Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

well. today was the day when i completely cancelled my track day. No mondello for me this friday. :(

feels like **** lads...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

This probably the worst pic that will be taken of this car knowing the owners photography skills but I think its a great looking machine.. Its Vectras new Octy!!!

20121009_125428.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Ah jaysus, they already cleaned it for him....

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Download a copy of rfactor and get the Mondello track. Then proceed to go off a turn one at high speed.

let me guess. almost all of the newbies get way to confident on first turn? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Anton Savage is due on the Last Word in a bit to speak about car tyres. It could be an interesting one.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭whyulittle

h3000 wrote: »
    Anton Savage is due on the Last Word in a bit to speak about car tyres. It could be an interesting one.

There was a bit on Six One last night. Tyre Federation warning of part worns.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,590 ✭✭✭✭vectra

-Corkie- wrote: »
    This probably the worst pic that will be taken of this car knowing the owners photography skills but I think its a great looking machine.. Its Vectras new Octy!!!

http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/mm162/MALACHY1979/20121009_125428.jpg

Damn thats nice even if I say so myself.. :D

Now to get my paws on it.
    Thanks for the pic.
    Ah jaysus, they already cleaned it for him....

That's not clean, that's only rain wash LOL
    Strict instructions from me was not to wash it as I did with my last one.

Can't wait to get the DA at it and all the new polishes/wax etc..
    Hurry hurry..!!
    Hopefully tomorrow I should have it..

...this is tyre week afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Well wear with her Vectra.

*whenever you get your lambs wool covered paws on her that is!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

whyulittle wrote: »
    There was a bit on Six One last night. Tyre Federation warning of part worns.....

Sounds like the irish dental association advertising against getting dental work done in anywhere but Ireland. A good set of part worns will forever be better and safer then a new set of the chinese rubbish that's kicking around at the moment....unless it's partly worn Chinese rubbish....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

She's a beaut Vectra, well wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Looks great Vectra, nice to see it in red, wonder if there'll be many in that colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Can we rename this thread to rubberneckers anonymous :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

How cool is that:
    50e05cu-960.jpg
    I just noticed the wheels arghh:
    qZ1cmL0FCd8.jpg
    arse shot:
    h3Sum1tlmsA.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,590 ✭✭✭✭vectra

^^ First pic is savage looking..

On the Octavia topic.
    There is a demo one in Cork so not sure if there will be any more around as in the UK now as far as I am aware you can no longer order a FL Octavia in any shape or form unless it is in stock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Horn wired up at long last :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Mate of mine is selling a Levin with NCT til next May for 600euro. I wonder if it would be possible to get insured... :o Probably be better off putting a new set of tyres on the Polo and NCTing it if I'm being realistic. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

barura wrote: »
    Mate of mine is selling a Levin with NCT til next May for 600euro. I wonder if it would be possible to get insured... :o Probably be better off putting a new set of tyres on the Polo and NCTing it if I'm being realistic. :(

Levin or Polo... If you don't choose right I'll slap you!

Call around a few places tomorrow and see what they say sure.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Levin or Polo... If you don't choose right I'll slap you!

Call around a few places tomorrow and see what they say sure.

Yeah but with College fees coming up... I'll see what I can do. :D

Buy polo, then save money for insurance and a "proper" car.

He already has a Polo, there's extra money there to throw at insurance! :D

CianRyan wrote: »
    He already has a Polo, there's extra money there to throw at insurance! :D

If polo is still able to drive without money injection, then it's even better. Keep polo. Save money, buy proper car later.

You're only sad because you had to sell the Skyline...

Looks like I'll have to stick with the Po-lol after a bit of money checking... Ah well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Looks like I'll have to stick with the Po-lol after a bit of money checking... Ah well!

If I were you I would get a few quotes for the Levin and go from there. At-least it would give you some idea of insurance prices. :)

Edit: Cian beat me too it! lol

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3996351
    the handiest we yok iv ever seen on diesal duse 250mils two 20e

Would this be correct!? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Hal1 you've made my day :D I'f only I had front springs that low... Ah well!

