "bra". Usually leather or vinyl.

How many people does it take to fit a T4 bonnet bra ??

217884_10151095565973682_1392068691_n.jpg
    It's a thing mostly used in the states. The problem, specificly over there is, that once you fit the bonnet bra, you're never going to take it off again. Because the color on the parts, that you fit it over will have a complete different fade, than the parts that it doesn't cover. So if you ever remove it, you'll need a respray of your bonnet to match it the remainder of the car.

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Marlow wrote: »

How many people does it take to fit a T4 bonnet bra ??

217884_10151095565973682_1392068691_n.jpg
    It's a thing mostly used in the states. The problem, specificly over there is, that once you fit the bonnet bra, you're never going to take it off again. Because the color on the parts, that you fit it over will have a complete different fade, than the parts that it doesn't cover. So if you ever remove it, you'll need a respray of your bonnet to match it the remainder of the car.

/M

For the faded paint, Wouldn't a wallop of T-cut restore the faded paint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Not with the amount of fade, that you'd get in for example Cali or Florida on certain colors.

/M

Not with the amount of fade, that you'd get in for example Cali or Florida on certain colors.

/M

Ah I see. I forgot you were on about America. :)

A wallop of T-Cut will do nothing except give you **** cramp. It's the most useless pile of..... :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Had a nice little Seicento but I got pissed off with it snapping clutch cables. Spent a few weeks driving it without a clutch before I had enough :pac:

I miss mine, quite a lot :(

Must get another one.... Prefably with a cooked head and broke rings ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Got new number plates on the 156 today. That with the back of it being polished and the exhaust polished make it really look so much better. The bumpers all round have been painted black.

New front tyres, new interior mats, fresh wiper blades and the "operation cheapo transformation" will be complete. :D

I've seen it on an RX8 and it was basically a thicker version of Permatec. It was clear too which was a lot better than a totally different colour to the car which was dark grey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

I've seen it on an RX8 and it was basically a thicker version of Permatec. It was clear too which was a lot better than a totally different colour to the car which was dark grey.

That wasnt a car bra (in the common sense anyhow) then, it was one of the invisible shield, protective vinyl products. Car Bras are ugly things as Marlow described:
    https://www.google.ie/search?sugexp=chrome,mod%3D14&client=ubuntu&channel=cs&q=Permatec&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hl=en&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=eY1XUJ35JZCDhQen_YDQCw&biw=1333&bih=595&sei=fI1XUI-sDpG0hAeTv4G4Dw#um=1&hl=en&client=ubuntu&channel=cs&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=car+bra&oq=car+bra&gs_l=img.3..0l10.8126.9185.0.9739.7.7.0.0.0.0.161.620.5j2.7.0...0.0...1c.1.2w9eGVbdKyM&pbx=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.&fp=fadf6a5ac87b4ec1&biw=1333&bih=595

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I would actually much rather have the stone chips than one of those colossal eye sores.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I would actually much rather have the stone chips than one of those colossal eye sores.:eek:
    I know right, its like all they do is rob the roads ability to (mildly) damage paintwork by totally disfiguring the vehicle on the "driver's terms" instead..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Matt Simis wrote: »
    I know right, its like all they do is rob the roads ability to (mildly) damage paintwork by totally disfiguring the vehicle on the "driver's terms" instead..

Glad it's not just me. They seem to be getting popular with felters here alright. In America loads of people have them, particularly on porsche's etc.

This is the only kind of bonnet bra I like. :p :cool:

2402785af2a411e18ad722000a1c8651_6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

First day of College in CIT went well, now to join the Motorsport Society :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

The Midway meet draws ever nearer, if anyone in Galway needs a lift let me know, can only fit 2 people max in fairness though

Are you coming in your supercharged E90/E46 M3 GTR??? :pac:

No just the Focus ST, sorry :(

No problem Jim ;)

I can't get my old account to work :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Why only 2? You could easily fit three other people, unless you're bringing supplies for the big journey and they take up more than the boot and one of the other 3 available and comfortable seats. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

^ more than likely done by the owners to stop people stealing it ;)

548782_472444172790034_384282155_n.jpg

Much happier chappy :D

Ahhhh sunny weather again :) And I'm trapped here till 4 :(

Oh well!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3914165
    Straight through exhaust will a loud poooo

Never did I read anything like this before.

May swap for cows or a van

That's the best bit.

Proper Farmer Felter!

dar83 wrote: »
    That's the best bit.

Proper Farmer Felter!

Ah. I missed that. I only read to the loud "poooo" part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Getting 2 Michelin 225/40/18 for 70€ fitted each in tyreland tomorrow :)

Also, does anyone know of a good cheap and safe place to park my car tomorrow evening for a concert in the academy? :)

Why only 2? You could easily fit three other people, unless you're bringing supplies for the big journey and they take up more than the boot and one of the other 3 available and comfortable seats. :P

Need seat behind me for my ego :P

That technically still leaves three empty seats though... ;)

Need some tunes in the middle seat ! :pac:

http://soundcloud.com/djseanbryce

Ewww. DubStep. The Derve of House Music.

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Need some tunes in the middle seat ! :pac:

http://soundcloud.com/djseanbryce

I remember you saying you lost the password to your old account, who were you again? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I remember you saying you lost the password to your old account, who were you again? lol

JimBob!

That's the best bit.

Proper Farmer Felter!

No RS6's?
    Wind Deflectors on one side?
    No obnoxious sunvisor?
    No donegal style plates?
    No upturned exhaust?
    No TDI badge?
    No use of "antichrist", "lift" or "lad" in the ad?

Hes a wannabe felter!!! :pac::pac::pac:

Oh and something for RJ...
    8d323120.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

What a crazy few weeks it's been! Starting a new job monday found out only today that I got it & I'm starting in a few days!
    Then possibly going to look at a CRX this weekend up north for my project :D Need to get going on it!

dgt wrote: »
    No RS6's?
    Wind Deflectors on one side?
    No obnoxious sunvisor?
    No donegal style plates?
    No upturned exhaust?
    No TDI badge?
    No use of "antichrist", "lift" or "lad" in the ad?

Hes a wannabe felter!!! :pac::pac::pac:

Thats the worst kind. :pac:

Gah went in and got a 4 wheel balance on the ST and it turns out 3 of my Eta Beta's are buckled albiet not badly, so much for refurbing and powdercoating em, bloody things are killing my back anyway even cat's eyes feel like im being beating across my back with sledgehammers :(

Standard 18's also have Nankang's on them i just noticed aswell as being pretty badly kerbed, fack !

Now i just need to rob a bank to get some BBS CH-R 18's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Harcrid

dgt wrote: »
    Oh and something for RJ...
    8d323120.jpg

Now thats what you call a cut n' shut.