Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

Just started a motor maintenance course in the tech in Tralee tonight. Any other boardsies have experience of these courses, Tralee or elsewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

ian87 wrote: »
    Just started a motor maintenance course in the tech in Tralee tonight. Any other boardsies have experience of these courses, Tralee or elsewhere?

Haynes manual, trolley jack, axle stands, ratchet set and common sense...thats how I learnt....there courses are really basic, they are not allowed to show you how to change brakes for fear of legal issues..good luck with it anyway :)

Is it the likes of a 6/8 week course or a fetac approved one year engineering/motor type yoke course thingy?

The former is fairly crap, the later can be not too bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 head13

handy tip!

I purchased a ford mondeo recently without the alloy wheel lock nut adapter, thinking I could order another one??

I took it to cork city ford today and they took off the lock nuts and replaced them with normal ones, 12 euro for them & no charge for labour.

sweet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Haynes manual, trolley jack, axle stands, ratchet set and common sense...thats how I learnt....there courses are really basic, they are not allowed to show you how to change brakes for fear of legal issues..good luck with it anyway :)

Probably the best advice there from eringobragh, Best of luck with it anyway Ian. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Until you alloys get nicked :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,955 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

I did one in Cork a few years ago.
    Was basic, but handy.
    Went over servicing your car, changing brakes, shocks and basic issue solving.
    I found it useful.

The instructor did recommend to go get a Haynes manual, trolley Jack, axle stands and a decent socket set :p

I did one years ago at night in Douglas school Cork. I had a bit of service knowledge on cars, so this course was actually useless to me, kind of like "this is a screw driver"... but if you have no experience what so ever then yes it's worth it.

enjoy.

Until you alloys get nicked :p

tis worth the risk:D

Still bad form for them to not supply you with an adaptor :(

Reminds me i need me some black nuts+locknuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Still bad form for them to not supply you with an adaptor :(

Reminds me i need me some black nuts+locknuts

Don't these lock nuts only have 1 match for an adaptor? If you want a replacement, you have to give the original serial number to the manufacturer. I would say it's just easier to get a new set altogether.

You would have peace of mind anyway.

Thats the plan, that or paint them gloss black when the time comes.

With a brush with bits of grit on it and shurrre who needs to wash them first tis all the same boss :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

In fairness he seems to be not the worst. I've learned a bit from a Haynes manual in my time but wanted to get into the more nitty gritty things such as changing shocks, pads, plugs, adjusting handbrake cable, and changing gearbox oil etc outside of a Haynes manual where I'm not looking at a picture but getting my hands dirty. We were promised we would be covering all the former plus more
    He was showing us how to adjust and tighten fan belts and how to check if bearings, tie rod ends, and ball joints where loose tonight amongst other things.
    For €75 quid for 6 2 hour sessions I reckon it's quite good value, I'll surely come away with something new like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

@RJ. who owns the silver mondeo parked outside to the left of your house? They park half and half in the parking spaces everyday

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Lads quick one, cops in cars with the speed guns, can they issue fines through the post or do they need to stop you?

ya, exactly what the guy in ford said, but I'd say it was too much trouble for him, they had them off and new ones on in 10 mins, bound to get a replacement adapter from their master set, but then, I suppose I wouldn't be able to get one of those because i would be able to open others. my only concerned was that I'd be left stranded, but at least I can now take my wheels off If I get a flat.

I did get one off Keary's BMW from their master set a couple of years ago, again I bought a car with no adapter!
    You would have peace of mind anyway.

era I might hunt some down on ebay, but I'm not that pushed at the moment!

Stheno wrote: »
    Lads quick one, cops in cars with the speed guns, can they issue fines through the post or do they need to stop you?

both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Handheld guns they need to go after you and stop you. Thingy on a tripod, they don't need to. That's my understanding of it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

head13 wrote: »
    both

marvellous :D

/Awaits nasty letter in post :(

They need to stop you, or get a colleague to :)
    Handheld guns they need to go after you and stop you. Thingy on a tripod, they don't need to. That's my understanding of it.

Tripod operators need to stop you too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Was in Silverstone this weekend for the BTCC. On top of being a guest of Team Hard's Tony Gilham for the day on Sunday, we got a tour of the garage, the car, and hospitality all day. Got to meet a few of the drivers too.

Also got to meet this guy.......

20121007_151153.jpg

What a weekend!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Jesus, I always thought Mike was just a midget but Ed looks massive!

CianRyan wrote: »
    Jesus, I always thought Mike was just a midget but Ed looks massive!

He's a big fella, I'm 6 foot so guess his height for yourself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

He's a big fella, I'm 6 foot so guess his height for yourself!!

7' 14"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

7' 14"?

A.K.A. 8'2". :p

He does look like he was almost a foot (or more) on you to be fair.

7' 14"?

He's 6'7" apparently...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Ok then, 5' 19"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,521 ✭✭✭✭Esel

He's 6'7" apparently...
    Aaaah, just under 2 metres then.... :)

Not your ornery onager

Some more pictures of the weekend just to give you an idea of how close we could get to the action.

This is the Team Hard garage, our base for the day on Sunday. We could come and go as we pleased here, with plenty of food, tea and coffee too.