I meant this horn, not the comedy fan horn :pac:

Actually, not that exact horn, that's on the other Bravo here

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3996351

Would this be correct!? :eek:

At €1.55/litre that's 87mpg, unlikely to be realisitic but it might well do 70+ on a run, I used to get 53mpg from a non intercooled Rover 420 on a Cork to Thurles return spin with 4 adults on board.

Edit, figures from autotrader.co.uk...

Fuel consumption (urban) 51.4 mpg
    Fuel consumption (extra urban) 78.5 mpg
    Fuel consumption (combined) 65.7 mpg

dgt wrote: »

Actually, not that exact horn, that's on the other Bravo hereQuote]

Love it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

They have a skyline on Wheeler dealers

RoverJames wrote: »
    At €1.55/litre that's 87mpg, unlikely to be realisitic but it might well do 70+ on a run, I used to get 53mpg from a non intercooled Rover 420 on a Cork to Thurles return spin with 4 adults on board.

Edit, figures from autotrader.co.uk...

Fuel consumption (urban) 51.4 mpg
    Fuel consumption (extra urban) 78.5 mpg
    Fuel consumption (combined) 65.7 mpg

Ah right, cheers for that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Anyone know how to fix a ford bonnet latch that suddenly stopped working ?

Type where you twist back Ford logo and twist one way to pop it and another to release it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,955 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

I do, it's an absolute pain in the hole!
    Check the stoc site, it's a known issue.
    U need a long needle nose pliers, long screwdriver and a lot of patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Das ?

http://www.justanswer.com/uk-ford/2pilu-ford-focus-bonnet-catch-system-broken-release.html

Also plastidipping the ST grille is a major pain, abandoned mission after doing fogs and wheels, will paint them instead (after i have picked out all the fecking rubber :p)

Thanks Mik

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,955 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

Yep that's pretty much it.
    Generally what happens is that the cable going from the lock to the latch gets bent slightly and a plastic pin gets dislodged.

I got to open mine with a pliers and screwdriver, but had to buy a new lock mechanism and fit it.
    Involved drilling out part of the old lock to fit the new mechanism, to avoid building a whole new lock.

Pain in the hole....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Anyone have a link to buyers guide for a Fiat Couple 5pot 20V non Turbo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I had to start GT5 on the PS3 from the beginning, anybody want to send me some cars? I'm 'Onkle51' on the psn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Ohhh yess

560695_10152182015780176_1336858702_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'm the same funnily enough! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I have 4 .... I win :p

oh wait :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Ah jaysus LM, thanks for reminding me! I have yet to fork out the money for 4 points I got recently along with 200 for my squash membership and I have a car loan repayment this month too. Expensive month :(

Lesson learned though, gatso vans are able to catch you when you are going in the opposite direction. I was in a 50 zone and was doing 56 the first time and 60 the second time on a stretch that not long ago was 100.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Ohhh yess....

I got two points for passing an unmarked garda car on a continuous white line. What irked him more probably, was, I was in a micra! :pac:

Ah jaysus LM, thanks for reminding me! I have yet to fork out the money for 4 points I got recently along with 200 for my squash membership and I have a car loan repayment this month too. Expensive month.

:eek: :pac:

:shocked:

I think the one you are looking for is eek, not shocked :P

And you from hurlin/ farmin country!!!

Double post. Stupid phone.

And you from hurlin/ farmin country!!!

I hate hurling because it's played by farmers and I hate farming because it's done by hurlers ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

I hate hurling because it's played by farmers and I hate farming because it's done by hurlers ;)

A tipp man to hate hurlin.... well feck me!
    At least you got good hurlers up in tipp, im from wexford ffs!
    I've got a reason to hate hurlin and i dont! :p

gollywog wrote: »
    A tipp man to hate hurlin.... well feck me!
    At least you got good hurlers up in tipp, im from wexford ffs!
    I've got a reason to hate hurlin and i dont! :p

Not only do you not not like hurling, you play the damn sport AND you're not even a farmer! You're a Tipp man wanna be just like your car is a red car wanna be :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Not only do you not not like hurling, you play the damn sport AND you're not even a farmer! You're a Tipp man wanna be just like your car is a red car wanna be :P

Were not all farmers that play it now in fairness! :pac:
    And my car is beautiful, the colour of her skin wont change that! :D