Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

Who are EAC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

RoverJames wrote: »
    Who are EAC?

Elite Auto Clean. Car cleaners in Dublin City.
    From what I'm told, they get a fair few returning customers in high end stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭ronanc15

Ian, the guy who runs Elite Auto Clean, is absolutely anal about cleaning/detailing cars. He has an amazing collection of cars in pristine condition. I have never seen a jap import as clean as his Nur Spec R34 GTR. Gentleman to deal with also!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

ronanc15 wrote: »
    Ian, the guy who runs Elite Auto Clean, is absolutely anal about cleaning/detailing cars. He has an amazing collection of cars in pristine condition. I have never seen a jap import as clean as his Nur Spec R34 GTR. Gentleman to deal with also!!

That car is something else like it rolled out of the factory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well I am getting fed up of this shiet.

Someone selling a car, for already high ish money then it's real value, then he passes nct in advance and pops 1k on car, which he is already selling for a month... You have to love these people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Well I am getting fed up of this shiet.

Someone selling a car, for already high ish money then it's real value, then he passes nct in advance and pops 1k on car, which he is already selling for a month... You have to love these people...

This is the sort of person you call a 'donkey' Shadow, or 'donk' for short! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭ronanc15

Fiona wrote: »
    That car is something else like it rolled out of the factory!

It is hard to believe a car can be kept that clean for so long!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Anyone know of any decent hatches for sale around the 4k mark?

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Lots of driving yesterday, 400km :) and I drew a big zorro in the midlands :D

772a0.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Was dreading making a phone call. I was planning to drive to my hometown to get my clutch replace by my regular mechanic but its so badly worn I can't drive it :(

Called around several local garages and to my surprise got a quote for £120 labour. He will call back with a total price so should be about £200.

I was expecting to pay way more because there are no small time mechanics about!

Just viewed my first car. 140km trip. Wasted money.
    Some people are just fecking... Not normal.
    Shakes hands on the price, I droped it, because it needed 2 new shocks, brake lines, few bushings. Offered deposit, which he refused and said its fine, you picking it up tomorrow anyway.
    So had a phone call half way and he says:
    Your mechanic is very fussy.
    That's, why he is good mechanic.
    Well, I just talk to my mechanic and he can get shocks for 200eu, not 280eu like your one.
    So what? I like those shocks. We already agreed on price, because there are more stuff to do to it.
    Well, it's 300eu more then price we agreed on now. Take it or leave it.
    Bye bye!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Just viewed my first car. 140km trip. Wasted money.
    Some people are just fecking... Not normal.
    Shakes hands on the price, I droped it, because it needed 2 new shocks, brake lines, few bushings. Offered deposit, which he refused and said its fine, you picking it up tomorrow anyway.
    So had a phone call half way and he says:
    Your mechanic is very fussy.
    That's, why he is good mechanic.
    Well, I just talk to my mechanic and he can get shocks for 200eu, not 280eu like your one.
    So what? I like those shocks. We already agreed on price, because there are more stuff to do to it.
    Well, it's 300eu more then price we agreed on now. Take it or leave it.
    Bye bye!!!!

Wait what car was it?

Seller is a clown not matter what it is, (well especially taking into account it's not a daysul hatch you're after;))

Wait what car was it?

Seller is a clown not matter what it is, (well especially taking into account it's not a daysul hatch you're after;))

What is even better. It had fresh 2 year nct on it. I found out he has his own truck company... So I am 99% sure nct was bought or done with connections and friends. The state of break lines was shocking. It would be 100% fail and there was a wear on one side of tyres too! It would not pass nct at all!
    I was taking it only because it was waaay lower my budget and I would have atleast 2k left over just to sort out things I did not liked amd still be under my budget by a lot.
    Good thing is though I know 100% what car I want now ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I just went up to get a quote for some bodywork on the Civic, small bit of damage on the roof skin ( a pallet was lowered on to it when it was in the container coming from Japan apparently) and there's some paint damage on the bonnet, looks like somebody spilled some sort of solvent on it. He's also going to touch up all the stone chips and scratches and do my wipers in a satin black for me

Have to go back tomorrow for the exact price but I've had work by him before and send a lot of people there so I should be looked after :)

Good thing is though I know 100% what car I want now ;)

And that is......................?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

MCMLXXV wrote: »

Ya, SH, Dont keep us in suspenders! :eek:

It's blue and has Chavy color wheels :D ( most of the time )

Full?id=6556065

Close! But not chavy enough wheels!