20121007_084437.jpg

We watched races 1 and 3 from the stands at turn 1, great spot as there was always some good racing and a little contact down the main straight.

20121007_114531.jpg

Race 2 was watched from the team garage, with the crew.

20121007_091405.jpg

And the car itself, along with it's driver for the day, Howard Fuller.

20121007_140328.jpg

The whole experience is a world apart from anything I've been a part of in Mondello with the ITCC, but it's given us a lot of food for thought both for our own cars and some other ideas too.

This looks like a cool wee yoke! Not to keen on that shade of blue though.

View2-14721823.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3999556

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I'm after nearly choking on my can of monster after seeing those wheels!

They look suspiciously like the colour of my calipers....

dgt wrote: »
    I'm after nearly choking on my can of monster after seeing those wheels!

They look suspiciously like the colour of my calipers....

I thought I recognised, that blue. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

The Corrolla is getting the Fiona treatment today pics to follow later!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Fiona wrote: »
    The Corrolla is getting the Fiona treatment today pics to follow later!

A 2.5 conversion and a visit to the doc? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

dgt wrote: »
    A 2.5 conversion and a visit to the doc? :pac:

Ha i bloody wish!

Father currently washing it with the power washer totally taking the lazy way out steam washed all the doors and panels save me doing it by hand!

Seats being shampooed etc it will be a wet drive home later on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Must... resist...

Anyway, got some new Mtec Dipped and Full beam bulbs in the post this morning, they shall be fitted later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

dar83 wrote: »
    Must... resist...

Anyway, got some new Mtec Dipped and Full beam bulbs in the post this morning, they shall be fitted later.

Was looking at a set of those for the gti,
    Are they any good?

gollywog wrote: »
    Was looking at a set of those for the gti,
    Are they any good?

I'll tell you later. :P

I'll try and get a couple of night pics of them. I went for the 4350k efforts, so they hopefully won't be in the silly glary white/blue bracket, but who knows until they're fitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

head13 wrote: »
    I did get one off Keary's BMW from their master set a couple of years ago, again I bought a car with no adapter!

With older BMW's there is no master set as such. Every locknut has a number and if you know that, you can just order a replacement. Dunno about the newer type ones. Decent BMW dealerships will always have spares in stock.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Right Dar ill see what you make of yours and see then! Pics please :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Fiona wrote: »
    Ha i bloody wish!

Father currently washing it with the power washer totally taking the lazy way out steam washed all the doors and panels save me doing it by hand!

Seats being shampooed etc it will be a wet drive home later on!

Let the car idle, heating on full blast and close all windows bar the back two, which you leave down about an inch either side.

That way the seats dry and any moisture in the air etc goes out the back window. If you open them down too far, obviously the heat will fly out.

Getting my car back soon after a month of what can only be called torture!

The timing chain slipped in the car park coming out of work :(

There is a new book being launched soon, if not ulready. its covers the last 50 years of motoring. I think it would be an interesting buy. I might pick up a copy. :)

Here is the link.

http://www.autobiz.ie/news/Book_Celebrates_39Historic_Motoring_In_Ireland39.html

There is a new book being launched soon, if not ulready. its covers the last 50 years of motoring. I think it would be an interesting buy. I might pick up a copy. :)

Here is the link.

http://www.autobiz.ie/news/Book_Celebrates_39Historic_Motoring_In_Ireland39.html

A terribly depressing read from halfway through onwards I would think.

From 1.4 to anything Diesel and beyond! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

dar83 wrote: »
    I'll try and get a couple of night pics of them. I went for the 4350k efforts, so they hopefully won't be in the silly glary white/blue bracket, but who knows until they're fitted.

Well afaik 4300k is standard Xenon so they should be perfect.

The timing chain slipped in the car park coming out of work :(

Ouchies :(
    Many valves bent?

RoverJames wrote: »
    Ouchies :(
    Many valves bent?

Got a new engine with 67 k on it out of an X type... I don't even want to say how much I was getting for quotes to rebuild it!

...... Guts of 2.5k ish ... ?

RoverJames wrote: »
    ...... Guts of 2.5k ish ... ?

Well an intial just to get the head rebuilt was a price of 1,000 euro.

Absolutely no one (And I rang every contact i knew) Could tell me they were the same engine as the Mondeo, and every Jaguar specialist I rang both sides of the water told me they weren't the same and not to put a Mondeo engine in.

So, rang a Jaguar dealer in the West of Ireland and honest to god I have never come across and more incompetent ignoramus in the Parts the department, so i couldn't even get a price on the kit for the chain etc. but it was going to be in excess of 500 + vat.

So removal of head, rebuild, plus chain, refitting and service was coming to around 2,000 + not including transport costs.

I bought an second hand engine and got it installed and it was actually worse than the one that came out, so I had to get that back out and get another one put in. So this one is out of a 05 X type with 67k miles on it.

My mehanic isn't charging me full whack labour for the second refitting but so far the bill is coming to in and around €1,200, including a full service etc.

I still have the pump off my own engine with should be worth a couple hundred so if I come out around the grand mark I'll be happy enough.

Everyone I rang Jaguar wise has never heard of it happening before, so it was purely bad luck on my part, but sure, such is life.