Subaru?

Subaru?

Bingo.

Bingo.

Yeah! What do I win? Shotgun perhaps? :D

*Does little dance*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Needs moar low.

Those Micra's are ment to be nice enough little cars when they're set up right, that yoke is a bit much though.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Needs moar low.

Those Micra's are ment to be nice enough little cars when they're set up right, that yoke is a bit much though.

Perhaps, but this has "new superlite rims", "de-cat exhaust with back box", "k&n air filter" and them god awfull long mudflaps... Like il admit they arnt bad mods, on the right car. But a micra, come on! :pac:

Its not the worst. I drove a 99 Micra for my 1st year of driving, gave it a hammering and didn't do any maintenance. It just drove and drove. :)

I have since had a merc and BMW of the same age and its a different kettle of fish altogether.

cisk wrote: »
    Its not the worst. I drove a 99 Micra for my 1st year of driving, gave it a hammering and didn't do any maintenance. It just drove and drove. :)

I have since had a merc and BMW of the same age and its a different kettle of fish altogether.

My mum had a 92 micra from 1996 to 1999 and never even changed a tyre! MOT time she would leave it in to get the handbrake tightened!

That's just lack of maintenance rather than being a good car!

Just sayin' :pac:

That's just lack of maintenance rather than being a good car!

Just sayin' :pac:

Oh yea of course!
    But its the sort of car where you can get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Sheared the gearbox mount on my clio. FML

Pure comedy.

The mother has spent the day on donedeal looking for something new.

She just keeps pointing out silly/funny thing on donedeal adds.

Simple things like

Christmas wreath on the door

Full-11969785.jpeg

Number plate on the floor

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3419757

Full-11969874.jpeg

And

She thinks this is hilarious, "A long video for a fecking Corsa. And look, look at the length of the add, then the comment at the end"

"SORRY MISLAID PHONE , BUT I HAVE IT NOW "

http://cars.donedeal.co.uk/for-sale/cars/3401264

LOL can't stop laughing!

Thats gas! :pac:

Edit: But how did she start on a merc and go to a bora and finish on a corsa? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

There also seems to be someone hanging from the curtain pole...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

colm_mcm wrote: »

Ha, there is alright! :p

OSI wrote: »
    There's actually quite a surprisingly large modding community for the K10 & K11 Micra.

eg: http://www.micra.org.uk/

But is the k10 and k11 not RWD?

Nooooooo

Normal front wheel drive

Thats gas! :pac:

Edit: But how did she start on a merc and go to a bora and finish on a corsa? :D

She's just looking through cars for sale.

LOL

Nooooooo

Normal front wheel drive

Oh sh1t. :o

stolen from subaru club, this is awesome!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

PlastiDip is quality. So easy to use and can change the look of some stuff completely. Well worth the price of a few of the cans to experiment around a lil bit. :)

lads. wild question... how much would it cost to fully respray subaru from dark blue to subaru blue?
    rough estimate?

3 grand?

Best offer I got all day :D

534437_10150924621774802_606221572_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Close! But not chavy enough wheels!

Chavy enough now? :pac:

Full-11852759.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Best offer I got all day :D

534437_10150924621774802_606221572_n.jpg

Must be a slow day for you so... :P

dgt wrote: »
    Chavy enough now? :pac:

Please spray the SEAT badge too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Best offer I got all day

When that?

dar83 wrote: »
    Must be a slow day for you so... :P

You wouldn't believe it :(:rolleyes:

MugMugs wrote: »
    When that?

10th June.......

open your eyes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

MugMugs wrote: »
    When that?

10th June.......

[SIZE="1"]open your eyes[/SIZE] :)

My phone has a small screen + old age. Always fancied going to that tbh.....